Congrats to the SE but..

Re: Congrats to the SE but..

@Highbury, all are delighted in our victory however t'is the wise man who keeps his head when all else are losing theirs. A semi-final berth would be a very good and absolutely unexpected showing for Nigeria. As far as winning it be concerned, Nigeria is nowhere near the necessary pedigree. 1-nil vs Zambia has never offered substantiation for such ludicrous proclamation. Truth be told, 10-nil would offer much the same. The likely scenario is qualification from the group and elimination in the round of 16. Quarter finals would be a improvement to the usual.

The brutal truth is, our comparative shortcomings are significant enough to subdue any Leicesteresque impossible dream. Nigeria, Africa for that matter, is a long way from doing anything at a Mundial. As painful as the script reads, t'is well rehearsed and near ritualistic, by the end of the group stages, two will be gone, with two more hoping to make the plane before the check-in closes.
kali

Post by kali »

Ighalo is not the number 9 we need. Nigeria needs a big body good in the box who can draw the defense and then you have enough attacking ability out wide or from the middle.

The other weakness is DM. Onazi and Ndidi are far too weak to offer strength to Mikel. What rohr has been doing is using the entire frontline to both defend the middle and attack. It makes Nigeria vulnerable for lengthy games.

Ighalo did very well. His hold up play was very good despite the Zambians double and triple teaming him. Dude must be sore.

He put in a decent shift.

He also was a victim of a bad playing turf which made traction difficult for our players, especially him and VicMo.

Cellular wrote:Ighalo did very well. His hold up play was very good despite the Zambians double and triple teaming him. Dude must be sore.

He also was a victim of a bad playing turf which made traction difficult for our players, especially him and VicMo.
Kpom!!!!!!!!!!!! :clap: :clap:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

Ndidi weak? LOL.
Bobo Dan

Post by Bobo Dan »

mapet wrote:
highbury wrote:Congrats again to my sweet SE. They deserve to go to the World Cup. I am convinced that barring injuries and lack of fitness, Nigeria can really challenge for the title. I hate that Semi final bullcrap limit. Win it!
My main concerns are our striking department and defensive subs for our oyinbo wall. We don't have a solid back up... I think Efe Ambrose / Omeruo combo should be tried.
Ighalo truly worries me. Based on this work with Watford and SE he seems to be a ' hot or Cold' striker. One game he is good, the other bad. He was terrible today. The good thing he does is that he is always working hard. We need someone who will challenge Ighalo.. I am not putting my hope on Ihenacho. Ihenacho is a bench warmer. He can't do anything for SE at the world cup for Nigeria If he isn't playing. Let him ask Moses about how terrible he was in Brazil because he was warming the bench at Liverpool.
Now this spoilt the whole thing

Imagine that...
Its true with the popular saying that is you dont leave football, football will leave you
Apparently its not peculiar to only footballers, same applies to fans as well.. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
If I can't express my opinion, I have no reason to be part of this union."
Co Adriaanse - AZ Coach

We’re not rated on the Continent,” said Toshack. “British managers are not, coaches are not, players are not. It’s all 4-4-2, hit the front man, get on the second ball. It hasn’t changed. It frustrates me at times, it really does.”
- John Toshack (British Wales Coach viewtopic.php?t=111511 ).

Cellular wrote:Ighalo did very well. His hold up play was very good despite the Zambians double and triple teaming him. Dude must be sore.

kpom. I was very impressed with Ighalo's effort. Looks like he is enjoying the coach's trust in him. The turf was terrible.

marutimon wrote:We qualifying to the World Cup from the most lopsided group in World Cup qualifying history and we did it with 4 wins, 1 draw, 11 goals for, 3 against... We earned the right to gloat and well... nobody is perfect.

explain

marutimon wrote:We qualifying to the World Cup from the most lopsided group in World Cup qualifying history and we did it with 4 wins, 1 draw, 11 goals for, 3 against... We earned the right to gloat and well... nobody is perfect.

explain
He's probably talking about having 4 afcon winners and 3 of them have represented Africa at the WC a combined 15 appearances. It's a group that guarantees 2 if not 3 previous participants will be eliminated

explain
He's probably talking about having 4 afcon winners and 3 of them have represented Africa at the WC a combined 15 appearances. It's a group that guarantees 2 if not 3 previous participants will be eliminated

but that would make the group evenly-matched, not lopsided. Or am I still missing the point?

explain

but that would make the group evenly-matched, not lopsided. Or am I still missing the point?
Well lopsided compared to other groups.

explain

Well lopsided compared to other groups.
you're still not making sense :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: our group is NOT lopsided.

highbury wrote:Congrats again to my sweet SE. They deserve to go to the World Cup. I am convinced that barring injuries and lack of fitness, Nigeria can really challenge for the title. I hate that Semi final bullcrap limit. Win it!
My main concerns are our striking department and defensive subs for our oyinbo wall. We don't have a solid back up... I think Efe Ambrose / Omeruo combo should be tried.
Ighalo truly worries me. Based on this work with Watford and SE he seems to be a ' hot or Cold' striker. One game he is good, the other bad. He was terrible today. The good thing he does is that he is always working hard. We need someone who will challenge Ighalo.. I am not putting my hope on Ihenacho. Ihenacho is a bench warmer. He can't do anything for SE at the world cup for Nigeria If he isn't playing. Let him ask Moses about how terrible he was in Brazil because he was warming the bench at Liverpool.
Bros, just tell us the path you want us to take now because I don't want us to be on the verge of something great only for you to appear like a fake apparition and turn yourself into pathfinder.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Coach wrote:@Highbury, all are delighted in our victory however t'is the wise man who keeps his head when all else are losing theirs. A semi-final berth would be a very good and absolutely unexpected showing for Nigeria. As far as winning it be concerned, Nigeria is nowhere near the necessary pedigree. 1-nil vs Zambia has never offered substantiation for such ludicrous proclamation. Truth be told, 10-nil would offer much the same. The likely scenario is qualification from the group and elimination in the round of 16. Quarter finals would be a improvement to the usual.

The brutal truth is, our comparative shortcomings are significant enough to subdue any Leicesteresque impossible dream. Nigeria, Africa for that matter, is a long way from doing anything at a Mundial. As painful as the script reads, t'is well rehearsed and near ritualistic, by the end of the group stages, two will be gone, with two more hoping to make the plane before the check-in closes.
Coachito nwokem. Somber reality. The last four winners of the Mundial had high quality players at EVERY position, as well as solid backups at the same; the coaching staff of each team was excellent, and there's tons of preparatory stuff that goes on behind the scenes that we have yet to master. :idea:

anointed wrote:
Bros, just tell us the path you want us to take now because I don't want us to be on the verge of something great only for you to appear like a fake apparition and turn yourself into pathfinder.
Bros, the only path I want you to take is to be more attentive, proactive and less reactive. Not attacking perspectives but listening to differing perspectives. That way we can all work in concert towards a better purpose- a better SE
Last edited by highbury on Sun Oct 08, 2017 6:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

marutimon wrote:Ndidi weak? LOL.
Not just Ndidi. He said Ndidi and Onazi are both weak. No comment. :lol: