NOTHING SUPER ABOUT NIGERIA-- Zambia

NOTHING SUPER ABOUT NIGERIA’
http://www.times.co.zm/?p=98946
Published On October 2, 2017 » 153 Views» By Davies M.M Chanda » Football, Sports

By SANDRA MWILA -

CHIPOLOPOLO vice-captain Ziyo Tembo yesterday bragged that there was nothing special about Nigeria as the team left for Ghana for a training camp ahead of Saturday’s Russia 2018 World Cup qualifier in Uyo.
Tembo said Zambia was ready for battle and every player was focused on getting the win to boost chances of qualifying for the World Cup.
The Zanaco defender said in an interview at the Kenneth Kaunda International Airport in Lusaka that the game against Nigeria was just like any other game.
“There is nothing sinister about the Nigeria game, it’s a game like any other we have played before. Yes they have a good side and have quality players and we can’t take that away from them but they are beatable,” Tembo said.
Despite Zambia’s not so impressive record against Nigeria with the Chipolopolo last win against the Super Eagles coming 20 years ago in a 2-0 during an international friendly, Tembosaid there was no need to dwell on history as the team was looking at creating a new record.
“Nigeria’s dominance over us is history for we are looking at the future and what will matter most in the game is our application on the pitch. We are not inferior to Nigeria, the only difference is that most of our players play in Africa and there’s play in Europe,” he said.
Tembo added that the team would make Zambians proud by beating Nigeria.
Assistant coach Aggrey Chiyangi said the game was important as it would determine the Chipolopolo’s fate in the race to Russia.
Chiyangi said the Ghana camp was important for the team to jell ahead of the Saturday game.
“We are looking at this game in a positive way and our focus is to win. Football is played on the pitch and what happens there (pitch) is what determines results,” Chiyangi said.
Meanwhile, ADRIAN MWANZA reports that former national team coach Fred Mwila urged the team against complacency following the two wins over Algeria.
Mwila commended coach Wedson Nyirenda for picking a formidable team which he said could face any team in the continent and be able to get maximum points.
“It will not be an easy game for the boys because Nigeria will come at us with all they have but they should just remain steadfast. And let them not to be intimidated by the calibre of
Nigeria’s squad because football was about 11 players against another 11 so they just have to be prepared mentally to overcome this obstacle,” he said.
He said Ghana outing would be a plus ahead of the game because it would help the Chipolopolo acclimatise to the same weather conditions as the place was near Nigeria.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: NOTHING SUPER ABOUT NIGERIA-- Zambia

:scared: :scared: :scared:
goldenera94

Post by goldenera94 »

You are welcome Vice-captain Tembo. See you in Uyo.
Goldenera94

I don't blame the Vice Captain (Tembo) and Zambia as a whole, instead I blame Algeria. Had Algeria taken care of business at home, Zambia would NOT have been talking such "trash." But that's ok, according to Mike Tyson, "everyone has a plan until they are hit on the mouth."
Last edited by Odas on Mon Oct 02, 2017 8:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Do they have internet in Zambia yet? if so can someone please send him a link of what happened when we played them IN ZAMBIA the first time? :taunt: Ogolo if U act nice we can allow U hack into Mental Alloy's headplate and use am as hot spot for online presence :wink:
oluphemmie007

Post by oluphemmie007 »

We don't wanna he super, we just want to qualify for the world cup by beating Zambia. Shikena
Manchester United: Trophies Yesterday, Today and Forever

This is Cybereagles...expect anything.

He is right; the 'super' tag is inheritable but not transferable on a blank-check-like basis. How often have you seen the off-springs of a millionaire family go broke in Nigeria
Last edited by jette1 on Wed Oct 04, 2017 12:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Good thing we don't have to be "super" to get a tie out of Zambia at home.

Go Eagles!

See how people that should be shaking are making unnecessary mouth. Meanwhile, Uncles EII, Sir V and Kongi are shaking uncontrollably unnecessarily.
Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

faithless people. smh

1naija wrote:See how people that should be shaking are making unnecessary mouth. Meanwhile, Uncles EII, Sir V and Kongi are shaking uncontrollably unnecessarily.
True word.

We did not need to be super to beat them at Ndola, we will not need to be, to do it again at Uyo.
Re: NOTHINGm SUPER ABOUT NIGERIA-- Zambia

My guess the victory of South Africa in Uyo gave the impetus or temerity of thinking they might accomplish what is nearly an impossibility for them.
Re: NOTHINGm SUPER ABOUT NIGERIA-- Zambia

bully12 wrote:My guess the victory of South Africa in Uyo gave the impetus or temerity of thinking they might accomplish what is nearly an impossibility for them.
... which means they (Zambia) didn't see, know or heard of what happened to Cameroon in Uyo. Well, the day is almost here.

