Balogun played terribly yesterday

How come people criticized so many players yesterday but exonerated the worse outfield player apart from Ezenwa. Balogun was absolutely horrible yesterday. I didn’t know that his very uncomfortable with the ball at his feet. I hope it’s because of that facial mask because we cannot afford such a poor performance from our center back. Chidozie needs to keep working hard who knows the future. Anyway, Balogun can be forgiven for being our best defender at previous matches
miky
Re: Balogun played terribly yesterday

Post by miky »

Yes i have been noticing he isn't too comfortable with the ball to his feet, most tall guys aren't. maybe added pressure from being captain? i did like that he got angry when algeria scored. he needs to add some toughness to his game.
A lion never dies it sleeps (Rip..Foe)

An Eagle never dies it soars Rip (Big Boss)

It's probably the mask,he usually compensates for what ever he can't do by defending well :thumb:

terribly is a bit of an overstretch, he was OK and missed his steps a couple of times, was also caught out of position but he overall didn't give the Algerians a sniff at goal, I suspect he isn't fit yet from his injuries... Rohr should rest him against Argentina and try Awaziem and Troost.

john12 wrote:How come people criticized so many players yesterday but exonerated the worse outfield player apart from Ezenwa. Balogun was absolutely horrible yesterday. I didn’t know that his very uncomfortable with the ball at his feet. I hope it’s because of that facial mask because we cannot afford such a poor performance from our center back. Chidozie needs to keep working hard who knows the future. Anyway, Balogun can be forgiven for being our best defender at previous matches
May be because it's very unlike him not a play well :sneaky: :sneaky: :sneaky:
tunde72

Post by tunde72 »

It jas everything to do with the bumping pitch and the way the ball was bouncing.
YOU CAN ACHIEVE MORE ON YOUR KNEE THAN SPEAKING.

If it has everything to do with the bumping pitch then how come it didn’t affect ekong, and Shehu? Our center backs cannot be losing the ball easily like that yesterday

The free kick set play when the Algerians slid the ball to Slimani instead of going over the wall was read brilliantly by Balogun. Slimani was dumbfounded that somebody appeared from nowhere to block his shot. That alone reassures me he still got his defensive wits about him. No shaking he'll be ok as long as he stays fit and continues playing @ club. If I was our WC opponent though, I'll be taking notes and a consistent high press will be one of the tactics to implement against SE's backline.
Last edited by greg on Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

He played terribly in the opening 6 or 7 minutes but recovered well and was pretty good after that. Very assured defender.

He was okay. The problem was the goalkeeper.

(1) Did you not notice he was wearing a mask?
(2) The mask weighed him down
(3) I'm not even sure it was the real Balogun behind the mask
(4) He is always isolated because he's German
(5) If he wasn't German, he would have played better
(6) His fair skin amplified his mistakes
(7) If he were darker, he would have blended into the environment and his mistakes would not have been easily picked
(8) I know you noticed that he took his mask off in anger, which means you're a good coach
(9) He would probably be better as a wrestler judging by the way he was tackling
(10) You'll be very dishonest if you let this fly over your head.

He wasn’t okay, he was bad. It still not going to negate his previous exceptional performances tho. His yesterday performance could ha us conceding 2/3 in the first 20 minutes

Was the game a real rubber match?

...jittery of captaincy.
oluphemmie007

Post by oluphemmie007 »

It wasnt a real rubber match o. They said it is a dead rubber match. Would u like a 10 slide, ten points per slide presentation?

Btw, shownoja is infringng on patented style of posting. Juss reporting ni o.
Manchester United: Trophies Yesterday, Today and Forever

This is Cybereagles...expect anything.

Shownoja wrote:(1) Did you not notice he was wearing a mask?
(7) If he were darker, he would have blended into the environment and his mistakes would not have been easily picked
(8) I know you noticed that he took his mask off in anger, which means you're a good coach
(9) He would probably be better as a wrestler judging by the way he was tackling
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :lol: :lol: :lol:

waka-man wrote:
Ayo has turned himself into a joke, that's what you get when you refuse to stop making a nuisance out of yourself.

This is just so stoopid :rotf: :rotf:
waka-man wrote:

vancity eagle wrote:He played terribly in the opening 6 or 7 minutes but recovered well and was pretty good after that. Very assured defender.

Thank you ohhh

Those 6 or 7 minutes of jitteriness would have been punished by better opposition
I've always maintained he is the junior partner in the ekong balogun partnership
Ekong is a better defender and a more appropriate choice for captain

john12 wrote:How come people criticized so many players yesterday but exonerated the worse outfield player apart from Ezenwa. Balogun was absolutely horrible yesterday. I didn’t know that his very uncomfortable with the ball at his feet. I hope it’s because of that facial mask because we cannot afford such a poor performance from our center back. Chidozie needs to keep working hard who knows the future. Anyway, Balogun can be forgiven for being our best defender at previous matches
You sound silly

vancity eagle wrote:He played terribly in the opening 6 or 7 minutes but recovered well and was pretty good after that. Very assured defender.

Thank you ohhh
You dey mind all these uninformed analysts, Balogun was a beast as usual, simple and plain