George Weah's son Tim scores hat-trick in U-17 WC for US

George Weah's son Timothy scores hat-trick in Under-17 World Cup for US

Timothy Weah (left) helped the USA progress to the quarter-finals of the U17 World Cup

When you are the son of a former Ballon d'Or winner, it is likely you would be pretty handy in front of goal.

And it looks like legendary former AC Milan striker George Weah has passed some of his skilful genes on to his son, Timothy.

The New York-born 17-year-old, who has been signed by Paris St-Germain, scored a hat-trick for the United States at the Under-17 World Cup in their 5-0 win over Paraguay.

His second strike in particular, a brilliant curling effort from the edge box into the top corner, was reminiscent of his father - who scored a memorable solo goal for Milan against Verona in 1996.

Weah Sr also played for Monaco, Paris-St Germain, Chelsea and Manchester City in a glittering career that saw him named world player of the year in 1995 - the first and so far only African player to win the award.

Now 51, he is currently in the running to be elected president of his native Liberia.

But his son is now making a name for himself.

"At this age he has a lot of potential," US coach John Hackworth told ESPN.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/41650115
Re: George Weah's son Tim scores hat-trick in U-17 WC for US

The second goal was incredible...damn!

If he was born in Monrovia, the CE pundits would have doubted his age

How can the President of Liberia pikin play for the Yanks? :blink: oh wait..Liberia na American territory :taunt:
aykwes8

Post by aykwes8 »

paj wrote:How can the President of Liberia pikin play for the Yanks? :blink: oh wait..Liberia na American territory :taunt:
i hope you are really joking

aykwes8 wrote:
paj wrote:How can the President of Liberia pikin play for the Yanks? :blink: oh wait..Liberia na American territory :taunt:
i hope you are really joking
Abeg stop hating.. :evil: I'm basically mimicking our enlightened president :mad:

airwolex wrote:The second goal was incredible...damn!

Wow..

Pulisic, Weah, Sargent

2022 can't get here soon enough.

King Futcha wrote:Pulisic, Weah, Sargent

:clap:

Future is bright for USA.......................... :clap: :clap:

wale1974 wrote:Future is bright for USA.......................... :clap: :clap:
Can still play for Liberia.

How old is he?

King Futcha wrote:

How old is he?
Temper down the hyping for his sake. Don't ruin his career. Adu career was ruined by the US media hyping him. Hopefully he can get into a good club like Dortmund after the tournament.

He will play for Liberia. His daddy is about to be president.

bret- hart wrote:He will play for Liberia. His daddy is about to be president.
Dam another slap for USA
ogasir

Post by ogasir »

LOL Some of you guys still think how a payer performs at U17 level is how they will perform at senior level
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST

Didn't Zelelem play for the US at youth level and then decided to play for Germany at Senior level?

ogasir wrote:LOL Some of you guys still think how a payer performs at U17 level is how they will perform at senior level

thank you

ogasir wrote:LOL Some of you guys still think how a payer performs at U17 level is how they will perform at senior level
its the bloodline.

thank you
Macauley Chrisantus is now 27 and should be as big as Ronaldo based on his U17 exploits

King Futcha wrote:
its the bloodline.
Jordi Cruyff and countless bloodlines greet you

Heartily speaking after an amazing disappointment with 2013 under 17 stars I don't buy all these gratuitous hypes of U 17 Footballers. I could have bet my mortgage that at least 4 world class players would have emerged from that team . Nothing in the world then could have convinced me that Success , Iheanacho, Chidibere Nwakali and Idowu are not future super stars in world soccer. Since the uttermost disappointment with aforementioned boys I don't buy into the hype of U17 players even if they are extolled to high heavens