Page 2 of 3

Re: Nigeria v Arg: The Excellent, The Good, The Average, The

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:31 pm
by heavyd
heavyd wrote:
kali wrote:
deanotito wrote: I’m not a fan yet. I think Iwobi and Iheanacho would have a hard time against a back 4/5 in a competitive match. Maybe Vic Mo and Ighalo would have fared better but Kele and Iwobi were often isolated ...especially in the first half, and they lack the prowess and technical ability to handle that many defenders. Maybe the full backs weren’t overlapping as they should, and maybe Rohr would like to use Vic Mo in the same way he is used for Chelsea...so I’ll keep an open mind. But the first half of that game was instructive. The argies closed down Mikel quick and isolated Iheanacho and Iwobi...with nothing being produced from the wing backs, it wasn’t looking good. They could have killed us off in the first half.

I don’t mean to take away from our 2nd half display and I’ll give the eagles credit for playing in a system they weren’t used to....But i saw too much isolation of Kele and Iwobi in the 1st half...and a pretty clinical choking off of Mikel.
Of course they were going to close off Mikel. All the tapes they watched they saw him as the playmaker for the team. What Argentina did is what other teams are going to do. Nigeria will have to have a plan B attacking strategy. The good thing is that Iwobi, Iheanacho, Moses, Moses Simon, Ighalo are all players that can slot into different attacking roles. You can see that Iwobi's major strength is his ability to work in small spaces. He could very easily be transplated into a box number 9 striker. Iheanacho can also very easily slot into the Mikel creative role. I wouldn't be worried about Nigeria's attack. We can go wide or we can go through the middle. Goals at the qualifiers came from at least 5 or 6 players. That is what you want - distributed scorers.

Where Rohr quite rightly is putting his focus is on the defence. Every top team is now playing the half field counter. You have to be very positionally disciplined and quick to recover against the Brazil's, Frances and Germanys of the world. You have to be able to stop the attack right from defensive midfield. You have to be able to close down penetrating passes down the wings. He is finding out the strengths and weaknesses of players to adapt to these quicker attacking blitzes. Balogun and Aina struggled but Idowu and Ebuehi did better. I am sure he will be looking at more options before finalizing his team.

At the World Cup luckily for Nigeria, Italy and Netherlands did not qualify. That leaves 5 teams with World Cup prowess (Brazil, Germany, France, Argentina, Spain). I would suggest that Nigeria organizes a friendly with the Netherlands and Italy to shore up its weaknesses. We should also look for a friendly with any of the dark horses of the tournament:

- Uruguay
- Mexico
- Belgium
- Portugal
- England
I am worried about Mikel. He is no doubt a quality player but He still has the annoying habit of holding on to the ball too long. He seems to want to try to prove a point that he can shield the ball from anyone for no particular reason. Even though he is quite good at it there were times when had drawn players to him creating space for teammates but he held on too long and either the chance was lost or he was dispossessed.

There was also a moment (many moments actually) in particularly when Aina was bursting into space on the right and all he needed to do was play a ball into the space and Aina would have been past the Argentine defence. He really needs to play these balls quicker. Rohr should have a word with him.
get lost you clueless football watcher, are you that shallow in football..Argentina had the lion share of possession, Nigeria was struggling to hold possession, Mikel is one of the most intelligent footballer ever, When he shields the ball he takes the pressure of our team.. go and watch the game,. he got fouled so many time which was good for us ..some of you watch football with zero tactical sense
:roll: :roll:
Hello Dunce...
I was expecting you...
I wont ask you to kiss my Arse cos its obvious your lips are reserved for Mikel and Mikel only ...

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:36 pm
by Tbite
Ol boy, he is not simply waiting for the foul oh.

Mikel is genuinely talented! When he glided past 3 or 4 Argentinians, he was like Zidane! He had them beat! He wasn't looking for contact...bobo was on his way, they hacked him down!

Mikel has enough technical ability to beat his man, he can shield the ball and distribute it. SOMETIMES he draws the foul when the channels are closed, but don't think for one second that he doesn't know how to manoeuvre.

