by smartbrother

Re: Nigeria Argentina full match

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 4:07 am
by smartbrother
I watched the first half in its entirety. Here are my thoughts

Overall Thoughts on the first half
Stand out performers in the first half were Mikel and Aina.
This is a really good formation.
Key to its success are Shehu and Aina's excellent understanding of their roles.
Before Akpeyi's blunder, Nigeria was more or less in control
Argentina did not have a single attempt at goal or shot on target prior to the goal

Akpeyi
Other than the blunder, Akpeyi actually did well.
Good enough to be on the squad. I hope Rohr reassures him of this and keeps his confidence high

Aina
13:53 Aina looks so composed at LB. Echejile's SE career is over
18:40 Good defensive work by Aina to stop a cross
26:25 DiMaria gets away from Shehu, Aina in position to stifle the Argentinian header
29:05 Bad play from him here, he keeps Pavoin onside with bad positioning and gifts Argentina an opportunity
35:10 Attempts to tackle Pavon but fails to stop him
43:23 Aina deals with the threat on the right superbly
46:02 Balogun shocking blunder, Akpeyi and Aina clean up

Ndidi
His passing has improved. See 10:12

Ogu
I know he runs and works hard. And is a competent passer. But I'm sorry this is a passenger in midfield
11:29 Ogu loses his man but Ekong steps in to put him off
17:29 Just Watch the passing sequence here. Ogu does not even touch the ball. At best he is superfluous to proceedings in that midfield. At worst he is a liability
18:15 Ogu horrible first touch gives possession away
38:10 Poor play from Ogu again
40:05 Ogu wins possession for us nicely (Just so you know I am not just looking for excuses to criticise Ogu)
42:05 Argentina's second goal. Fault lies with the DMs Ndidi and Ogu.Perez had all the space in the world to thread that pass to Pavon
49:46 Ogu's neat pass to Iwobi starts the play which ultimately leads to the goal

Awaziem
Solid display. Excellent understanding of his postion
27:28 Dimaria gets away from Shehu again, Awaziem saves the day
41:40 But his Passing could be improved

Mikel
I feel like this guy is on another level to everyone in our team. Every touch was sublime
47:39 However watch him closely here and see how uncomfortable he is chasing the ball. Unfortunately running tirelessly is one of the primary jobs of a forward player or attacking midfielder. I worry about his stamina in that role

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 4:23 am
by can04
Thanks for the links.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:38 am
by achuzia-the-air-raid
smartbrother wrote:I watched the first half in its entirety. Here are my thoughts

Argentina did not have a single attempt at goal or shot on target prior to the goal

Akpeyi
Good enough to be on the squad. I hope Rohr reassures him of this and keeps his confidence high

Aina
26:25 DiMaria gets away from Shehu, Aina in position to stifle the Argentinian header
29:05 Bad play from him here, he keeps Pavoin onside with bad positioning and gifts Argentina an opportunity

Ndidi

Ogu
I know he runs and works hard. And is a competent passer. But I'm sorry this is a passenger in midfield
17:29 Just Watch the passing sequence here. Ogu does not even touch the ball. At best he is superfluous to proceedings in that midfield. At worst he is a liability
40:05 Ogu wins possession for us nicely (Just so you know I am not just looking for excuses to criticise Ogu)
42:05 Argentina's second goal. Fault lies with the DMs Ndidi and Ogu.Perez had all the space in the world to thread that pass to Pavon
49:46 Ogu's neat pass to Iwobi starts the play which ultimately leads to the goal

Awaziem

Mikel
I feel like this guy is on another level to everyone in our team. Every touch was sublime
47:39 However watch him closely here and see how uncomfortable he is chasing the ball. Unfortunately running tirelessly is one of the primary jobs of a forward player or attacking midfielder. I worry about his stamina in that role

This is a very foolish and dumb review! You should have just left it at posting the full match instead of marring it with that nonsense up there. :roll: :roll: :roll:

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:43 am
by smartbrother
achuzia-the-air-raid wrote:
smartbrother wrote:I watched the first half in its entirety. Here are my thoughts

Akpeyi

Aina

Ndidi

Ogu

Awaziem

Mikel

This is a very foolish and dumb review! You should have just left it at posting the full match instead of marring it with that nonsense up there. :roll: :roll: :roll:
my good old friend achuzia
why? what do you disagree with
pls provide your own review complete with time references
then we can discuss

