Page 2 of 2

Re: Is Jordan Ibe still elegible for SE?

Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 8:34 pm
by Its a Goal
I will never warm up to him in a GWG until he can come out and say his name properly. Forget how commentators call him but for him personally, it is that important he gets it right.

Re: R1e: Is Jordan Ibe still elegible for SE?

Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 8:44 pm
by azuka
Its a Goal wrote:Until he can pronounce his name he is not eligible.
... and let me add, anybody; with Nigerian blood, who pompously turned us down when approached initially should NOT be eligible to play for Nigeria - ever.

Na my own be dat!
Signed.
It's ridiculous really to see these guys coming back and claiming to love Nigeria. Wait till the SE qualifies for Russia, you will be surprised at different stories of what really happened and people on these pages actually campaigning for folks to Ibe to be included in the squad to Russia.

Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 10:45 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
Its a Goal wrote:I will never warm up to him in a GWG until he can come out and say his name properly. Forget how commentators call him but for him personally, it is that important he gets it right.

that's a tall order for someone who can't spell his first name correctly.

Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 11:25 pm
by Otitokoro
Look at all these grown azz men chastising a 21 yr old boy for changing his mind regarding playing for Nigeria.

He was approached in 2015 (when he was 19) to switch allegiance from his country of birth (which he has lived in and known all his life) to a country who never gave a toss about him until he started making waves in England. And now y'all are pissed that he initially said no? I mean, seriously???

As far as I am concerned, there was absolutely NOTHING wrong with his initial answer. Kid is reconsidering (according to reports) and y'all have the temerity to question his allegiance? I mean, truthfully, how many of YOU would have chosen Nigeria at that point in time (i.e. 19 yrs) IF you were in his shoes??? Willing to bet the ranch that 99.999% of you will say absolutely NOT!

Y'all really need to be more realistic, especially with these young up and coming players struggling in making such switches (referring to the likes of Uduokhai, Iorfa, Tourunariga, Ibe, Abraham, Lookman). You all need to cut them some slack!
azuka wrote:
... and let me add, anybody; with Nigerian blood, who pompously turned us down when approached initially should NOT be eligible to play for Nigeria - ever.

Na my own be dat!
Signed.
It's ridiculous really to see these guys coming back and claiming to love Nigeria. Wait till the SE qualifies for Russia, you will be surprised at different stories of what really happened and people on these pages actually campaigning for folks to Ibe to be included in the squad to Russia.

Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 11:41 pm
by Cito
Otitokoro wrote:Look at all these grown azz men chastising a 21 yr old boy for changing his mind regarding playing for Nigeria.

He was approached in 2015 (when he was 19) to switch allegiance from his country of birth (which he has lived in and known all his life) to a country who never gave a toss about him until he started making waves in England. And now y'all are pissed that he initially said no? I mean, seriously???

As far as I am concerned, there was absolutely NOTHING wrong with his initial answer. Kid is reconsidering (according to reports) and y'all have the temerity to question his allegiance? I mean, truthfully, how many of YOU would have chosen Nigeria at that point in time (i.e. 19 yrs) IF you were in his shoes??? Willing to bet the ranch that 99.999% of you will say absolutely NOT!

Y'all really need to be more realistic, especially with these young up and coming players struggling in making such switches (referring to the likes of Udokhai, Iorfa, Tourunariga, Ibe, Abraham, Lookman). You all need to cut them some slack!
azuka wrote:

Na my own be dat!
Signed.
I agree with you in all but my thing is , why can't he say his name properly? A small whoozing will fix that when he gets called to camp. Maybe we can invite odemwingie for a few minutes with his Gucci slippers. That seem to work wonders. :D

Posted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 12:45 am
by Chief Ogbunigwe
Otitokoro wrote:Look at all these grown azz men chastising a 21 yr old boy for changing his mind regarding playing for Nigeria.

Y'all really need to be more realistic, especially with these young up and coming players struggling in making such switches (referring to the likes of Uduokhai, Iorfa, Tourunariga, Ibe, Abraham, Lookman). You all need to cut them some slack!
azuka wrote:

Na my own be dat!
Signed.

no vex...abeg teach am to pronounce his name properly.

Posted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 1:25 am
by Otitokoro
But chief, wetin the mispronunciation of his name got to do with him having Naija blood in him?
Many of the diaspora kids these days can't pronounce Naija names correctly.