You would be surprised how technical this guy is! He doesn't show it most of the time. I know we talk and we talk about Chelsea, but some of the things I have seen this guy do sporadically.....this guy is the most subdued talent I have ever seen.

Mikel is one of the best shielders of the ball EVER, it is not that he needs the foul, but more that the opponents think that is the only way to break him down! Mikel can pivot ALL DAY. There was one time when an Argentinian was on the ground, and he was pivoting for about 10-15 seconds.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:38 pm
by deanotito
Tbite wrote:Ol boy, he is not simply waiting for the foul oh.

Mikel is genuinely talented! When he glided past 3 or 4 Argentinians, he was like Zidane! He had them beat! He wasn't looking for contact...bobo was on his way, they hacked him down!

Mikel has enough technical ability to beat his man, he can shield the ball and distribute it. SOMETIMES he draws the foul when the channels are closed, but don't think for one second that he doesn't know how to manoeuvre.

You would be surprised how technical this guy is! He doesn't show it most of the time. I know we talk and we talk about Chelsea, but some of the things I have seen this guy do sporadically.....this guy is the most subdued talent I have ever seen.
Naah bro, there are times - as was evidenced in this game - where Mikel is looking for the foul. Not all the time, but he does it....and often too. If he gets the foul, good, but he doesn't always...and getting dispossessed like that is dangerous.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:40 pm
Goldleaf wrote:
deanotito wrote:The Excellent
Ekong
Ebuehi
Ndidi
Idowu

The Good
Awaziem
Shehu
Uzoho
Aina (tough call here)
Omeruo
Mikel
Iwobi (tough one here)
Iheanacho
Musa
Ogu

The Average
Balogun (if i didn’t know better, I’d think he was injured)

The Bad
Keeper wey no sabi wetin 18 yard box be

3-5-2
I’m not a fan yet. I think Iwobi and Iheanacho would have a hard time against a back 4/5 in a competitive match. Maybe Vic Mo and Ighalo would have fared better but Kele and Iwobi were often isolated ...especially in the first half, and they lack the prowess and technical ability to handle that many defenders. Maybe the full backs weren’t overlapping as they should, and maybe Rohr would like to use Vic Mo in the same way he is used for Chelsea...so I’ll keep an open mind. But the first half of that game was instructive. The argies closed down Mikel quick and isolated Iheanacho and Iwobi...with nothing being produced from the wing backs, it wasn’t looking good. They could have killed us off in the first half.

I don’t mean to take away from our 2nd half display and I’ll give the eagles credit for playing in a system they weren’t used to....But i saw too much isolation of Kele and Iwobi in the 1st half...and a pretty clinical choking off of Mikel.

On Aina....I called him out as being crappy vs Algeria, but even in the game, i recognized his superior marking ability. He showed it in this game again...He knows how to follow a player with the ball,and time a tackle...but other parts of his game weren’t that outstanding. But in general, played better than he did vs Algeria

But in general, we have a Team!!!! Apart from the goalkeeper issue, Rohr has fixed personnel gaps with good/technical players. Looking forward to the WC
Remove John Ogu from the good list. John Ogu does not have the engine to function as a DM in the SE. Unlike Ndidi and Mikel, who go and win the ball and are very good at it, JOhn Ogu backs off until the ball is passed away from his sphere. At best, John is a squad player and a natural AM. He is NOT a ball winner!
First of, John Ogu is NOT a DM. Secondly, a player does NOT always have to "go and win the ball"! If not, you'd have Ndidi and Ogu in the same space. Ogu's role is very specific and he has done it very well in the last two games. You need to understand the game to understand this.

