Nigeria 1 - 0 Zambia FT (Alex Iwobi)

Re: Nigeria 1 - 0 Zambia FT (Alex Iwobi)

lionga wrote:Congrats Naija
Thanks for sharing bro.

No need for the "Morning After" pill. Just natural adrenaline from a successful game. The thought of that pesky Breda in hiding is just PERFECT :lol:

marutimon wrote:I always liked Stoppila as far as names go.
Perhaps a nickname? Perhaps named after Yannick Stopyra, the former French international? :D I don't know, just guessing.

Congrats to the boys. This is our best qualifying campaign ever. Let me begin early to sacrifice chickens and goats to the ancestors for continued success. Perhaps this will be the team to take Africa to the semis, and dare we dream? The Final. Anyway, I will be happy if we play well and get to the quarters.

ohsee wrote:
Perhaps a nickname? Perhaps named after Yannick Stopyra, the former French international? :D I don't know, just guessing.

Congrats to the boys. This is our best qualifying campaign ever. Let me begin early to sacrifice chickens and goats to the ancestors for continued success. Perhaps this will be the team to take Africa to the semis, and dare we dream? The Final. Anyway, I will be happy if we play well and get to the quarters.

I don't understand where this comes from. I always thought '98 qualification was better...plus that team had serious TALENT. Tragic how we screwed up at the WC. Amokachi, Finidi, Mutiu, Ikpeba, Oruma, TJ, Okocha, Kanu, Yekini, Oliseh, etc.
No GK (rusty old Rufai), poor #2 (Mobi), requiring deploying Mutiu to that position and isolating Oliseh at DM.

ohsee wrote:

I don't understand where this comes from. I always thought '98 qualification was better...plus that team had serious TALENT. Tragic how we screwed up at the WC. Amokachi, Finidi, Mutiu, Ikpeba, Oruma, TJ, Okocha, Kanu, Yekini, Oliseh, etc.
No GK (rusty old Rufai), poor #2 (Mobi), requiring deploying Mutiu to that position and isolating Oliseh at DM.
No it was not. I remember that draw with Kenya that got Amodou sacked. Everyone was freaking out cos Guinea won 2 games in a row and we were 2 pts behind them. So we had to beat Guinea at home, Bfaso away then Kenya at home while at the same time hoping for Kenya to beat Guinea. All in All we qualified with 1 game to spare but we made a meal of it cos that group was cake. This group was much more difficult yet we qualified with 1 game left at its looking like we will win the last one vs Algeria to make it 16 pts out of 18.

nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

Bret-Hart,
Having talent does not make a good team. The 1998 team had probably better talent than 1994. Even with Yekini on the bench. It had three problems:

No goalkeeper, hence no defense.
Bora like Rohr did not have time to impart his "Boring Bora" team defense on the Eagles. No one played team defense.
No right back. Mutiu and Oparaku were exposed.

We do not have any of these problems with the current team. As long as we do not whole sale change the team or coach.

nzeogwu wrote:Bret-Hart,
Having talent does not make a good team. The 1998 team had probably better talent than 1994. Even with Yekini on the bench. It had three problems:

Bora like Rohr did not have time to impart his "Boring Bora" team defense on the Eagles. No one played team defense.

We do not have any of these problems with the current team. As long as we do not whole sale change the team or coach.
Yes no problems ...really?
We missed Mikel & Vic Moses and rubbish South Africa tore us a new one at.............HOME.
Don'T ever compare the 1998 team (that their only undoing was Ike's injury) with this team that will be crushed by most opponents if Mikel & Vic Moses are not around.
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

Congratulations boys and this time do something and not just make up the numbers. Congrats

nzeogwu wrote:Bret-Hart,

Yes no problems ...really?
We missed Mikel & Vic Moses and rubbish South Africa tore us a new one at.............HOME.
Don'T ever compare the 1998 team (that their only undoing was Ike's injury) with this team that will be crushed by most opponents if Mikel & Vic Moses are not around.
KPOM! Most people are failing to recognize how close yesterdays game was to ending in a draw or even a loss (at home!) save for Iwobi's late heroics. This team is far from complete. 2-3 guys in the starting lineup don't belong and the team as a whole need to be fortified in some key areas for us to make any noise in Russia. Remove Moses, Onazi, and Iwobi and am not so sure they can beat Cameroon again.

