Page 1 of 2

Who else is bothered about the lack of headed goals

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:58 am
by Ayo Akinfe
[1] Have you noticed that in qualification, we only scored one headed goal? That was Kelechi Iheanacho's fourth goal against Cameroon in Uyo

[2] Personally, I attribute this to the fact that neither of the fullbacks - Shehu Abdullahi and Uwua Echiejile are good crossers of the ball

[3] Come the World Cup, this is a feature we have to add to our game. it must be an option that it available to the team

[4] cast your mind back to the 2002 World Cup. When Argentina could not break our defence down, they came out in the second half whipping crosses in like madness. Eventually, Gabriel Batistuta scored with a header they give them a 1-0 victory

[5] Also at the 2002 World Cup, Germany beat Saudi Arabia 8-0, with five of the goals coming from headers

[6] Come Russia 2018, we may be grouped with a team that is poor in the air, so this needs to be an area we exploit

[7] I would like to see how good Tyronne Ebuehi and Brian Idowu are at delivering crosses. I want to see the team work on this

[8] For now, we do not know how good we are at scoring headers. I know Odion Ighalo is fairly good in the air but have we ever worked ion feeding him crosses?

[9] To win the World Cup, you need a variety of scoring options - Headers, dead balls, playmaking, pace on the counter attack, intricate passing, shooting from distance, holding up the ball and bringing others into play, etc. At the moment, we appear to be too dependent on quick counter-attacks to score. With our recent publicity following the Argentina won, other teams will study that and take effective measures to counter it

[10] We still have a lot of work to do ladies and gentlemen. Do not be deluded into believing that we are home and dry. I await the March friendlies with eagerness

Re: Who else is bothered about the lack of headed goals

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:21 pm
by maceo4
We need to bring Bright Dike back so he can be heading in our goals like he did against Italy.

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:05 pm
by Molue Conductor
or Victor Agali

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:21 pm
by waka-man
The original Headmaster, Mutiu. Let’s call him to camp

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:28 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
We need to address the matter of delivery first. Mutiu would not have been that affective in the air without Finidi George in the team.

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:35 pm
by Flex Swift
maceo4 wrote:We need to bring Bright Dike back so he can be heading in our goals like he did against Italy.
And Sola , Uchebo and Nwofor 9ja best four years ago :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :. This thread is exposing the rambled thoughts of a mad man!!!!

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 3:22 pm
by jungle-jawara
Flex Swift wrote:
maceo4 wrote:We need to bring Bright Dike back so he can be heading in our goals like he did against Italy.
And Sola , Uchebo and Nwofor 9ja best four years ago :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :. This thread is exposing the rambled thoughts of a mad man!!!!

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

I swear u owe me another bottle for making me spill this one.

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 3:40 pm
by ceejay22

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 4:25 pm
by Cito
Ayo Akinfe wrote:We need to address the matter of delivery first. Mutiu would not have been that affective in the air without Finidi George in the team.
Then let's call Finidi back into the team...

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 4:26 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
Ayo Akinfe wrote:We need to address the matter of delivery first. Mutiu would not have been that affective in the air without Finidi George in the team.

Nope. You try and get your fullbacks or wingbacks to deliver Finidi-type crosses.

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 4:46 pm
by Cito

Nope. You try and get your fullbacks or wingbacks to deliver Finidi-type crosses.
And if they don't have it in the Arsenal?

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 5:03 pm
by jette1
SE with best header ever against Italy Shola Ameobi is still active and needs invitation

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 5:05 pm
by Ayo Akinfe

And if they don't have it in the Arsenal?

Serious teams that want to win trophies work on such delicate matters non-stop. Just look at the number of crosses Germany provided in this match:

It is things like this that differentiate the likes of Germany, Brazil, Italy, Spain and Holland sand make them different from the rest of the cut. I can guarantee you that Germany will go over crosses repeatedly at their training sessions again and again to make sure they get it right.

Our problem is that we qualify well, win a few games and then think we "have arrived." We do not pay attention to all these details and then get surprised when we lose to the big boys. In contrast, the Meinschaft will dot every I and cross every T.

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:23 pm
by green4life
jungle-jawara wrote:
Flex Swift wrote:

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

I swear u owe me another bottle for making me spill this one.

