Iran
Nigeria

Re: Nigeria most likely in Pot 4

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:00 pm
by charlie
Enugu II wrote:What matters is what you are able to do on the day of the match. At the 2014 World Cup, Nigeria (If I recall correctly) was the lowest ranked team in the group (not sure if we were ahead of Iran or not) but Nigeria still qualified. The reality is that there are teams in Pot 3 and 4 that Nigeria, though lower ranked, can do well against. That FIFA ranking system does not do a very good job in determining current strength of teams.

Ultimately, yes, it is what happens on the green grass that counts. In 2002, Senegal was the lowest ranked team in their group and took the whole world by storm.

Nothing stops the lowest ranked team from emerging as group winners. I guess we always have some trepidation. However, if you want to win the World Cup, you must be prepared to beat the best.

Going by today's form, only Brazil, Germany and Spain really look scary. Italy is a shadow of its old self and none of the other teams really scare me.

Spain are in pot two. As long as we do not get them along with say Brazil or Germany, we should be fine.

I can for instance see Nigeria topping a group made up of:

Belgium
England
Costa Rica
Nigeria

or

Portugal
Uruguay
Croatia
Nigeria

or

France
Italy
Iran
Nigeria
That is certainly the key i.e avoiding a team that is favorite to win it all. If you get two of them, you could be dead in the group stage.
So which two teams that are f avourite can be on same group?
SE should be thinking to go there and win it.I dont see any favorite that can't be beat.Nigeria should adopt Leivester style do or die every game final and its 7 games and you can win the first world cup for Africa.Teams like England,Fance,Portugal,Italy are not better than Nigeria,i will say Argentina are beatable even with their cheat,Brazil beatable not godd as people make them to be.Spain and Germany are to me two very good team but still beatable.
Maybe I am in an alternate universe where Italy qualified for the world cup???

Re: Seedings for 2018 World Cup confirmed, Nigeria in Pot 4

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:02 pm
by Robbynice
Ebyboy wrote:Portugal
Colombia
Iran
Nigeria
:sneaky: :tic: :dream:
Russia
England
Iran
Nigeria
This would mean Russia vs. Nigeria will be the opening match of the WC... :thumbs:

Re: Confirmed: Nigeria in Pot 4

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:08 pm
by asabatex
Poland
Switzerland
Iran
Nigeria

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:15 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
asabatex wrote:Poland
Switzerland
Iran
Nigeria

Thief. You like easy things. Na which kain greediness be dis? You dey find nine points!

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:17 pm
by asabatex
Nigeria will destroy all the teams in that group.. :D
asabatex wrote:Poland
Switzerland
Iran
Nigeria

Thief. You like easy things. Na which kain greediness be dis? You dey find nine points!

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:36 pm
who cares, we get to play whoever.... we had the most difficult group in CAF... them yab us die.. but today see us.. I hope we get a very difficult group

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:39 pm
by Odas
Adisboy wrote:
Benedict Iroha wrote:POT 1
Russia
Germany
Brazil
Portugal
Argentina
Belgium
Poland
France

POT 2
Spain
Peru
Switzerland
England
Colombia
Mexico
Uruguay
Croatia

POT 3
Denmark
Iceland
Costa Rica
Sweden
Tunisia
Egypt
Senegal
Iran

POT 4
Serbia
Nigeria
Australia
Japan
Morocco
Panama
Korea Republic
Saudi Arabia
We just need to avoid Spain in Pot 2, then I think we'll ok whichever way.
Avoid? Do we have choice? On a more serious note, when the whistle is blown, anything can happen and any team can beat the other in any day. There is no doubt we are better than many teams in the pots ahead of us. Thus, all is well

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:45 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
Adisboy wrote:
Russia
Germany
Brazil
Portugal
Argentina
Belgium
Poland
France

POT 2
Spain
Peru
Switzerland
England
Colombia
Mexico
Uruguay
Croatia

POT 3
Denmark
Iceland
Costa Rica
Sweden
Tunisia
Egypt
Senegal
Iran

POT 4
Serbia
Nigeria
Australia
Japan
Morocco
Panama
Korea Republic
Saudi Arabia
Avoid? Do we have choice? On a more serious note, when the whistle is blown, anything can happen and any team can beat the other in any day. There is no doubt we are better than many teams in the pots ahead of us. Thus, all is well

But no one needs the stress of having say Brazil/Germany and Spain in the same group.

