MIKEL, MOSES, IGHALO HEAD 23-MAN SQUAD FOR ZAMBIA

Re: MIKEL, MOSES, IGHALO HEAD 23-MAN SQUAD FOR ZAMBIA

Agree.
The writing was on the wall. He hasn't been pulling his weight and that wasn't good enough at this level.
papilo wrote:Did not expect Ebuehi to be dropped and placed on the standby list. Probably has to do with what Rohr needs for the game because Agbo has moved up from the standby list to replace Ebuehi.
Not surprised one bit....

I said it here on CE that I have watched him enough to agree with Ebuehi himself on his initial self-assessment and hesitation that he was far from ready for the SE (and watching him last weekend against Ajax firmly reaffirmed that for me), but was nonetheless attacked by the likes of the ever-mouthy BP.

Was also surprised Lekan was not considered.
However, I struggle with your assertion wrt Ifeanyi. Really was not impressed with his play - he came across as slow, and often times, indecisive on the ball. He also made a lot of unforced errors (giving the ball away) and was caught multiple times dilly dallying on the ball.
anointed wrote:Two home –based professionals, Ifeanyi Ifeanyi and Afeez Aremu, who were part of the Super Eagles B that finished as runners –up at the just –concluded WAFU Cup of Nations in Ghana, are in the standy sector but will join the team’s training sessions in Uyo.

Happy for these two...
Thought (along with Lekan Adeleye) they were the standouts on the WAFU team - especially Aremu.

Ifeanyi Matthew needs to be considered before Ifeanyi Ifeanyi.

Why do we always argue which bench player is omitted or selected? None of those players will see action against Zambia until the game is won regardless of how they play for their clubs.

Otitokoro wrote:Was also surprised Lekan was not considered.
However, I struggle with your assertion wrt Ifeanyi. Really was not impressed with his play - he came across as slow, and often times, indecisive on the ball. He also made a lot of unforced errors (giving the ball away) and was caught multiple times dilly dallying on the ball.
Ifeanyi committed lots of fouls, but I think that it was an integral part of his break-up-the-opposition’s-possession role. Danger would be that, depending on the officiating on any particular day - and of course the arguable inherent bias against African “physicality” (so-called) on the global stage - it could all end up pear-shaped. Nonetheless, in the classic holding role of shielding the back-four, providing a ready outlet, showing for passes, ball distribution and breaking up play, he and Aremu were quite the imperious pair.
Last edited by Gotti on Tue Sep 26, 2017 4:01 pm, edited 4 times in total.

papilo wrote:
papilo wrote:Did not expect Ebuehi to be dropped and placed on the standby list. Probably has to do with what Rohr needs for the game because Agbo has moved up from the standby list to replace Ebuehi.
I think it's really Ainas availability that made Ebuehi surplus, he's just not good enough anyways.
Yeah but considering we have no back up leftback. Most teams go with 2 leftbacks and 2 right backs. I guess Rohr has not been impressed with Ebuehi. I must say though that he has been really good so far this season.
Papilo,

As mentioned severally, the soccer in Africa is very physically and that must be accounted for. I believe Rohr likes Ebuehi's skill set but there are other things to evaluate.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

to be fair to Akepyi, he has been in good form lately for his South African club Chippa utd, still won't risk starting him...and please if Ezenwa is to start which is most likely to be the case against Zambia, someone better slap some seriousness into his head and tell him to cut out his gaffes and be focused, saw glimpses of his erratic decision making in the Wafu tournament.

papilo wrote:
Plus Alampasu replaced by Ajiboye on main list. Aremu's good play atWAFU rewarded.
I suspect Alampasu is injured. He has not been on the bench for his club since returning from international duty.
So he should not be on standby then?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

1naija wrote:Why do we always argue which bench player is omitted or selected? None of those players will see action against Zambia until the game is won regardless of how they play for their clubs.
Because a strong bench is just as important...
Didn’t you take comfort in Yobo coming on for the last 2 mins of our ANC 2013 games to shut up shop? :D

