Gernot Rohr plans new team for Russia 2018 World Cup

pens

Post by pens »

http://odili.net/news/source/2017/oct/12/10.html

Algeria sacks coach

Super Eagles' Technical Manager, Gernot Rohr has revealed his plans to build a formidable team before the Russia 2018 World Cup.

The coach believes some of the current players in the Super Eagles are not the materials he would rely on for a successful campaign in the World Cup finals in Russia, adding that he has the ambition of surpassing Nigeria's previous performance in the event.

Although the 64-year-old Franco-German was delighted at the Eagles' qualification for the global showpiece, he said the team needed a major surgery before the FIFA World Cup finals.

"Players in the mould of Zinedine Zidane and Thiery Henry, who once played under me, are the calibre of stars I would want in the Super Eagles to execute the World Cup finals in Russia," Rohr said.

Insisting that he has not yet assembled his choice World Cup team, Rohr was emphatic that he would parade his best players in the group final game against Algeria in Constantine on November 6.

Remarkably, Nigeria is making her sixth FIFA World Cup appearance since its debut in USA '94. The Eagles were at France '98, Japan/Korea 2002, South Africa 2010 and Brazil 2014.

Sources close to the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) said the German is expected to disclose to the federation his World Cup programme before he travels to Europe. These will include plans for grade A friendlies and training tours to prepare the players for the Russia 2018 World Cup campaign.

Meanwhile, Algeria has parted ways with their manager, Lucas Alcaraz following the team's elimination from the race to Russia.

Superdeporte.es reports that the coach, who has a win record of one in four games since taking over from George Leekens when the Belgian resigned in February, has already returned to Spain.

Algeria are out of the race to qualify for the World Cup after picking up just one point in five games, in a group where they were viewed as favourite to qualify when the draws were made. They lost 0-2 to Cameroon at the weekend.

It has been a disastrous campaign for them as Alcaraz only took charge of the team in April following the resignation of Leekens in February before their reverse tie against Nigeria.

They are now searching for their fifth coach in just over a year since the start of the qualifiers for the World Cup 2018, where they are rooted to the bottom of group B.
Remember the three Rs: Respect for your self; Respect for others; Responsibility for all your actions.
pens
Re: Gernot Rohr plans new team for Russia 2018 World Cup

Post by pens »

Rohr plans German Machine test for Super Eagles
News By: adekunle Thursday, October 12, 2017

http://odili.net/news/source/2017/oct/13/332.html

Super Eagles coach, Gernot Rohr has said he would love to see his wards play against defending FIFA World Cup and Confederations Cup champions, Germany to give the Eagles a taste of what to expect at Russia 2018.

Rohr who has asked the Nigeria Football Federation to arrange for friendly matches in FIFA windows of November, March and May, stated that he has already notified the Germans of his desire to play a friendly against them before the World Cup.

"We have already told Germany that we will like to play them in any of the FIFA International friendly windows between May and June provided we are not in the same World Cup group," he said.

"I have told the NFF president to get us a friendly match to be played in Abuja to show them the 23 players selected for the World Cup and to say goodbye before leaving for Russia," Rohr said. The World Cup draw will be staged on December 1 in Russia. The 2018 World Cup will be from June 14 to July 15.
Remember the three Rs: Respect for your self; Respect for others; Responsibility for all your actions.

Five coaches in a year makes Nigeria look like Wenger and Arsenal.

Nigeria will be a team to look out for in Russia...its going to e scary! talk of a team loaded with depth.

pens wrote:Rohr plans German Machine test for Super Eagles

Super Eagles coach, Gernot Rohr has said he would love to see his wards play against defending FIFA World Cup and Confederations Cup champions, Germany to give the Eagles a taste of what to expect at Russia 2018.

Rohr who has asked the Nigeria Football Federation to arrange for friendly matches in FIFA windows of November, March and May, stated that he has already notified the Germans of his desire to play a friendly against them before the World Cup.

"We have already told Germany that we will like to play them in any of the FIFA International friendly windows between May and June provided we are not in the same World Cup group," he said.

