Nigeria to drop to 44th in FIFA Ranking

Down from 38.
CHAN matches shouldn't be included in the calculation. :boo:
Re: Nigeria to drop to 44th in FIFA Ranking

Yeah, that sure was Africa shooting itself in the foot.

marutimon wrote:Yeah, that sure was Africa shooting itself in the foot.
Forget the ranking. We need to develop our game and CHAN helps the local lads. FIFA ranking I nothing more than bragging rights

It affects our players ability to get a work permit

Synopsis wrote:Down from 38.
The natural number for Naija should be around 100. It is a fair position given your population.
Kuku Ngbendu Wa Za Banga

:roll: :roll: How many CHAN games did Naija play?

Cameroon won AFCON and dropped. So did many other AFCON teams, while a dormant Naija rose up in rankings.
Now that you are finally playing games and dropping, you blame CHAN in which you played only two games?
One of which you won via off side goals?

[color=brown]EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA[/color] wrote: It affects our players ability to get a work permit
Please explain.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

ikemba_nacho

Post by ikemba_nacho »

Its a Goal wrote:
[color=brown]EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA[/color] wrote: It affects our players ability to get a work permit
Please explain.
Onazi's failed move to Birmingham

Kabalega wrote:

Cameroon won AFCON and dropped. So did many other AFCON teams, while a dormant Naija rose up in rankings.
Now that you are finally playing games and dropping, you blame CHAN in which you played only two games?
Are you ok? :shock: Cameroon moved up 29 spots after they won AFCON.

Nigeria lost a CHAN qualifier match and they dropped. Why should they be punished? Nigeria's CHAN team is nothing close to our strongest team. I have nothing against the CHAN, great for development, I just think it shouldn't be included in the calculation. It is unfair to teams where the majority of their players play outside of their country.

See the lopsided groups CAF has in WCQ.

Synopsis wrote:
Kabalega wrote:

Nigeria lost a CHAN qualifier match and they dropped. Why should they be punished? Nigeria's CHAN team is nothing close to our strongest team. I have nothing against the CHAN, great for development, I just think it shouldn't be included in the calculation. It is unfair to teams where the majority of their players play outside of their country.

Not true! Then why didn't they climb after beating the same team by a wider margin?

Care to explain why a dormant Nigeria kept climbing after missing out on AFCON, while AFCON bound teams were dropping in ranking?

How come Nigeria that failed to qualify for the last two AFCONs, is now ranked higher than CIV and Ghana?

Kabalega wrote:
Synopsis wrote:
Kabalega wrote:

Not true! Then why didn't they climb after beating the same team by a wider margin?

Care to explain why a dormant Nigeria kept climbing after missing out on AFCON, while AFCON bound teams were dropping in ranking?

How come Nigeria that failed to qualify for the last two AFCONs, is now ranked higher than CIV and Ghana?
FIFA ranking doesn't take into account goal margin.

Nigeria has been performing better than Ghana and CIV over the last year. CIV didn't win a single match at the AFCON and look at Ghana's recent results:

Forget the ranking. We need to develop our game and CHAN helps the local lads. FIFA ranking I nothing more than bragging rights
No one says we shoudln't play CHAN games, but since they count as friendlies they negatively affect Africa's already low rankings making World Cup pot 1 seeding virtually impossible. You can win games at CHAN and drop as a result, the more you play the lower you will be ranked, because their weighting is just 1 as compared to World Cup games having 2,5.

You win CHAN with 7 games straight and you can even drop in the rankings as a result as it massively increases the number of friendly games as compared to other confeds!

marutimon wrote:
No one says we shoudln't play CHAN games, but since they count as friendlies they negatively affect Africa's already low rankings making World Cup pot 1 seeding virtually impossible. You can win games at CHAN and drop as a result, the more you play the lower you will be ranked, because their weighting is just 1 as compared to World Cup games having 2,5.

You win CHAN with 7 games straight and you can even drop in the rankings as a result as it massively increases the number of friendly games as compared to other confeds!
Where is CHAN counted as friendly's? It's a tournament and played under tournament rules

Generalissimo Ogolo wrote:
The natural number for Naija should be around 100. It is a fair position given your population.
When people from football playing nations are talking, you should take out a notepad and write bullet points so when you return to your marathon runners forum, you can share how "they reason." olodo rabata :lol: :lol: :lol:

Una still dey cry about rankings? SE was ranked low before the 3rd round of the qualifiers

marutimon wrote:

That's right. CHAN should be reclassified as a B team tournament so it doesn't affect the rankings.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: You no well at all

100%Naija wrote:
When people from football playing nations are talking, you should take out a notepad and write bullet points so when you return to your marathon runners forum, you can share how "they reason." olodo rabata :lol: :lol: :lol:

Synopsis wrote:
Kabalega wrote:
Synopsis wrote:
Kabalega wrote:

FIFA ranking doesn't take into account goal margin.

Nigeria has been performing better than Ghana and CIV over the last year. CIV didn't win a single match at the AFCON and look at Ghana's recent results:

wow 3 Wins 8 loses and 2 draws.. they've been losing a lot, that Grant really yeye ghana

marutimon wrote:

Where is CHAN counted as friendly's? It's a tournament and played under tournament rules
CHAN games count as friendly games in FIFA ranking points.

You're actually better off not playing friendlies - or playing a few against higher ranked teams AND defeating them. That's how Poland and Switzerland are gaming the system.