Page 8 of 14

Re: Finally, we've found a top goalkeeper

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 3:48 pm
by Dammy
bret- hart wrote:If he(Uzoh) continues to play regularly for Deportivo in the coming months it will be hard for Rhor to justify not inviting him. We don't exactly have quality in the GK ranks. Ezenwa is too erratic for my liking, Alampasu cant get a game in the Portugese 3rd division while Apkeyi is a crap GK in a crap team in South Africa. Uzoh deserves a chance to fight for a shirt. Another GK that deserves a chance is David Nwokolor who plays in a top club in Croatia that is currently playing in the Europa league.
Alampasu is in the Portuguese Primera liga (Premier League) with Feirense. He is no longer in the 3rd division.

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 3:52 pm
by wiseone
Oh boy. We need to declare a state of emergency in the GK department. Vince and Carl's absences have left us in big trouble there. Our 3 GK options are an erratic home-based GK, an even more erratic GK playing for a poor team in South Africa, and an untested rookie.
Nwokolor is chopping the pine seriously. He has not seen any action this season at all.

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 3:52 pm
by wiseone
...but is he playing regularly for his club?...
Dammy wrote: Alampasu is in the Portuguese Primera liga (Premier League) with Feirense. He is no longer in the 3rd division.

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 3:53 pm
by Otitokoro
Nwokolor hasn't been listed in any of the HNK Rijeka league games this month - not sure if he is injured or what.

On a side note, there is another young Nigerian keeper at the club who is coming up the ranks. Never heard of him until now when I was researching Nwokolo.
His name is Ayotunde Ikuepamitan. 20yrs old. 6'5" tall. One to keep an eye on, perhaps?
wiseone wrote:Nwokolor plays for the Croatian champs HNK Rijeka. However is he their first choice GK playing regularly, or is he still a reserve?
bret- hart wrote:If he(Uzoh) continues to play regularly for Deportivo in the coming months it will be hard for Rhor to justify not inviting him. We don't exactly have quality in the GK ranks. Ezenwa is too erratic for my liking, Alampasu cant get a game in the Portugese 3rd division while Apkeyi is a crap GK in a crap team in South Africa. Uzoh deserves a chance to fight for a shirt. Another GK that deserves a chance is David Nwokolor who plays in a top club in Croatia that is currently playing in the Europa league.

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:00 pm
by metalalloy
pajimoh wrote:At this rate Ayo will remove players from the plane on the day of departure to Russia because another foreign player was discovered after 30 minutes training

No mind Ayo. He is like a secondary school Games Master

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:03 pm
by metalalloy
Enugu II wrote:It will definitely be good to have him in camp to compete but to be sure nothing in those highlights indicates that he is even better than Ezenwa, except that he was playing for a European club. However, I must say that his height, like Alampasu, is intriguing and important going forward.

This! i cant believe this has gone 8 pages based off a 3 minutue highlight of routine saves :lol:

Just incredible.

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:09 pm
by truetalk
Otitokoro wrote:Nwokolor hasn't been listed in any of the HNK Rijeka league games this month - not sure if he is injured or what.

On a side note, there is another young Nigerian keeper at the club who is coming up the ranks. Never heard of him until now when I was researching Nwokolo.
His name is Ayotunde Ikuepamitan. 20yrs old. 6'5" tall. One to keep an eye on, perhaps?
wiseone wrote:Nwokolor plays for the Croatian champs HNK Rijeka. However is he their first choice GK playing regularly, or is he still a reserve?
Rijeka have 6 young Nigerians on their books including 2 goalkeepers. They are the new FC Midgetland :taunt: except only at a slightly higher level.

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:11 pm
by truetalk
Alampasu is in the Portuguese Primera liga (Premier League) with Feirense. He is no longer in the 3rd division.
Alampasu is in a team owned by a Nigerian. I think Kunle Soname also bought the hype.

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:11 pm
by lacidi
cchinukw wrote:Is his last name being mispelt?

Which one be Ozoho/Uzoho?

The closest I can think of as being the correct spelling is Uzoha.
Its 'Uzoho'. Thats a very common name in Imo state and many other Igbo states. It simply means (open doors).