"I have told the NFF president to get us a friendly match to be played in Abuja to show them the 23 players selected for the World Cup and to say goodbye before leaving for Russia," Rohr said. The World Cup draw will be staged on December 1 in Russia. The 2018 World Cup will be from June 14 to July 15.
Germany ke? :woot: NFF better add lubricant to their shopping list. I have a feeling we won't be sitting down for weeks :tic:

:lol: We do not want the team demoralized before the games begin.

JJ

Robotnik wrote:

Can you imagine. I'd take that one game winner takes all at the wc than a friendly. We beat Germany in a friendly and the alert will go out. We lose badly and morale might be affected. Wise to avoid Germany, not out of fear but prudent to do so

Robotnik wrote:

Can you imagine. I'd take that one game winner takes all at the wc than a friendly. We beat Germany in a friendly and the alert will go out. We lose badly and morale might be affected. Wise to avoid Germany, not out of fear but prudent to do so
bros forget that thing...whether friendly or world cup with the right team selection and tactics, we can match Germany in every aspect of the game and even beat them...or pull off an upset if you may! no be Ghana way almost expose them in 2014? the earlier we realize we have to face our biggest fear while early and find a way to conquer, the better for us.

Robotnik wrote:

bros forget that thing...whether friendly or world cup with the right team selection and tactics, we can match Germany in every aspect of the game and even beat them...or pull off an upset if you may! no be Ghana way almost expose them in 2014? the earlier we realize we have to face our biggest fear while early and find a way to conquer, the better for us.
Bobo relax. Germany is not a team you can sucker punch twice in a row. They might even let you feel you have the upper hand in a friendly. Study you very well and if you ever meet at the wc, you'd think you're playing a different team.
World football is not only about how good you are. It's a proper GOT scenarios. They will use their weakness to study our strength and use it against us. They are cerebral, we are not.

pens wrote:Gernot Rohr plans new team for Russia 2018 World Cup

http://odili.net/news/source/2017/oct/12/10.html

Algeria sacks coach

Super Eagles' Technical Manager, Gernot Rohr has revealed his plans to build a formidable team before the Russia 2018 World Cup.

The coach believes some of the current players in the Super Eagles are not the materials he would rely on for a successful campaign in the World Cup finals in Russia, adding that he has the ambition of surpassing Nigeria's previous performance in the event.

Although the 64-year-old Franco-German was delighted at the Eagles' qualification for the global showpiece, he said the team needed a major surgery before the FIFA World Cup finals.

"Players in the mould of Zinedine Zidane and Thiery Henry, who once played under me, are the calibre of stars I would want in the Super Eagles to execute the World Cup finals in Russia," Rohr said.

Insisting that he has not yet assembled his choice World Cup team, Rohr was emphatic that he would parade his best players in the group final game against Algeria in Constantine on November 6.

Remarkably, Nigeria is making her sixth FIFA World Cup appearance since its debut in USA '94. The Eagles were at France '98, Japan/Korea 2002, South Africa 2010 and Brazil 2014.

Sources close to the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) said the German is expected to disclose to the federation his World Cup programme before he travels to Europe. These will include plans for grade A friendlies and training tours to prepare the players for the Russia 2018 World Cup campaign.

Meanwhile, Algeria has parted ways with their manager, Lucas Alcaraz following the team's elimination from the race to Russia.

Superdeporte.es reports that the coach, who has a win record of one in four games since taking over from George Leekens when the Belgian resigned in February, has already returned to Spain.

Algeria are out of the race to qualify for the World Cup after picking up just one point in five games, in a group where they were viewed as favourite to qualify when the draws were made. They lost 0-2 to Cameroon at the weekend.

It has been a disastrous campaign for them as Alcaraz only took charge of the team in April following the resignation of Leekens in February before their reverse tie against Nigeria.

They are now searching for their fifth coach in just over a year since the start of the qualifiers for the World Cup 2018, where they are rooted to the bottom of group B.
Was wAyo impersonating Rohr? :)

Zidane Zidane and Thierry Henry? Hehehe. Na yam?

Which of these teams do you want Nigeria to face 8-)

Robotnik wrote:

Bobo relax. Germany is not a team you can sucker punch twice in a row. They might even let you feel you have the upper hand in a friendly. Study you very well and if you ever meet at the wc, you'd think you're playing a different team.
World football is not only about how good you are. It's a proper GOT scenarios. They will use their weakness to study our strength and use it against us. They are cerebral, we are not.
you have a point sha, their efficiency is just too deadly.

