Frank De Boer sacked by Palace after 4 games

De Boer sacked by Crystal Palace after 4 games. It seems there is very little point trying long-term "philosophy" at a club focused purely on EPL survival.

So all the plans and ideas are binned after 4 defeats and it is back to the drawing Board of kick and rush football, if the rumours of Hodgson being De Boer's replacement are correct.
Re: Frank De Boer sacked by Palace after 4 games

:laugh:

Dutch coaching is outmoded and outdated .... Just Like their Game .... mscheeeew

This reminds me of the old chestnut of coaching - do you fit your system to the players you have, or get the players to fit the system?

I remember Ancelotti saying he preferred the former approach. De Boer (Ajax/Barca approach) thought he could get away with the latter. There's no point trying to play a passing game with players that can't trap a bag of cement.

anikulapo wrote:Dutch coaching is outmoded and outdated .... Just Like their Game .... mscheeeew
Dutch coaching is what you have at Man City - Rinus Michels is the grandfather, Cruyff the son, Guardiola the grandchild.

cic old boy wrote:This reminds me of the old chestnut of coaching - do you fit your system to the players you have, or get the players to fit the system?

I remember Ancelotti saying he preferred the former approach. De Boer (Ajax/Barca approach) thought he could get away with the latter. There's no point trying to play a passing game with players that can't trap a bag of cement.
I thought they did well in the second half and were very unlucky, They should have let Sakho return and if result does not change then they sack him....too early IMHO

anikulapo wrote:Dutch coaching is outmoded and outdated .... Just Like their Game .... mscheeeew
Dutch coaching is what you have at Man City - Rinus Michels is the grandfather, Cruyff the son, Guardiola the grandchild.

Spending a billion pounds on players can make any coach look somewhat successful ... Negro focus on ya blog abeg .... go and look at what's going on in Holland and see how much the demand for Dutch coaching has fallen.

Notice you stopped at City :mrgreen:

Spending a billion pounds on players can make any coach look somewhat successful ... Negro focus on ya blog abeg .... go and look at what's going on in Holland and see how much the demand for Dutch coaching has fallen.

:agree: :agree:

If there waa ever a reason why i refused to go into coaching after football, take a look at the stupid Palace player that misplaced the pass that finally got De Boer sacked!

He controlled the ball far up in the opponents half, brought the ball back towards his own goal, his team mate was at a passing distance and free....what did he do, he opted to make one of the longest back pass to a keeper , in fact if he was thinking of safety and bereft of what to do..tapping the ball into throwing was the safest option. He made a pass that beat all his defenders , got nowhere near his keeper and was sitting pretty for the opposing attacker...bye...De Boer got his sack letter!

I felt like entering my tv and give the racoon of a player a dirty stinging and stinking slap to let him know how i felt.

My advice,stay away from dumb player!

...the atrocious display by the players cost the coach his job. Too many misses.
carbon

Post by carbon »

oloye wrote:If there waa ever a reason why i refused to go into coaching after football, take a look at the stupid Palace player that misplaced the pass that finally got De Boer sacked!

He controlled the ball far up in the opponents half, brought the ball back towards his own goal, his team mate was at a passing distance and free....what did he do, he opted to make one of the longest back pass to a keeper , in fact if he was thinking of safety and bereft of what to do..tapping the ball into throwing was the safest option. He made a pass that beat all his defenders , got nowhere near his keeper and was sitting pretty for the opposing attacker...bye...De Boer got his sack letter!

I felt like entering my tv and give the racoon of a player a dirty stinging and stinking slap to let him know how i felt.

Oloye, I was shocked to see that kind of pass at that level. Under hit and right in the middle. If he was unsure or not mentally ready that early, boot it upfield and apologise to your team mates later.

carbon wrote:
oloye wrote:If there waa ever a reason why i refused to go into coaching after football, take a look at the stupid Palace player that misplaced the pass that finally got De Boer sacked!