Cant believe I have turned into a defender of Ogu, a player I dont rate at all. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:40 pm
by Tbite
deanotito wrote:

Naah bro, there are times - as was evidenced in this game - where Mikel is looking for the foul. Not all the time, but he does it....and often too. If he gets the foul, good, but he doesn't always...and getting dispossessed like that is dangerous.
It is RARE for Mikel to lose out when shielding. Actually I was surprised when it happened. It isn't 50/50. This game was a rarity. 9 times out of 10 Mikel comes out on top when shielding. This wasn't Mikel at his best.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:43 pm
Goldleaf wrote:
Ekong
Ebuehi
Ndidi
Idowu

The Good
Awaziem
Shehu
Uzoho
Aina (tough call here)
Omeruo
Mikel
Iwobi (tough one here)
Iheanacho
Musa
Ogu

The Average

The Bad

3-5-2
I’m not a fan yet. I think Iwobi and Iheanacho would have a hard time against a back 4/5 in a competitive match. Maybe Vic Mo and Ighalo would have fared better but Kele and Iwobi were often isolated ...especially in the first half, and they lack the prowess and technical ability to handle that many defenders. Maybe the full backs weren’t overlapping as they should, and maybe Rohr would like to use Vic Mo in the same way he is used for Chelsea...so I’ll keep an open mind. But the first half of that game was instructive. The argies closed down Mikel quick and isolated Iheanacho and Iwobi...with nothing being produced from the wing backs, it wasn’t looking good. They could have killed us off in the first half.

On Aina....I called him out as being crappy vs Algeria, but even in the game, i recognized his superior marking ability. He showed it in this game again...He knows how to follow a player with the ball,and time a tackle...but other parts of his game weren’t that outstanding. But in general, played better than he did vs Algeria

But in general, we have a Team!!!! Apart from the goalkeeper issue, Rohr has fixed personnel gaps with good/technical players. Looking forward to the WC
Remove John Ogu from the good list. John Ogu does not have the engine to function as a DM in the SE. Unlike Ndidi and Mikel, who go and win the ball and are very good at it, JOhn Ogu backs off until the ball is passed away from his sphere. At best, John is a squad player and a natural AM. He is NOT a ball winner!
Hmmm, brought this up numerously, his lack of mobility is a huge problem, he doesn't put himself about just sits waiting for the outlet pass to start moving forward, but as a DM on the national team that's not good enough, you have to help retrieve the ball. When the AM Mikel runs around and chases down more than you, then something is up.
:lol: :lol: :lol: This is a gross misconception. You do NOT have to hep retrieve the ball as a DM. And Ogu is NOT a DM. But lets even assume he is, there are some DMs whose duty is to block space... to control and slow down the pace of the game. Their job is not to run around like headless chicken, specifically when they have a Kante or Ndidi doing that beside them.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 6:04 pm
by deanotito
Tbite wrote:
deanotito wrote:

It is RARE for Mikel to lose out when shielding. Actually I was surprised when it happened. It isn't 50/50. This game was a rarity. 9 times out of 10 Mikel comes out on top when shielding. This wasn't Mikel at his best.

No, what I referred to as 50-50 is for the referee to give the foul. When they don't, its often pretty dangerous for the eagles

14 things on SE after Argentina Match

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:19 pm
by chief nfachairman
1. In my review of the Algeria match, I mentioned that Rohr needs to try out new formations and strategies. He did not disappoint.

2. However, the strategy was a counter attacking one (like we've done majority of the qualifiers) and it worked. Ofcourse, he assumed superiority of the Argentine attack and decided to soak the pressure and hit them on the break. Nigeria while attacking is RUTHLESS. They don't need too many chances to bury one. Every attacking move in the 2nd half was a massive threat to the Argentines.

3. We know how to soak the pressure and keep opponents out, however, in the first half, Argentines penetrated us continously through the flanks especially the left. BUt all of a sudden, it stopped in the 2nd half. WHat happened? :huh:

4. We were very physical too. I loved it. Fit, Strong and agile guys. No need for thick thigh muscles like the 94 team.

"and the Nigerian team are obviously one of the most physical sides we have faced in a while" - Mescharano

5. Alot of stray passes and disjointed play. As we keep building the chemistry, and perfecting strategy, we should be able to get better and start to keep possession alot more. I hope ROhr finally makes this team a "complete" team and not just a counter attacking one. We need to be able to dominate games and put fear in our opponents. 94/96 team on my mind.