Tobi17 wrote:to be fair to Akepyi, he has been in good form lately for his South African club Chippa utd, still won't risk starting him...and please if Ezenwa is to start which is most likely to be the case against Zambia, someone better slap some seriousness into his head and tell him to cut out his gaffes and be focused, saw glimpses of his erratic decision making in the Wafu tournament.
Dude totally screwed the pooch on Ghana’s 4th goal in the final... :lol:

1naija wrote:Why do we always argue which bench player is omitted or selected? None of those players will see action against Zambia until the game is won regardless of how they play for their clubs.
Didn’t you take comfort in Yobo coming on for the last 2 mins of our ANC 2013 games to shut up shop? :D
Only 3 Nigerian captains has lifted the African Cup of Nations.

1. The great back man CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC
2. The Great Stephen Keshi (RIP)
3. Guess who the third one is?

dayumnn you got a point brother :clap:

MODS! :scared:

Lol. You were one of the last moderators the board had. What we have now are murds ...murderators.

I said it here on CE that I have watched him enough to agree with Ebuehi himself on his initial self-assessment and hesitation that he was far from ready for the SE (and watching him last weekend against Ajax firmly reaffirmed that for me), but was nonetheless attacked by the likes of the ever-mouthy BP.
when the heck did i attack you about Ebuehi? :shock:
Apparently your memory needs a reboot... :D
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=276647

My question is, when will Iwobi finally break out for the SE? Can you imagine what our team will be like if he and Moses are firing on all cylinders in the same game? Even Real Madrid will not be able to handle us and we will crush GHANA 10 - 0.

Ohhhh!
That was cold blooded and Waaaaaaayyyy below the belt.
:laugh: :laugh:

i did not attack you , i actually found what you wrote funny and gave you props.. In fact i do not think i have ever, yawa you? there are a few forumers here i actually have huge respects for , don't make me exclude you from the list

Okay, Gotti. We got this. Yobo is unarguably one of Nigeria's greatest. However, in the 2013 ANC, Enyeama actually captained the matches especially with Omeruo upstaging Yobo. Out of respect, and following hallowed soccer traditions, Enyeama handed Yobo the captain's band for Chief Yobo to go and get the cup handed to him. Incidentally, in the 1994 ANC, the same scenario occurred where Rufai captained and an injured Keshi was given the band to receive the cup.
ogasir

Post by ogasir »

Another player who needs to take a break from the SE is Iwobi.
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST

papilo wrote:
Plus Alampasu replaced by Ajiboye on main list. Aremu's good play atWAFU rewarded.
I suspect Alampasu is injured. He has not been on the bench for his club since returning from international duty.
Alampasu is another one possibly for the future...
But who has done little or nothing to currently be in the team.

:clap: every list dem go parrot him name. Ask when they last watch him play, they will cite 2013 U-17..

i did not attack you , i actually found what you wrote funny and gave you props.. In fact i do not think i have ever, yawa you? there are a few forumers here i actually have huge respects for , don't make me exclude you from the list
What an exclusive list. Gotti you better take the offer from his royal ONE.

At least he thinks he is all that... :D

Obong wrote:
Okay, Gotti. We got this. Yobo is unarguably one of Nigeria's greatest. However, in the 2013 ANC, Enyeama actually captained the matches especially with Omeruo upstaging Yobo. Out of respect, and following hallowed soccer traditions, Enyeama handed Yobo the captain's band for Chief Yobo to go and get the cup handed to him. Incidentally, in the 1994 ANC, the same scenario occurred where Rufai captained and an injured Keshi was given the band to receive the cup.
Like really?

So Osi boy was the president when he was sent to Sudan and other war torn nations that Buhari did not want to go?
I guess Onazi is Nigeria's captain because he stood in for Mikel while Mikel was injured.

Look, Vincent was the vice captain and like the good, loyal vice captain he was, he stood in for captain Yobo whenever Yobo had more important engagements like visiting with world leaders. But that did not make him captain just like Osiboy was never President of Nigeria.

Vincent eventually became captain but unfortunately his temperament did not allow him to lead Nigeria to ANC glory. So he can never ever be listed among the great men above. He served Nigeria well and deserve national honors but he can nver claim to captain Nigeria to an ANC title. So sorrry.