Onyekuru scores brace

This kid is going to be a starter for Eagles by the time we get to Russia.

http://owngoalnigeria.com/2017/10/13/ev ... -mechelen/

On loan Everton forward Henry Onyekuru continued his rich vein of form for his loan side Anderlecht by scoring twice in their 4-3 win over KV Mechelen.

The game was the first for coach Hein Vanhaezebrouck who was appointed by the team to help rescue a poor start to the season for the team who are representing Belgium in the UEFA Champions League.

Onyekuru wasted no time in introducing himself to the manager by scoring twice within a space of seven minutes in the 30th and 37th minute precisely to put his side 3-1 up before the half time break.

‎He now has six goals in ten games for Anderlecht, a form that has already lead to talks about a possible return to Everton in January, as they are struggling to score goals.

Last season he scored 24 goals in all competitions for modest side Eupen, and he is in line to better the tally if he maintains his current rich vein in front of goal till the end of the season.
Re: Onyekuru scores brace

What is his preferred position?

chief nfachairman wrote:This kid is going to be a starter for Eagles by the time we get to Russia.

On loan Everton forward Henry Onyekuru continued his rich vein of form for his loan side Anderlecht by scoring twice in their 4-3 win over KV Mechelen.

The game was the first for coach Hein Vanhaezebrouck who was appointed by the team to help rescue a poor start to the season for the team who are representing Belgium in the UEFA Champions League.

Onyekuru wasted no time in introducing himself to the manager by scoring twice within a space of seven minutes in the 30th and 37th minute precisely to put his side 3-1 up before the half time break.

‎He now has six goals in ten games for Anderlecht, a form that has already lead to talks about a possible return to Everton in January, as they are struggling to score goals.

Last season he scored 24 goals in all competitions for modest side Eupen, and he is in line to better the tally if he maintains his current rich vein in front of goal till the end of the season.
He is a good player no doubt! He just needs to work on his team play. He seems to be a very selfish player. Thats the only problem I have with him

I doubt it, but he can prove me wrong.

ohenhen1 wrote:I doubt it, but he can prove me wrong.
And simon who plays the same League and position has only 1 goal compared to Henry's 6, is a better option?

chief nfachairman wrote:
And simon who plays the same League and position has only 1 goal compared to Henry's 6, is a better option?
Alex Iwobi will most likely start ahead of Simon. I like Onyekuru speed. I hope he plays against Algeria. He lacks experience at the national level.

chief nfachairman wrote:
Alex Iwobi will most likely start ahead of Simon. I like Onyekuru speed. I hope he plays against Algeria. He lacks experience at the national level.
Iwobi should be drafted to be a backup for Mikel

chief nfachairman wrote:This kid is going to be a starter for Eagles by the time we get to Russia.

Rohr better stop playing dumb, onyekuru and Bonaventure could replace Simon and Musa, no sentiments, we have to go to Russia with the best.

Good job and effort by Onyekuru.

A lot of very naive commenting on this thread.

Rohr wants to use the whole width of the pitch. Moses Simon will almost certainly start across the field from Victor Moses at the World Cup, unless he is injured.

Onyekuru will need to push Ighalo or Nacho out of the team.

chief nfachairman wrote:
Iwobi should be drafted to be a backup for Mikel
I think his best position is out wide like he played against Zambia. He played better than Simon.

truetalk wrote:Good job and effort by Onyekuru.

Rohr wants to use the whole width of the pitch. Moses Simon will almost certainly start across the field from Victor Moses at the World Cup, unless he is injured.

Moses Simon is not starting in the World Cup, you can take that to the bank and cash it. Nonsense

I/2 EPL assist. 4 Belgian league goals = 1 EPL assist.

Just as well you are not the one picking the team. Simon Moses is not among our top 30 players yet you want to start him. Hmmm

But the person picking the team agrees with truetalk nah. :idea:

1naija wrote:I/2 EPL assist. 4 Belgian league goals = 1 EPL assist.

Good goals. His team mate did not look happy that he jacked him for they first goal

Truetalk is absolutely spot on
Its silly to compare him with Simon on the basis of goals scored.
Simon's primary role in the team is not one of goalscoring
He is there to provide width. If Rohr wanted a secondary striker as opposed to a wide man in that position Iheanacho would be the #1 choice

If Onyekuru is to displace Simon , then the question is what is Onyekuru's game like outside the box?
Can he provide assists, link up play with midfield, create opportunities, go past his marker, cross etc?
I havent seen enough of him to decide

But the person picking the team agrees with truetalk nah. :idea:

Simon Moses will be watching the World Cup at home on TV just like Asamoah Gyan, Alex Song and Riyad Mahrez. Just as the likes of Ugbade, Semitoje, Ekpo, Elahor, Okon, etc were dropped in 94, so too will he be.

smartbrother wrote:Truetalk is absolutely spot on
He is there to provide width. If Rohr wanted a secondary striker as opposed to a wide man in that position Iheanacho would be the #1 choice

If Onyekuru is to displace Simon , then the question is what is Onyekuru's game like outside the box?
Can he provide assists, link up play with midfield, create opportunities, go past his marker, cross etc?
Onyekuru plays from the left side of the attack. He is more of an attacking force and scoring threat than a provider. With Onyekuru, you sleep for a second and he'll bury you.

My suspicion is the person whose days are numbered is Ahmed Musa. There are just too many options ahead of him in the six or so that will be picked for the front three positions:
Definite:
Ighalo
Moses
Iwobi
Simon
Iheanacho

Which leaves Musa fighting for one spot with a ton of people including Henry, Kayode, Success, Osimhen and even Ideye.

E go hard.

Onyekuru is a targetman competing for two slots along with Ighalo, Ideye, Osinhim and maybe Bonaventure. He is a big strong lad who can hold the ball up and with an eye for goal.

Forest Gump Simon Moses is competing for one of the four wide positions along with Victor Moses, Kelechi Iheanacho, Noah Bazee, Ahmed Musa and Cyril Dessers.

chief nfachairman wrote:

He is more of an attacking force and scoring threat than a provider.
Which is why Comparing him to Simon is comparing apples with oranges

Onyekuru is a targetman competing for two slots along with Ighalo, Ideye, Osinhim and maybe Bonaventure. He is a big strong lad who can hold the ball up and with an eye for goal.

Forest Gump Simon Moses is competing for one of the four wide positions along with Victor Moses, Kelechi Iheanacho, Noah Bazee, Ahmed Musa and Cyril Dessers.
Kelechi is not a winger. He has not played in that position under Rohr.

We talk about Onyekuru and Bonaventure, but Olayinka is also immense: 4 goals + 6! assists in the same league and the same number of games.