6. Mikel is a beast. Physical, inteeligent, holds the ball with no fear and ochestrates tins. Kai. What do we do when he is down? We need to get a good backup strategy fast.

7. While Ogu was also physical and did alot of dirty work, he still doesnt add as much to the team as Onazi. Onazi covers 2 times more ground, and adds alot more bite while attacking. Etebo should be considered but it seems like ROhr has made up his mind that he is Mikel's backup.

8. Ndidi is a physical beast. Ayo, did you say he is not good attacking or with the ball at his feet?

9. Ebuehi must have realized African football is about Physicality and his father gave him some better Naija power therapy (Fufu is involved). Look at him now, thats one of the plus of playing National team footie. You improve drastically. EKong on my mind.

10. We now have 5 quality full backs from none a little over a year ago. Elderson (He knows the SE), Idowu, Shehu (From not been considered to now owning it), AIna, Ebuehi. ROhr would go with 7 Defenders out of which 4 would be Central Defenders. so 2 Full backs would not make it to Russia. DOnt forget ROhr has a thing for the experienced older players. Dilenma!

11. William Ekong (Ive removed the Troost to fully Nigerianize him) :clap: :clap:

12. :scared: :shock: :shock: :shock:
This guy fall Naija hand sha!! Puff puff brain!!!

We still need a fit Enyeama one more time, backed up by a Laliga playing Uzoho.

13. Attack: Nacho was just okay. Iwobi is the king. Its obvious he is Rohr's 2nd must play attacker after Moses. We should forget him doing the attacking midfield role for now. He's first goal is similar to the one against Zambia.

14. After this game, im not sure of anything anymore. Nobody knows again who would make the team or not (apart from 8 -10 key players), or our next formation, style of play etc. Clear Work in Progress. by Russia, we should have a Mean Opponent Destruction Unit. Every player now has to go back and work extra hard to make Rohr's list. Im sure Aina would be looking to get out of the Championship in Jan, Musa would make a switch to a decent league like Turkey (please not Turkey, Onyekuru and Kayode score goals on the moon. Encouraging

Im off the site for another 3 weeks. :D

Re: 14 things on SE after Argentina Match

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:29 pm
by Robbynice
chief nfachairman wrote:1. In my review of the Algeria match, I mentioned that Rohr needs to try out new formations and strategies. He did not disappoint.

2. However, the strategy was a counter attacking one (like we've done majority of the qualifiers) and it worked. Ofcourse, he assumed superiority of the Argentine attack and decided to soak the pressure and hit them on the break. Nigeria while attacking is RUTHLESS. They don't need too many chances to bury one. Every attacking move in the 2nd half was a massive threat to the Argentines.

3. We know how to soak the pressure and keep opponents out, however, in the first half, Argentines penetrated us continously through the flanks especially the left. BUt all of a sudden, it stopped in the 2nd half. WHat happened? :huh:

4. We were very physical too. I loved it. Fit, Strong and agile guys. No need for thick thigh muscles like the 94 team.

"and the Nigerian team are obviously one of the most physical sides we have faced in a while" - Mescharano

5. Alot of stray passes and disjointed play. As we keep building the chemistry, and perfecting strategy, we should be able to get better and start to keep possession alot more. I hope ROhr finally makes this team a "complete" team and not just a counter attacking one. We need to be able to dominate games and put fear in our opponents. 94/96 team on my mind.

6. Mikel is a beast. Physical, inteeligent, holds the ball with no fear and ochestrates tins. Kai. What do we do when he is down? We need to get a good backup strategy fast.

7. While Ogu was also physical and did alot of dirty work, he still doesnt add as much to the team as Onazi. Onazi covers 2 times more ground, and adds alot more bite while attacking. Etebo should be considered but it seems like ROhr has made up his mind that he is Mikel's backup.

8. Ndidi is a physical beast. Ayo, did you say he is not good attacking or with the ball at his feet?

9. Ebuehi must have realized African football is about Physicality and his father gave him some better Naija power therapy (Fufu is involved). Look at him now, thats one of the plus of playing National team footie. You improve drastically. EKong on my mind.

