When it comes to playmaking fortune always favours the brave

[1] Do you all realise that playmakers are unique beings with exceptional talent, who when they burst on the scene just have to be embraced

[2] Teams that have traditionally done well in the World Cup have had a world class playmaker who can create something from nothing. An exceptional taken whio has what it takes to prose well knit defences open single-handedly

[3] For me the best playmeker in the world today is Neymar. This young man came into prominence at an early age at Santos, where he made his professional debut aged 17. He helped the club win two successive Campeonato Paulista championships, a Copa do Brasil, and the 2011 Copa Libertadores, Santos' first continental title since 1963

[4] Following Neymar's performances for Brazil's under-17 team at the 2009 U-17 World Cup in which he scored a goal in the opening match against Japan, former Brazilian football players Pelé and Romário reportedly urged coach Dunga to take Neymar to the 2010 World Cup

[5] Although the widespread opinion that Neymar deserved a place in Dunga's squad went as far as a 14,000 signature petition and despite the huge pressure on Dunga to pick Neymar, he was omitted from both the squad of and the stand-by list. As it turned out, Brazil had a woeful tournament crashing out in the quarter finals. Their lack of creativity cost them dear

[6] On 26 July 2010, at the age of 18, Neymar was selected for the first time in the Brazil senior team by new head coach Mano Menezes for a friendly match against the United States to be played in East Rutherford, New Jersey

[7] On 10 August 2010 he made his debut with the national team in that game, aged 18 years old, starting the match and wearing the number 11 jersey. He scored on his debut after 28 minutes, a header coming from an André Santos cross in a 2–0 win for Brazil. See the goal here:

[8] My seciond facourite playmajer is Lika Modric. Do you know he made his full international debut for Croatia on 1 March 2006 in a friendly match against Argentina in Basel, which Croatia won 3–2.At the time he was aged 20

[9] Nigeria's greatest ever playmaker JJ Okcha, made his debut on 1993 at the tender age of 19

[10] My point here is simple. If Gernot Rohr wants to take Russia 2018 by storm and etch his name into the history books as the first man to lead an African team to the semi finals and beyond, he has to be exceptionally brave. He needs to find a world class playmaker. A young kids who is prepared to gamble on. For now, the only ones I see on the horizon include Kelechi Nwakali, Habib Makanjuola and Musa Yahaya.
Re: When it comes to playmaking fortune always favours the b

Ay you and this your Nwakali campaign. Let patiently wait and see how his season progresses. Some players are in the unique position of playing themselves into the team, while some will naturally drop out.... No need to keep flogging this. Come May next year, it will be obvious whether he is ready or not.

Besides, if you look at Rohr's preferred formation, it is built on a combatant m/f, pressing high up and strong wing play. This is more reliant on efficiency as opposed to creativity. He wants one touch football and less running with the ball. In this setup the collective effort, trumps individual play. Similar to the German style of playing. So I am not sure you are aligned on this one.

Mr Shows wrote:Ay you and this your Nwakali campaign. Let patiently wait and see how his season progresses. Some players are in the unique position of playing themselves into the team, while some will naturally drop out.... No need to keep flogging this. Come May next year, it will be obvious whether he is ready or not.

Besides, if you look at Rohr's preferred formation, it is built on a combatant m/f, pressing high up and strong wing play. This is more reliant on efficiency as opposed to creativity. He wants one touch football and less running with the ball. In this setup the collective effort, trumps individual play. Similar to the German style of playing. So I am not sure you are aligned on this one.

To win the World Cup, he will need a variety of attacking options:

[1] A targetman who can hold the ball up
[2] A playmaker who can create
[3] Fullbacks who can whip balls in
[4] A dead ball specialist
[5] A few good headers of the ball
[6] A long passer of the ball
[7] Forwards with pace who can outrun defences
[8] Attackers who can beat their men one-on-one
[9] A goalkeeper who can provide "Route one" goals
[10] Long range shooters

We are now entering into a different league here. This is no longer African qualification. Do you know that a team like Chile who did not make Russia would easily have topped any of the other four African groups?

Same goes for the Netherlands, Slovakia and Wales. Even Syria looked a stronger team than Cameroon to me.

As a people, we have to decide if we are going to Russia to compete or to just participate. Even if he takes a young playmaker and that person does not live up to expectation, is the experience not valuable?

In modern football the TEAM makes plays by creating scoring opportunities through intricate passing and movements . While the valued classic playmaker still has a role he’s not the only player that’s responsible to make plays or create scoring opportunities.

Teams like Spain,Germany and Brazil have several players with playmaking abilities from the GK to the striker. If you think you can just stick a player in mf to orchestrate things like a puppet master you’ll come back with a bag of goals in your net and the same ol story.

What we do have is players like Moses,Mikel, iwobi, Nura, onyekuru etc, all of whom have the ability to break down defenses. Thankfully, we also have a coach who knows how to use the players at his disposal. He and only he knows best, all else is just for entertainment purposes.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:In modern football the TEAM makes plays by creating scoring opportunities through intricate passing and movements . While the valued classic playmaker still has a role he’s not the only player that’s responsible to make plays or create scoring opportunities.

Teams like Spain,Germany and Brazil have several players with playmaking abilities from the GK to the striker. If you think you can just stick a player in mf to orchestrate things like a puppet master you’ll come back with a bag of goals in your net and the same ol story.

What we do have is players like Moses,Mikel, iwobi, Nura, onyekuru etc, all of whom have the ability to break down defenses. Thankfully, we also have a coach who knows how to use the players at his disposal. He and only he knows best, all else is just for entertainment purposes.

Comot Neymar for Brazil team and see if they will be as lethal as they currently are.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:In modern football the TEAM makes plays by creating scoring opportunities through intricate passing and movements . While the valued classic playmaker still has a role he’s not the only player that’s responsible to make plays or create scoring opportunities.

Meanwhile, check this out:

Ayo Akinfe wrote:[10] My point here is simple. If Gernot Rohr wants to take Russia 2018 by storm and etch his name into the history books as the first man to lead an African team to the semi finals and beyond, he has to be exceptionally brave. He needs to find a world class playmaker. A young kids who is prepared to gamble on. For now, the only ones I see on the horizon include Kelechi Nwakali, Habib Makanjuola and Musa Yahaya.
Bros, quit evaluating players on the basis of their past U17 performances...

Musa Yahaya has been playing as a wing-back for the past and current seasons with the Porto B team, not as a ‘playmaker’. Unfortunately, this is what happens when dudes do not keep up with the times and only set up tent on CE after Nigeria qualifies for a major tournament ( :D ). Meanwhile, Habib Makanjuola, is in the Leicester U23 and yet to make a single senior team appearance (not even at Birmingham City) - but I’m pretty sure that you still remember that YouTube video of him juggling the ball as a 13-year-old as your basis for suggesting him as our WC ‘playmaker’! Even Kelechi Nwakali, whom I personally have the greatest of hope for, has yet to claim a starting role in a struggling Eridevise club (and last season played mostly as a wide midfielder/winger in the Dutch second division). Bros, we don’t want the “fortune” of beating traffic back early from Russia.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:[10] My point here is simple. If Gernot Rohr wants to take Russia 2018 by storm and etch his name into the history books as the first man to lead an African team to the semi finals and beyond, he has to be exceptionally brave. He needs to find a world class playmaker. A young kids who is prepared to gamble on. For now, the only ones I see on the horizon include Kelechi Nwakali, Habib Makanjuola and Musa Yahaya.

Musa Yahaya has been playing as a wing-back for the past and current seasons with the Porto B team, not as a ‘playmaker’. Unfortunately, this is what happens when dudes do not keep up with the times and only set up tent on CE after Nigeria qualifies for a major tournament ( :D ). Meanwhile, Habib Makanjuola, is in the Leicester U23 and yet to make a single senior team appearance (not even at Birmingham City) - but I’m pretty sure that you still remember that YouTube video of him juggling the ball as a 13-year-old as your basis for suggesting him as our WC ‘playmaker’! Even Kelechi Nwakali, whom I personally have the greatest of hope for, has yet to claim a starting role in a struggling Eridevise club (and last season played mostly as a wide midfielder/winger in the Dutch second division). Bros, we don’t want the “fortune” of beating traffic back early from Russia.

Ha ha ha ha. Craze man. Seriously Gotti, I will resist the temptation to fire back at you and keep this discussion intellectual. Do you know of any other possible playmakers out there?

I have been following Nwakali closely and he is gradually working his way into the Venlo starting line-up. One of their midfielders got a red card last week, so I can see him starting this weekend.

I assume you watched this match:

LOL

Where is that is Osaze a striker or a playmaker thread?

Hands up, I'm a big fan of Kelechi Nwakali but realistically speaking, this WC seems like a bridge too far.

But given Nigeria's history of reserving 1 WC shirt for a promising young player, if K. Nwakali continues playing regularly in Holland and stays injury free, it is conceivable that he could make this WC team. He's our boy. He was voted the best player in the last U-17 WC. He is on Arsenal payroll. And he plays regularly in Dutch premier league.

Personally, I have always been of the opinion that he should be invited to fight for a shirt. He's a promising young boy like Mikel was 12 years ago (2005) when he broke through for his first cap. That said, I'm neither here nor there regarding the young man at this moment because honestly speaking, he is behind the current options on the team. Even a similarly young man like Alex Iwobi can play that attacking midfield role comfortably and he's much further along professionally than Nwakali. And Alex has been coming off the bench for Rohr so where does that leave Nwakali's chances on the SEs?

green4life wrote:Realistically speaking, this WC seems like a bridge too far for Kelechi Nwakali.

But given Nigeria's history of reserving 1 WC shirt for a promising young player, if K. Nwakali continues playing regularly in Holland and stays injury free, it is conceivable that he could make this WC team. He's our boy. He was voted the best player in the last U-17 WC. He is on Arsenal payroll. And he plays regularly in Dutch premier league.