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:45 am
by charlie

Akpeyi

Aina

Ndidi

Ogu

Awaziem

Mikel

Aha, the guy blessed this site with the full match video and left his opinion, and all you can do is throway insult? Shame on you!!!
If you no gree, just say so, instead of your pointless insults. Where is your match review self?! It is easy to call another persons work folish and dumb when you have nothing else to offer yourself,...Ewu burukutu!!! :curse: :curse:

Smartbrother, thank you jare.
I no gree with your analysis on Akpeyi (aka Agbim 2.0) and Ogu (the bobo is raw, but he does the hard work in midfield Mikel can no longer do). Other than that, I appreciate the indepth review.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:51 am
by achuzia-the-air-raid
charlie wrote:

Akpeyi

Aina

Ndidi

Ogu

Awaziem

Mikel

Aha, the guy blessed this site with the full match video and left his opinion, and all you can do is throway insult? Shame on you!!!
If you no gree, just say so, instead of your pointless insults. Where is your match review self?! It is easy to call another persons work folish and dumb when you have nothing else to offer yourself,...Ewu burukutu!!! :curse: :curse:

I no gree with your analysis on Akpeyi (Agbim 2.0) and Ogu (the bobo is raw, but he does the hard work in midfield Mikel can no longer do). Other than that, I appreciate the indepth review.
otoro na ogbakashi gbagbukwa gi anu mpama(dysentery and it's ilk visit you)

Who mentioned your name? Lazy son of... , in this day and age, you don't know how to search for a full match of friendly on the web!!! Clown!
Try me again and see if thunder no go fire your stupid yansh.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:52 am
by smartbrother
charlie wrote:
achuzia-the-air-raid wrote: This is a very foolish and dumb review! You should have just left it at posting the full match instead of marring it with that nonsense up there. :roll: :roll: :roll:

I no gree with your analysis on Akpeyi (aka Agbim 2.0) and Ogu (the bobo is raw, but he does the hard work in midfield Mikel can no longer do). Other than that, I appreciate the indepth review.
^^ thanks bro
pls dont mind achuzia airhead
the guy is harmless
he is just frustrated :) :)

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 6:40 am
by achuzia-the-air-raid

Akpeyi

Aina

Ndidi

Ogu

Awaziem

Mikel
I don't know if that was a blunder or a misunderstanding but after watching it the second time, it appears the referee had called an offside against Argentina and Akpeyi picked the ball and going to place it on the spot...he was confused by the Argie player and ref. I don't know if it was supposed to be a foul against us or a new rule.

Re: Nigeria Argentina full match + Smartbrother Review

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 6:45 am
by smartbrother
^^ yup that looked like a simple misunderstanding
the blunder was his positioning on the freekick

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 7:20 am
by Dammy
There is something that comes upon Akpeyi anytime he wears the national team colours. Maybe it is too heavy for him as he keeps making blunder after blunder that could cost us dearly.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 7:37 am
by smartbrother
Dammy wrote:There is something that comes upon Akpeyi anytime he wears the national team colours. Maybe it is too heavy for him as he keeps making blunder after blunder that could cost us dearly.
Nigerian fans are passionate and vicious
Playing for the SE places an unimaginable level of pressure on the players
especially in the social media age
I'm pretty certain Akpeyi is already receiving vile abuse on his social media page(s)
which is a shame as he is a good goalkeeper

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:08 am
by Shownoja
Smartbrother, totally disagree with your assessment of Ogu. In the beginning, it appeared the delineation of space wasn't worked out between him and Ndidi, but as soon as the coach sent out the instruction, he was in beast mode closing all their passing channels. The Argies were frustrated on both wings so came through the middle more especially after we equalised and there was absolutely nothing there for them because of the work Ogu and Ndidi were doing. He had a superb game I tell you.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:01 am
by smartbrother
Shownoja wrote:Smartbrother, totally disagree with your assessment of Ogu. In the beginning, it appeared the delineation of space wasn't worked out between him and Ndidi, but as soon as the coach sent out the instruction, he was in beast mode closing all their passing channels. The Argies were frustrated on both wings so came through the middle more especially after we equalised and there was absolutely nothing there for them because of the work Ogu and Ndidi were doing. He had a superb game I tell you.
Shownoja Are you talking first half or second half
First half he was subpar In my opinion (backed up by video evidence)
Regarding the highlighted, can you point to any evidence of this in the videos I posted?
Im genuinely interested in seeing what others seem to see in this guy
All I see is a perfunctory workhorse with limited passing range and tackling ability
A downgrade on onazi if you will