Oloye, I was shocked to see that kind of pass at that level. Under hit and right in the middle. If he was unsure or not mentally ready that early, boot it upfield and apologise to your team mates later.
Some players will kill their coaches ....me i cannot allow players to send me to an early grave. One cannot emphaise enough the importance of that match....seriously i an inclined to believe that guy did it delibrately. That pass made no sense at all....i pray am wrong...but such is my anger and distrust of certain players even at this level. The more i watched that pass the more i struggle to understand what that player waa trying to do, if the pass was meant for the keeper,then sorry it did not even have enough power to travel the distance.

5m payoff.

carbon wrote:

Some players will kill their coaches ....me i cannot allow players to send me to an early grave. One cannot emphaise enough the importance of that match....seriously i an inclined to believe that guy did it delibrately. That pass made no sense at all....i pray am wrong...but such is my anger and distrust of certain players even at this level. The more i watched that pass the more i struggle to understand what that player waa trying to do, if the pass was meant for the keeper,then sorry it did not even have enough power to travel the distance.
No wonder Oloye Jnr no dey play ball and prefer Rugby ha ba :rotf: How can he do it deliberately :tic:

There's nothing wrong with spending a billion pounds on quality players that fit your style. You'd be surprised how many coaches who wouldn't get the best out of this City side. Pep is a good coach abeg.

I think smaller clubs with lower quality players shouldn't worry about long term philosophies and just stick to pragmatism.

Mr. Piffington wrote:

There's nothing wrong with spending a billion pounds on quality players that fit your style. You'd be surprised how many coaches who wouldn't get the best out of this City side. Pep is a good coach abeg.

I think smaller clubs with lower quality players shouldn't worry about long term philosophies and just stick to pragmatism.

It seems that you have missed the point

Prince wrote:
carbon wrote:

No wonder Oloye Jnr no dey play ball and prefer Rugby ha ba :rotf: How can he do it deliberately :tic:
Let me just say this.....players can be diabolical :lol: If they want to get you sackes...you will be sacked... :D

Roy Hodgson will be Crystal Palace new Manager.

Focus first on what I said earlier - adapt system to suit players or get players to fit the system. Guardiola is doing the same thing as De Boer. The difference is that Guardiola has the means to buy the players to implement the system. It has nothing to do with the success/failure of Dutch coaching.

Holland is a very small country. They always have slumps in the production of talent. It happened after Cruyff until Gullit and Van Basten turned up. It happened after those two. It is happening now. Nothing to do with the coaching. More about talent not coming through and clubs like Ajax not being able to compete with the European superpowers.

Waffiman wrote:Roy Hodgson will be Crystal Palace new Manager.
That shameless old man has been scheming behind the scene as soon as they smelt De Boer was in trouble. Even went to the papers last week saying he is interested in the job.

mcal wrote:...the atrocious display by the players cost the coach his job. Too many misses.
They were unlucky.
I remember one well hit shot at goal and it found a Burnley player standing on the goal line. Another day it was straight in, 1-1

Waffiman wrote:Roy Hodgson will be Crystal Palace new Manager.
You have to wonder at FDB's decisions also. If he was brought in to change the footballing philosophy of the team, and it appears he was, what guarantee did he ask for and was given? Given the squad remained the same, you wonder at his decision to take the job...

He tried a passing game vs Huddersfield and lost. At Liverpool he went long ball and lost; vs Burnley he went back to his passing principles and lost...

This is similar to the inconsistency he showed at Inter before getting the pink slip...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Focus first on what I said earlier - adapt system to suit players or get players to fit the system. Guardiola is doing the same thing as De Boer. The difference is that Guardiola has the means to buy the players to implement the system. It has nothing to do with the success/failure of Dutch coaching.

Holland is a very small country. They always have slumps in the production of talent. It happened after Cruyff until Gullit and Van Basten turned up. It happened after those two. It is happening now. Nothing to do with the coaching. More about talent not coming through and clubs like Ajax not being able to compete with the European superpowers.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.thesco ... 265515/amp

Once again you don't know when to be quiet smh .... You no sabi football ... need I bring up the last two times you tried to argue football with me ... Biko go siddon Haba