CAMP: Preparing for Argentina (Video)

Eagles Newbie Uzoho Dazzles Again In Eagles Training Ahead Argentina Clash
http://owngoalnigeria.com/2017/11/12/ea ... ina-clash/
November 12, 2017017

Goalkeeper Francis Odinaka Uzoho once again showed the abilities that made Deportivo La Coruna hand him a first team debut during the Super Eagles first training in Russia.

Nigeria will take on Argentina on Tuesday, and Uzoho who was on the bench for the 1-1 draw against Algeria on Friday is heavily tipped to be between the post against the Argentines.

He did his chances a whole lot of good this evening when the team had their work out ahead of the game by posting a string of impressive performance during drills with the goalkeeper trainer..

19 year old Uzoho impressed with his reading of ball across the box, same thing Ikechukwu Ezenwa struggled with against Algeria in the 1-1 draw on Friday.

His reflex was also sharp during shooting drills although goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi also showed flashes of the form that has seen him earn rare reviews for PSL side Chippa United, the last few months.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: CAMP: Preparing for Argentina

Sounds like reporter is trying too hard to fly a kite...
Again, not a betting man but willing to bet that Uzoho will NOT start in Tuesday's game.

Gotti wrote:Sounds like reporter is trying too hard to fly a kite...
Again, not a betting man but willing to bet that Uzoho will NOT start in Tuesday's game.
How much you willing to bet?

DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

Gotti,
you are one of the most reputable forumers.
But I have to disagree with you on this one.
It is not unrealistic at all that Uzoho starts in Tuesday's game.
I won't bet on it. But Ezenwa has been far from convincing in our last game and Rohr is in desperate search of a goalkeeper who can perform on the highest level.
Uzoho is not yet there but Rohr might consider to develop him to be ready for the WC.
Just like he tried with Ezenwa who might be a hopeless case.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!

I hope he starts, but I wont be surprised if he doesnt. Some weeks ago, in that interview Rohr gave to that radio station that was posted here, Rohr said something like: "We want Ezenwa to be exposed to a higher level." something like that, which made me thing he was thinking of Ezenwa playing all the high profile friendlies.

Do owngoal have a reporter in camp? I thought someone day they were a blog?

Akpeyi will be in goal against Argentina with Uzoho coming as a possible sub.

I think we've seen enough of Ezenwa at this point. The qualifiers are over.

No way he can be first choice going into the WC.
SE training for Argentina video

Re: SE training for Argentina video

Wow... something about this team and these boys. They have chemistry, they really seem to to like each other, sometimes it's more important than any formation or tactic. This SE team will not go down easy in Russia. They will bring it! They'll need a good draw to advance but not believe in these boys.
miky

Post by miky »

Nice! iheanacho na funny guy. But how come Mikel and now balogun always seem detached? is it just his personality, he never gels
A lion never dies it sleeps (Rip..Foe)

An Eagle never dies it soars Rip (Big Boss)

Nice

Is Mikel playing the game?

Benedict Iroha wrote:Is Mikel playing the game?
Yes
mapet

Post by mapet »

My tots exactly. Seem like a script

miky wrote:Nice! iheanacho na funny guy. But how come Mikel and now balogun always seem detached? is it just his personality, he never gels
and you were able to arrive this conclusion from a video clip

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

hope nwakaeme is given another shot on the wings

Gernot Rohr is not a stupid man. He can clearly see that Ezenwa and Akpeyi are not up to the job so will know it is time to let them go.

For now the debate now is who are our numbers two and three goalkeepers behind Uzoho. Rohr has a pool of about six to pick from:

Dele Alampasu
Dele Ajiboye
Ikechukwu Ezenwa
Daniel Akpeyi
Emmanuel Daniel

I think it is fair to assume that Vincent Enyeama will not be returning to the team now and Carl Iheme’s career is over. The only other alternative I can think of is to recall Dele Aiyenugba, who is seeing action week in week out in Israel.

Guys they look for money o, don't chicken out

Gernot Rohr is not a stupid man. He can clearly see that Ezenwa and Akpeyi are not up to the job so will know it is time to let them go.

For now the debate now is who are our numbers two and three goalkeepers behind Uzoho. Rohr has a pool of about six to pick from:

Dele Alampasu
Dele Ajiboye
Ikechukwu Ezenwa
Daniel Akpeyi
Emmanuel Daniel

I think it is fair to assume that Vincent Enyeama will not be returning to the team now and Carl Iheme’s career is over. The only other alternative I can think of is to recall Dele Aiyenugba, who is seeing action week in week out in Israel.

Hmmmm Ayo again.

Why you de disturb Dele Aiyenugba?

I see Argentina winning 4-0
papilo

Post by papilo »

miky wrote:Nice! iheanacho na funny guy. But how come Mikel and now balogun always seem detached? is it just his personality, he never gels
That and age. They are also both leaders of the team.
yes o

Mikel has always been like that, also as you grow older in the team you begin to feel ostracised. Not by any malicious intent, you have younger players who come in and tend to be in awe of you and find comfort in their age group.

It can be lonely for older players in the camp, especially if you have never been the type who is free with the lads.

Robotnik wrote:Akpeyi will be in goal against Argentina with Uzoho coming as a possible sub.

I think we've seen enough of Ezenwa at this point. The qualifiers are over.

No way he can be first choice going into the WC.

That would be my educated guess as well (as I opined on another thread)...
Rohr has a track record of making GRADUAL (rather than radical) changes - all things being equal.
Last edited by Gotti on Mon Nov 13, 2017 12:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.