NIGERIA AFTER ABRAHAM - bbc

http://m.bbc.com/sport/football/41188906

This is a boy who actually has a better shot at England than starting for Nigeria, at least for the immediate future. If he commit now he likely will be a bench warmer for SE if he makes it. Let Enguland keep him.
Re: NIGERIA AFTER ABRAHAM - bbc

No disrespect to players like bonaventure, Samuel kalu, dessers etc but these are the players that we should be trying to call up if we want to progress

john12 wrote:No disrespect to players like bonaventure, Samuel kalu, dessers etc but these are the players that we should be trying to call up if we want to progress
I don't know how you know this guy's going to have a better career than all the other guys you mention here.

Well he might not or might have a better career than them. However, I'm more worried about the caliber of opponents that thy play against and the quality of team that they play for. I'm genuinely tired of se round of 16/group stage exit. I want us to get into semi or win the cup.The simple fact I have noticed is that to win a World Cup or do well at World Cup we need world class players. There might be some minor exceptions sha but that's not enough

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:http://m.bbc.com/sport/football/41188906

This is a boy who actually has a better shot at England than starting for Nigeria, at least for the immediate future. If he commit now he likely will be a bench warmer for SE if he makes it. Let Enguland keep him.

Old news.. These are quotes from Pinnick from early this year.

niyi wrote:
john12 wrote:No disrespect to players like bonaventure, Samuel kalu, dessers etc but these are the players that we should be trying to call up if we want to progress
I don't know how you know this guy's going to have a better career than all the other guys you mention here.
Abegi ask am... :clap:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:http://m.bbc.com/sport/football/41188906

Old news.. These are quotes from Pinnick from early this year.
"And now we have Ola Aina" couldn't have been from earlier this year. More like earlier this week.

Rehashed old news. Pinnick has been touting his friendship with the boy's father yet he keeps playing for England. Anyway it's still not too late

just get him then, and stop all the long story

pajimoh wrote:Rehashed old news. Pinnick has been touting his friendship with the boy's father yet he keeps playing for England. Anyway it's still not too late
It's not old news. Pinnick approached Tammy a long time ago, but he is approaching him still. It is an ongoing process.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Instead of Pinnick working on developing local talents, he is busy wasting resources and effort
on 'English ready-made talents'. Let's see how Abraham fares in the league before we force
him on our coaches.

Chelsea’s Tammy Abraham must weigh depth, potential in Nigeria offer
by Kevin Peacock - 6 hours ago

Tammy Abraham is embarking on his first season in the Premier League, but a major career decision lies ahead. Nigeria hope he will play for the Super Eagles in international competition instead of the Three Lions.

Chelsea’s Tammy Abraham is on a season-long loan at Swansea City, and is being targeted by the Nigerian Football Federation (NFF) as a potential new recruit. The London-born striker has played for England up to the U-21’s, but would qualify to play for Nigeria through his father.

NFF president Amaju Pinnick, who grew up with Abraham’s father in Nigeria, is hoping that their friendship will help seal the deal for the 19-year old’s international footballing services. As Abraham has not yet appeared at senior level, the door is still open for him to swap allegiances.

We are working on getting Abraham. Tammy is like my son, his father and I grew up in the same neighbourhood. – BBC

This is not the first time the NFF have approached Abraham and his dad. The Federation spoke to them in July 2016 to sound them out on the prospect. At the time, father and son felt the youngster’s focus should be with England. Nigeria’s UK chief David Doherty said of the meeting:

We spoke to his dad, met with him and his dad. The chances are that in future he could play for Nigeria if England Three Lions is not certain. But for now he is in tune with England, the option is open. – All Nigeria Soccer

Abraham has a big decision to make. Should he chose Nigeria over England, he would not be the first Chelsea player to make the swap. Nigeria have a record of success when it comes to claiming potential England stars for their own. Victor Moses and more recently Ola Aina have both made the switch. Abraham will need to consider several options before making up his mind.

His first consideration should be how likely he is to play. The Super Eagles’ current strikers include Kelechi Iheanacho and Ahmed Musa, both of Leicester City. Musa is the more experienced of the two, having played 62 games and scored 13 goals. Iheanacho, who has a much better goal-to-game ratio, is the future. He has played only 11 games, scoring six goals.

Domestically, Abraham is getting Premier League game time on loan under the stewardship of former Chelsea coach Paul Clement. Musa and Iheanacho are behind Jamie Vardy and Shinji Okazaki in the pecking order at Leicester and struggling for game time.

Should he chose to switch, with the experience that he is currently gaining Abraham would be able to command a place in Nigeria’s starting XI. Next, he has to think about how likely he is to get into the England team. There is no question he would make the squad, but would he be anything more than a bench-warmer?

England’s incumbents are Harry Kane, Jamie Vardy, Daniel Sturridge, Danny Welbeck and Abraham’s nearest rival in terms of age, Marcus Rashford. Abraham would challenge to replace an aging Vardy and the injury prone Sturridge and Welbeck. He may, however, struggle to oust Kane and Rashford right now. In time, if he continues on his current trajectory, he has every chance of making an impact in a team that has struggled to achieve anything in recent years.