Robotnik wrote:Which of these teams do you want Nigeria to face 8-)

even their option 4 is as good as most top teams in the world, that's a scary the depth is...chai!

Robotnik wrote:

nonsense.

Germany would be weary of US, in fact they should fear US

Germany doesn't do too well against African teams. In fact I would rather play Germany in the WC than Brazil, Spain, even Argentina.

Last WC Cameroon drew with GErmany in a pre WC friendly. Cameroon showwed Germany pepper that day.

Then Ghana took the game to Germany in the first round match and would have won if not for Jordan Ayew's stupidity and selfishness

Then Algeria gave the German's fits in the second round

Germany struggles against aFrican sides.

Take it to the bank they would rather meet France, Argentina, England, Belgium, Portugal than meet the super eagles in Russia.

I will like them to be exposed to teams that will help show us our weakness.

If they can get a friendly with Germany.... fine.
Paraguay or Chile from South America.
US or Hondoras from CONCACAF.
Korea from Asia.
And a moimoi team like Ghana as send off....

Robotnik wrote:

nonsense.

Germany doesn't do too well against African teams. In fact I would rather play Germany in the WC than Brazil, Spain, even Argentina.

Last WC Cameroon drew with GErmany in a pre WC friendly. Cameroon showwed Germany pepper that day.

Then Ghana took the game to Germany in the first round match and would have won if not for Jordan Ayew's stupidity and selfishness

Take it to the bank they would rather meet France, Argentina, England, Belgium, Portugal than meet the super eagles in Russia.
You're just shouting. I did say I'd rather play them at the wc than a friendly and then meet them again at the wc. As for your assertion that they don't do well against African team -is that scientific or just feeling? So far how many games has Africa won against Germany? It's all about who progresses. Germany did and went on to lift the cup and the bredas?

See dis wan dey shake pass Shakira and Shaquiri sef. We can handle Germany. Their weaknesses play into our strengths. Na Uruguay, Argentina dem dey fear me.

the 64-year-old Franco-German was delighted at the Eagles' qualification for the global showpiece, he said the team needed a major surgery before the FIFA World Cup finals.

this sounds like a made up quote. any other source reporting this?

the 64-year-old Franco-German was delighted at the Eagles' qualification for the global showpiece, he said the team needed a major surgery before the FIFA World Cup finals.

this sounds like a made up quote. any other source reporting this?
The closest thing I could fine is:

Scipio Africanus wrote:

See dis wan dey shake pass Shakira and Shaquiri sef. We can handle Germany. Their weaknesses play into our strengths. Na Uruguay, Argentina dem dey fear me.
Typical bravado, Zulu rush in first before thinking talk as usual. We need to be more calculative than just thinking we can beat any team based on our skills alone.
If someone talk something else, he's accused of shaking. I think we can beat Germany but I'd rather play them at the wc. One game (one ring to rule them all) winner takes all.
I can authoritatively tell you now, should we meet and beat Germany in a friendly, we are not going to do it if we meet again at the wc for various reasons
1. Germany will come corre t and not let it happen again.
2. Germany often use friendlies to try out new tactics and study their opponents
3. Our own mentality of beating Germany might lead to complacency and over confidence.

We need to stop this one track mind of just playing the game. We need to play the politics of the game and the espionage of the game. Lull teams into a false sense of their own worth before unleashing our real potential

This contradicts what he reportedly said in the radio interview about giving fringe players a run out.

Robotnik wrote:

nonsense.

You're just shouting. I did say I'd rather play them at the wc than a friendly and then meet them again at the wc. As for your assertion that they don't do well against African team -is that scientific or just feeling? So far how many games has Africa won against Germany? It's all about who progresses. Germany did and went on to lift the cup and the bredas?
Germany have struggled against Algeria (1982, 2014) and Ghana (2014); Although the Bredas being the Bredas had to collect 6 in 1993 [/video]

One of our most useless World Cup teams in 1998 put up a good effort in a 1-0, although that team still had Shorunmu (before injury knocked him out of the main World Cup) and I think Jero Shakpoke.