Is it right to invite players seeing zero club action?

Players who have seen virtually zero club action this season but kept getting mentioned with regards to the Super Eagles:

Uwua Echiejile
Ahmed Musa
Brown Ideye
Isaac Success
Noah Bazee

If call-ups are based on merit, current form and quality, there is simply no justification for inviting these players to camp. Ask yourselves if we want to go to the World Cup with match rusty players.

I am of the opinion that Gernot Rohr should give all these players an ultimatum to move in January to clubs where they get playing time. If they do not, they should be told to forget about Russia 2018.
Re: Is it right to invite players seeing zero club action?

Yes, every situation is different.

ohenhen1 wrote:Yes, every situation is different.
Some of you are simply unbelievable! You want to take a player like Ahmed Musa who has not seen one minute of club action all season to the World Cup????????????????????????

Ahmed Musa does not deserve, nor is he worthy of a place on the final 23.

His continued invitations are based purely on sentiments.

How can a player with 0 minutes of club football be called when we have so many players playing week in week out and scoring who cannot get a look in.

Not only has he 0 minutes, the wastepipe cannot even get on the bench of a bottom of the league team. Rohr needs to get his head straight on this issue. Even an overweight, constantly injured Success who is partying with hookers has more bench appearances than Musa. And this is for a higher ranked team.

Musa is a useless chicken.

I told u all long ago he will be an EPL flop because he is a useless chicken.
Last edited by vancity eagle on Sun Oct 22, 2017 4:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

vancity eagle wrote:Ahmed Musa does not deserve, nor is he worthy of a place on the final 23.

His continued invitations are based purely on sentiments.

How can a player with 0 minutes of club football be called when we have so many players playing week in week out and scoring who cannot get a look in.

Musa is a useless chicken.
Lol but the OP told us he loves FCs because there's no sentiment in their invites. Anyways, I trust Rohr he knows what's up and why Musa is having such a tough go at it and I'm sure he's pushing him to move in January to get more PR, but you don't just throw away tried and tested players because they ran into an issue at their club to take unproven ones to the WC.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Players who have seen virtually zero club action this season but kept getting mentioned with regards to the Super Eagles:

Uwua Echiejile
Ahmed Musa
Brown Ideye
Isaac Success
Noah Bazee

If call-ups are based on merit, current form and quality, there is simply no justification for inviting these players to camp. Ask yourselves if we want to go to the World Cup with match rusty players.

I am of the opinion that Gernot Rohr should give all these players an ultimatum to move in January to clubs where they get playing time. If they do not, they should be told to forget about Russia 2018.
Uzoho has always played one game but you have him starting vs Argentina. Why is he different?

Rohr has only invited Musa and Elderson from that list.

Elderson was playing before he got injured on international duty.

Rohr has defended inviting Musa several times. He is a good player to have in camp and he's not playing at Leicester for political reasons.

I'm a firm believer in always relying on your tried and tested players, and these belief holds sway in certain situations like poor club form of experienced players etc... But let's tell ourselves the truth, on the basis of MERIT, do the likes of Musa deserve a plane seat to Russia? we have other players doing the business week in and out for their respective clubs and yet get no consideration because they play in clubs that are deemed "weak"... forgetting that most of our starting XI players also play in weak leagues, and don't even get as much club appearances inspite of that!

niyi wrote:Rohr has only invited Musa and Elderson from that list.

Elderson was playing before he got injured on international duty.

Rohr has defended inviting Musa several times. He is a good player to have in camp and he's not playing at Leicester for political reasons.

Nonsense

Which political reasons are keeping Musa out?

He is not even making the bench because he is simply not good enough. Anything else na story.

Which of these forwards os Musa better than?

Nacho
Okazaki
Vardy
Slimani

He is not better than any of these players.

Flashback to the last world. Nigeria vs France. Onazi gets injured and is replaced with Gabriel Reuben, a player that had not kicked a ball in Months and had no business making that team but was there based on sentiments. We all know how that Match ended.

Why don't you have Vince in that list up there? Abi your friends are excluded from this question?

gochino wrote:Flashback to the last world. Nigeria vs France. Onazi gets injured and is replaced with Gabriel Reuben, a player that had not kicked a ball in Months and had no business making that team but was there based on sentiments. We all know how that Match ended.
It's not even so much about Reuben not kicking a ball in months for his club, the more shocking part was that he had absolutely no business been on that team in the first place over apparently better players that didn't make it to Brazil... But let bygones be bygones, hopefully we learn from that experience.

ohenhen1 wrote:Yes, every situation is different.
Some of you are simply unbelievable! You want to take a player like Ahmed Musa who has not seen one minute of club action all season to the World Cup????????????????????????
Musa can always play more next year. And he could be a good player in the locker room. We need a team not an all star team.

Rohr has touched on the reason for Musa's inclusion up until this point. His goal is to build a young team sprinkled with a few experienced hands. He talked about Musa's experience and the intangibles he brings to the dressing room.

