John Ogu

Re: John Ogu

smartbrother wrote:
Tobi17 wrote:Ogu exemplifies the attributes of a disciplined player who keeps it neat and simple... the era of modern football has gone pass aimless dribbling and fancy Okochaesque footworks with no end product(rather than make a simple pass when necessary and shoot when necessary), in view of these facts, I believe we have a good midfield in Mikel Obi, Ndidi, Onazi, Ogu, Aguilera, Iwobi, and Etebo.
I do agree with that point.
Regarding Ogu,...Well maybe i need to re-watch the game
Some players contribute in a very subtle way.Maybe Ogu is one of those

When i see giants like Ogu and Ndidi in the starting 11 i expect us to dominate the opposition in midfield
I noted many occasions in which Ndidi dispossessed the algerians. Etebo was very active too.
Ogu on the other hand seemed to disappear especially in the second half (other than the brilliant goal)
In the first half he imposed himself but what stood out for me were some terrible passes which went out of play and poor mistimed tackles one of which earned him a yellow

If not for the goal i would have given him a 3/10 based on first viewing
In light of the goal i'd give him a 5/10

Ogu was definitely more effective in the first half. He was pushed up into a more advanced central midfield role in the 2nd half (swapping) places with Etebo and had considerably less influence on the game - apart from the goal.
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

Some of us on this forum are either delusional, mentally disturbed or unrealistic. At the moment, I am unusre which applies to whom.

Basically, based on Rohr's doctrine and from the inception of the qualifiers, we have established a starting line up. We fielded a team minus seven true starters.

Ikeme/Enyeama (take your pick)
Mikel
Ighalo
Moses
Simon
Uwa

We played on a pitch that does not suit our style.

We capped several players in a relatively hostile environment.

We played a team that had nothing to lose.

Two years ago, this team was not sure of winning at home against South Africa Uganda, Congo and Sudan.

Now we have suddenly become a world power? Please!!

I beg, leave matter.
Lawal looks more like an MMA heavyweight fighter than a footballer.
Nigeria is not missing anything with him being out of the picture. Seriously.
vancity eagle wrote:As much as I liked his game yesterday I don't think we should ever play him and Mikel together, especially against fast teams. 2 midfielders who are too similar and too slow. In this squad he would he a direct replacement for Mikel. I am also mot convinced Raheem Lawal cannot do what Ogu does but better.

Iwobi really needs to be tried at AM. He is our best bet to backup Mikel.
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

Seventh player: And Onazi

If anything, we have the deepest bench in Nigerian history. Let me ask a basic question. Could the 1994 team have gone to Algeria and played a 1-1 draw minus seven starters?

We would have dropped:

Finidi/Simon
Amunike/Moses
Yekini/Ighalo
Okocha/Mikel
Agbonavbare/Enyeama
Iroha/Uwa
Oliseh/Onazi

It's not even possible.

nzeogwu wrote:Seventh player: And Onazi

If anything, we have the deepest bench in Nigerian history. Let me ask a basic question. Could the 1994 team have gone to Algeria and played a 1-1 draw minus seven starters?

We would have dropped:

Finidi/Simon
Amunike/Moses
Yekini/Ighalo
Okocha/Mikel
Agbonavbare/Enyeama
Iroha/Uwa
Oliseh/Onazi

It's not even possible.
Chei see insult. Comparing the headless chicken Simon Moses to the legend Finidi George is like comparing Ezenwa with Okala!

Truth be told Echijele is no longer a starter. Aina is a serious upgrade but point taken.

vancity eagle wrote:As much as I liked his game yesterday I don't think we should ever play him and Mikel together, especially against fast teams. 2 midfielders who are too similar and too slow. In this squad he would he a direct replacement for Mikel. I am also mot convinced Raheem Lawal cannot do what Ogu does but better.

When was the last time you saw Raheem Lawal play? :oops:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=283692

Tobi17 wrote:Ogu exemplifies the attributes of a disciplined player who keeps it neat and simple... the era of modern football has gone pass aimless dribbling and fancy Okochaesque footworks with no end product(rather than make a simple pass when necessary and shoot when necessary), in view of these facts, I believe we have a good midfield in Mikel Obi, Ndidi, Onazi, Ogu, Aguilera, Iwobi, and Etebo.