Chipolopolo’s hour of reckoning
October 4, 20173 Min Read
https://www.daily-mail.co.zm/chipolopol ... reckoning/

Soccer Review with STEPHEN PHIRI

THIS Saturday’s match against Nigeria will be the most important game the Chipolopolo will play in the 2018 Russia World Cup qualifiers.

The battle, set for Godswill Akpabio International Stadium in Uyo, is a make or break encounter.
It holds the key to Chipolopolo’s passage to Russia and the expectations of the nation are sky-high.
Nigeria lead Group B with ten points, three better than Zambia.
The Super Eagles will qualify for the World Cup with victory while a win for Zambia will take the qualifying campaign to the wire next month.
That’s how dicey the situation is.
The players should ensure that they rise above intimidation, before, during and after the match.
The Nigerians will use all the tricks starting tomorrow when the Chipolopolo arrive in Uyo.
Pressure is on Nigeria to impress in front of their fans. Having bashed Cameroon 4-0 in Uyo last month, the Nigerians expect nothing short of victory when Zambia come calling.
The mounting of pressure on the Super Eagles could give the Chipolopolo advantage to get maximum points.
What the Chipolopolo, captained by Kennedy Mweene, should do is to believe in themselves.
With self-belief, Zambia could stun the Nigerians. The spirit the players showed when they faced Algeria should be exhibited in Uyo.
There is nothing impossible in all spheres of life, football inclusive.
Who knew that Zambia could beat Algeria 3-1 in Lusaka and 1-0 in Constantine?
Bookmakers had tipped Algeria to collect maximum points over two legs but it was the Chipolopolo who had the last laugh.
Going into the fixture, Zambia have not defeated Nigeria since 1997 but still hold a better record giving Chipolopolo the psychological edge.
The teams have met 17 times since 1973. Zambia have won seven of those meetings with five ending in stalemates with the rest going Nigeria’s way.

This record should motivate the players as they stroll on the pitch on Saturday evening.
Kennedy Mweene, Simon Silwimba, Fackson Kapumbu, Ziyo Tembo, Stopilla Sunzu, Kondwani Mtonga, Augustine Mulenga, Chisamba Lungu, Patson Daka, Enock Mwepu and Fashion Sakala should believe in the bola na Lesa [football with God] slogan.
Nigeria are beatable at their home and South Africa showed the way with a 2-0 win in the 2019 Cameroon Africa Cup of Nations qualifier in June this year.
With a lot of pressure, the Nigeria defence could crumble and hand Zambia an opportunity to qualify for a maiden World Cup appearance.
Zambians should pray for the team so that the outing to Uyo could be successful.
Fans travelling to Uyo should make cheer on the team throughout 90 minutes so that the players could be motivated to stun the Super Eagles.
Where there is a will, there is a way.
[email protected], [email protected]
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

The 2-0 South African win is misleading.

We were missing the core of the team and fielded a nervy GK. Yet we decided to chase the game (not wanting to lose at home), and opened ourselves up to concede again. It was just a day when EVERYTHING fell apart. That was the SE at their worst.

The game against Cameroon (ignore the Scoreline), wasn't just about the trashing but EVERYTHING we did worked, it was like a masterclass game of chess.

When we beat them in their home ground, that was more like run of the mill SE. So the Zambians are using our WORST to gauge our strength when are currently at our BEST. Foolish.

They have improved, but not to the level that we occupy. I watched Zambia, those matches that they won were not flawless, they weren't masterclass exhibitions. Yes they were good but Algeria were pathetic. When we beat Zambia AWAY, we weren't even at our best, yes they have injected youth but it doesn't make up the difference.

But this isn't a bad thing, it is good that they are misreading things.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

The Zambians continue to make a major mistake. They keep using our loss against South Africa as a measuring tool, ignoring all other results, one of which was against them in their home. Well, the writer of the article said what he was supposed to say, but in his mind, I am sure he know what is about to happen to his darling team :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Odas wrote:The Zambians continue to make a major mistake. They keep using our loss against South Africa as a measuring tool, ignoring all other results, one of which was against them in their home. Well, the writer of the article said what he was supposed to say, but in his mind, I am sure he know what is about to happen to his darling team :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
We whooped their fathers, now time to discipline the sons.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Tbite wrote:
Odas wrote:The Zambians continue to make a major mistake. They keep using our loss against South Africa as a measuring tool, ignoring all other results, one of which was against them in their home. Well, the writer of the article said what he was supposed to say, but in his mind, I am sure he know what is about to happen to his darling team :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
We whooped their fathers, now time to discipline the sons.
Exactly! They will soon see and might be fighting each other on the field on Saturday. Make dem com!