Sampaoli confounded by Eagles performance in friendly loss

The man talk true.

https://www.aclsports.com/6932-2/

Argentina coach Jorge Sampaoli could not find the right words to describe his team’s display after a terrific second half performance by Nigeria blew the Seleçion away in a friendly match on Tuesday.

Sampaoli’s wards took a commanding 2-0 lead in the first half but Nigeria halved the deficit just before the break through Kelechi Iheanacho’s sumptuous free kick.

Alex Iwobi scored twice in the second half, either side of debutant Bryan Idowu’s strike to complete a remarkable turnaround for the Nigerians at the Krasnodar City Stadium in Russia.

Sampaoli cut a confused figure at the post-match press conference where he had to provide answers to many begging questions arising from their shock capitulation.

“I think it was a very difficult game to explain,” begun the former Chile manager.
“We had the chance to go 3-0 or 4-0 up in the first half but we ended going with a 2-1 lead.

“The momentum swung in their favour in the second half after they scored three goals in nine minutes from long range shots,” analysed Sampaoli.

With Sampaoli forced to change striker Sergio Aguero at half time after he was reported concussed, the hopes of the Argentines to seal victory in the second half was dashed so early by the re-energized Nigerians.

“The team went to look for a third goal but we did not have the ability and energy we had in the first half, where we pressed high and generated high-flying moves in which the margin could have been extended,” added Sampaoli.

The 57-year old is more concerned with his team’s reaction when they conceded Idowu’s goal and drew inference from an earlier game during World Cup qualifying in September.
https://www.aclsports.com/6932-2/

“My biggest concern is when the team is behind. I know that we have the capacity and individuals that allow you to know that, at any moment, these circumstances could happen.

“I am worried about what happened because it also happened in the second half against Venezuela. These things are what we have to improve on,” he bemoaned.

He was however quick to harp on the positives from the game which he believes his team will take with them.

“I draw many positive things from the game, especially the dominant first half.

“Negatively and unfortunately, we lost a game, that can be confusing, but that should not blind us that Argentina had an incredible first half, where we could beat the opponent.

“The team when it is very good, can beat anyone, but when the adversity touches you, we must be strong to reverse it,” he concluded.
Re: Sampaoli confounded by Eagles performance in friendly lo

If they can fix their defence it Wouldn't surprise too see Argentina make the final in Russia or even win the wc
they are a dangerous team even without messi

They were naive in defence, i have never seen a bunch of unprofessional defenders lumped together. AS soon as they see us with the ball they lose their shape and are all drawn to the ball like school boys!

If there is ever the time the word naive comes to good use, it is for these Argies

oloye wrote:They were naive in defence, i have never seen a bunch of unprofessional defenders lumped together. AS soon as they see us with the ball they lose their shape and are all drawn to the ball like school boys!

If there is ever the time the word naive comes to good use, it is for these Argies

Their defence is also ageing. Mascherano and Otamendi do not have the legs to keep up with youngsters. Did you notice how energetic they were in the first half and ran out of gas in thwe second half. It was kind of like they were playing with 11 Mikels.

The momentum swung in their favour in the second half after they scored three goals in nine minutes from long range shots,” analysed Sampaoli
Long range shots?

oloye wrote:They were naive in defence, i have never seen a bunch of unprofessional defenders lumped together. AS soon as they see us with the ball they lose their shape and are all drawn to the ball like school boys!

They reminded me of Man City defense last season.

The last Argentina team that had a good defense was the 1986 WC winning team. Since then, Argentina have never had a good defense. In 1990 they were bailed out by a super hero goalkeeper. They only know how to play one way. They hope to overwhelm their opponents with all out attack. If you are patient, you can withstand their attacks and hurt them real bad on the counter. If you crumble in fear in front of them and forget your game plan, they will hurt you real bad.

Their defence is also ageing. Mascherano and Otamendi do not have the legs to keep up with youngsters. Did you notice how energetic they were in the first half and ran out of gas in thwe second half. It was kind of like they were playing with 11 Mikels.
Otamendi is 29!!

niyi wrote:
The momentum swung in their favour in the second half after they scored three goals in nine minutes from long range shots,” analysed Sampaoli
Long range shots?
You dey mind the guy, he is not only confounded but confused

Cristao II wrote:

Otamendi is 29!!
But his best days are behind him. Five years ago, he would have closed Iwobi down.

Cristao II wrote:

Otamendi is 29!!
But his best days are behind him. Five years ago, he would have closed Iwobi down.
I don't get this, why is it that when we do well you always rubbish our opposition???? What is your agenda? You reference Rohrs one loss to support all your hogwash, then when we do well you say the opposition was trash. Give credit where credit is due, haba!

A 29 year old does not have the legs? Abi? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

niyi wrote:
Long range shots?
He doesnt want to be honest about what happened :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Cristao II wrote:

Otamendi is 29!!
I have always found you a very interesting man. In the old days, you'd be accused of being a house-negroe! You simply cannot accept it when a black man destroys your white master! It hurts you! it hunts you and it pains you! If it were up to you, your white master will always be on top!

N!3ger!!!! let me spell it out to you! Otamendi was a sh1t defender when he was 24!!! Did you even know him??? In fact when he was 26 at Valencia, he had a horrible season. He is only now becoming a top performing defender! Otamendi is 29 and he destroys strikers in the EPL. Iwobi destroyed him because Iwobi is a top top player! Has nothing to do with your White master being 29, not having legs or whatever fooooking excuse you wasnt to give for your master! Please, have some damn shame!

Akpeyi is 31, did you provide excuses for him??? NO! He is not a white man!
muzines

Post by muzines »

Cristao II wrote:

Otamendi is 29!!
I have always found you a very interesting man. In the old days, you'd be accused of being a house-negroe! You simply cannot accept it when a black man destroys your white master! It hurts you! it hunts you and it pains you! If it were up to you, your white master will always be on top!

N!3ger!!!! let me spell it out to you! Otamendi was a sh1t defender when he was 24!!! Did you even know him??? In fact when he was 26 at Valencia, he had a horrible season. He is only now becoming a top performing defender! Otamendi is 29 and he destroys strikers in the EPL. Iwobi destroyed him because Iwobi is a top top player! Has nothing to do with your White master being 29, not having legs or whatever fooooking excuse you wasnt to give for your master! Please, have some damn shame!

You guys know I’m not a big fan of Ayo, but we need to stop with this house negro nonsense.
Liberalism is a mental disorder.
Conservative: a liberal who has been mugged by reality.

muzines wrote:
Cristao II wrote:

Otamendi is 29!!

You guys know I’m not a big fan of Ayo, but we need to stop with this house negro nonsense.
I am not interested in your opinion

niyi wrote:
Long range shots?
He doesnt want to be honest about what happened :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
I notice that a lot when we beat the SA guys, they never give credit to the opposition, they go on about what they didnt do, is it possible the opponent did not allow them to do such?...not a single comment of congratulations or acknowledgement

I mean how did a team score 3 on you in 9 minute spell...could it be because they were the better side over 90+ minutes

You are assuming that Ayo actually know who Otamendi is ???? Continue :tic:

No mind am...the same Otamendi that starts for one of the top 5 clubs in europe?

Cristao II wrote:

Otamendi is 29!!

:agree: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

'

It is a friendly. Good win for Nigeria. We shouldn't get carried away. I saw a lot of problems with the Eagles. I doubt we will play the 3-5-2 going forward. The players were confused early defensively in that formation.

I like how an African team exploited another teams defensive deficiency,thats what what i hope happens at the world cup. mistakes we made in the past in general was simply because being Niave defensively...Thats what i enjoyed the most.