But think that Ogu will be susceptible against pacey opposition...

vancity eagle wrote:Truth be told Echijele is no longer a starter. Aina is a serious upgrade but point taken.
Big lie.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote:
vancity eagle wrote:Truth be told Echijele is no longer a starter. Aina is a serious upgrade but point taken.
Big lie.
Aina is an upgrade in my opinion. But glad we have depth for that position.

Godfather

Post by Godfather »

:lol: :lol: :rotf: :rotf:
“Achebe was a writer in whose company the Prison walls fell down.” – Dr. Nelson Mandela.

My friend! How is that relevant??? Some of you just like to talk for talking sake! A midfield of:

------------------- Raheem lawal ------------- Joel Obi----------------------

--------------------------------K Nwakali---------------------------------

Will win us the world cup!

But think that Ogu will be susceptible against pacey opposition...
It depends, Gotti. Remember at Milan and Juve, Pirlo was allowed to do his job by a coach who recognized the importance of Gattusso and Vidal.

I do not believe Ogu has ever played with Ndidi before yesterday? Abi? :???: I feel that, the presence of Ndidi made a lot of difference.

My friend! How is that relevant??? Some of you just like to talk for talking sake! A midfield of:

My bad...

Lolly wrote:
Big lie.

What is a lie?

Lolly wrote:
Big lie.
Aina is an upgrade in my opinion. But glad we have depth for that position.
A huge upgrade! FIngers-crossd, Idowu will get a chance against Argentina.

Looking forward to World Cup camp. Rohr is reluctant to try new players whom he hasn't seen at least in camp.
Joel for one needs to be injury free. 100% injury free, which is a tall order for him. Taking him to the world cup might mean having him for only one game.
A luxury!

He had a good game. Keeps it nice and simple. Does not try to do anything flashy. Gets the ball and plays simple 10 yard passes to retain possession. He was one of the few that could keep control of the ball on that cabbage patch of a pitch.

Booked his seat on the plane to Russia.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Now count how many free kicks he gave away in dangerous areas. Then ask yourself what will happen if we were playing against Lionel Messi with that kind of statistic.
Like I suspected, you didn't pay attention to the match.

I just finished watching the first half with pen and paper charting misplaced passes and fouls.

Guess what?

Ogu had a total of ONE (1) misplaced pass and 2 fouls in the first half. The one that got him carded was in the 42nd minute.

Ndidi had SEVEN (7) misplaced passes and 4 fouls in the first half alone.

Balogun had FIVE (5) misplaced passes himself.

But your bias won't let you watch the match objectively.

Ps., it didn't help that the anouncer sometimes mistook Ogu for Ndidi.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Now count how many free kicks he gave away in dangerous areas. Then ask yourself what will happen if we were playing against Lionel Messi with that kind of statistic.

I just finished watching the first half with pen and paper charting misplaced passes and fouls.

Guess what?

Ogu had a total of ONE (1) misplaced pass and 2 fouls in the first half. The one that got him carded was in the 42nd minute.

Ayo, over to you Sir.
What is your defence? :D

Looking forward to World Cup camp. Rohr is reluctant to try new players whom he hasn't seen at least in camp.
Joel for one needs to be injury free. 100% injury free, which is a tall order for him. Taking him to the world cup might mean having him for only one game.
A luxury!

A luxury we will do very well to accommodate as much as is realistically possible.

Which means I'll give him every possible room to demonstrate fitness; I'll speak to his fitness coaches and I'll thoroughly review his injury history, including seeking specialist guidance.

Why?

We are very thing on quality in central midfield...especially on two-way central MFs

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

A luxury!

A luxury we will do very well to accommodate as much as is realistically possible.

Which means I'll give him every possible room to demonstrate fitness; I'll speak to his fitness coaches and I'll thoroughly review his injury history, including seeking specialist guidance.

Why?

We are very thing on quality in central midfield...especially on two-way central MFs
What is stopping you? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Thanks for clarifying.
We need to do more of this on CE to help shut down folks who spew alot of BS

Guess what?