Ighalo Pulls out of Algeria and Argentina games

Would Rohr replace a striker with defenders (Idowu and Omeruo) or a midefielder (Alhassan)?

http://owngoalnigeria.com/2017/11/01/st ... a-clashes/

Chanchung Yatai forward Odion Ighalo has been ruled out of Nigeria’s upcoming games against Algeria and Argentina next month after picking up an injury for his team.

Ighalo is set to be out for a period of three weeks, which effectively rules him out of the Eagles November 10 and 14th game against Algeria and Argentina respectively.

The former Watford of England forward will contact the technical crew later today to intimate them of his withdrawal according to the print edition of Sportinglife Newspaper.

His withdrawal means one of the players placed on standby will move up to the main team as replacement for the forward, who has regained his spot in the Nigeria national team after playing second fiddle to Kelechi Iheanacho for some time.

One among the trio of Kenneth Omeruo, Alhassan Ibrahim and Brian Idowu who are on standby will most likely replace Ighalo for the game against Algeria and Argentina.
Re: Ighalo Pulls out of Algeria and Argentina games

Wish him a speedy recovery. I think Rohr will invite another striker, but those guys will still remain on standby. ?

kayode or Samuel or promising Chan forward can be invited- don't think eagles have too much problems in that department.

walesvilla wrote:kayode or Samuel or promising Chan forward can be invited- don't think eagles have too much problems in that department.
I'd rather Kayode.

I'm a fan of Onuachi but his performance for the rest of the season should be key to inviting him especially cos he is playing in a Tier 3 league.
Zelex

Post by Zelex »

walesvilla wrote:kayode or Samuel or promising Chan forward can be invited- don't think eagles have too much problems in that department.
Probably Samuel Olanare. When Iwobi pulled out of the Cameroon double header due to injury, Olanare was his replacement.
Zelex-CE World Cup 2010 prediction Winner
http://forum.cybereagles.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=177767

Ighalo is a targetman and MUST be replaced by one of the following:

Olanrewaju Kayode
Victor Osimhem
Taiwo Awoniyi

Nothing else makes sense!

Obafemi Martins will be back :rotf:

And this is why we need credible bench options but Rohr seems to think we have arrived and all is figured out.

Kayode needs to be called, plain and simple. Or maybe Dessers or Bonaventure.

Cam u imagine going to Russia with that Israeli striker. As our lead forward.
Zelex

Post by Zelex »

vancity eagle wrote:And this is why we need credible bench options but Rohr seems to think we have arrived and all is figured out.

Lol, give Nwakaeme a chance, we haven't even seen him in the GWG yet!

vancity eagle wrote:And this is why we need credible bench options but Rohr seems to think we have arrived and all is figured out.

Abeg , stop harassing us with your silly suggestions. Do u know the players better than the coach?

Zelex wrote:

we keep hearing that the Beligan league is not good enough.

BUt the Israeli league is even worse. NObody is making any sense in all of this.

Dessers, Nwakaeme and Bonaventure are all wide men. None of them can play with their back to goal.

Here are our targetmen:

Odion Ighalo
Brown Ideye
Olanrewaju Kayode
Victor Osinhem
Taiwo Awoniyi

For me, Rohr has to select two of the above five for his 23 going to Russia. Out wide, he has to select four of the following:

Victor Moses
Henry Onyekuru
Kelechi Iheanacho
Anthony Nwakaeme
Noah Bazee
Ahmed Musa
Moses Simon
Emmanuel Bonaventure
Peter Olayinka
Isaac Success
Cyriel Dessers

Abeg , stop harassing us with your silly suggestions. Do u know the players better than the coach?
What now? Don’t you know that Kayode, Dessers and Bonaventure have won champions league, Europa Cup, domestic league and cup were on the shortlist of worlds best player are linked with moves to Real Marid, Manu , Chelsea, etc etc we can’t do well without their inclusion oh!

Flex Swift wrote:

What now? Don’t you know that Kayode, Dessers and Bonaventure have won champions league, Europa Cup, domestic league and cup were on the shortlist of worlds best player are linked with moves to Real Marid, Manu , Chelsea, etc etc we can’t do well without their inclusion oh!
Didn’t you see all of five minutes Kayode played against Ronaldo the way he nearly scored we need him oh

Zelex wrote:

BUt the Israeli league is even worse. NObody is making any sense in all of this.
for eagles as long as the player is active and in form does not matter where he plays - if he fits in and take his chance opari- Amunike broke into eagles playing in Egypt

Zelex wrote:

I would not select a player from either league ahead of the players we have in the team already, unless they demonstrate that they are better than that league like Mikel did in Norway, or Taiwo did in France. There is a reason why Belgium don't load their national team with players from the Belgian league.

Stop saying things you know nothing about. You obviously haven't even seen him play, that's why you would make such an assertion.
Cyriel Dessers is NOT a wide man. He is a CF.

To assist you further, watch the #11

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Dessers, Nwakaeme and Bonaventure are all wide men. None of them can play with their back to goal.
Zelex

Post by Zelex »

Zelex wrote:

I would not select a player from either league ahead of the players we have in the team already, unless they demonstrate that they are better than that league like Mikel did in Norway, or Taiwo did in France. There is a reason why Belgium don't load their national team with players from the Belgian league.
I probably would agree with this, unless they were putting out some outstanding performances like you stated.

I would say I am quite interested in Peter Olayinka (Belgium). 13 matches-5 goals & 7 assists is a very decent return. Not saying he should make the squad but his progress should be monitored.

You agents should stop 'this foolish propaganda. Who the feck is dessera, bonaventure?? This guys are not better than the ones we have available. Rohr doesn't necessarily needs to replace ighalo with another target man. Although, kayode seems like a decent option. Key word (decent) he hasn't scored this season. We still have nwakaeme, kelechi iheanacho available while ahmed musa who maybe match rusty had his best career period playing as a cf at cska Moscow. Please, please no one should mention any guys from those backwater leagues absolutely none. We don't need anymore. Moreover, They're not exceptional. After World Cup they would have their chance

If Rohr wants a big forward that can hold up the ball, his options are Samuel, Awoniyi, Oshimen, Sadiq Umar, and maybe Dessers. Awoniyi is the most in form of the lot followed by Dessers, however, I believe Samuel, Oshimen, and Umar would be scoring goals too if they played in Belgium.

Another option would be for Rohr to play without a big target man like may teams do and focus on moving the ball quickly. In that case Nacho, Nwakueme, or Onyekeru can play in the center.
Komani

Post by Komani »

Kayode or Dessers should replace him, but Muazam will probably be called up and Nwakaeme will start against Algeria.

Otitokoro wrote:Stop saying things you know nothing about. You obviously haven't even seen him play, that's why you would make such an assertion.
Cyriel Dessers is NOT a wide man. He is a CF.

To assist you further, watch the #11

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Dessers, Nwakaeme and Bonaventure are all wide men. None of them can play with their back to goal.
Are we going to have another Osaze is NOT a striker thread?