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:12 pm
by theYemster
That explains why he can't get a game in the 3rd division. So technically bret fart is right. :)

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:14 pm
by truetalk
Otitokoro wrote:Nwokolor hasn't been listed in any of the HNK Rijeka league games this month - not sure if he is injured or what.

Rijeka called Nwolokor back this season after seing out on loan and handed him the No. 1 jersey (yes Gotti, it means nothing). He is backup to a 30 year old Croatian International. They obviously want him around for the cover of the title defense and Europe. That is saying something.

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:16 pm
by truetalk
He has been out on loan for the past 2 seasons and started. He has been on the bench since his recall to Rijeka.

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:24 pm
by Odas
Enugu II wrote:It will definitely be good to have him in camp to compete but to be sure nothing in those highlights indicates that he is even better than Ezenwa, except that he was playing for a European club. However, I must say that his height, like Alampasu, is intriguing and important going forward.
This! i cant believe this has gone 8 pages based off a 3 minutue highlight of routine saves :lol:

Just incredible.
... yeah, because we BADLY need "quality" goalkeepers and quickly. If goalkeepers are manufactured, I believe we would have manufactured one, or in the process of doing so by now.

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:30 pm
by truetalk
truetalk wrote:Not a big problem for me. Rijeka are a top 2-3 team in Croatia, and they are playing (though fumbling) in Europe. Nwolokor was loaned out and he was called back to the club this season and handed the No. 1 Jesrsey. The guy currently starting (Prskalo) is a borderline Croatian International & is the Vice Captain. Nwolokor has 2 seasons of starting in Europe under his belt and will be fine, either at Rijeka or out on loan.
That’s NOT good enough if he is not seeing any action this season...

That’s akin to saying that Vince Enyeama should just walk into the SE
whether or not he sees no action this season, on account of his donkey years as a starting GK in Europe. Form oscillates, regardless of if dude was handed the number half jersey.
Half & half.
Let's discount the fact that both have started in clubs over the last 2 seasons since that is a commonality.
Nwolokor is a springly 21 year old who is in a club setup. Training and maintaining match fitness, and a call away from manning the post in a game.

Vince at 35 is no Spring Chicken and he is not in a club setup. He just can't shake off the rust, and return to a high level of physical and match fitness. If I was a betting man, I'll say he gets beaten out in camp by about 4 keepers at this point.

It is extremely difficult for a 30 something to leave football and come back & be the same. Rufai went to University in the early 90's. Even if he seemed to help us in 1994, he was a shadow of the Rufai of '84 and '88. Of course 1998 was just a disaster. I don't think Rohr will bite the Enyeama apple, anyway, so I won't bother about what I think will happen if Vince returns.

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:39 pm
by wiseone
Thanks for the update.
truetalk wrote: He has been out on loan for the past 2 seasons and started. He has been on the bench since his recall to Rijeka.

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:40 pm
by truetalk
truetalk wrote:Not a big problem for me. Rijeka are a top 2-3 team in Croatia, and they are playing (though fumbling) in Europe. Nwolokor was loaned out and he was called back to the club this season and handed the No. 1 Jesrsey. The guy currently starting (Prskalo) is a borderline Croatian International & is the Vice Captain. Nwolokor has 2 seasons of starting in Europe under his belt and will be fine, either at Rijeka or out on loan.
That’s NOT good enough if he is not seeing any action this season...

That’s akin to saying that Vince Enyeama should just walk into the SE whether or not he sees no action this season, on account of his donkey years as a starting GK in Europe. Form oscillates, regardless of if dude was handed the number half jersey.
I still think that as at today, Nwolokor is better prepared to help the SE, even if Uzoho's upside (physical attributes for starters) may be higher. He has more experience and they both have youth and definite progress on their side. I have been quite upset for months that both of these guys were sidelined as Akpeyi and Alampasu rented apartments in camp.

BTW, I believe we have similar options to Uncle Elderson.

It is also quite fascinating to watch people like Ayo who had probably never mentioned Uzoho before yesterday type the name almost 50 times in 24 hours.

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:48 pm
by truetalk
Ayo Akinfe wrote:The only question Rohr has to answer now is who is number threee? Akpeyi or Alampasu

These 2 guys have no business anywhere near the SE.