Personally, I have always been of the opinion that he should be invited to fight for a shirt. He's a promising young boy like Mikel was 12 years ago (2005) when he broke through for his first cap. That said, I'm neither here nor there regarding the young man at this moment because honestly speaking, he is behind the current options on the team. Even a similarly young man like Alex Iwobi can play that attacking midfield role comfortably and he's much further along professionally than Nwakali. And Alex has been coming off the bench for Rohr so where does that leave Nwakali's chances on the SEs?

Personally, I would have Nwakali and Iwobi as my two playmakers in the squad. I remain of the view that Mikel does not have the legs to play thet role at the World Cup. he simply does not have the pace or youthful energy to do give-and-goes on the edge of the area.

Like Pirlo, Mikel is best used as a deep lying playmaker, whose passing ability should be exploited to the maximum. We also need Mikel's experience in front of the back four.

Baring the emergence of any fresh talent between now and the World Cup, I would have Iwobi and Nwakali fight for the playmaker shirt. To be honesty, they both need to grow up fast as the World Cup will be Mikel's last outing for Nigeria.

green4life wrote:Realistically speaking, this WC seems like a bridge too far for Kelechi Nwakali.

Personally, I would have Nwakali and Iwobi as my two playmakers in the squad. I remain of the view that Mikel does not have the legs to play thet role at the World Cup. he simply does not have the pace or youthful energy to do give-and-goes on the edge of the area.

Like Pirlo, Mikel is best used as a deep lying playmaker, whose passing ability should be exploited to the maximum. We also need Mikel's experience in front of the back four.

Baring the emergence of any fresh talent between now and the World Cup, I would have Iwobi and Nwakali fight for the playmaker shirt. To be honesty, they both need to grow up fast as the World Cup will be Mikel's last outing for Nigeria.
You have a point but I suspect that Rohr prefers Mikel playing higher up where his defensive duties are less and knowing that his vision and quick decision making plus passing accuracy can be more valuable to the team offensively. At the base of midfield, Rohr prefers two mobile midfielders who enjoy getting stuck in and winning balls while shielding the back 4. My point is Rohr would rather not play Mikel at the base of his midfield. Rohr likely feels his team is more balanced with that set up. So I don't see him moving or redefining Mikel's role just to accommodate Nwakali on the squad. Iwobi is a different matter because he can start on the wing for Rohr which doesn't upset the balance that much.

Ayo the world cup won't be Mikel's last outing for the SE, he at least still has 2-3 years of football left in him... But his role considering his age will be reserved to just sitting back and with his football intelligence play the deep play making role ala Pirlo style(less running and more of picking the right passes pretty much) , but in Iwobi, Nwakali and hopefully Ejaria we have young and highly promising players with lungs to burst and IQ to utilize to the best standards of play making, they are our future now as it stands.

Ayo, can you name the play maker for Germany?
Team football is no longer a one man affair, but a cohesion of 'parts' with the collective
mentality of operating as a disciplined unit. Individual ball juggling abilities should be left
for the circus.
Cheers!!!

joao wrote:Ayo, can you name the play maker for Germany?
Team football is no longer a one man affair, but a cohesion of 'parts' with the collective
mentality of operating as a disciplined unit. Individual ball juggling abilities should be left
for the circus.
Cheers!!!
Ozil na wetin?

for the circus.
Cheers!!!
Ozil na wetin?
passenger

Unfortunately, you don't "find" a world class playmaker in senior international football 1 year to the WC. If such a player doesn't exist for his club now, you're not going to "find" him. This is not age grade soccer.

In the world cup they finally took Neymar to, what did he do?? In his backyard sef. Even before his injury? Was he going to be the difference between a bad brazil team and germany???

And Okocha....what has been his impact on Nigeria's fortunes at World Cups? I love Jay Jay, but minus Jay Jay, we would still have made the 2nd round in 94 and 98.

You just make up theories out of thin air sometimes.

for the circus.
Cheers!!!
Ozil na wetin?
passenger
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

cic old boy wrote:Where is that is Osaze a striker or a playmaker thread?

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Ha ha ha ha. Craze man. Seriously Gotti, I will resist the temptation to fire back at you and keep this discussion intellectual. Do you know of any other possible playmakers out there?

I have been following Nwakali closely and he is gradually working his way into the Venlo starting line-up. One of their midfielders got a red card last week, so I can see him starting this weekend.

I assume you watched this match:
Obviously I disagree with you that we must have a designated ‘playmaker’ at the WC, but assuming that we must someone like Abdul Ajagun is way ahead of Kelechi Nwakali at this point in time - although of course I personally think that Nwakali will ultimately end up as the much better player. Abegi, let’s not have another “Azeez of La Liga” clamour scenario, wherein after the poor lad suffered through a thoroughly underwhelming WC, the same folks who so loquaciously demanded his inclusion barely even acknowledge his existence these days as he toils in the depths of the Spanish second division.

Gotti wrote:Abegi, let’s not have another “Azeez of La Liga” clamour scenario, wherein after the poor lad suffered through a thoroughly underwhelming WC, the same folks who so loquaciously demanded his inclusion barely even acknowledge his existence these days as he toils in the depths of the Spanish second division.
But the reason folks aren't calling for him presently is because there are better players to consider. At the last World cup he was "hot property" (and I use that term very relatively) whereas now there's no reason for anyone to clamour for his invitation.