Exclusive : Russian-Nigerian Left Back Idowu Arrives...

Exclusive : Russian-Nigerian Left Back Idowu Arrives Super Eagles Camp In Russia
http://owngoalnigeria.com/2017/11/11/ex ... in-russia/

Owngoalnigeria.com can exclusively report that Amkar Perm Russian-Nigerian defender Brian Idowu has arrived the hotel of the Super Eagles ahead of their game against Argentina on Tuesday.

The Amkar-Perm left back teamed up with the team upon their arrival and will join them tomorrow when they are expected to have their first training session.

Idowu was placed on standby by coach Gernot Rohr for the game against Argentina but the left full back is now expected to train and fight for a spot in the team for the game on Tuesday.

He is expected to provide cover and give the coach more options in the left full back slot, which is currently one of the area coach Rohr is still searching for options bar regular left back Elderson Echiejile.

Last night Ola Aina manned the position but he is more comfortable playing as a right full back even though he didn’t do much wrong in yesterday’s game which ended 1-1.
Re: Exclusive : Russian-Nigerian Left Back Idowu Arrives...

Great news. I can see Rohr playing Ebuehie and Idowu as his fullbacks. Other new faces he must try include Uzoho and Kayode. I also expect Onyekuru to start.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Great news. I can see Rohr playing Ebuehie and Idowu as his fullbacks. Other new faces he must try include Uzoho and Kayode. I also expect Onyekuru to start.

Aina has only played 1 full match for us and it seems he is now a key player.

He will start vs Argentina, take that to the bank, in fact he should play 90 minutes either on the left or the right, or both.

Rohr knows that Ebuehi is not good enough. This may be his last time in camp.

If I were coach I will start with AIna at LB and Abdullahi at RB.

I will then substitute Idowu for Abdullahi at some point and move Aina to RB and put Idowu on the left.

Why didn't he get considered for Russia? That's a pretty low bar

YUJAM wrote:Why didn't he get considered for Russia? That's a pretty low bar
I wouldn't even play for Russia if I were born there to be honest, and let's not pretend there's isn't some shade of racism towards black players playing in the Russian team

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Great news. I can see Rohr playing Ebuehie and Idowu as his fullbacks. Other new faces he must try include Uzoho and Kayode. I also expect Onyekuru to start.

He will start vs Argentina, take that to the bank, in fact he should play 90 minutes either on the left or the right, or both.

I will then substitute Idowu for Abdullahi at some point and move Aina to RB and put Idowu on the left.
The purpose of this friendly is to try out new players!

I wouldn't even play for Russia if I were born there to be honest, and let's not pretend there's isn't some shade of racism towards black players playing in the Russian team
Hmmmm. Russians are no clowns tho. If he was a WC LB they would have invited him.
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

Not at this stage of our campaign at all!
We play these friendlies to further get team chemistry first.
Then some players can be tested.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!

DAgrin wrote:

It's probably a little of both.

DAgrin wrote:

??????? You test players first then build chemistry once you have found them

DAgrin wrote:

You have to remind us of the successful teams you have managed /coaches and implemented all these ideas you keep putting forward.

Flex Swift wrote:
DAgrin wrote:

You have to remind us of the successful teams you have managed /coaches and implemented all these ideas you keep putting forward.
This is just common sense!

YUJAM wrote:
Hmmmm. Russians are no clowns tho. If he was a WC LB they would have invited him.
Yujam, I am old. Please remind me of any NONE white Russian that has played for the Russian national team?

We'll see how good this guy is if he plays in the friendly, but one thing I can say is that Russia under Putin has become an extreme right-wing country. Putin is already complaining about too many "foreigners" playing for some of their clubs. No way in hell would a black man play in the Russian national team. Even if he is good enough, politics will keep him out. The political climate just does not support that kind of thing in Russia right now.

Idowu came through the youth teams of top club, Zenith St Petersburg, but the racist ultra fans made it clear they don't want a black player in their team and he had to leave to join his present club.

Flex Swift wrote:
DAgrin wrote:

I dont know why you guys are stressing.

Rohr is NOT an Englishman with the name Bryan Robson
Rohr does NOT have a portmanteau that needs to be carried
Rohr does NOT know or give a damn of the existence of Emeka Ezeala

So, wAyo can bleat bleat bleat and bleat all he likes! His clients will NOT be going to the World Cup next year!

My body just dey sweet me! They can cry all they want, they will NOT steal our world cup with their hopeless clients this time around! After July 2018, we can sell the nation to them! They can fook Nigeria as much as they like. But for now, until July 2018, NOT HAPPENING!
Russian-Nigerian Left Back Idowu Begin Audition For Rohr

Russian-Nigerian Left Back Idowu Begin Audition For Rohr In Training For Argentina Tie
November 12, 2017031

Brian Idowu is presently having his first training session with the Super Eagles of Nigeria ahead of their game against Argentina on Tuesday in Krasnordar.

Idowu and the other players in camp resumed training today for the game around 4pm Nigerian time under the watchful eyes of coach of the team Gernot Rohr.

Rohr will run the rule on the 25 years old in the ongoing session as well as during tomorrow final training session before reaching a decision on his possible inclusion in the squad for Tuesday game.

Eligible to represent Russia at international level, Idowu has opt for Nigeria since three years ago when he made the breakthrough at Amkar Perm but has wasn’t given a look in ‎by previous coaches of the team.

Originally placed on standby by coach Rohr, his performance in training could see him make his debut on Tuesday as Rohr continues his search for more options at left back

Source: Owngoal Nigeria

I see Rohr is dead set on freezing out Amuzie

smartbrother wrote:I see Rohr is dead set on freezing out Amuzie
I love Amuzie. He did an excellent job on Salah over 2 legs against Egypt (as well as Aina did against Mahrez on Friday). Except of course for that last minute slip up (not stepping up for the offside trap) in Kaduna. I think he and Aina are miles above anything Echiejile has ever offered and can offer.
However,
There are worrying signs with Amuzie. If Rohr can tell Dessers to get a better club (and do well there), you can understand why Amuzie may not be getting called up. It is one thing to struggle at the Serie A level, it is however worrying not to be getting regular playing time at Lugano. He is still young, and I hope he settles down quickly enough to be a factor for Russia, especially if Echiejile is in the mix.

Let's see what Idowu offers. AyoAkinfe's massive promotion is already a very worrying sign, but let his performance of the field (the standard by which the likes of Echiejile and Akpeyi should be nowhere near an SE camp) be the metric by which he is judged.
Last edited by truetalk on Sun Nov 12, 2017 7:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Edu

Post by Edu »

Brother, I know you re not naive.