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:54 pm
by 1naija
truetalk wrote:
Alampasu is in a team owned by a Nigerian. I think Kunle Soname also bought the hype.

He was no hype in the 2013 U17 tournament. He was the voted the best goalkeeper in the tournament! And he was purchased based on that performance so how can you call it a hype?

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 5:03 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
When una talk finish, Francis Uzoho will man goal for all our games at the World Cup. End of story!

Ikechukwu Ezenwa will be number two and either Akpeyi or Alampasu will be the third goalkeeper. Anything else is just hot air!

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 5:31 pm
by truetalk
truetalk wrote:

He was no hype in the 2013 U17 tournament. He was the voted the best goalkeeper in the tournament! And he was purchased based on that performance so how can you call it a hype?
Uncle 1naija, let it not seem like I'm attacking a kid that has represented Nigeria, but there is nothing to suggest that Alampasu can help the SE at the moment. This is the reality of Alampasu's career for now. Hopefully, he turns it up.

I’m not buying the Alampaasu hype. Good performances in the last 2 games of a schoolboy tournament is not a passport to the Nigerian national team. He was benched at the U-20 level by Enaholo (with his U-17 coach in charge), benched on the CHAN team by Agbim, benched on the watered down Eagles team by Ezenwa (who was benched by the bumbling Akpeyi on the main team. Akpeyi was benched by Daniel on the Olympic team). Different coaches have preferred this rather inauspicious collection of keepers to Alampasu over the last 2 years. Alampasu is in the only team in Europe owned by a Nigerian, who might feel he has a patriotic duty to help develop talent. He has barely played over the last season.

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 6:22 pm
by olu
Wow. Already proclaiming him as a world cup starter after just one league game. He could very well still make the world cup team, but let's at least see how he finishes the season before we call him a top goalie. He already plays at a higher level club wise than all our goalies, so he should be tested in a friendly, then we can go from there.

Do you remember Bartholomew Ogebche? Was hyped to high heavens and ended up going to the world cup after a few great games at PSG then fizzled into oblivion. We've had numerous players who have either played a few games for big clubs or have played in youth teams for big clubs but were never able to cut it a higher level. The likes of Gbenga Okunowo (Barcelona), Aliyu Mohammed (AC Milan), Haruna Babangida (Barcelona), Isah Eliakwu (Inter Milan); and more recently Chuks Aneke (Arsenal) and Nathan Oduwa (Tottenham) may be heading that way.

I really hope Uzoho comes good. Time will tell if he's the real deal.
Ayo Akinfe wrote:When una talk finish, Francis Uzoho will man goal for all our games at the World Cup. End of story!

Ikechukwu Ezenwa will be number two and either Akpeyi or Alampasu will be the third goalkeeper. Anything else is just hot air!

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 7:10 pm
by chief nfachairman
wiseone wrote:...but is he playing regularly for his club?...
Dammy wrote: Alampasu is in the Portuguese Primera liga (Premier League) with Feirense. He is no longer in the 3rd division.
he's not even made the bench in the last 2/3 games

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 7:14 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
olu wrote:Wow. Already proclaiming him as a world cup starter after just one league game. He could very well still make the world cup team, but let's at least see how he finishes the season before we call him a top goalie. He already plays at a higher level club wise than all our goalies, so he should be tested in a friendly, then we can go from there.

Do you remember Bartholomew Ogebche? Was hyped to high heavens and ended up going to the world cup after a few great games at PSG then fizzled into oblivion. We've had numerous players who have either played a few games for big clubs or have played in youth teams for big clubs but were never able to cut it a higher level. The likes of Gbenga Okunowo (Barcelona), Aliyu Mohammed (AC Milan), Haruna Babangida (Barcelona), Isah Eliakwu (Inter Milan); and more recently Chuks Aneke (Arsenal) and Nathan Oduwa (Tottenham) may be heading that way.

I really hope Uzoho comes good. Time will tell if he's the real deal.
Ayo Akinfe wrote:When una talk finish, Francis Uzoho will man goal for all our games at the World Cup. End of story!

In their cases we had alternatives. What option do we have for Uzoho?