In Fairness to Ghana

Re: In Fairness to Ghana

Eaglezbeak wrote:The Wafu is all they needed!
... and they got it. Thus what else do they want and what are they crying for?

No. That is not what happened.

On p22, 'Gaining an advantage', is defined according to FIFA Offside Laws as either:
(a). Playing a ball that rebounds to him, off a post or crossbar, having previously been in an offside position
(b). Playing a ball that rebounds to him off an opponent, having previously been in an offside position.
You will agree that scenario (b). applies in this case.

Explanation on p.24 states: 'A shot from teammate rebounds off the goalkeeper. Player, who is in an 'onside' position, plays the ball.
This clearly does not apply to what happened because at the time of rebound, the Ghanaian striker had 'Gained an advantage' and had moved himself into an 'Offside position' BEFORE the rebound. (Watch the video from 0.05 thru 0.07)

The scenario on p.23 is more apt to what happened.
marutimon wrote:Ottikoro - please see page 24 of Rule 11. There is a pretty picture there that is exactly what happened in the Ghana game.

No offside.

And since when am I Ghanaian?

Clear offside, so please stop making stupid arguments.
Last edited by Otitokoro on Sat Oct 07, 2017 11:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Page 24.
Mirror image of the exact situation of the Ghana goal.
The goalscorer was onside at the moment of the shot, so he is onside with the rebound. Basic football rules. You can't move 'offside' after the shot...

You obviously are in denial and struggling to wrap you head around the truth.
Again, for the umpteenth time, according to FIFA Offside laws wrt 'gaining an advantage', the reference point is the moment of rebound and not the teammates initial shot.
Nonetheless, good luck to you and others in denial.
marutimon wrote:Page 24.
The goalscorer was onside at the moment of the shot, so he is onside with the rebound. Basic football rules.

Otitokoro wrote:You obviously are in denial and struggling to wrap you head around the truth.
Again, for the umpteenth time, according to FIFA Offside laws wrt 'gaining an advantage', the reference point is the moment of rebound and not the teammates initial shot.
The goalscorer was onside at the moment of the shot, so he is onside with the rebound. Basic football rules.

Oga, you do not understand the rule you're citing, so people with contrary opinions are "in denial" to you.

asabatex

Post by asabatex »

Ghana was robbed of two goals.

Chief, whatever rocks yalls boat(s).
The FIFA rules are clear. Its up to you and how you want to interpret these rules.
We can all wait and see how FIFA decides to rule on this particular instance.
Otitokoro wrote:You obviously are in denial and struggling to wrap you head around the truth.

Oga, you do not understand the rule you're citing, so people with contrary opinions are "in denial" to you.

Abegi, can you folks take your offside rule discussion to Ghanaweb. This is a LAUGHING thread...

Gotti wrote:Abegi, can you folks take your offside rule discussion to Ghanaweb. This is a LAUGHING thread...

I mean... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Otitokoro wrote:I am sure you and your fellow Ghanaians desperately want to believe that. :laugh: :laugh:
marutimon wrote:Dude, you really need to go back to the rulebook. You can never be offside on a rebound.
Otitokoro,

I am surprised by your reading of the rule. At the time the ball was hit from outside the box, the eventual goal scorer was onside. The ball hit the GK and then rebounded off the post and the goalscorer outran his defender to hit home the rebound. There is no reason for disallowing that goal as the match officials did. It is really a shame that the officials took that decision but it was the wrong call.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Prof,
No wahala. I have stated my side of the debate. Fortunately, the Ghanaian FA has filed a protest with FIFA and we can await the results of their decision.
Otitokoro wrote:I am sure you and your fellow Ghanaians desperately want to believe that. :laugh: :laugh:
marutimon wrote:Dude, you really need to go back to the rulebook. You can never be offside on a rebound.
Otitokoro,

I am surprised by your reading of the rule. At the time the ball was hit from outside the box, the eventual goal scorer was onside. The ball hit the GK and then rebounded off the post and the goalscorer outran his defender to hit home the rebound. There is no reason for disallowing that goal as the match officials did. It is really a shame that the officials took that decision but it was the wrong call.

At no point was the ghanianian in an offside position. First of all you cant see when the shot was taken as the shooter is out of the fram of this video, but and even at the 5 second mark cited above, the Ghanaian player started his run behind the last defender.

This is why I love this site. How can anyone watch this same video and see a player offside before the rebound?

Me i'm 100% happy Ghana was kicked the eff out because of the irritants we have on this site, but they were robbed in this game.

Gotti wrote:Abegi, can you folks take your offside rule discussion to Ghanaweb. This is a LAUGHING thread...

Otitokoro wrote:Prof,
No wahala. I have stated my side of the debate. Fortunately, the Ghanaian FA has filed a protest with FIFA and we can await the results of their decision.
Otitokoro,

FIFA will throw the protest out, if you ask me. Even if it was a clear goal, FIFA is not ordering any replay. The most Ghana can get out of this is an apology and perhaps a referee sanction.

BTW, Zambian fans are calling for FIFA investigation of the Botswana referee for disallowing Zambia's first half goal against us.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Here is another link with a wider angle that shows the Ghanaianian shooting the ball and the position of the Ghanaian who scored the rebound. At no point was he offside when the ball was struck. you can pause the video yourself

pic 1- Leg striking ball- Ghanaian onside
pic 2- Ball long gone- Ghanaian still onside.
Last edited by metalalloy on Sun Oct 08, 2017 4:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

metalalloy wrote:Here is another link with a wider angle that shows the Ghanaianian shooting the ball and the position of the Ghanaian who scored the rebound. At no point was he offside when the ball was struck. you can pause the video yourself

Are you half-Ghanaian?

metalalloy wrote:Here is another link with a wider angle that shows the Ghanaianian shooting the ball and the position of the Ghanaian who scored the rebound. At no point was he offside when the ball was struck. you can pause the video yourself

Are you half-Ghanaian?

Yes. I am your sibling. :taunt:

felarey wrote: Wia taco? World Cup go sweet o. DNC no good o! :rotf:
The "WAFU Cup" man has disappeared ever since. In all the games played today, he didn't surface or make comment in any of them, yet a few days ago, he was all over the CE boasting on how they beat us 4-1 in WAFU Cup tournament final. Shame on him!
Metho scorpion

Post by Metho scorpion »

1naija wrote:There ain't no gaddem fairness. You win or you are out!

...Ghana the Amatoki Grubbers are the Crying champions of Africa... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Cellular wrote:Unku 1Naira, this ya thread is violating sooooooo many forum rules.

Murderators!!!! :P

I mean... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Cellular wrote:Unku 1Naira, this ya thread is violating sooooooo many forum rules.

Murderators!!!! :P
Kai i see some words i invented lived on...Tfco is in Toronto looking for the fligth agent he booked to Russia to cancel all trips