Truth is: If he is selected to SE camp and when he comes home for a match, his team mates will help correct that - that's guaranteed!
By the time dem laugh am well well, he will learn to pronounce his name correctly. That to me is really not a big issue.
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote: no vex...abeg teach am to pronounce his name properly.

Posted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 7:04 am
by Tbite
OTIKOKORO.

Me and you are on the same page, I have always said in the past that these guys owe us NOTHING.

They have every right to turn us down if they want to.

BUT this is where I disagree with you. Nigeria is a Federal and Sovereign entity, you have a right to decide that Nigeria is not for you, but Nigeria is not just some used car at a dealership, once you have decided that Nigeria is not for you....I can't have the same level of respect for you when you come back (when things didn't work out for you) and say...oh...I am here now.

Sure that is pragmatic, but when it is all said and done...when someone snubs Nigeria for years and then comes back, there is no way we can be appreciative of the gesture. Why should we? They may have owed nothing to us, but when they ignored our offer...we also owe nothing to them. Ultimately someone like Ibe would have to earn his respect in such a situation now.

Posted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:03 am
by Damunk
Otitokoro wrote:But chief, wetin the mispronunciation of his name got to do with him having Naija blood in him?
It is less about the mispronunciation of his name than it is about his insistence that it be pronounced wrongly. I've met a good number of UK-born Nigerian youths in my time and the vast majority would at least make an effort. But to insist on a wrong pronounciation? At is age?
Something's wrong upstairs bro... :)

Truth is: If he is selected to SE camp and when he comes home for a match, his team mates will help correct that - that's guaranteed!
By the time dem laugh am well well, he will learn to pronounce his name correctly. That to me is really not a big issue.
True dat.
He's a very silly boy. Denying your African heritage is so old school nowadays.
I wish it was like this when I was a kid.

Posted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:13 am
by Prince
Otitokoro wrote:But chief, wetin the mispronunciation of his name got to do with him having Naija blood in him?

Am all for them playing for Nigeria, but be polite about it, Tell them you are learning your trade but Nigerians never forget arrogant ediots

Posted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 9:07 am
by oloye
Tbite wrote:OTIKOKORO.

Me and you are on the same page, I have always said in the past that these guys owe us NOTHING.

They have every right to turn us down if they want to.

BUT this is where I disagree with you. Nigeria is a Federal and Sovereign entity, you have a right to decide that Nigeria is not for you, but Nigeria is not just some used car at a dealership, once you have decided that Nigeria is not for you....I can't have the same level of respect for you when you come back (when things didn't work out for you) and say...oh...I am here now.

Sure that is pragmatic, but when it is all said and done...when someone snubs Nigeria for years and then comes back, there is no way we can be appreciative of the gesture. Why should we? They may have owed nothing to us, but when they ignored our offer...we also owe nothing to them. Ultimately someone like Ibe would have to earn his respect in such a situation now.
Sure they dont owe us anything same way we have the right to say to him to get lost now that he feels he needs us. Thank God he is picking up the pieces of his career again...who knows england might still be interested.

They dont owe us anything bit pls be polite to people you never know what is around the corner is the popular old saying.

I dey enjoy your take Tbite!

Posted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 2:10 pm
by Enugu II

Otitokoro,

But can't guys have fun with Mr. Iyb? His pronunciation is game, bro. :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 1:44 am
by Bell
IN CONTRAST TO UK-BORN KIDS...

...those born in the US seem to want to embrace their ancestral homeland more. David Njoku (Miami U/Cleveland Browns), the Imatorbhebhe brothers (USC), the Ogwumike sisters (Stanford U/LA Sparks & Connecticut), Awuzie (U of Colorado/Dallas Cowboys), Oladipo (Indiana U/Miami Heat), just to name only a few, are never shy to talk about their roots. Who knows if this has anything to do with being in America as opposed to Europe. In the case of Ibe, he has one of the easiest names to pronounce (just tell them E-Bay) and he needs to concoct something like Eyeb? More than anything else that's what seems to rub many the wrong way. You wonder if he ever heard his parents (or others) pronounce the name. Or was it the parents who suggested/encouraged this?

Given the his birthplace and the chaos that is Nigeria and Nigeria football, I can understand England being his first choice. But I can equally understand Nigeria snubbing him if they feel he's no use to them. And accepting him now could send the wrong message to others in his situation.

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 2:06 am
by The YeyeMan
Funny how he appears to have discovered his Nigerian identity with a World Cup looming....