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:43 pm
by Coach
A case of Americanah, Nigeria has become so yankified the sentiment is all CTE, Codswallop Tosh Encephawhatever, whilst in rule Britannia it's CTE aka Peter Crouch 51 headed goals, Guinness World record holder. Two words, get the ball out wide, hit the byline and swing it in...that's more than two words, exactly!

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 7:02 pm
Coach wrote:A case of Americanah, Nigeria has become so yankified the sentiment is all CTE, Codswallop Tosh Encephawhatever, whilst in rule Britannia it's CTE aka Peter Crouch 51 headed goals, Guinness World record holder. Two words, get the ball out wide, hit the byline and swing it in...that's more than two words, exactly!

Bro, your wordsmithing is something else, can u write in straight simple English without some sort of colonial poetry? Dang... this is a Nigerian football forum not an English poetry forum. U sabi type in broken? My guess is you’ve prolly been in London at least 50yrs,always find your perspective rather odd.:laugh:

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 7:20 pm
by Odas
Coach wrote:A case of Americanah, Nigeria has become so yankified the sentiment is all CTE, Codswallop Tosh Encephawhatever, whilst in rule Britannia it's CTE aka Peter Crouch 51 headed goals, Guinness World record holder. Two words, get the ball out wide, hit the byline and swing it in...that's more than two words, exactly!
Bro, your wordsmithing is something else, can u write in straight simple English without some sort of colonial poetry? Dang... this is a Nigerian football forum not an English poetry forum. U sabi type in broken? My guess is you’ve prolly been in London at least 50yrs,always find your perspective rather odd.:laugh:
EMIR, please "told him", according to Zebrudayia! Several times, I have said the same thing you just stated to coach and yet he made no changes. I thought one key to communication is to ensure recipients understands the message being delivered clearly, else the whole exercise is a waste.

Coach; please Sir, clarify or simplify your message/grammar. I no be Oyibo man and I no wan be Oyibo man.

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 7:52 pm
by theYemster
Ayo Akinfe wrote:[1] Have you noticed that in qualification, we only scored one headed goal? That was Kelechi Iheanacho's fourth goal against Cameroon in Uyo

[2] Personally, I attribute this to the fact that neither of the fullbacks - Shehu Abdullahi and Uwua Echiejile are good crossers of the ball

[3] Come the World Cup, this is a feature we have to add to our game. it must be an option that it available to the team

[4] cast your mind back to the 2002 World Cup. When Argentina could not break our defence down, they came out in the second half whipping crosses in like madness. Eventually, Gabriel Batistuta scored with a header they give them a 1-0 victory

[5] Also at the 2002 World Cup, Germany beat Saudi Arabia 8-0, with five of the goals coming from headers

[6] Come Russia 2018, we may be grouped with a team that is poor in the air, so this needs to be an area we exploit

[7] I would like to see how good Tyronne Ebuehi and Brian Idowu are at delivering crosses. I want to see the team work on this

[8] For now, we do not know how good we are at scoring headers. I know Odion Ighalo is fairly good in the air but have we ever worked ion feeding him crosses?

[9] To win the World Cup, you need a variety of scoring options - Headers, dead balls, playmaking, pace on the counter attack, intricate passing, shooting from distance, holding up the ball and bringing others into play, etc. At the moment, we appear to be too dependent on quick counter-attacks to score. With our recent publicity following the Argentina won, other teams will study that and take effective measures to counter it

[10] We still have a lot of work to do ladies and gentlemen. Do not be deluded into believing that we are home and dry. I await the March friendlies with eagerness
Dude I've been saying this for years and I didn't need a "ten point" list to do so.

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 7:56 pm
by Undertaker
Ayo Akinfe wrote:[1] Have you noticed that in qualification, we only scored one headed goal? That was Kelechi Iheanacho's fourth goal against Cameroon in Uyo

Dude I've been saying this for years and I didn't need a "ten point" list to do so.
But you aren't AYO! :idea: :idea: :idea: :idea: :idea: :idea: :idea: :idea: :idea: :idea: :idea: :idea:

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 9:54 pm
by Damunk
waka-man wrote:The original Headmaster, Mutiu. Let’s call him to camp
Segun Odegbami is also still 'alife'.

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 10:00 pm
by ohenhen1
I am not concerned.

Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 9:04 am
by Ayo Akinfe
Remember our goal against Sweden in 2002 and Bulgaria in 1994? Do we have that capability today?

Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 11:13 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
I am not bothered.