The search for a targetman continues

Nwakaeme is promising but he is no targetman
Playing Nacho as a lone centre forward is akin to torturing the poor boy
Even igalo struggles in that role
Rohr has missed a huge opportunity to try out Sadiq Umar(who imho is the best targetman available to Nigeria right now) and Simy Nwankwo.
Hopefully he rectifies this in the next round of international friendlies
Re: The search for a targetman continues

Odion Ighalo
Taiwo Awoniyi
Victor Osimhen
Kayode Olanrewaju
Paul Onuachu
Brown Ideye
Isaac Success

Of the six of them, only Kayode is currently in camp. Whether Rohr will use him against Argentina is another matter. If he does, let us see how he copes against Albiceleste!

Sadiq umar is a much better targetman than all the guys you listed including Ighalo
Success , osimehn are you kidding? Lol

smartbrother wrote:Sadiq umar is a much better targetman than all the guys you listed including Ighalo
Success , osimehn are you kidding? Lol

He is too clumsy and has a terrible first touch. Go and watch videos of him. He gallops around like a disabled donkey!

If anything can be described as 'clumsy' or 'terrible' it's your judgement of players
His hold up game is brilliant so is his close control when running with the ball
J watched him recently for Torino he singlehandedly terrrorised the opposing defence for 90 mins
none of our strikers is capable of that
It's laughable to suggest players like success would make better targetmen than Sadiq
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Odion Ighalo
Taiwo Awoniyi
Victor Osimhen
Kayode Olanrewaju
Paul Onuachu
Brown Ideye
Isaac Success

Of the six of them, only Kayode is currently in camp. Whether Rohr will use him against Argentina is another matter. If he does, let us see how he copes against Albiceleste!
Ayo, you have slammed Rohr for being to stubborn as he sticks with his favorites.
But do you really think he has these high quality alternatives?
I don't think so. I think that Rohr already selects the best and most experienced options available.
Odion Ighalo is unfortunately injured. He is actually our first choice target man without a doubt.
All the options you mentioned except for maybe Kayode are either not better than what is currently in camp or is just finding their feet in professional football. Isaac Success is totally out of favor at the moment. Brown Ideye, just like Iheanacho, is more like a support striker.
I'm sure Rohr would have loved to integrate Tammy Abraham but it didn't work out.
I trust Rohr to consider the best options available.

When it comes to Iheanacho - I know he looks lost at the moment. But we should not forget what potential he has. And Rohr knows that. I think that the boy has zero confidence at the moment and needs a top striker next to him. I would like to see a more confident Iheanacho start with Ighalo. This combo could work wonders. Iheanacho's fate reminds me of Götze. Both have immense potential and need a coach who knows how to make use of it. Play him in the right position with a confident, potent striker alongside him - give him confidence, play him despite some bad performances and he will pay back.
I still believe he is one of the greatest nigerian talents of his generation.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

Let me add a thought on the actual topic.
I believe that the search for a replacement for Ighalo continues.
If he is injured there is nobody to replace him adequately at the moment.

I hope that Victor Osihmen gets some minutes in the Bundesliga soon.
I rate him very highly. But he needs establish him on senior level first to be seriously considered for the national team.
Another one is Dennis Bonaventura. I hope that Rohr gives him a chance. He has a similar goal rate as Onyekuru but plays as a central forward.

Naija 4 life!
tunde72

Post by tunde72 »

The guy that should have been playing that position is Success but he has missed his way. This is suppose to be his world cup, with Kele and his other U17 mates. What a waste of talent.
YOU CAN ACHIEVE MORE ON YOUR KNEE THAN SPEAKING.

tunde72 wrote:The guy that should have been playing that position is Success but he has missed his way. This is suppose to be his world cup, with Kele and his other U17 mates. What a waste of talent.

Going by current form, I would say Taiwo Awoniyi is performing better than anyone out there. He is playing week in week out and scoring too:

I do not think it is too much to ask Rohr to invite him to camp to fight for a shirt. At least in the cases of Kayode and Osimhen, they have been called up. If Rohr believes they did not perform well enough in training, fair enough but Taiwo has not been looked at at all, which for me is inexplicable.
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

tunde72 wrote:The guy that should have been playing that position is Success but he has missed his way. This is suppose to be his world cup, with Kele and his other U17 mates. What a waste of talent.

Going by current form, I would say Taiwo Awoniyi is performing better than anyone out there. He is playing week in week out and scoring too:

I do not think it is too much to ask Rohr to invite him to camp to fight for a shirt. At least in the cases of Kayode and Osimhen, they have been called up. If Rohr believes they did not perform well enough in training, fair enough but Taiwo has not been looked at at all, which for me is inexplicable.
Emmanuel Dennis has scored more goals in the same league and has even featured on the international stage at such a young age.

Naija 4 life!

The Nigerian mentality is always to and from nd a new one. How many of the si called better options will perform wonders on their first outing? Nwakaeme in no long,Aina is no good ..... etc. Unless you then NK you know better that Rohr, I suggest you chill and let the man build the team.

DAgrin wrote:Let me add a thought on the actual topic.

I rate him very highly. But he needs establish him on senior level first to be seriously considered for the national team.
Another one is Dennis Bonaventura. I hope that Rohr gives him a chance. He has a similar goal rate as Onyekuru but plays as a central forward.
Bonaventure is NOT a centre-forward or target man of any sort...
Dude is yet another wide forward, and appears out of favor at Brugge at the moment.

DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

Bonaventure is NOT a centre-forward or target man of any sort...
Dude is yet another wide forward, and appears out of favor at Brugge at the moment.
You might be right.
Brügge usually plays 3-5-2 which transforms into a 5-3-2 defensively.
At the moment he is more like a support striker than a target man. Nevertheless does he seem to be quite versatile and has played many positions this season. I think he could grow into that role.
On the 2nd point: You are wrong. He is definitely not out out favor.
He has featured in all of Brügges games since his injury break. It is quite normal for such a young player that he does not start every game as a young player tends to be inconsistent at times.
Nevertheless he has scored 5 goals in the league already.
I don't say he should start for the SE but I think he should be ahead of Nwakamere who was also tried as a target man in the first half yesterday.

Naija 4 life!

For his isolation and lack of service yesterday, Anthony Nwakaeme held his own remarkably.
Anyone who did not see that yesterday, just does not like him, that's all!

DAgrin wrote:You might be right.
Brügge usually plays 3-5-2 which transforms into a 5-3-2 defensively.
At the moment he is more like a support striker than a target man. Nevertheless does he seem to be quite versatile and has played many positions this season. I think he could grow into that role.
On the 2nd point: You are wrong. He is definitely not out out favor.
He has featured in all of Brügges games since his injury break. It is quite normal for such a young player that he does not start every game as a young player tends to be inconsistent at times.
Nevertheless he has scored 5 goals in the league already.
I don't say he should start for the SE but I think he should be ahead of Nwakamere who was also tried as a target man in the first half yesterday.
Dude has gone from a starter to a non-starter at Brugge...
Coming on only in the 2H in the last 2 games, and being subbed off in his last start.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:The Nigerian mentality is always to and from nd a new one. How many of the si called better options will perform wonders on their first outing? Nwakaeme in no long,Aina is no good ..... etc. Unless you then NK you know better that Rohr, I suggest you chill and let the man build the team.
Good thing is that they can say whatever they like... their clients will NOT be on this team. Kai!! Rohr thank you! :taunt: :lol: :lol: :lol:

rohr is clearly wedded to the idea of using a lone centre forward
But he hasn't invited many targetmen to camp
Lots of wingers and wing forwards But very few targetmen
He seems to think any type of forward could fill that role
I hope he realises the role requires a specialist with a very specific skill set
And We have less than a handful of players capable of playing alone upfront
Sadiq, simy, ideye and igalo. That's it
He needs to give each of these players a fair shake or abandon the lone striker formation altogether
Personally I think a classic 442 like we played v Zambia (first leg) would leverage our current resource pool better

Bro Osimehn is at least 4 years away from being ready to lead the line at a senior World Cup

smartbrother wrote:

Bro Osimehn is at least 4 years away from being ready to lead the line at a senior World Cup
Yet Tammy Abraham is performing that role for England???????

In four years time, Osimhen will be getting ready to retire from international football.

I was at this game and both Balotelli and Ameobi showed what targetman play is all about:

Both of Italy’s goals were down to Balotelli and both of Nigeria’s goals were down to Ameobi. This is leading the line at its best.

Rohr will know that these are the standards he must match. He needs a targetman of this strength and quality.

He should stop wasting everybody’s time playing the likes of Iheanacho and Nwakaeme in that role. They are simply not strong enough to hold off challenges. Check out the sumo wrestling Balotelli got engaged on for Italy’s first goal for instance.

Over the years, Yekini, Agali, Aiyegbeni and Emenike have all been strong enough for the role. Now let us see if Ighalo, Ideye, Kayode, Awoniyi or Osimhen are up to the task!

Ayo Akinfe wrote:I was at this game and both Balotelli and Ameobi showed what targetman play is all about:

Both of Italy’s goals were down to Balotelli and both of Nigeria’s goals were down to Ameobi. This is leading the line at its best.

Rohr will know that these are the standards he must match. He needs a targetman of this strength and quality.

He should stop wasting everybody’s time playing the likes of Iheanacho and Nwakaeme in that role. They are simply not strong enough to hold off challenges. Check out the sumo wrestling Balotelli got engaged on for Italy’s first goal for instance.

Over the years, Yekini, Agali, Aiyegbeni and Emenike have all been strong enough for the role. Now let us see if Ighalo, Ideye, Kayode, Awoniyi or Osimhen are up to the task!
Olarenwaju Kayode
Nigerian soccer player
Tobi Olarenwaju "Larry" Ayobami Kayode is a Nigerian professional footballer who plays as a forward for Spanish club Girona FC on loan from English club Manchester City and the Nigeria football team.
Born: May 8, 1993 (age 24), Ibadan, Nigeria
Height: 5′ 9″
Weight: 143 lbs

Synopsis wrote:
Ayo Akinfe wrote:I was at this game and both Balotelli and Ameobi showed what targetman play is all about:

Olarenwaju Kayode
Nigerian soccer player
Tobi Olarenwaju "Larry" Ayobami Kayode is a Nigerian professional footballer who plays as a forward for Spanish club Girona FC on loan from English club Manchester City and the Nigeria football team.
Born: May 8, 1993 (age 24), Ibadan, Nigeria
Height: 5′ 9″
Weight: 143 lbs
I don;t think Ayo will understand the point youre making bros
Personally I haven't watched Kayode play properly
but from the highlights i have seen, he is even more lightweight than Nwakaeme.