Argentina VS Nigeria full match video

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:54 am
by Jmal

Re: Argentina VS Nigeria full match video

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 11:44 am
by Enugu II
This has been posted already.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 7:29 pm
by waka-man
DumbSister thanks for the link.
As for the “review”... oh dear, the less said the better. Maybe next time try to actually review the match instead of posting a timecode

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 1:24 am
by smartbrother
waka-man wrote:DumbSister thanks for the link.
As for the “review”... oh dear, the less said the better. Maybe next time try to actually review the match instead of posting a timecode
Wanka-man I must have done a real number on you to warrant this incessant trolling :rotf: :rotf:
Damn! whatever i said must have sunk really deep.Lol.
Pls keep trolling - Its gratifying knowing how much power I hold over worthless boys like you
That being said it's Not very nice of you to call your sister dumb on a public forUm
Besides I strongly suspect her stupidity is inherited
Pls apologise to her

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:44 am
by Sheikh
smartbrother wrote:
Shownoja wrote:Smartbrother, totally disagree with your assessment of Ogu. In the beginning, it appeared the delineation of space wasn't worked out between him and Ndidi, but as soon as the coach sent out the instruction, he was in beast mode closing all their passing channels. The Argies were frustrated on both wings so came through the middle more especially after we equalised and there was hiabsolutely nothing there for them because of the work Ogu and Ndidi were doing. He had a superb game I tell you.
Regarding the highlighted, can you point to any evidence of this in the videos I posted?
All I see is a perfunctory workhorse with limited passing range and tackling ability
Your assessment makes the typical error of judging a midfielder of what he does on the ball only. The defensive mid is the watcher. Closing gaps, providing cover and tackling. Ogu was very good in these, and largely contributed to the Argues making too many passes because they found it difficult to make breakthrough passes. This explains why they had 65% possession but not fewer attempts at goal in the 2nd half. In my view Ogu is technically superior to Onazi in the DM role.

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:59 am
by mystic
Sheikh wrote:
smartbrother wrote:
Shownoja wrote:Smartbrother, totally disagree with your assessment of Ogu. In the beginning, it appeared the delineation of space wasn't worked out between him and Ndidi, but as soon as the coach sent out the instruction, he was in beast mode closing all their passing channels. The Argies were frustrated on both wings so came through the middle more especially after we equalised and there was hiabsolutely nothing there for them because of the work Ogu and Ndidi were doing. He had a superb game I tell you.
Your assessment makes the typical error of judging a midfielder of what he does on the ball only. The defensive mid is the watcher. Closing gaps, providing cover and tackling. Ogu was very good in these, and largely contributed to the Argues making too many passes because they found it difficult to make breakthrough passes. This explains why they had 65% possession but not fewer attempts at goal in the 2nd half. In my view Ogu is technically superior to Onazi in the DM role.

Ogu is not better than Onazi. However he has a skill set adds value to the national team.

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:49 am
by asabatex
Thanks for the link

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 7:09 am
by Sheikh
mystic wrote:
Sheikh wrote:
smartbrother wrote:
Your assessment makes the typical error of judging a midfielder on what he does on the ball only. The defensive mid is the watcher. Closing gaps, providing cover and tackling. Ogu was very good in these, and largely contributed to the Argies making too many passes because they found it difficult to make breakthrough passes. This explains why they had 65% possession but fewer attempts at goal in the 2nd half. In my view Ogu is technically superior to Onazi in the DM role.

Ogu is not better than Onazi. However he has a skill set adds value to the national team.
Ogu is technically better for the specific role, and therefore a better complement to Ndidi and Mikel in a midfield trio if the overall game strategy is to counter attack. Onazi is a good midfielder and his strength is in his commitment and tenacity. Although, he seems to have regressed since 2014, he is still one of our top midfielders, but I believe that based on Rohr's strategy Onazi's rival in the midfield trio would be Ndidi and not Ogu. Ogu's rival in that trio would be Agu, or Mikel himself if Mikel were to revert to his Chelsea role. In the last 2 games, Ogu has played the role better than Agu and perhaps that was why Rohr was delighted with his performance.

Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 2:52 am
by EagleEye
Very many thanks for the links