10. We now have 5 quality full backs from none a little over a year ago. Elderson (He knows the SE), Idowu, Shehu (From not been considered to now owning it), AIna, Ebuehi. ROhr would go with 7 Defenders out of which 4 would be Central Defenders. so 2 Full backs would not make it to Russia. DOnt forget ROhr has a thing for the experienced older players. Dilenma!

11. William Ekong (Ive removed the Troost to fully Nigerianize him) :clap: :clap:

https://youtu.be/4fZ7b7KA9uY

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="h ... ></iframe>

13. Attack: Nacho was just okay. Iwobi is the king. Its obvious he is Rohr's 2nd must play attacker after Moses. We should forget him doing the attacking midfield role for now. He's first goal is similar to the one against Zambia.

14. After this game, im not sure of anything anymore. Nobody knows again who would make the team or not (apart from 8 -10 key players), or our next formation, style of play etc. Clear Work in Progress. by Russia, we should have a Mean Opponent Destruction Unit. Every player now has to go back and work extra hard to make Rohr's list. Im sure Aina would be looking to get out of the Championship in Jan, Musa would make a switch to a decent league like Turkey (please not Turkey, Onyekuru and Kayode score goals on the moon. Encouraging

Kpom Kwem especially on point #13.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:31 pm
by green4life
deanotito wrote:

Usually, when Mikel holds onto the ball like that he's looking release a player and half the time it's not the player that you feel is best because he reads the game better than you. The downside is he at times turns the ball over (or gets fouled and it doesn't get called which occurred multiple times yesterday) but the upside by far outweighs the risk in that he helps us dictate the pace of the game especially when we play in a game where we only had 35% possession yesterday and still won 4-2. Regardless, Mikel is quality and he plays a position for Nigeria where he is encouraged to take risks so you can't have your cake and eat it too. For the role he plays, he will have turnovers, that is why Rohr employs 2 other central midfielders to cover for him.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:34 pm
chief nfachairman wrote:1. In my review of the Algeria match, I mentioned that Rohr needs to try out new formations and strategies. He did not disappoint.

there is nothing more to add to this write up...best post match write upp.. you have done well .. so please keep up the work on updating us on our players , the European leagues continues this weekend..Now how do we get Mikel to continue playing and getting match fit..... Their league ended last weekend

yesterday my respect for Ndidi went off the scale, my goodness, this guy didn't take this game as a friendly, he kept working moving from back to front.. one tackle he hacked the Argentine, even when the ball and man was dead, nidid was still on the floor, he still managed to stretch his leg and put the ball out of play, then one of our goals, he made a no look pass to Kele and then Iwobi..the Number 13 was something else..we had man mountains in midfield yesterday..notice ROhr kept all 3 midfielders in the game , they worked so hard, Ndidi, Ogu and Mikel were all running none stop

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:39 pm
by Sir V

there is nothing more to add to this write up...best post match write upp.. you have done well .. so please keep up the work on updating us on our players , the European leagues continues this weekend..Now how do we get Mikel to continue playing and getting match fit..... Their league ended last weekend

yesterday my respect for Ndidi went off the scale, my goodness, this guy didn't take this game as a friendly, he kept working moving from back to front.. one tackle he hacked the Argentine, even when the ball and man was dead, nidid was still on the floor, he still managed to stretch his leg and put the ball out of play, then one of our goals, he made a no look pass to Kele and then Iwobi..the Number 13 was something else..we had man mountains in midfield yesterday..notice ROhr kept all 3 midfielders in the game , they worked so hard, Ndidi, Ogu and Mikel were all running none stop
Good write up. I like no 6

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:49 pm
by maceo4
deanotito wrote:

Usually, when Mikel holds onto the ball like that he's looking release a player and half the time it's not the player that you feel is best because he reads the game better than you. The downside is he at times turns the ball over (or gets fouled and it doesn't get called which occurred multiple times yesterday) but the upside by far outweighs the risk in that he helps us dictate the pace of the game especially when we play in a game where we only had 35% possession yesterday and still won 4-2. Regardless, Mikel is quality and he plays a position for Nigeria where he is encouraged to take risks so you can't have your cake and eat it too. For the role he plays, he will have turnovers, that is why Rohr employs 2 other central midfielders to cover for him.
I hear you, but its annoying when he does it on a potential counter, as that is our bread and butter to use our speed to quickly turn defense into offense. Our counters were sweeting me well well, there was one between Kele and Iwobi in the second half where we cleared the ball out of defense and Kele was coming back towards our goal to meet the ball and with a one time pass swept the ball from the right side of the field to the left side of the field were Iwobi was already running, then Kele ran into the space unmarked as the Argies were focused on chasing down Alex, but Iwobi gave a heavy return pass which sent him wide, men if he got that return pass right would have been a one on one created by 2 players combining to take out 4 defenders with just 2 passes covering over half the field. But plays like that if they go through Mikel he may not have released that one time ball to Iwobi and would likely try to control it and maybe shield and try to keep possession going backwards. Mikel is a CM/deep lying midfielder that we are forcing to play the AM role because of dearth of options there, I just wish he would shield less in that position that's all, I don't have a problem with him losing the ball trying to make something positive happen. But there are usually open people he could pass to just to keep the ball moving instead of having to shield it.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:52 pm
by Cellular
I know if people know football based on how the rate Mikel and Ogu.

Football made easy.

Gragra is NOT football. Pesin way fit do to-me-to-you just put ball for my foot... don't worry about traffic around me... I already know where my open guy is.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:55 pm
by The YeyeMan
Mikel does hold onto the ball too long at times. And yes, it's annoying when a pass is open and he plays for the foul which isn't always given.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:57 pm
by maceo4
Cellular wrote:I know if people know football based on how the rate Mikel and Ogu.

Football made easy.

Gragra is NOT football. Pesin way fit do to-me-to-you just put ball for my foot... don't worry about traffic around me... I already know where my open guy is.
Nah bruh, Onazi will start anyday over Ogu, does that mean that Rohr doesn't know football? Why wouldn't he choose the football made easy option?

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:01 pm
by The YeyeMan
Cellular wrote:I know if people know football based on how the rate Mikel and Ogu.
I know if people know football based on how the rate Shola Ameobi.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:02 pm
by chief nfachairman
Goldleaf wrote:
Ekong
Ebuehi
Ndidi
Idowu

The Good
Awaziem
Shehu
Uzoho
Aina (tough call here)
Omeruo
Mikel
Iwobi (tough one here)
Iheanacho
Musa
Ogu

The Average

The Bad

3-5-2

Ogu is there until ROhr finds a better player. I hope Joel Obi comes through.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:04 pm
by Cellular

Football made easy.

Nah bruh, Onazi will start anyday over Ogu, does that mean that Rohr doesn't know football? Why wouldn't he choose the football made easy option?
Because you like Ayo knows how Rohr rates players?

Rohr has the personnel to play different styles. Onazi playing over Ogu does not mean that Onazi is better... neither does Ogu playing over Onazi. I am glad he played Ogu full 90 minutes for both games to see how much he can trust him. Mind you, there were other midfielders on the bench who could have come in had he stunk up the joint.

What I love so far is the depth... we will keep getting more quality depth.

Ps., we know you don't know football... you have always been hating on Mikel when he has always been our best player for a long time. To-me-to-you is not your cup of tea. :taunt:

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:06 pm
by Cellular
I know if people know football based on how the rate Shola Ameobi.
Sola over Emenike... twice on gameday!

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:14 pm
by green4life
I hear you, but its annoying when he does it on a potential counter, as that is our bread and butter to use our speed to quickly turn defense into offense. Our counters were sweeting me well well, there was one between Kele and Iwobi in the second half where we cleared the ball out of defense and Kele was coming back towards our goal to meet the ball and with a one time pass swept the ball from the right side of the field to the left side of the field were Iwobi was already running, then Kele ran into the space unmarked as the Argies were focused on chasing down Alex, but Iwobi gave a heavy return pass which sent him wide, men if he got that return pass right would have been a one on one created by 2 players combining to take out 4 defenders with just 2 passes covering over half the field. But plays like that if they go through Mikel he may not have released that one time ball to Iwobi and would likely try to control it and maybe shield and try to keep possession going backwards. Mikel is a CM/deep lying midfielder that we are forcing to play the AM role because of dearth of options there, I just wish he would shield less in that position that's all, I don't have a problem with him losing the ball trying to make something positive happen. But there are usually open people he could pass to just to keep the ball moving instead of having to shield it.
That's not always the case though. The one time pass to Ighalo to assist the first goal vs Cameroon is a classic example of his quick release. Sometimes - in fact, many times - he'll quickly release the pass. But there are times when he will hold onto the ball - and I agree it includes some unnecessary looking shielding which frustrates me too but usually, there is a purpose to it. The shielding comes with risks but again, that is why the unit is set up to largely mitigate against known risks. The shielding risk is an accepted risk because the reward more often than not is higher. Especially in a game against the likes of Argentina when you are being pressed high in midfield his ball control helps to calm down the opposition pressure.

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:28 pm
by oscar52
The Excellent
Ebuehi (Solid kid, masterclass on how the position should be played, great with ball on feet or head)
Idowu (excellence defender that also supports the attack, high energy)
Ekong (solid, did what good defenders do)
Uzoho (Light years above the previous goalkeeper, we should stop inviting Apkeyi for his own health, he does not seem to be having fun out there and that's not good)
Iwobi (Excellent footballer but needs to improve defensively I think and also keep the ball more).

The Good
Awaziem (Good display today compared to his last outing for us but then again Akpeyi will make most defenders look bad)
Ndidi (Ok, will prefer a version a him that is comfortable with the ball at his feet, always too eager to pass the ball away but his heading is good and supports the attack)
Iheanacho (Great freekick but has a tendency to get cocky that he needs to watch out for. Good player)
Ogu (A bruiser, I like him. There will be games where such players will be needed)
Balogun (Tough one here but overall he can do better so I will leave him here).

The Average
Musa (Age is catching up to him, great speed still but his quality has always been suspect. The move to Leicester has been bad for his career).
Mikel (Average, seem low energy and uninterested)
Omeruo (A noticiable drop in quality after he replaced Balogun, the defense became shaky)
Shehu' (Was owned by the Argentines, an ok defender but poor on the ball)
Aina (Something about him was just too nonchalant for my liking, Argies in attack and he is just jogging back to defend is not good enough).
Kayode (Didn't play enough to access him but not a big fan of players whose main advantage is running/hustling, the Argentines were just lobbing balls over his head)

The Bad
Akpeyi (The picking up of the ball was probably the linesmen fault but for a guy that has gone to at least two FIFA tournaments with Nigeria, he should have better composure and technique. For the sake of his health he should quit the SE)

Summary: We should probably outsource our defense to the foreign born lads, it seems they are just more cool on the ball but again it might be because they don't have the history of being owned by Messi and Argentina because Awaziem was chill on the ball as well. Good game.

Re: My thoughts on this great Victory

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:38 pm
by metalalloy
4. Ogu despite a good game against Algeria is not it. I said before he is too slow to be playing at the same time as Mikel, and this game showed it. I am surprised Rohr did not see this and make the necessary changes, as Argentina had far too much space in the midfield. We could have used Etebo's hustle in this match. Mikel and Ogu together is a disaster.

From a tactical perspective, Rohr got it right and your recommendation would have been quite disastrous. The way we played, what we needed was a player that is positionally good. Not necessarily an aggressive player like Etebo. With Etebo, Rohr's plan would have failed spectacularly! Argentina controlled possession, and with Etebo running around, they'd have just passed the ball around him. Ogu's positional discipline helped our shape. And thats what the coach wants.

Incidentally, the coach's decision led us to a 4-2 victory. I suspect that is the point of everything. Winning?
I agree with this.

VE, good write up.