Is Enyeama...

Re: Is Enyeama...

Do we think it is a little early to be writing off a man that has been playing international football for 15 years, in favour of a teenager whose entire professional career consists of 2.5 games?...

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Here we have an opportunity to produce our own Zoff, Buffon, Casillas, Zenga, Khan, Mier, Shilton, Jennings, Scmiechel, Van der Sar, Chilavet, etc because we have got this guy young. All hands should now be on deck to make sure we move ahead, not go backwards!
You obviously don't see the irony of your post do you?

Almost all those goalkeeping legends were/are actively manning the posts for their national teams at an age OLDER than Enyeama is currently, yet you are advocating for him to be dropped simply because he is recovering from injury.

Who exactly provides the best prospect of becoming our version of Dino Zoff or Vaan der Sar - Enyeama or Uzoho?
Dang!
Bro, you're losing it big time.... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
I was just thinking the same thing as I READ Ayo's post. I was like this guy has lost the plot mehn... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Here we have an opportunity to produce our own Zoff, Buffon, Casillas, Zenga, Khan, Mier, Shilton, Jennings, Scmiechel, Van der Sar, Chilavet, etc because we have got this guy young. All hands should now be on deck to make sure we move ahead, not go backwards!

Almost all those goalkeeping legends were/are actively manning the posts for their national teams at an age OLDER than Enyeama is currently, yet you are advocating for him to be dropped simply because he is recovering from injury and you have found one 'sweet 19' that has been tried for all but 45mins. :idea:

Who exactly provides the best prospect of becoming our version of Dino Zoff or Vaan der Sar - Enyeama or Uzoho?
Dang!

Almost all those goalkeeping legends were/are actively manning the posts for their national teams at an age OLDER than Enyeama is currently, yet you are advocating for him to be dropped simply because he is recovering from injury.

Who exactly provides the best prospect of becoming our version of Dino Zoff or Vaan der Sar - Enyeama or Uzoho? Dang!
You are talking garbage. All those goalies began at a tender age. Buffon and Casillas made their debuts at 19.

Whatever you say is irrelevant anyway as Vince is not interested in returning. He is officially 35. Do you know what his body is telling him? No one can know his body better than him.

If he comes back and does another Rufai now all of you guys will be on his back, throwing abuse at him. All this is just got air anyway as Francis Uzoho will man goal for all our matches at the World Cup. Anything else is just hot air!

wiseone wrote:Do we think it is a little early to be writing off a man that has been playing international football for 15 years, in favour of a teenager whose entire professional career consists of 2.5 games?...
Please help me ask them well....maybe in pidgin, as it seems they are either unwilling or unable to explain their rationale....

Who exactly provides the best prospect of becoming our version of Dino Zoff or Vaan der Sar - Enyeama or Uzoho? Dang!
You are talking garbage. All those goalies began at a tender age. Buffon and Casillas made their debuts at 19.

Whatever you say is irrelevant anyway as Vince is not interested in returning. He is officially 35. Do you know what his body is telling him? No one can know his body better than him.

If he comes back and does another Rufai now all of you guys will be on his back, throwing abuse at him. All this is just got air anyway as Francis Uzoho will man goal for all our matches at the World Cup. Anything else is just hot air!
But Enyeama fits that billing too. He started at a very young age, 18 years old if I am not mistaken. Remember WC2002 in Japan/ Korea. So are you suggesting like Damunk said that he should be dropped because he is injured? :???:

Vince is not interested in coming back. Deal with it!

Look who's talking!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Hw many times have you been called out to defend the absolute bollocks youve been spewing on this site to the point you have been accused of blatantly lying?
Please, let's trash the garbage angle and stick with the facts?
What are the legends you listed best known for? The age they started or the age they retired?
There are loads of GKs that start early. How many reach their 40s?

Stop embarrassing yourself...not that you know the meaning of the word. :lol:

:source: :source: :source: :source:
But we won't hold our breath. :roll:

No be fight my brother. If he is not coming back, I wouldn't a problem with it however if he is, he is the undisputed #1 goalkeeper of the SE. Fact not feelings!

wAyo, why do you persist in making such declarations? From you know what Rohr is thinking to now say Vince doesn't want to come back? I actually reached out to him and he is a true professional. First, he has to get back to full fitness. Then he has to play. He said if he is playing at his former level and the coach invites him to genuinely compete for the spot he will honor the invite.
He is not under any illusion that he will just be handed the shirt. He said he has never been afraid of competition. Just that he has to do his own part and have the opportunity to fight for a shirt.

For me, that is what every player should be aiming for. Apart from Mikel and Moses... I don't think any player regardless of form is guaranteed a shirt.

Having quality at that position is a good thing... especially an experienced quality.

donadoni

Post by donadoni »

1. Vincent Enyeama is a legend and our joint highest capped player
2. A goalie at 35 is by no means past his prime in the modern game
3. If he recovers to fitness and form in time and is willing to play then of course we want him - going to the Mundial without him in that scenario would make zero sense
4. If he rejoins the team then whatever spot he merits 1st choice, 2nd choice or 3rd choice he should get. Uzoho is exciting. May the best man win.
5. People who are dismissing (and even disrespecting) Enyeama are very short-sighted - his passion on the field in the GWG has always been clear to see. He brings experience, leadership, confidence (will not be intimidated by Messi or anyone else). Any off-field issues he may have had do not take away from these facts.

