Page 2 of 3

Re: BALOGUN

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:58 pm
by jette1
wale1974 wrote:
jette1 wrote:Not a World Cup player. He might have been great against African Teams but the reason he plays in division 2 is now obvious
Mainz is D2 :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Haba you for use google before opening this thread nah :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Yes They just got promoted but that’s besides the point; this is not about bashing the guy. For me I would take a shirt off my back for him. His patriotism is unflapable but we have to be honest with our selves. Had we lost this game a big spotlight would have been lit on his inadequacies these last couple of games. It is unrealistic to continue to gloss over thiese serious gaps just because we won. The World Cup will present bigger challenges.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 12:25 am
by kajifu
So Argentina with world class player their defenders allow 4 goals and Balogun and co just allow two goals that none was his fault yet he is consider not good enough?
Na wa for our people sha,since when did playing for big club means you are better?

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:13 am
by smartbrother
Wow only on CE does one see a swing from extreme praise to extreme criticism in the space of 1 day

always said the praise for Balogun was OTT.
for me he is a good defender but not great
not as good as Ekong who is easily our best defender
Dumb fans mocked me for saying this previously ; now they are seeing the light

However in a flat back four he and Ekong are the best we have
Go and watch Awaziem in a flat back four, you will cry
In fact the fundamental difference between our performance v Southafrica and our performance v Algeria (away) was Balogun playing instead of Awaziem
THat is Balogun's value. he is much better than the alternatives
We need to find back up for him because he is injury prone
We also need to stop going from one extreme reaction to the other.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:39 am
by wale1974
wale1974 wrote:
jette1 wrote:Not a World Cup player. He might have been great against African Teams but the reason he plays in division 2 is now obvious

Yes They just got promoted but that’s besides the point; this is not about bashing the guy. For me I would take a shirt off my back for him. His patriotism is unflapable but we have to be honest with our selves. Had we lost this game a big spotlight would have been lit on his inadequacies these last couple of games. It is unrealistic to continue to gloss over thiese serious gaps just because we won. The World Cup will present bigger challenges.
:scared: :scared: :scared: :scared: :scared: :scared:
Haba you for use google before responding this thread AGAIN :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:39 am
by green4life
Benedict Iroha wrote:Dude just get a pass because he was bred in Germany.
That's unfair. Nobody said he was world class but what he has been is consistent, reliable and professional in his performances. Yes, the argies ran him ragged in the first half but that was mostly due to a combination of his wingback leaving him exposed plus top class argie attackers who will expose many defenders in Russia. But in the second half with better organization from both wing backs his performance reverted to Mr. Reliable. Ya'll need to get off his back. For what we have, he's one of our best CBs and baring injury will be starting in Russia.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 6:34 am
by joao
wale1974 wrote:

:scared: :scared: :scared: :scared: :scared: :scared:
Haba you for use google before responding this thread AGAIN :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
:agree: :agree: :agree: :agree: :agree:
I cannot believe anyone will make two ridiculous blunders in a row, especially in this 'GOOGLE' era, to expose him/her self.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 6:37 am
by smartbrother
That's unfair. Nobody said he was world class but what he has been is consistent, reliable and professional in his performances. Yes, the argies ran him ragged in the first half but that was mostly due to a combination of his wingback leaving him exposed plus top class argie attackers who will expose many defenders in Russia. But in the second half with better organization from both wing backs his performance reverted to Mr. Reliable. Ya'll need to get off his back. For what we have, he's one of our best CBs and baring injury will be starting in Russia.
they didnt run him ragged in the first half
where did you get that from ?
wasnt at fault for either goal although he did make one blunder which luckily wasn't punished
other than that he was his usual solid and unspectacular self in the first half
fully agree with your general point though

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 7:39 am
by Dammy
smartbrother wrote:
wasnt at fault for either goal although he did make one blunder which luckily wasn't punished
Balogun is not fully fit. He suffered an injury 3 weeks ago in the Bundesliga and has not played since until the recent internationals. Balogun needs to start playing regularly again for Mainz to get back into tip top shape. He got injured on the face again when he had that clash of heads with Aina and it was bound to affect him as he is suffering from a cheekbone fracture.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:11 am
by pajimoh
Those who crucified Jesus have been reincarnated and are on CE today. Footballers will make mistakes from time to time but judge them on their overall output. Balogun has been a plus to the SE overall so please put down the cross and stay the crucifixion

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:14 am
by akamoke
Guys, Im glad you are not coaches, so you want to discard Balogun, or even Akpeyi - this is why in the past we have not had long term stalwarts in the team, its a surprise we had guys like Enyeama, Kanu and Yobo hit us for 90 caps, we like to chop and change
Thank God we we have a level headed coach who seems to have an idea of what is important - building chemistry and team confidence
Yes, players have bad games from time to time, we try others to keep them honest but to say xyz is not a world cup player? wow
Im glad this is just a Fan site not a bastion for coaching knowledge

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:41 am
by mystic
smartbrother wrote:
Balogun is not fully fit. He suffered an injury 3 weeks ago in the Bundesliga and has not played since until the recent internationals. Balogun needs to start playing regularly again for Mainz to get back into tip top shape. He got injured on the face again when he had that clash of heads with Aina and it was bound to affect him as he is suffering from a cheekbone fracture.

Balogun has these kind of games when he's not fully fit or is match rusty (think back to his shaky display against Senegal earlier in the year when he was similarly not at the top of his game). When fit he's top class.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:19 am
by Guv007
wale1974 wrote:

You should know jette1 by now, always putting his foot in it.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:21 am
by oloye
You people are funny....anyway, while you are all at it, can you try to clone or discover that world cup center half before next summer. I know they say talk is cheap, but please we need more than talk,just get us thay world cup defender.

I guess those clowns that Iwobi was nutmegging are the world cup defenders. Balogun may not be a world cup player,heck he cant be until he has played there. But one thing for sure he has qualified us playing his hearts out, that will do for me and my household.

So while i wait for you guys to gives us that world cup defender, as for me and my household Balogun shall continue to delight our hearts!

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:38 am
by FATHER TIKO
Balogun has been one of our best CB's since Uche Okechukwu...Period.

I'm yet to see anything about Balogun that has altered that notion

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:52 pm
by nko
Looks like Balogun was not fit and may have been nursing an injury. Please see link below for statements attributed to Coach Rohr.

http://owngoalnigeria.com/2017/11/15/wh ... -explains/

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:04 pm
this is a very daft thread

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:09 pm
by joao
Did anyone notice the body blow Balogun received from Aina when they both collided in the first half?
I truly felt he was concussed after that collision, and probably should have been subbed.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:20 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
My question mark over Balogun is with his pace. he can he keep up with quick forwards?

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:51 pm
by joao
Ayo Akinfe wrote:My question mark over Balogun is with his pace. he can he keep up with quick forwards?
Hope you can ask the same question about those three Argentine defenders crowding Iwobi,
just before his second goal.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 11:24 pm
by deanotito
Balogun has been class since he first wore our jersey. I would like to believe this Argentina game was an aberration. He wasn't good vs. ARG...but he has earned the benefit of the doubt.

Ekong is a future Super Eagles captain. Boy has grown remarkably

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 12:04 am
by Ayo Akinfe
joao wrote:
Ayo Akinfe wrote:My question mark over Balogun is with his pace. he can he keep up with quick forwards?
Hope you can ask the same question about those three Argentine defenders crowding Iwobi,
just before his second goal.
Wetin concern agbero with overload?

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 2:45 am
by green4life
How well did otamendi and mascherano keep up with Kelechi and Iwobi?

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:32 pm
by wiseone
Good player. Solid. Lacks pace and is not comfortable on the ball though.