Chidozie Awaziem Dazzles For Nantes Again, Gets New Nickname

Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:02 pm
by chief nfachairman
http://owngoalnigeria.com/2017/09/25/ch ... -nickname/

Nigeria international defender Chidozie Awaziem post another fine performance for French side Nantes in their 2-1 win over Strasbourg in the French Ligue 1.

Awaziem posted another performance similar to the one that earned him a team of the week nomination last week in the win that lifted them to 5th on the log in France.

Last week the 20 year old played a very integral part in Nantes 1-0 win over Caen on his return from a three match ban owing to the red card he picked up before the international break.

Against Strasbourg particularly in the final ten minutes of the game, he was very solid in aerial duels and also read and intercepted play brilliantly to frustrate Strasbourg from reducing the deficit.

After the game fans of the club took to social media to praise his performance and in the process gave him a new nicknamed ” Le Roche”, which means “The Rock” in English.

Re: Chidozie Awaziem Dazzles For Nantes Again, Gets New Nick

Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:25 pm
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Moving from Porto to Nantes was a fantastic move. He is playing is a significantly stronger league and will improve faster here.

Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:11 pm
by bully12
When I said very soon he will the mainstay of SE defense some people doubted me.

Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:36 pm
by Flex Swift
I watched the game. I thinks Chidozie Awaziem's weakness is in the air. Stragbourgbstriker scored from a cross went into the box, Chidozie failed to mark the striker or put him off and the striker scored. From a free header similar to the way the South African scored.

Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 7:53 pm
Flex Swift wrote:I watched the game. I thinks Chidozie Awaziem's weakness is in the air. Stragbourgbstriker scored from a cross went into the box, Chidozie failed to mark the striker or put him off and the striker scored. From a free header similar to the way the South African scored.

Every talent network that evaluated the boy said aerial ability is one of his strong points except for CE coaches.

Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:24 pm
by Gotti
Flex Swift wrote:I watched the game. I thinks Chidozie Awaziem's weakness is in the air. Stragbourgbstriker scored from a cross went into the box, Chidozie failed to mark the striker or put him off and the striker scored. From a free header similar to the way the South African scored.
If your description of events is accurate, sound more like sloppy marking than aerial deficiency....
Because, even going back to his Porto days, heading has always been one of his relative strengths.

Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:27 pm
If your description of events is accurate, sound more like sloppy marking than aerial deficiency....
Because, even going back to his Porto days, heading has always been one of his relative strengths.
The Portuguese League is very poor when it comes to heading. The likes of Jimenez and other tall strikers who are useless go there and become highest goal scorer. :lol: Then you have very talented defenders like Lindelof who are amazing in that league go to other leagues and struggle very badly with high balls.

Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 10:31 pm
by Flex Swift
Highlights of the game
Judge for yourself

Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 10:39 pm
by jette1
bully12 wrote:When I said very soon he will the mainstay of SE defense some people doubted me.
ok you are fortune teller now clapp for yourself

Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:07 pm
by Gotti
danfo driver wrote:The Portuguese League is very poor when it comes to heading. The likes of Jimenez and other tall strikers who are useless go there and become highest goal scorer. :lol: Then you have very talented defenders like Lindelof who are amazing in that league go to other leagues and struggle very badly with high balls.
Playing in the Portuguese League has not hurt the heading abilities of the likes of Pepe, David Luiz, Ricardo Carvalho, Christano Ronaldo and so many others. So, instead of making the wild precipitous extrapolation that you have made, abegi focus on the specific player being discussed. In that vein, with the benefit of having personally witnessed practically all of Awaziem’s games at Nantes (and I have the latest game on DVR and will watch it later), he is an above average header of the ball.

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:31 am
by bully12
:clap:
bully12 wrote:When I said very soon he will the mainstay of SE defense some people doubted me.
ok you are fortune teller now clapp for yourself
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:49 am
by smartbrother

Every talent network that evaluated the boy said aerial ability is one of his strong points except for CE coaches.
his weakness in the air was exposed v southafrica
I hope he improves that aspect of his game
RIght now i wouldnt play him in a world or nations cup qualifier

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:53 am
by smartbrother
Flex Swift wrote:Highlights of the game
[/video] Judge for yourself
wow. who was marking the goalscorer at 0:50

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 9:15 am
by Dammy
smartbrother wrote:
I hope you guys realize he is only 20 and I am yet to see the CD that is the finished article at that age.

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 1:45 pm
by Gotti
smartbrother wrote:wow. who was marking the goalscorer at 0:50
Like I suspected, sloppy marking...
We have seen that happen to the likes of John Terry, Thiago Silva - and every Liverpool CD! :D

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 4:01 pm
by Flex Swift
smartbrother wrote:wow. who was marking the goalscorer at 0:50
Like I suspected, sloppy marking...
We have seen that happen to the likes of John Terry, Thiago Silva - and every Liverpool CD! :D
So we agree the thread title is misleading. ....I think he is a good defender who will get better with experience but let's not get carried away.

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 4:14 pm
by Gotti
Flex Swift wrote:So we agree the thread title is misleading. ....I think he is a good defender who will get better with experience but let's not get carried away.
Not necessarily (albeit I still haven't found time to watch the game)...
Players can make the odd mistake and still have a solid performance overall - and even get a new nickname! :D

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:36 pm
by okidoki
smartbrother wrote:
I hope you guys realize he is only 20 and I am yet to see the CD that is the finished article at that age.
I totally agree. For the first time, we have players that are the ages they claim, or with the pics and documentation we have very close.
Guess, what, we now want them to play like the finished article. It's either we go back to old men, claiming to be their children's age, or we stick it out with the genuinely young and the learning curve they will go through.