Page 1 of 3

Ezenwa fast becoming a fans favorite

Posted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:35 pm
by Tobi17
Never seen a goal keeper as consistent as this lad, dude has been on top form in almost every competition he has been involved in, he was the one that ensured that our CHAN team qualified with his heroic save, he was immense in the world cup qualifiers against Cameroon, and in today's Wafu cup I followed the match updates and he was once again magnificent, making about 4 point blank saves against Sierra Leone, we won the game by 2-0 win, left for me he deserves that #1 short going fiteard.

Re: Ezenwa fast becoming a fans favorite

Posted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:40 pm
I like the guy but I'd rather go with Vince or a healthy Ikeme against teams like Argentina,Germany or France, if, I stress if we qualify for the wc. Wafu cup and Cameroon are not the same as the wc.

Posted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:46 pm
by Its a Goal
Ezenwa has earned the right to be the #1 keeper. Vince has retired so please let us not make the mistake of 1998 WC where we recalled a retired Rufai enjoying his time on the Brazilian beach to come and man the post. If we don't give it to Ezenwa now when do we? Are we not supposed to be building up his confidence and profile rather than hold them back?

Ikeme is out for a considerable length of time and highly doubtful will be back by the time WC starts. If so then his international career is effectively over.

What we should be looking for now is who will back up Ezenwa.

Posted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:49 pm
Its a Goal wrote:Ezenwa has earned the right to be the #1 keeper. Vince has retired so please let us not make the mistake of 1998 WC where we recalled a retired Rufai enjoying his time on the Brazilian beach to come and man the post. If we don't give it to Ezenwa now when do we? Are we not supposed to be building up his confidence and profile rather than hold them back?

Ikeme is out for a considerable length of time and highly doubtful will be back by the time WC starts. If so then his international career is effectively over.

Vince has not retired from football and be back in a good team soon.

Posted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:58 pm
by osita
Its a Goal wrote:Ezenwa has earned the right to be the #1 keeper. Vince has retired so please let us not make the mistake of 1998 WC where we recalled a retired Rufai enjoying his time on the Brazilian beach to come and man the post. If we don't give it to Ezenwa now when do we? Are we not supposed to be building up his confidence and profile rather than hold them back?

Vince has not retired from football and be back in a good team soon.

How do we indeed move forward? Vince has retired please let him stay retired and let's move on with ezenwa

Posted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:25 pm
by oloye
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:I like the guy but I'd rather go with Vince or a healthy Ikeme against teams like Argentina,Germany or France, if, I stress if we qualify for the wc. Wafu cup and Cameroon are not the same as the wc.
And i am guessing Argentina did not score against Vince? :D

Posted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:31 pm
Actually every SE player is now a fan favorite. ..that 4 zip vs Team like les lions made many naija folks super ....if the qualify for Russia they will get more love compared to this

Posted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:32 pm

Pure rubbish, when did Vince retire? 1998 and how are they related

Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 12:00 am
by Senator WIRES
He should stop that nonsense celebration!!! he needs to be creative in his own way of celebrating ..not copying the Congolese goalkeeper :lol: :lol:

Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 12:07 am
by Its a Goal
[color=brown]Bigpokey24[/color] wrote:
Its a Goal wrote: Ezenwa has earned the right to be the #1 keeper. Vince has retired so please let us not make the mistake of 1998 WC where we recalled a retired Rufai enjoying his time on the Brazilian beach to come and man the post. If we don't give it to Ezenwa now when do we? Are we not supposed to be building up his confidence and profile rather than hold them back?

Pure rubbish, when did Vince retire? 1998 and how are they related
Enyeama used his mouth talk he no do again. Let the man be. We are on to a winning team let's not start looking backward to those who may destabilize such harmony and comradeship.

Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 12:19 am
by asabatex
#1 Ey
#2 Ez

Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 12:29 am
by olu
He has done enough to earn the starting spot for the last 2 qualifiers, but would go with Ikeme or Enyeama if either of them return to full fitness and get significant playing time at their clubs after the qualifiers. Many also claim there are better keepers in the NPFL. Would like to see some of the other "better" keepers tested in friendlies after the qualifiers.

Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 12:53 am
Senator WIRES wrote:He should stop that nonsense celebration!!! he needs to be creative in his own way of celebrating ..not copying the Congolese goalkeeper :lol: :lol:
Another monkey see monkey do...I hope you are aware Ezenwa has been doing that celebration since u20s. ..I wish you were next to me so I can konk your head

Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 12:55 am
by ohenhen1
He stills need more development.

Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 1:25 am
by folem

History has a funny way of repeating itself.

Retired players comebacks with SE don't often end well.

Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 1:29 am
by folem
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:I like the guy but I'd rather go with Vince or a healthy Ikeme against teams like Argentina,Germany or France, if, I stress if we qualify for the wc. Wafu cup and Cameroon are not the same as the wc.
And i am guessing Argentina did not score against Vince? :D

:mrgreen:

Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:15 am
by theYemster
olu wrote:He has done enough to earn the starting spot for the last 2 qualifiers, but would go with Ikeme or Enyeama if either of them return to full fitness and get significant playing time at their clubs after the qualifiers. Many also claim there are better keepers in the NPFL. Would like to see some of the other "better" keepers tested in friendlies after the qualifiers.
Even if he returns to active pro footy (which I'm not confident he will) I doubt Ikeme will be in top shape in time for the world cup. He has it all to do just to get healthy.

Enyeama himself publicly stated he was done with international footy and so far all I've seen is hearsay and second hand gist regarding his change of heart. And to add to the he's out of a club and been injured for a minute. That's a lot to overcome.

Yes there's a risk going with Ezenwa but let's keep in mind that this same Enyeama as a greenhorn was thrust into the spotlight against England at the world cup proper and if my memory serves me correctly was the only goalie that played against England in that tourney to hold them scoreless.

Personally I don't think this should be an issue. The team will only be better off having both of them regardless of who gets the starting job.

Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:55 am
by Mr Shows
Yemster, thanks jare. The discussion is a no brainer... At the moment we only have one keeper in form and that is Ezenwa. For now, he is Nigeria's number one full stop... Ikeme will need time to recover and then several months to regain form. Magnet needs to get fit and back playing first team football and that is a few months off also.

Ezenwa has earnt the right to don the shirt on merit. I am not sure how much of an impact the new goal keeping coach has made on his confidence but they should continue working on him. If and when Magnet returns, there will be no automatic shirt, let him come and fight for first spot.

Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 11:04 am
by pajimoh
Ezinwa should be encouraged. I can sleep better knowing Akpeyi is not in goal. Vince return would definitely be temporary and he should fight for his place rather than handed to him.

On the saves I the WAFU cup, not taking anything away from him, were the strikers just woeful or just incredible saves? Would we have gotten away with those lapses against top teams and strikers?

Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:50 am
by Its a Goal
[color=brown]pajimoh[/color] wrote: Ezinwa should be encouraged. I can sleep better knowing Akpeyi is not in goal. Vince return would definitely be temporary and he should fight for his place rather than handed to him.

On the saves I the WAFU cup, not taking anything away from him, were the strikers just woeful or just incredible saves? Would we have gotten away with those lapses against top teams and strikers?
Good question. It is a combination of both. If you look at SL's last goal attempt that Ezenwa saved you could tell Ezenwa had already gotten into the player's head hence why he rushed his shot. These are the qualities that define good goal keepers as they make their opponent second guess how to place their shot.

Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:25 am
by Odas
Tobi17 wrote:Never seen a goal keeper as consistent as this lad, dude has been on top form in almost every competition he has been involved in, he was the one that ensured that our CHAN team qualified with his heroic save, he was immense in the world cup qualifiers against Cameroon, and in today's Wafu cup I followed the match updates and he was once again magnificent, making about 4 point blank saves against Sierra Leone, we won the game by 2-0 win, left for me he deserves that #1 short going fiteard.
From the two games I saw him play (our games with Cameroon), I believe the young man is good and will likely get better. I think Carl is our number one keeper and Ezenwa is next. Thus in the absence of Carl, Ezenwa is our number one keeper

Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:34 am
by Odas
Its a Goal wrote: Ezenwa has earned the right to be the #1 keeper. Vince has retired so please let us not make the mistake of 1998 WC where we recalled a retired Rufai enjoying his time on the Brazilian beach to come and man the post. If we don't give it to Ezenwa now when do we? Are we not supposed to be building up his confidence and profile rather than hold them back?

KPAM! :agree: :agree: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:35 am
by 1naija
When was the last time you saw Vince keep? You can't select first team player based on Nostalgia. Or would you rather see Taribo West and Yobo pair up as our CDs at the WC because of you remember when they were great defenders? To me if Ikeme is healthy there is no room for Vincent unless he wants to be the third choice goalkeeper. If Ikeme is well but not match fit by the WC then Vincent will make a solid #2. I dont see him ever becoming our first choice goalkeeper again unless both Ezenwa and Ikeme are injured.