by The real deal
kali wrote:Griezemann
Pogba
Giroud
Dembele
Mbappe
Mendy
Kurzawa

Its a team game. France has benefitted immensely from its colony players esp DR Congo, Cameroon, CIV and territories.
I wonder why the Brits haven't benefitted as much :o :o :shock: :shock: :shock: :cry: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Re: France - what talent

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2017 7:50 pm
by balo
Matuidi scores 3rd minute of game.

Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 11:28 pm
by wiseone
What is scary is the number of players they did NOT pick in their last starting 11:

Areola
Kurzawa-Laporte-Koscielny-Mendy
Pogba-Rabiot-Bakayoko
Payet-Giroud-Martial

THAT "second 11" could probably beat any team in the world - except Spain, Germany, or Brazil.

PLUS Coman, Cabaye, Dembele, Kimpenbe, Sissoko not needed! That is a terrifying "reserve team". :shock:

Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 11:30 pm
DIDIER DESCHAMPS :D

Posted: Mon Oct 09, 2017 3:27 am
by King Futcha
those 'names' have struggled against Luxembourg and Bulgaria.

Posted: Mon Oct 09, 2017 3:40 am
by Enugu II
King Futcha wrote:those 'names' have struggled against Luxembourg and Bulgaria.
Names don't play soccer, teams do.

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 4:14 am
by kali
bumb.

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 5:44 am
by Tbite
Teams without names CANNOT play football at the highest level, they can win...no doubt they can, but with grit, with a bit of luck, by remaining compact etc.

To truly play at the highest level, you need names AND a team.

We mention all the teams that won without names, hardly impressive sides. The type of teams that would put you to sleep.

When Zambia won the ANC, I was here posting like a mad man, they essentially won based on their fitness. But at least it wasn't negative football, like the likes of Porto, Greece etc. Portugal in the Euros were one of the least convincing tournament winners ever.

There is a reason why people refer to names, not because it is a proxy for success, but because it is needed to be truly great.

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 6:35 am
by Chimurenga Rebel
Tbite wrote:
Teams without names CANNOT play football at the highest level, they can win...no doubt they can, but with grit, with a bit of luck, by remaining compact etc.

We mention all the teams that won without names, hardly impressive sides. The type of teams that would put you to sleep.

When Zambia won the ANC, I was here posting like a mad man, they essentially won based on their fitness. But at least it wasn't negative football, like the likes of Porto, Greece etc. Portugal in the Euros were one of the least convincing tournament winners ever.

There is a reason why people refer to names, not because it is a proxy for success, but because it is needed to be truly great.

Zambia are one of the most skillful sides in Africa to put their victory down to fitness alone is disingenuous

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 6:46 am
by Tbite
Chimurenga Rebel wrote:
Tbite wrote:

Zambia are one of the most skillful sides in Africa to put their victory down to fitness alone is disingenuous
Depends what you mean by skill. They were a team of 11 Etebos, which is not bad, but not great either.

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:55 am
by Comrade Machel
Chimurenga Rebel wrote:
Tbite wrote:

Exactly. In fact fitness is NOT one of their attributes. But Zambia are renowned for shoe shine football

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:19 am
by Ayo Akinfe
Abeg make una comot Giroud from that list. All he does is gallop around like a disabled donkey. He is the weak link in that French team.

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 12:15 pm
by cchinukw
The real deal wrote:
kali wrote:Griezemann
Pogba
Giroud
Dembele
Mbappe
Mendy
Kurzawa

Its a team game. France has benefitted immensely from its colony players esp DR Congo, Cameroon, CIV and territories.
I wonder why the Brits haven't benefitted as much :o :o :shock: :shock: :shock: :cry: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
They almost pulled it off fielding 12 black players. The largest contingent in 3 Lions history.

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 3:37 pm
by wiseone
Just a reminder of some of the players they deemed "not required" for this World Cup:
Benzema, Laporte, Lacazette, Martial, Coman, Cabaye, Sissoko, Debuchy...plus Payet injured.

wiseone wrote:What is scary is the number of players they did NOT pick in their last starting 11:

Areola
Pogba-Rabiot-Bakayoko
Payet-Giroud-Martial

THAT "second 11" could probably beat any team in the world - except Spain, Germany, or Brazil.

PLUS Coman, Cabaye, Dembele, Kimpenbe, Sissoko not needed! That is a terrifying "reserve team". :shock:

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 5:18 pm
by charlie
wiseone wrote:Just a reminder of some of the players they deemed "not required" for this World Cup:
Benzema, Laporte, Lacazette, Martial, Coman, Cabaye, Sissoko, Debuchy...plus Payet injured.

wiseone wrote:What is scary is the number of players they did NOT pick in their last starting 11:

Areola
Pogba-Rabiot-Bakayoko
Payet-Giroud-Martial

You didnt even mention the best of all, Frank Ribery...

Can you imagine a front 3 of Ribery, Griezmann and Mbappe?

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 5:23 pm
by wiseone
Sorry. the fact I forgot Ribery is testament to how many brilliant players they have. France's talent pool is deep enough for them to play different teams in the Euros and WC and reach the final of both.
charlie wrote:
wiseone wrote:Just a reminder of some of the players they deemed "not required" for this World Cup:

Areola
Pogba-Rabiot-Bakayoko
Payet-Giroud-Martial

You didnt even mention the best of all, Frank Ribery...

Can you imagine a front 3 of Ribery, Griezmann and Mbappe?

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 5:27 pm
by Goldleaf
A team left out Karim Benzema! What a country!

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 5:30 pm
by charlie
Goldleaf wrote:A team left out Karim Benzema! What a country!
Given the "limited" contributions of Giroud,...it is a travesty that Benzema is not playing in his place.
He is the best kind of anchor for Griezmann and Mbappe to buzz around.

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 6:19 pm
by Comrade Machel
Wow I had totally forgotten about Ribery. I take it he is retired from national duty

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 7:09 pm
by wiseone
Benzema was excluded for non-football reasons.
charlie wrote:
Given the "limited" contributions of Giroud,...it is a travesty that Benzema is not playing in his place.
He is the best kind of anchor for Griezmann and Mbappe to buzz around.

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 7:21 pm
by Bouncer
It's not an African country where "do you know who i am" is the mode and way of operation. Benzema tainted his name and got him self disqualified from the French team until further notice. They have enough players to fill up the spot of any of them that acts foolish.

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 7:26 pm
by maceo4
Samora Machel wrote:Wow I had totally forgotten about Ribery. I take it he is retired from national duty
Also Payet got injured right before the world cup. Their squad is just crazy...