Africa's best DM of all time is?

Re: Africa's best DM of all time is?

YUJAM wrote:Sunday wasn't really a DM. He wasn't a good tackler and wasn't tough in the air. I did not really see Muda Lawal play

But Wanyama is among the very best. The guy is tough as nails and van ball too. He benched an England international.

For best pure DM it would be a toss up between Wanyama and Diarra

YUJAM wrote:Had a brain fart last nite
Muhammadu Diarra
Victor Wanyama
Mikel Obi
Didier Zokora
Marc Vivian Foe
Mikel Essien
Mutiu Adepoju
Lucas Radebe
Papa Bouba Diop
Emmanuel Kunde

You had a brain fart this morning. :lol: :lol:

Mutiu Adepoju is not better than Muda Lawal and Sunday Oliseh.

Victor Wanyama that plays for Spurs?

Which Diarra are you referencing? The one from Lyon/Real Madrid?

wiseone wrote:Essien "The Bison" was an utter monster in his prime.

We could of course also say Zizou...
olu wrote:Michael Essien. His career was cut short by repeated injuries though.
Zizou...seriously Zizou a DM? Wiseone you dey fall for my hand oh! :shock:

Pesin say him be wise one, you dey counter am?

Anyway, me i nominate Peter Rufai.

Blukyt

Post by Blukyt »

They talking about best player in a certain position people are talking about trophy hauls, like this is tennis. If that is what people wanna go by then Maxwell the best player Europe has ever seen.

marutimon wrote:Essien no 1 during his short prime.
With longevity in mind Emmanuel Kunde gets my vote.
Naby Keita may well be no 1 before long. Absolute king.
Emmanuel Kunde was a centreback!

Muhammadu Diarra
Victor Wanyama
Mikel Obi
Didier Zokora
Marc Vivian Foe
Mikel Essien
Mutiu Adepoju
Lucas Radebe
Papa Bouba Diop
Emmanuel Kunde

Radebe and Kunde are centrebacks.

Undertaker wrote:
YUJAM wrote:Muhammadu Diarra
Mikel Obi

Yujam, stop pandering to Nigerians because you are taking refuge in a Nigerian forum. John Mikel Obi is a below average DM. I can name 10 better DM in Africa better than him in the last 10 years alone! :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
BigTurkey was right about you... that you are of below average IQ... :D :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

To imagine i was defending you. :boo: :curse:
Chief, I will forgive you. I know it is old age! I guess people aren't allowed to have an opinion anymore on CE! :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
Thanks Uncle Undie... :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

You know you are my guy. I only yab guys who are my friend. :thumbs:

Ayo Akinfe wrote:[1] Pape Boupa Diop
[2] Sunday Oliseh
[3] Mikel Obi
[4] Michael Essien
[5] Marc Vivien-Foe
[6] Muda Lawal
[7] Muhammadu Diara
[8] Mutiu Adepoju
[9] Alioum Saidou
[10] Aliou Cissé
WAyo, how can you rank Papa Bouba Diop above the peerless Michael Essien? Sunny Oliseh is Nigerian but he was not better than Essien. And neither was Mikel. :D Make I go hide before BigPokey see dis wan. :D

marutimon wrote:Essien no 1 during his short prime.
With longevity in mind Emmanuel Kunde gets my vote.
Naby Keita may well be no 1 before long. Absolute king.
Emmanuel Kunde was a centreback!
Yes.

Muhammadu Diarra
Victor Wanyama
Mikel Obi
Didier Zokora
Marc Vivian Foe
Mikel Essien
Mutiu Adepoju
Lucas Radebe
Papa Bouba Diop
Emmanuel Kunde

Radebe and Kunde are centrebacks.
Both played both roles

ohsee wrote:
Ayo Akinfe wrote:[1] Pape Boupa Diop
[2] Sunday Oliseh
[3] Mikel Obi
[4] Michael Essien
[5] Marc Vivien-Foe
[6] Muda Lawal
[7] Muhammadu Diara
[8] Mutiu Adepoju
[9] Alioum Saidou
[10] Aliou Cissé
WAyo, how can you rank Papa Bouba Diop above the peerless Michael Essien? Sunny Oliseh is Nigerian but he was not better than Essien. And neither was Mikel. :D Make I go hide before BigPokey see dis wan. :D
To be honest, my list was not in any particular order.

Aniks, Yup Mikel is so subpar that he has laid waste to countless African heavyweight teams AND triumphed in Africa!

If Mikel is so bad, why is it that he is so EFFECTIVE in Africa and elsewhere?

Nobody is doctoring anything here or hyping anyone. Mikel is one of hte greatest Nigerian footballers and African footballers of all time period!

And if we are to be honest, I don't know of any African team that wouldn't want Mikel right now! You saw how he laid waste to Cameroon (ANC Champions) and that wasn't even Mikel anywhere near his best! If Mikel was at his best against Cameroon, kaii they would have forfeited that match before the first half was over! On his day, Mikel is untouchable!
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Tbite wrote:Aniks, Yup Mikel is so subpar that he has laid waste to countless African heavyweight teams AND triumphed in Africa!

If Mikel is so bad, why is it that he is so EFFECTIVE in Africa and elsewhere?

Nobody is doctoring anything here or hyping anyone. Mikel is one of hte greatest Nigerian footballers and African footballers of all time period!

And if we are to be honest, I don't know of any African team that wouldn't want Mikel right now! You saw how he laid waste to Cameroon (ANC Champions) and that wasn't even Mikel anywhere near his best! If Mikel was at his best against Cameroon, kaii they would have forfeited that match before the first half was over! On his day, Mikel is untouchable!
Yea but he wasn't playing DM though...even for GWG we've preferred to play him at CM, it's Chelsea that made him stay in DM.

If the point is anout "defensive" midfielder, then Mikel it is. In fact, that's the biggest criticism of Mikel, he was too pure and conservative in that role.
But ask any defender he played with; he made them safe. He wa so disciplined, so willing to sacrifice his ego for the team. Rarely caught in possession, always made the simple pass, shielded the ball like a deamon and was positionally impeccable.
Many of the folk you mentioned here were far superior midfielders: Oliseh, Essien jump out, but defensively, Mikel can't really be touched.

the way you people disrespect Mikel is pretty annoying , what more must boy wonder do to get his respect.. 11 freaking years in Europe, AFCON title, got robbed for APOY ( finished 2nd) and you people are still here placing junks ahead of him..no DM in the history of AFrica has had such success as a footballer in that position compared to Mikel