Reminds of a certain defensive striker from Tyneside.....

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 2:12 am
by Bell
Bell wrote:IN CONTRAST TO UK-BORN KIDS...

...those born in the US seem to want to embrace their ancestral homeland more. David Njoku (Miami U/Cleveland Browns), the Imatorbhebhe brothers (USC), the Ogwumike sisters (Stanford U/LA Sparks & Connecticut), Awuzie (U of Colorado/Dallas Cowboys), Oladipo (Indiana U/Miami Heat), just to name only a few, are never shy to talk about their roots. Who knows if this has anything to do with being in America as opposed to Europe. In the case of Ibe, he has one of the easiest names to pronounce (just tell them E-Bay) and he needs to concoct something like Eyeb? More than anything else that's what seems to rub many the wrong way. You wonder if he ever heard his parents (or others) pronounce the name. Or was it the parents who suggested/encouraged this?

Given the his birthplace and the chaos that is Nigeria and Nigeria football, I can understand England being his first choice. But I can equally understand Nigeria snubbing him if they feel he's no use to them. And accepting him now could send the wrong message to others in his situation.
FORGOT TO ADD...

...the Udoka siblings in basketball.

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 6:27 am
by Damunk
Bell wrote:

FORGOT TO ADD...

Were any of these athletes on the verge of being called up for the USM basketball team? Or were they regular call-ups for the USM junior basketball team?
Maybe that's the difference.

Becos Nigeria's experience with these footballers is primarily due to the fact that they are from the elite youth ranks of (mainly) English and German football. Having played prominently in their U19, U21 teams (etc) they have a legitimate shot at becoming full England (or Germany) internationals.

There are plenty of young Nigerian journeymen in the lower ranks of English football. Invite them to the SE and they'll be on the plane in a shot. I bet you, English-born youth stars of Nigerian heritage that never reached their full potential like Chuks Aneke would today not think twice about honoring such an invitation.

So I don't think your belief that American-born Naija kids being more connected to the motherland is entirely accurate. In fact in the general scheme of things, I think its actually the opposite.
But its just an opinion. :thumb:

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:40 am
by Blukyt
His name is Jordon by the way.

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:45 am
by Prince
Bell wrote:

FORGOT TO ADD...
Please stop it

Anthony Joshua fought under the British and Nigerian flag for the biggest night of his life

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:57 am
by Prince
This was AJs interview when he was told by an interviewer fighting in Nigeria was far fetched.

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 10:07 am
If IBE, wants to play for us so what. .Odas you are a nobody keep your opinions inside your head..you matter not

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:38 am
by Bell
Bell wrote:

FORGOT TO ADD...

Were any of these athletes on the verge of being called up for the USM basketball team? Or were they regular call-ups for the USM junior basketball team?
Maybe that's the difference.

Becos Nigeria's experience with these footballers is primarily due to the fact that they are from the elite youth ranks of (mainly) English and German football. Having played prominently in their U19, U21 teams (etc) they have a legitimate shot at becoming full England (or Germany) internationals.

There are plenty of young Nigerian journeymen in the lower ranks of English football. Invite them to the SE and they'll be on the plane in a shot. I bet you, English-born youth stars of Nigerian heritage that never reached their full potential like Chuks Aneke would today not think twice about honoring such an invitation.

So I don't think your belief that American-born Naija kids being more connected to the motherland is entirely accurate. In fact in the general scheme of things, I think its actually the opposite.
But its just an opinion. :thumb:

I WAS DRIVING AT THE FACT THAT...

...these kids speak openly about their Nigerian heritage (which apparently Ibe tries not to do with all the antics with his name), not so much their readiness to put on Nigerian colors. The Ogwumike sisters are elite basketballers (sister Nneka was league MVP in 2016) and just as Victor Oladipo. (Only a few days ago, it was said on air that Nneka had fixed Nigerian cuisine for her teammates as they awaited the playoffs). The others are also elite athletes but they play gridiron football.

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:59 am
by Prince
CHristine participates in most Naija stuff,
https://www.vanguardngr.com/2014/02/fee ... -ohuruogu/

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 1:38 pm
by aruako1
Prince wrote:
Bell wrote:

FORGOT TO ADD...
Please stop it

Anthony Joshua fought under the British and Nigerian flag for the biggest night of his life

Maro Itoje is also very proud of his Nigerian roots.