Draw details for 2018 World Cup finalized

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 2:28 pm
The seedings will be as followed:

Pot 1: Hosts Russia plus the top seven teams according to the rankings
Pot 2: Teams ranked 7-15
Pot 3: Teams ranked 16-24
Pot 4: Team ranked 24-32
Of course, it won’t go directly on the FIFA rankings because some teams currently ranked inside the top 32 (I’m looking at you, the Netherlands, USA and Iceland) may not qualify for Russia.
https://www.yahoo.com/sports/draw-detai ... 03196.html

Re: Draw details for 2018 World Cup finalized

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 2:40 pm
Germany
Columbia
Italy
Nigeria

Dem wan finish us before we qualify sef. :scared: :scared: :scared:

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 3:02 pm
by The YeyeMan
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Germany
Spain
Italy
Nigeria

Dem wan finish us before we qualify sef. :scared: :scared: :scared:
Those teams are probable top seeds so unlikely to be in one group - plus FIFA usually has max 2 Euro teams per group.

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 3:29 pm
by vancity eagle
This is a better method, if and only if the rankings are anywhere close to being accurate WHICH THEY ARE NOT.

CAF needs to petition to have those home based tournaments like CHAN removed from the FIFA rankings consideration.

Also they need to petition along with concacaf and AFC to have the biased confederation multiplier removed.

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 3:57 pm
by The YeyeMan
vancity eagle wrote:CAF needs to petition to have those home based tournaments like CHAN removed from the FIFA rankings consideration.
CAF should reclassify CHAN as a B team tournament. Which is effectively what it is. Should have the same impact on the rankings as the Olympics mens tournament - i.e. none.

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 4:02 pm
by Goldleaf
Poland
Wales
Iceland
Nigeria

Cool by me.

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 4:30 pm
by highbury
Goldleaf wrote:Poland
Wales
Iceland
Nigeria

Cool by me.
Similar to yours:
Poland
Wales
United States
Nigeria

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 4:38 pm
by walesvilla
Wales
Iceland
Nigeria

Cool by me.
when it seem easy on paper - Nigeria tends to mess it up... so we need a balance to keep us on our toes so replace iceland with columbia

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 4:39 pm
by The YeyeMan
Wales
Iceland
Nigeria

Cool by me.
3 European teams in a single group will not happen.

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 5:04 pm
by Robotnik
No more 'easy' groups for pot 4 teams.

Of course the luck of being easy group would come from the 'flawed' rankings.

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 5:07 pm
by TheHitman47
From those pots I fancy:

Poland
Wales
Iran
Nigeria

A group that we can manage if we are on it. Wales is a one man team, Poland is also a one man team and Iran is very beatable.

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 5:08 pm
by Mr Shows
Doesn't matter who is in the group..It's the order of play, particularly the first game is key...Get 3 points in your first game and the permutations become somewhat more manageable.

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 5:17 pm
Mr Shows wrote:Doesn't matter who is in the group..It's the order of play, particularly the first game is key...Get 3 points in your first game and the permutations become somewhat more manageable.
If Germany or Brazil is in your group n wahala be dat. I'd rather try to win the first game in an easy group than a tough group

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 5:23 pm
by TheHitman47
Replace Poland with Russia in my dream group and we could possibly win the group.

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 5:24 pm
by The YeyeMan
TheHitman47 wrote:From those pots I fancy:

Poland
Wales
Iran
Nigeria

A group that we can manage if we are on it. Wales is a one man team, Poland is also a one man team and Iran is very beatable.
We said the same about Iran last time.

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 5:33 pm
by TheHitman47

Poland
Wales
Iran
Nigeria

We have more clinical strikers now which helps.

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 5:38 pm
by Sir V
Russia
England
Iran
Nigeria

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 5:47 pm

Poland
Wales
Iran
Nigeria

you dey mind am, IRan went undefeated in their group, and are now ranked 25th, let in the least amount of goals and still have the same manager CArlos Quizeros

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 5:47 pm
Sir V wrote:Russia
England
Iran
Nigeria
England will fancy their chances in this group. Easy 9pts for the 3 cubs. :thumb:

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 5:50 pm
by Tbite

Poland
Wales
Iran
Nigeria

Our team is better now than it was then and if I remember correctly, we finished 2nd in the group.

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:01 pm
by pajimoh
Tbite wrote:

Poland
Wales
Iran
Nigeria

Our team is better now than it was then and if I remember correctly, we finished 2nd in the group.
You can't measure yeams like that. They are not going to face the same teams under the same circumstances. Better team can fail to make the second round. It's about the challenges before them and how they surmount them.

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:07 pm
by Sir V
Sir V wrote:Russia
England
Iran
Nigeria
England will fancy their chances in this group. Easy 9pts for the 3 cubs. :thumb:
Naija will beat England.

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:11 pm
by Believe it or not
You guys are dreaming. I guarantee it will be:

Argentina
?
?
Nigeria.

Question is whether we play Argentina first.