While Rohr was reluctant to change a winning team during the qualifiers, he won't be reluctant to drop players at this point if better players emerge. He has stated very clearly that only the best players, playing at a high level will make the cut. Don't be surprised if a few more players are drop as preparation for the world cup starts. The 23 that make the trip to Russia will be going on merit. That much I am pretty certain of following all Rohr has been saying to date.

On the one hand, you advocated vigorously for the inclusion of Enyeama, who has yet to see a single minute of action this season (pray tell, why isnt he on your list below?).
Then, you turn around and criticize Ahmed Musa, who has been seeing a lot of action for the Leicester U23s.
This smacks of hypocrisy on your part...
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Players who have seen virtually zero club action this season but kept getting mentioned with regards to the Super Eagles:

Uwua Echiejile
Ahmed Musa
Brown Ideye
Isaac Success
Noah Bazee

If call-ups are based on merit, current form and quality, there is simply no justification for inviting these players to camp
. Ask yourselves if we want to go to the World Cup with match rusty players.

Tobi17 wrote:I'm a firm believer in always relying on your tried and tested players, and these belief holds sway in certain situations like poor club form of experienced players etc... But let's tell ourselves the truth, on the basis of MERIT, do the likes of Musa deserve a plane seat to Russia? we have other players doing the business week in and out for their respective clubs and yet get no consideration because they play in clubs that are deemed "weak"... forgetting that most of our starting XI players also play in weak leagues, and don't even get as much club appearances inspite of that!
Based upon Ayo’s worldview, those excluded players have been asked to ‘drop’ but have refused... :D

gochino wrote:Flashback to the last world. Nigeria vs France. Onazi gets injured and is replaced with Gabriel Reuben, a player that had not kicked a ball in Months and had no business making that team but was there based on sentiments. We all know how that Match ended.
It's not even so much about Reuben not kicking a ball in months for his club, the more shocking part was that he had absolutely no business been on that team in the first place over apparently better players that didn't make it to Brazil... But let bygones be bygones, hopefully we learn from that experience.
Which “better” players? That’s how folks were going on about “Azeez of La Liga” and he turned out to be pants. I do not personally have to agree with every single selection made by our coaches (even Rohr - and I am not just referring to the Musa debate going on here), but would nonetheless defer to their judgment (albeit fallible human judgment), not least because they have greater privity to these players in camp. Of course when indigenous coaches are involved, folks impute ill-motives.

Shownoja wrote:Why don't you have Vince in that list up there? Abi your friends are excluded from this question?

Stop digressing. Vince has repeatedly made it clear he is not interested in returning to the national team

Uwua Echiejile
Ahmed Musa
Brown Ideye
Isaac Success
Noah Bazee

Uzoho has always played one game but you have him starting vs Argentina. Why is he different?
Where will you hide your face when Uzoho plays tomorrow? Watch him man goal for Deportivo all season! He is by far our number one goalkeeper worldwide at the moment.

Mr Shows wrote:Rohr has touched on the reason for Musa's inclusion up until this point. His goal is to build a young team sprinkled with a few experienced hands. He talked about Musa's experience and the intangibles he brings to the dressing room.

While Rohr was reluctant to change a winning team during the qualifiers, he won't be reluctant to drop players at this point if better players emerge. He has stated very clearly that only the best players, playing at a high level will make the cut. Don't be surprised if a few more players are drop as preparation for the world cup starts. The 23 that make the trip to Russia will be going on merit. That much I am pretty certain of following all Rohr has been saying to date.
There has to be a standard for the national team. Musa should be encouraged to get more playing time before the world cup. A good team need good role players. Look at Golden State Warriors last year. Without their role players they would have lost the NBA finals.

skillful

Post by skillful »

Most of these European players woulnt take this crap. They would have gone right up to the manager and demanded to see some action or go on loan somewhere. Thats how Joe Hart sorted himself out.
"I first saw David Rocastle play in 1983 for the youth team. I remember coming home excitedly from the match and telling my family, "I've just watched the nearest thing to a Brazilian footballer you are ever likely to see - and he comes from Lewisham." - David Dein on Rocky Rocastle

Mr Shows wrote:Rohr has touched on the reason for Musa's inclusion up until this point. His goal is to build a young team sprinkled with a few experienced hands. He talked about Musa's experience and the intangibles he brings to the dressing room.

There has to be a standard for the national team. Musa should be encouraged to get more playing time before the world cup. A good team need good role players. Look at Golden State Warriors last year. Without their role players they would have lost the NBA finals.
In his hour long interview, Rohr mentioned that he had to appeal to Leon Balogun's coach to play him as often as possible. I am sure he is doing stuff behind the scenes with the Leicester coaching staff also.

He strikes me as a very fair person who makes his position clear to his players. He would have already given Musa an ultimatum regarding his non-playing time, with January probably being the deadline. Even Ekong noted that he had to take a pay cut to move to Turkey, just to ensure he was getting valuable air time.

On current form, there is a strong possibility that Musa will be dropped from the team.

Shownoja wrote: Why don't you have Vince in that list up there? Abi your friends are excluded from this question?
Indeed, a very good question