VIDEO: After Yaounde, SE on the bus....

miky
Re: VIDEO: After Yaounde, SE on the bus....

Post by miky »

Mikel is SCARED of flights!! How much more arik airline!!
A lion never dies it sleeps (Rip..Foe)

An Eagle never dies it soars Rip (Big Boss)

deanotito wrote::D :D

LOL, in addition, we now know who the too-cool-for-this eagles are.

Or perhaps they don't know the songs or words to the song? or are tired? Its not by force.
LOL. i knew someone will mention this. Na age. Mikel is what? 29? Balogun is 28... lets be honest, if you were in their shoes you likely wont be jumping around with 19-23 year olds. Lets be honest.

deanotito wrote:

Or perhaps they don't know the songs or words to the song? or are tired? Its not by force.

Errr, many ways to show solidarity if you don't know the song...we do it in church every sunday. :D

Naah bro, that one na too-cool-for-this....Balogun put ear phone for ear
I am sure Mikel knows the songs very well. I am more inclined to think its an age thing. the age difference is quite much. He and Balogun are teammates with 19, 20,21 year olds. They must be "lonely."

cic old boy wrote:Mikelele's bigmanism on show.
cic old boy,

It might not be bigmanism, bros. Was Balogun acting big also by not joining? Being German does not cut it. There are guys from that background that would have joined. IMHO, it could be a matter of personality. Some are extroverts and others are not.
Perhaps Mikel is not satisfied with the 1-1 draw or maybe, just maybe he wants to save his celebration for when the ticket is actually won. We're not yet in the world cup so what is the celebration for?
Awww.. Madam fighting for her husband. I am sure Oga will appreciate it. :clap: :biggrin:

9jaMan wrote:
cic old boy,

It might not be bigmanism, bros. Was Balogun acting big also by not joining? Being German does not cut it. There are guys from that background that would have joined. IMHO, it could be a matter of personality. Some are extroverts and others are not.
Perhaps Mikel is not satisfied with the 1-1 draw or maybe, just maybe he wants to save his celebration for when the ticket is actually won. We're not yet in the world cup so what is the celebration for?
Abeg help me ask them o,

They are NOT celebrating. smh

9jaMan wrote:
cic old boy,

Abeg help me ask them o,

They were celebrating the one point earned which is a big point all things considered but there is still a lot of work to be done to close the deal. I doubt that seasoned pros will be in the mood to celebrate prematurely. The only celebration to be done is after the job is completed hopefully in Uyo next month - with a win.

9jaMan wrote:
cic old boy,

Abeg help me ask them o,

They were celebrating the one point earned which is a big point all things considered but there is still a lot of work to be done to close the deal. I doubt that seasoned pros will be in the mood to celebrate prematurely. The only celebration to be done is after the job is completed hopefully in Uyo next month - with a win.
Bro, they are NOT celebrating! This is how the team bus is BEFORE and AFTER games (unless we lose). Its a cultural thing for the team to dance and sing BEFORE or AFTER games. Not only in Nigeria, several other cultures have the same thing-- both international and club football.

The players were not celebrating. It is how we roll on the team bus. They even do it on public transport in Naija.

The YeyeMan wrote:I've seen Mikel do "bigman" in close quarters. He has form. That's why he moved to China. :lol:
Same here. I recognised that look straightaway. He thinks he is better than those guys singing. If it were Drogba, Lamps and co messing around, he would have joined in to "belong".

My respect for Kelechi and Musa went up with that clip - fat paycheques, but still "one of the lads".

And Musa sang all the christian songs. Nice.

people are strange
without this mikel dude we have no team whatsoever
the man has created , scored or had a direct hand in almost every goal we've scored in this WCQ campaign
you should be erecting a statue to honor this guy
instead you're criticizing him for not participating in some silly singalong.
smh

smartbrother wrote:people are strange
the man has created , scored or had a direct hand in almost every goal we've scored in this WCQ campaign
smh
You are the strange one that doesn't understand team spirit and its importance in a team game. It was a bonding session and this is how you create an atmosphere in which they are willing to fight for each other. Individualism is one reason why we have failed on many occasions. Lesser players playing as a team have been known to defeat a disjointed team of better individuals.
achuzia-the-air-raid

Post by achuzia-the-air-raid »

...but this oyibo assist coach follow join for locker room

Then they said to one another, “We are truly guilty concerning our brother, for we saw the anguish of his soul when he pleaded with us, and we would not hear; therefore this distress has come upon us.” Genesis 42:21

“A doubtful friend is worse than a certain enemy. Let a man be one thing or the other, and we then know how to meet him” (Aesop, 620–564 BC).

smartbrother wrote:people are strange
smh
You are the strange one that doesn't understand team spirit and its importance in a team game. It was a bonding session and this is how you create an atmosphere in which they are willing to fight for each other. Individualism is one reason why we have failed on many occasions. Lesser players playing as a team have been known to defeat a disjointed team of better individuals.
Not partaking in a singalong does not equate to individualism.
Mikel is a team player where it counts. On the pitch
And Nigeria as a team looks a transformed side whenever he plays. Everybody seems to play better.

The results speak for themsleves.
All the team spirit in the world did not save us from a 2-0 home defeat against lowly Southafrica
It was Mikel's presence on the pitch v African champions Cameroon that proved key to us playing significantly better as a team than we did just a few weeks before v Southafrica

Without him there would likely have been nothing to celebrate on the bus ride back home

smartbrother wrote: Not partaking in a singalong does not equate to individualism.
And Nigeria as a team looks a transformed side whenever he plays. Everybody seems to play better.

All the team spirit in the world did not save us from a 2-0 home defeat against lowly Southafrica
It was Mikel's presence on the pitch v African champions Cameroon that proved key to us playing significantly better as a team than we did just a few weeks before v Southafrica

Without him there would likely have been nothing to celebrate on the bus ride back home
Not taking part is a sign of not mixing with his team-mates. He doesn't feel he is one of them, or worse, he feels superior. They even called him to join in and he refused. Bad move. This has the potential to breed resentment.

What happens off the pitch contributes to what happens on the pitch. Bryan Robson said nothing boosted team spirit more than a few pints.

Mikelele has played in many games in which we lost. The best player against Cameroon in Uyo was Victor Moses. He was also missing against SA.

We are going to Russia no shakes

smartbrother wrote: Not partaking in a singalong does not equate to individualism.

Not taking part is a sign of not mixing with his team-mates. He doesn't feel he is one of them, or worse, he feels superior. They even called him to join in and he refused. Bad move.
This has the potential to breed resentment.

What happens off the pitch contributes to what happens on the pitch. Bryan Robson said nothing boosted team spirit more than a few pints.

Mikelele has played in many games in which we lost. The best player against Cameroon in Uyo was Victor Moses. He was also missing against SA.
It also has the potential to breed respect for him
Some people respect those who do not bow to social pressure to do what they feel uncomfortable doing.
It also has the potential to make no difference whatsoever to the team dynamics
Since neither one of us can read the minds of the players there is no point criticizing or praising mikel over speculative potential reactions of his teammate

Mikel created the first and scored the second v Cameroon in Uyo
Goals that allowed us play on the counter in the second half and gave Moses the space to run at them
which is where he did optimum damage
Had it not been for Mikels contribution the game would have turned out very differently

The YeyeMan wrote:I've seen Mikel do "bigman" in close quarters. He has form. That's why he moved to China. :lol:
Same here. I recognised that look straightaway. He thinks he is better than those guys singing. If it were Drogba, Lamps and co messing around, he would have joined in to "belong".

My respect for Kelechi and Musa went up with that clip - fat paycheques, but still "one of the lads".
Yep, if na Terry and Lampard he'd be smiling and clapping like a happy lunatic. :lol:

smartbrother wrote: It also has the potential to breed respect for him
Some people respect those who do not bow to social pressure to do what they feel uncomfortable doing.
It also has the potential to make no difference whatsoever to the team dynamics
Since neither one of us can read the minds of the players there is no point criticizing or praising mikel over speculative potential reactions of his teammate

Mikel created the first and scored the second v Cameroon in Uyo
Goals that allowed us play on the counter in the second half and gave Moses the space to run at them
which is where he did optimum damage
Had it not been for Mikels contribution the game would have turned out very differently
Very unlikely that those singing and dancing that called him to join would respect him more.

It is possible that they don't care about his reaction, but very likely that they would have reacted favourably if he joined.

Moses created the 2nd, won the ball in our half and scored the 3rd, ran the defence ragged all game and was rightly man of the match.

Football is a team game, without Moses, Mikel, Ighalo, the result would be different. They were probably more decisive than the rest, but if not for some saving tackles by Balogun, some donkey work by Ndidi and Onazi, the result would have been different.

In a team game, every little that contributes to the team dynamic helps. That's why they say games are won on the minor details.

You guys are so judgemental geez! The only place where it's fair to criticize Mikel is on the pitch representing the eagles. Too much is being made out of this 2 min clip. Without being part of the team, dunno how you can conclude bigmanism, feels he's too good etc. A man leaves his family and gets on a plane to go play for his country and does the bizness on the pitch, yet we wanna criticize him for not singing and dancing and the bus???? Is he supposed to dance for your own enjoyment? What else do you want?
The sense of entitlement is nauseating, what type of parent or boss would you be with such attitude? The bus ride is his quiet, private time and he can do whatever he likes with it. Mikel has put his body on the line for Nigeria going 14+ yrs now. That's half his life. He's been there done that.

i have never seen such a jobless dongoyaro, bald headed blogger, 4 eyes, bad breath and tries so hard to be like that Nigerian female Blogger.. this fellow is the donkey of the month
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Wed Sep 06, 2017 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mcal wrote:...Kelechi Iheanacho, if this guy wasn't a football player, he probably will belong to the palm wine drinkers association, na typical Imo cum Igbo man be dat :thumbs:
I can vouch he's already a member. I aproov his aplikashun mysef :tic:

felarey wrote:You guys are so judgemental geez! The only place where it's fair to criticize Mikel is on the pitch representing the eagles. Too much is being made out of this 2 min clip. Without being part of the team, dunno how you can conclude bigmanism, feels he's too good etc. A man leaves his family and gets on a plane to go play for his country and does the bizness on the pitch, yet we wanna criticize him for not singing and dancing and the bus???? Is he supposed to dance for your own enjoyment? What else do you want?
The sense of entitlement is nauseating, what type of parent or boss would you be with such attitude? The bus ride is his quiet, private time and he can do whatever he likes with it. Mikel has put his body on the line for Nigeria going 14+ yrs now. That's half his life. He's been there done that.
Relax. I doubt what some of us have said rises to the level of "criticism", though I do think you undervalue the positive effects being involved with your teammates at times like these can have. If I were to pick the worst actor of the bunch, it'd probably be Balogun....using ear phones was a bit too much....but like you said, its a 2 minute clip...difficult to actually "criticize" based on this.