The last consideration comes down to silverware. Either option gives him the opportunity of a major trophy every two years. He would compete in the World Cup with either of the two, the Euros with England or the African Cup of Nations with Nigeria. His chances of picking up a trophy with England are at best slim. With Nigeria, the AFCON is almost a certainty at some point. As for the World Cup, neither side has come that close to winning the trophy recently.

NFF President Amaju Pinnick thinks his country are in the ascendancy, though.

You take a first look at the [Nigeria] team and you see players like William Ekong, Wilfred Ndidi, Leon Balogun, Iwobi, Chidozie Awaziem, Tyronne Ebuehi, Kelechi Iheanacho and now we have Aina as well. I believe we are so blessed and that this team will cause a big stir in Russia, and if not in Russia, in Qatar in five years’ time. – BBC

Whether Abraham earns that level of positivity from anyone in the England set-up remains to be seen. Wherever he ends up playing, that country will have a player who has scored goals at every level he has played.

https://theprideoflondon.com/2017/09/08 ... d-chelsea/

Should he chose to switch, with the experience that he is currently gaining Abraham would be able to command a place in Nigeria’s starting XI.

Who is Abraham likely to replace.
Next, he has to think about how likely he is to get into the England team. There is no question he would make the squad, but would he be anything
more than a bench-warmer?
Is the writer insinuating that England is better than the SE?
A look at the results of England's WC qualifiers should be a good guide.

Not a big fan of going after European born players but getting Abraham would be huge.

Last time I checked Nigeria was a 1/8 World Cup finalist, while England was losing to Costa Rica.

As it stands Nigeria offers more chance to win stuff than England.

Tbite wrote:
pajimoh wrote:Rehashed old news. Pinnick has been touting his friendship with the boy's father yet he keeps playing for England. Anyway it's still not too late
It's not old news. Pinnick approached Tammy a long time ago, but he is approaching him still. It is an ongoing process.
Ongoing old news then :arrow:

joao wrote:
Should he chose to switch, with the experience that he is currently gaining Abraham would be able to command a place in Nigeria’s starting XI.

Next, he has to think about how likely he is to get into the England team. There is no question he would make the squad, but would he be anything
I think this was a very balanced write-up. He is stating a fact. He will have an easier time getting a start with Nigeria than the Lions.
When you say WC qualifier as a parameter for measuring the stands of these teams, that is apple and orange comparison.

I like these parts as it makes the write-up more balanced and fact - driven;
The last consideration comes down to silverware. Either option gives him the opportunity of a major trophy every two years. He would compete in the World Cup with either of the two, the Euros with England or the African Cup of Nations with Nigeria. His chances of picking up a trophy with England are at best slim. With Nigeria, the AFCON is almost a certainty at some point. As for the World Cup, neither side has come that close to winning the trophy recently.

In all, he will make a decent addition if he comes on board.

joao wrote:

I think this was a very balanced write-up. He is stating a fact. He will have an easier time getting a start with Nigeria than the Lions.
When you say WC qualifier as a parameter for measuring the stands of these teams, that is apple and orange comparison.

I like these parts as it makes the write-up more balanced and fact - driven;

In all, he will make a decent addition if he comes on board.
Euro is every 4 years and not 2

marutimon wrote:Last time I checked Nigeria was a 1/8 World Cup finalist, while England was losing to Costa Rica.

As it stands Nigeria offers more chance to win stuff than England.
Maybe but with the headache of flights not being reimbursed, bonuses not being paid, abandonment after injury while serving, NFF in general, you can go on and on, definitely SE is not the sexier option, esp for real top talent that could actually be an England mainstay.

At present a lot of English fans don't really know much about him (outside the Championship) there's not much chance of him playing for England in Russia 2018!

we're neglecting top grade talent like sadiq umar but pursuing a dude that shows zero interest in playing for us
i guess the grass is always greener on the other side
shocking stuff

It would appear that fans keep jumping to the latest new 9ja player on the block! Once he plays for us doesn't score we jump on the next player.... how not to build a team! The noise around Ania, Success, the top scorer in Belgium,Kayode, now its Tammy then it will be Ojo none of whom are really special .hold your peace and let the coach build a team.
Ps: I noticed no one clamouring for the recall of Kayode but are now content with the inclusion of Ighalo who reverted back to type in the second leg against Cameroon failing to score after doing all the hard work beating his man then blasting high and wide. I just hope the coaching crew search long and hard for a quality centre forward because Ighalo isn't good enough

joao wrote:Instead of Pinnick working on developing local talents, he is busy wasting resources and effort
on 'English ready-made talents'. Let's see how Abraham fares in the league before we force
him on our coaches.
Bros we can do both. We can have a team that works on development and a team that has an eye on Naija foreign bred talent.