Re: Nigeria most likely in Pot 4

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:45 pm
by marko
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Pot One
Germany
Brazil
Portugal
Argentina
Belgium
Russia
Poland
France

Pot Two
Spain
England
Mexico
Uruguay
Italy
Switzerland
Colombia
Croatia

Pot Three
Denmark
Costa Rica
Iceland
Iran
Tunisia
Egypt
Senegal
Serbia

Pot Four
Nigeria
Ivory Coast
Japan
South Korea
Saudi Arabia
Panama
Australia
New Zealand

Even if Peru beat New Zealand, this is not going to change. Our ranking was simply too low going into this World Cup to make pots two or three. We are one of the lowest ranked qualifiers.
Italy in the mix??????

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:46 pm
by Odas
Colombia
Iran
Nigeria
Russia
England
Iran
Nigeria
This would mean Russia vs. Nigeria will be the opening match of the WC... :thumbs:
... and Russia will lose, and they will find a reason to ship our team to Siberia to play all our remaining games :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:50 pm
by Odas
Adisboy wrote:
Russia
Germany
Brazil
Portugal
Argentina
Belgium
Poland
France

POT 2
Spain
Peru
Switzerland
England
Colombia
Mexico
Uruguay
Croatia

POT 3
Denmark
Iceland
Costa Rica
Sweden
Tunisia
Egypt
Senegal
Iran

POT 4
Serbia
Nigeria
Australia
Japan
Morocco
Panama
Korea Republic
Saudi Arabia
Nut no one needs the stress of having say Brazil/Germany and Spain in the same group.
Fine! However, the truth remains no team has a choice as to choosing which team to avoid or to play. Thus, play the matches - if such happens - like it is the final and see what happens. Approach the game with fear and you are dead.

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:56 pm
by Ebyboy
Colombia
Iran
Nigeria
Russia
England
Iran
Nigeria
Even better :thumbs:

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:58 pm
by Ebyboy
Adisboy wrote:
Russia
Germany
Brazil
Portugal
Argentina
Belgium
Poland
France

POT 2
Spain
Peru
Switzerland
England
Colombia
Mexico
Uruguay
Croatia

POT 3
Denmark
Iceland
Costa Rica
Sweden
Tunisia
Egypt
Senegal
Iran

POT 4
Serbia
Nigeria
Australia
Japan
Morocco
Panama
Korea Republic
Saudi Arabia

Nut no one needs the stress of having say Brazil/Germany and Spain in the same group.
Ewo lo kan e nbe?
:sneaky:

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:34 pm
by kastro11
I want Saudi Arabia from pot 4.

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:50 pm
by Mr Shows
Funny enough, watching what we did to Argentina without Victor Moses and Ighalo, a lot of the big countries will be dreading being drawn with us. Nigeria plays a power game and now we have more tactical awareness.

Mentally we don't fear anyone. Once we have settled into our rhythm, we give any team as good as we get. Not many African sides would have rolled over a star studded Argentina side the way we did on neutral ground.... we did the same thing to Spain in '98. Trust me, there will be a few farts going off in the room when Nigeria is drawn out of the bowl...

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:11 pm
by joao
Mr Shows wrote:Funny enough, watching what we did to Argentina without Victor Moses and Ighalo, a lot of the big countries will be dreading being drawn with us. Nigeria plays a power game and now we have more tactical awareness.

Mentally we don't fear anyone. Once we have settled into our rhythm, we give any team as good as we get. Not many African sides would have rolled over a star studded Argentina side the way we did on neutral ground.... we did the same thing to Spain in '98. Trust me, there will be a few farts going off in the room when Nigeria is drawn out of the bowl...
OK Mr Beano. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:32 pm
by Sir V
I was listening to Talk Sport this evening as i was driving home when i one of the guys said Argentina, England, Denmark and Nigeria will be a tough group.

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:32 pm
by Sir V
I was listening to Talk Sport this evening as i was driving home when i one of the guys said Argentina, England, Denmark and Nigeria will be a tough group.

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 10:01 pm
by kash n' karry
:evil: :twisted:
It don't matter which group we on, we shall overcome !! :clap:

Posted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:37 am
by theYemster

Posted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:11 am
by Ayo Akinfe
Sir V wrote:I was listening to Talk Sport this evening as i was driving home when i one of the guys said Argentina, England, Denmark and Nigeria will be a tough group.

Dat group no too fear me!

Posted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 12:09 pm
by walesvilla
Sir V wrote:I was listening to Talk Sport this evening as i was driving home when i one of the guys said Argentina, England, Denmark and Nigeria will be a tough group.

Dat group no too fear me!
it is tough group - but depends on who and outcome of 1st game. Denmark will always disguise as underdog and that can be dangerous for us - England will think they can walk all over us- by that playing into our hands - Argentina is Argentina by now we should know what to expect and handle them - all about our preparation and determination.