Funniest moment of the game was Ezenwa "diving" to try and "save" a Zambian shot that was going 20 yards over the bar (2H). What on earth was he playing at?!

soma

Post by soma »

Isn’t it true that those who played and learnt the game abroad
Have the better football sense than those who played the game
At home? Ighalo would have needed a second touch to score that
Goal.

3. Thomas Sankara
4. Patrice Lumumba
5. Robert Mugabe
6. Murmar "the Lion" Ghaddafi....

by the way Odion nah bad guy, just see what he did to Zambia before sending that ball to Moses S ..i was like wow :lol: :lol:

Ighalo , what a player

soma wrote:Isn’t it true that those who played and learnt the game abroad
Have the better football sense than those who played the game
At home? Ighalo would have needed a second touch to score that
Goal.

How many touches did Moses Simon need to score against Cameroon in Yaounde?

wiseone wrote:Funniest moment of the game was Ezenwa "diving" to try and "save" a Zambian shot that was going 20 yards over the bar (2H). What on earth was he playing at?!

As someone said, he even dived when Iwobi scored.

One cannot deny the fact that Ezenwa has star quality. He reminds me of Lemmy Issa. The bobo go shine for WC no doubt...

I was not having the greatest of mornings today, I went ahead and watched the Lions barbecue in Uyo a few weeks ago and guess what, My day is peachy now. :D

These highlights are the tonic for a bad day. Try it and it works. :thumb:

wiseone wrote:Funniest moment of the game was Ezenwa "diving" to try and "save" a Zambian shot that was going 20 yards over the bar (2H). What on earth was he playing at?!

He was trying to save us from conceeding a corner as the ball took a slight deflection off one of our players.

Robbynice wrote:One cannot deny the fact that Ezenwa has star quality. He reminds me of Lemmy Issa. The bobo go shine for WC no doubt...
Denied.

eyan

Post by eyan »

He was trying to save us from conceeding a corner as the ball took a slight deflection off one of our players.
Bros, the one u r talking about was deflected to his right. This one was about 100m over the bar.

Exactly. Oloye - Ezenwa would have to be about 50 feet tall to get a hand on the shot I referenced. It was that high and wide. Put it this way - it would be like a rugby or American football player trying to "dive" to stop a conversion.

eyan wrote:

Bros, the one u r talking about was deflected to his right. This one was about 100m over the bar.

Watching the replay of the game without the tension of watching it live, Ekong was actually very poor in this game.

If the coaches graded the game he would have graded poorly. Most of the defensive lapses came from him. And he is still very poor passing out the ball from the back.

What he has going for him is his chemistry with the far superior Balogun.

Rohr still needs to find a CD that can play as well as Balogun.

Praying that Balogun remains healthy.

We also need other options at full back, 2 experienced GKs, and another reliable center forward to cover for Ighalo.
JssMan

Post by JssMan »

Robbynice wrote:One cannot deny the fact that Ezenwa has star quality. He reminds me of Lemmy Issa. The bobo go shine for WC no doubt...
Denied.
He was good but needs to know that a ball going 6 ft wide of his goal does not need saving... Imagine if Zambia had scored from an un-necessary Corner kick. And those guys are good at heading the ball....

I have to choose between Balogun and Shehu for my man of the match. I was impressed by both of them.

Iwobi made a huge difference. Although Agu struggled, he made some vital interceptions, the most important being from a Zambian who had broken free on the right and was intercepted by Agu before giving us all a sad face.

Iwobi, what a player.

Jh8: 34Jesus replied, "I tell you the truth, everyone who sins is a slave to sin. 35Now a slave has no permanent place in the family, but a son belongs to it forever. 36So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.