End of Story.

donadoni wrote:1. Vincent Enyeama is a legend and our joint highest capped player
3. If he recovers to fitness and form in time and is willing to play then of course we want him - going to the Mundial without him in that scenario would make zero sense
4. If he rejoins the team then whatever spot he merits 1st choice, 2nd choice or 3rd choice he should get. Uzoho is exciting. May the best man win.
5. People who are dismissing (and even disrespecting) Enyeama are very short-sighted - his passion on the field in the GWG has always been clear to see. He brings experience, leadership, confidence (will not be intimidated by Messi or anyone else). Any off-field issues he may have had do not take away from these facts.

End of Story.
No mind dem.

Na bad belle pipul. Come 2018, Vinny will be the only Naija player with the most WC appearance. He will by the grace of God help us surpass our previous glory.

Thank God na oyibo be coach. He will only take guys who give him a chance at winning. Not players all the bad belle people have an issue with.

donadoni wrote:1. Vincent Enyeama is a legend and our joint highest capped player

End of Story.
No mind dem.

Na bad belle pipul. Come 2018, Vinny will be the only Naija player with the most WC appearance. He will by the grace of God help us surpass our previous glory.

Thank God na oyibo be coach. He will only take guys who give him a chance at winning. Not players all the bad belle people have an issue with.
Amen to that...Cellular, if you get through to Vincent I beg help me greet am. Tell am say hin boy for Atlanta dey say hello. :thumbs:

Van Der Sar played in a Champions League final for Man Utd at age 40!
mastermind

Post by mastermind »

Enyeama at any age is better than that goalie against Argentina.
http://www.melangeGO.com/
A family oriented online fashion store. Offering high quality products at low cost.

See how Tim Howard, the most decorated US player ever got them knocked out of Russia 2018:

At 38 (Real age, not football one), Howard simply could no longer move his feet. In 2014, Howard would have caught both balls with one hand. He holds the World Cup record for making the most saves in one match.

Today, he is seen in the US the same way we viewed Peter Rufai in 1998. This is what happens when a nation refuses to move on and respect the wishes of its icons to retire.

Vince decided to bow out when the ovation was loudest. Why should he risk his reputation by coming back?

It is only the footballing naive that think that the Vincent Enyeama of 2018 will be the same player we all marvelled at in 2018. Na for video game player no dey old!

Ayo Akinfe wrote:See how Tim Howard, the most decorated US player ever got them knocked out of Russia 2018:

At 38 (Real age, not football one), Howard simply could no longer move his feet. In 2014, Howard would have caught both balls with one hand. He holds the World Cup record for making the most saves in one match.

Today, he is seen in the US the same way we viewed Peter Rufai in 1998. This is what happens when a nation refuses to move on and respect the wishes of its icons to retire.

Vince decided to bow out when the ovation was loudest. Why should he risk his reputation by coming back?

It is only the footballing naive that think that the Vincent Enyeama of 2018 will be the same player we all marvelled at in 2018. Na for video game player no dey old!
There is something wrong with you wAyo!
Do you get time to read over your own post and see how ludicrous your argument here sound?
You start out referencing Buffon etc some of whom are way older than Vince and when they challenge you , you turn to "they started early" but Damunk refer to the fact that Vince started at early age too and you dirisively dismissed everyone by claiming you know Vince does not want to come back and now that Cellular turned down on its head, you descend into ad hominem
Son grow up

furiously frank wrote:
Ayo Akinfe wrote:See how Tim Howard, the most decorated US player ever got them knocked out of Russia 2018:

Do you get time to read over your own post and see how ludicrous your argument here sound?
You start out referencing Buffon etc some of whom are way older than Vince and when they challenge you , you turn to "they started early" but Damunk refer to the fact that Vince started at early age too and you dirisively dismissed everyone by claiming you know Vince does not want to come back and now that Cellular turned down on its head, you descend into ad hominem
Son grow up
You are talking incoherent nonsense. My point about Buffon, Cassilas, etc was that they all started as teenagers and as such Uzoho is perfectly suited to be Nigeria's number one.

Take it leave it but Enyeama is not interested in coming back. Why is that so hard for some of you to get into your skulls?

Rohr has already tasked Magnet to get fit and back to playing first team football.... Only then will he give him a look in. He will then get the goalkeeping coaches to run the rule over him. If they feel he deserves a spot and is better than what is already on ground, then Rohr will take him. It's as simple as that, all sentiments to one side.

Rohr has said time and time again that only the best players deserve to go the WC. Rohr will decide when the time comes, u guys should stop taking panadol for another man's headache.

furiously frank wrote:

Son grow up
I actually referred him to the fact that Enyeama started young... :D

furiously frank wrote:

Son grow up
You are talking incoherent nonsense. My point about Buffon, Cassilas, etc was that they all started as teenagers and as such Uzoho is perfectly suited to be Nigeria's number one.

Take it leave it but Enyeama is not interested in coming back. Why is that so hard for some of you to get into your skulls?
The thing that is so hard to understand is your incoherence. :idea:

End of Story.
Bros,

Vince is the highest capped player. Period. He is not joint with anybody. If we hope to go far, we need him in the team.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics