Switzerland have a centre back called Akanji

Re: Switzerland have a centre back called Akanji

wiseone wrote:Is he related to former SE GK Murphy Akanji?

Not that I know of. Murphy never mentioned him to me. I know Murphy's younger brother plays as a striker.
:taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Seferovic has to be the worst striker in the world!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

You are playing at home, against the might of N. Ireland and you don't have the confidence to go forward and finish them off...

I hate European coaches!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Embolo's done more in 5mins than Seferovic in 85mins

txj wrote:Embolo's done more in 5mins than Seferovic in 85mins
True. Northern Ireland nearly won this one!

txj wrote:You are playing at home, against the might of N. Ireland and you don't have the confidence to go forward and finish them off...

I hate European coaches!

Northern Ireland might have won that game easily were the pitch better. They certainly dominated the match and that last minute header could have drawn the tie level.
heavyd

Post by heavyd »

txj wrote:You are playing at home, against the might of N. Ireland and you don't have the confidence to go forward and finish them off...

I hate European coaches!

Northern Ireland might have won that game easily were the pitch better. They certainly dominated the match and that last minute header could have drawn the tie level.
I beg to differ... With better finishing The Swiss should have been 3 goals up in the first half!
YNWA
heavyd

Post by heavyd »

txj wrote:Impressed by Akanji again...

Murphy pikin...
Are you sure?
Not sure, but I think he is; just looking at the picture of him...
Ayo knows Murphy personally... cant he see the resemblance :lol: :taunt:
YNWA

heavyd wrote:
txj wrote:Impressed by Akanji again...

Murphy pikin...
Are you sure?
Not sure, but I think he is; just looking at the picture of him...
Ayo knows Murphy personally... cant he see the resemblance :lol: :taunt:
They are not related. Murphy's younger brother who plays football is a striker.

heavyd wrote:

I hate European coaches!

I beg to differ... With better finishing The Swiss should have been 3 goals up in the first half!

Switzerland dominated the first half and Northern Ireland the second. It could have gone either way.

The tie was decided in the first leg by that dreadful "handball" penalty decision against N Ireland. Utter travesty. It was not a handball (hit the player on the shoulder), and even if it was the fact that: (a) Shaqiri volleyed the ball into him from point blank range; and (b) his arm was by his side, not extended away from his body - meant it was never a penalty. To give him a yellow card as well compounded it.

Second worst bit of refereeing this week behind the Brahimi travesty.

I hate European coaches!

Murphy Akanji didn't move to Europe until 2001 so I doubt this Manuel is his child.