MIKEL AGU v RAHEEM LAWAL

In a clash of Nigerian midfielders currently going on in the Turkish Liga this evening...
Mikel Agu's Bursaspor (w/ CD Troost-Ekong) vs Raheem Lawal's Osmanlispor (w/ FW Aminu Umar).

Thus far, Agu is bossing it...
And Raheem has been largely anonymous.
Last edited by Gotti on Mon Oct 16, 2017 6:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: MIKEL AGU v RAHEEM LAWAL

Gotti wrote:Thus far, Agu is bossing it...
And Raheem has been largely anonymous.
Just as I type the above...
Raheem dribbles Agu and nearly puts him on his backside.

Thus far, Mikel Agu is playing much better than I have ever seen him play this season - for club or country. It's conceivable that playing in our crucial WCQ games has buoyed his confidence.

0-1 Osmanlispor...
Troost-Ekong loses his man on the cross.

Gotti wrote:0-1 Osmanlispor...
Troost-Ekong loses his man on the cross.
Hmmm! It's conceivable that playing in our crucial WCQ games has made him complacent.

Or it could just be a mistake. :lol:

1-1 equalizer...
With a headed assist by Mikel Agu.

2-1 Bursaspor...
Mikel Agu HANGS!!

Agu is a solid player, I see why Rohr likes the lad...the condemnation of the lad by many here is very unfair and premature considering the fact that he needs time to blend with the team set up.

2-1 at HT...

Thus far, Osmanlispor's Nigerians Lawal and Aminu Umar have been peripheral to proceedings...
Meanwhile, Bursaspor's Troost-Ekong have been decent, and Agu has bossed things - 1 goal, 1 assist!
Last edited by Gotti on Mon Oct 16, 2017 6:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Gotti wrote:2-1 at HT...

Thus far, Osmanlispor's Nigerians Lawal and Aminu Umar have been peripheral to proceedings...
Meanwhile, Bursaspor's Troost-Ekong have been decent, and gu has bossed things - 1 goal, 1 assist!

Tobi17 wrote:Agu is a solid player, I see why Rohr likes the lad...the condemnation of the lad by many here is very unfair and premature considering the fact that he needs time to blend with the team set up.
It's his name that has put a weight around his neck..

Iheanacho starts for Leicester too

All well and good. Agu is an interestingly talented player. However, there can only be one Mikel. To me, he is Ndubuisi Agu.

Doesn't matter what his name is: he could be Jebrudiah for all I cared.
Important thing is that he is upping his game and progressing well.
Obong wrote:All well and good. Agu is an interestingly talented player. However, there can only be one Mikel. To me, he is Ndubuisi Agu.

Tobi17 wrote:Agu is a solid player, I see why Rohr likes the lad...the condemnation of the lad by many here is very unfair and premature considering the fact that he needs time to blend with the team set up.
The condemnation is much deserved as its based on his play. He can't be coming into a crucial WC Qualifier to play rubbish when there are other capable midfielders sitting on the bench. He has to justify the coaches faith in him by playing well else people will question his introduction and rightly so. If he goes on to prove his worth later then that's a plus, but doesn't change the fact that he sucked and was called out for sucking.

Gotti wrote:Thus far, Mikel Agu is playing much better than I have ever seen him play this season
Uncle, so you actually watched Turkish league. I know the great yobo put the league on world soccer map, but I didn't think anyone actually follows the league to the extent of watching the games.

Gotti wrote:Thus far, Mikel Agu is playing much better than I have ever seen him play this season
Uncle, so you actually watched Turkish league. I know the great yobo put the league on world soccer map, but I didn't think anyone actually follows the league to the extent of watching the games.

From the bench abi?

Before Amokachi (Besiktas), Okechukwu Uche (Fenerbache) and Okocha (Fenerbache) did, right?
:laugh: :laugh:

The largely ineffective Lawal has been substituted midway in the 2H...
Meanwhile, a now 10-man Bursaspor has gone up 3-1 in the 75th minute.

Obong wrote:All well and good. Agu is an interestingly talented player. However, there can only be one Mikel. To me, he is Ndubuisi Agu.
That's your own limitation :tic:

From the bench abi?
While Velcro -ing his boots

From the bench abi?
Murds ...do your thing. Accidentally delete...

The condemnation is much deserved as its based on his play. He can't be coming into a crucial WC Qualifier to play rubbish when there are other capable midfielders sitting on the bench. He has to justify the coaches faith in him by playing well else people will question his introduction and rightly so. If he goes on to prove his worth later then that's a plus, but doesn't change the fact that he sucked and was called out for sucking.
i blame his unconvincing display to nerves, but he improved in the second half and played better