Man City 'playing best football in Premier League history'

Re: Man City 'playing best football in Premier League histor

The invincibles were a heck of a lot more exciting than this Man City team. If that arsenal team played this man city team, arsenal will win

deanotito wrote:The invincibles were a heck of a lot more exciting than this Man City team. If that arsenal team played this man city team, arsenal will win
That Arsenal team had better players all around but this City is not done yet. The best is yet to come.

Kabalega wrote:
deanotito wrote:The invincibles were a heck of a lot more exciting than this Man City team. If that arsenal team played this man city team, arsenal will win
That Arsenal team had better players all around but this City is not done yet. The best is yet to come.

Well, the person said “best football in premier league history” based on what they’ve done so far. It’s not about the future. And based on what I’ve seen so far, i disagree. The invicibles would take them to the cleaners...and on top of that, there are about 2 or 3 Man Utd teams from the last 15 years that would beat them as well

Pep is getting his team where he always wanted it. Only injuries could be a problem for City. Loosing De Bruyne could spell some really trouble.

joplass wrote:Pep is getting his team where he always wanted it. Only injuries could be a problem for City. Loosing De Bruyne could spell some really trouble.
I don't think that it would hurt them as much as last season.

Pep has a plan B already.

deanotito wrote:
Kabalega wrote:

Well, the person said “best football in premier league history” based on what they’ve done so far. It’s not about the future. And based on what I’ve seen so far, i disagree. The invicibles would take them to the cleaners...and on top of that, there are about 2 or 3 Man Utd teams from the last 15 years that would beat them as well
People forget so fast,that invincible B team will even wire this team silly,you have legend all round that could not even start for the invincible.That invincible put fear in teams before kick off

spastic wrote: Pa,

As a defender Mangala is a decent tackler and would do well on a possession adverse team like Leicester who defend deep and then hit you with the speed of Vardy or the trickery of Mahrez.

At City though our defenders need to play and think like midfielders. Positive possession and movement. Confidence on the ball in dangerous situations and a willingness to stay open and continue to try stay open under pressure.

None of the above is normal for Mangala. He was way better against Leicester than against Wolves in the cup, and yes many City fans have a short leash where he is concerned.

And in fairness the same idiotic fans were equally as unkind to Stones last season.

There is a subtle difference though. Mangala's completion % is always very high. But it is purposely deceiving. He is cautious and often negative with his possession. This guarantees a high rate of passing success, but with a lower rate of play development. Stones on the other hand last season took the risks stuck with the process and help make it better.

In a way its really a microcosmic expression of reality. Those who are willing to risk failure have the greatest chance of true success. And those who spend their time trying to avoid minor failure never learn enough to be truly successful.

At the core Stones got that. From what I saw of Mangala against Leicester, it seems Pep has broken thru. You can only fail if you don't try.

He was surpringly more progressive against Leicester and even though he gave away 2 bad passes I was happier with this performance than what had been his norm.

As for Kompany, too many City fans are blinded by his faded greatness. Its no different from how Eagles fans used to call for Martin's long after he had stopped being an effective striker.

In conclusion, Mangala will never be a starter at City. Stones and Otamendi ate far better players and Kompany has history and credit with the club and fans. But Mangala as the 4th CB I'm okay with. Unfortunately, lots of City fans aren't.

Chief, he isn't a better anything than Stones. Stones is the best defender at the club. Not the best footballer on defense, which by the way he also is, but he is also the best pure defender now. Otamendi is close.

Stones is the leader of that defense.

John Stones - King of the North. The Barnsley Beckenbaur.
My bros spazz,
I fully expected you to bring comedy to this matter, and you have not disappointed. I have highlighted the comedic comments you have made just for those laggards who can't get a punch line that is punching them in the face. :D :taunt:

The one that had me rolling on the floor is comparing Stones to Beckenbauer. You've obviously never seen Der Kaiser play. That Stones, who looked like the worst defender in the league a season ago, can be compared to one of the greatest to play the game is proof that you are not serious. :D :taunt:

Chief, jokes aside, Stones has obviously improved. So has Mangala. Mangala stepped in for Stones yesterday, and I did not see that there was a loss in defensive quality. Maybe you did, but be specific and point it out to me. Please be mindful that I watched a recorded version that allowed me to rewind and fast forward, and I have not deleted it from my recorder yet. While Stones may be better at playing the ball out of defence, Mangala has far more pace and is a better tackler. I suggest that we will get to see more of him in the second half barring any foolishness on Pep's part in January.

Other teams will eventually figure City out. Actually Leicester were making a good case until that yeye Mahrez kept ephing up :mad: defend well, and find holds in their half of the field, take your chances and GBAM...they have an 8 point lead...if Spurs and Manure beat/take points from them alloverasudden they wont look so special anymore. Remember this is how they started last season :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

paj wrote:Other teams will eventually figure City out. Actually Leicester were making a good case until that yeye Mahrez kept ephing up :mad: defend well, and find holds in their half of the field, take your chances and GBAM...they have an 8 point lead...if Spurs and Manure beat/take points from them alloverasudden they wont look so special anymore. Remember this is how they started last season :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
They are playing better than last season.
Heck, they lost to LCFC 4-2 last season, and Pep got rid of 6 players in that game.

This is a new City. Even Sterling is having moments of brilliance games. :shock:

People forget that the Leicester game turned on two tightrope moments:

1) the ref NOT sending off Kompany in the first 5 minutes for bringing down Vardy; and
2) Maguire hit the post with the score at 1-0 to City, then when the ball rebounded off the post, City counter-attacked, went down the other end of the pitch and KDB scored.

Would have been a very different game if Kompany saw red (how would City have coped playing with 10 men for 85 minutes?) or if that Maguire shot had hit the inside of the post and gone in (how would City have reacted with the score at 1-1 against a resurgent Leicester and a rabid home crowd?).
paj wrote:Other teams will eventually figure City out. Actually Leicester were making a good case until that yeye Mahrez kept ephing up :mad: defend well, and find holds in their half of the field, take your chances and GBAM...they have an 8 point lead...if Spurs and Manure beat/take points from them alloverasudden they wont look so special anymore. Remember this is how they started last season :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

wiseone wrote:People forget that the Leicester game turned on two tightrope moments:

1) the ref NOT sending off Kompany in the first 5 minutes for bringing down Vardy; and
2) Maguire hit the post with the score at 1-0 to City, then when the ball rebounded off the post, City counter-attacked, went down the other end of the pitch and KDB scored.

Would have been a very different game if Kompany saw red (how would City have coped playing with 10 men for 85 minutes?) or if that Maguire shot had hit the inside of the post and gone in (how would City have reacted with the score at 1-1 against a resurgent Leicester and a rabid home crowd?).
City will drop points in their next 5 games,they have stay unbeaten thanks to their luck with most decision going their way.
8 points not too far away.Beloved stand the better chance to stop them :taunt:

those.academy.City.players

amazing

YUJAM wrote: BTW notice how Thiefco has been MIA. Ghana had a massive DNW and Pep is revolutionizing English football. SHORT-sightedness is not good.

you still have not learnt from your foot-in-mouth last season

200m on defenders, right?

Una done come again. Yes, 8 to 9 pt gap is huge but it is still fairly early days. Last season, we read similar articles when City opened up an 8pt gap on the eventual winners. City has played good football but they have also been fortunate with injuries and favorable calls relative to their top 6 competitors. My point is, there is still a lot of football to play.

Kabalega wrote:
They are playing better than last season.
Heck, they lost to LCFC 4-2 last season, and Pep got rid of 6 players in that game.

This is a new City. Even Sterling is having moments of brilliance games. :shock:
You can tell people who watch football as opposed to people who watch brands. Anybody comparing this City team to last year's team doesn't watch City. They are play far better now and have taken to Pep's system quite well compared to last year.

wiseone wrote:People forget that the Leicester game turned on two tightrope moments:

Lame excuses. So you're telling me that it's City's fault that the ball hit the post? Is that the only moment Leceister had to shine? The game is played in 90 mins plus change and all that time all Leceister could do to threaten City was muster a shot that hit the post?

This same City team came back and won against a Napoli side that's far stronger than Leceister. You people need to stop making excuses and just acknowledge City are a good team. Just because they are not your brands doesn't mean they've been lucky everytime they've played well.

tfco wrote::clap: :clap: :clap:

those.academy.City.players

amazing
We have the all academy Man Utd team doing well...8 points behind.

To me, the ref not sending off Kompany is Exhibit A for a case of Bias. That was a CLEAR red card....

deanotito wrote:

To me, the ref not sending off Kompany is Exhibit A for a case of Bias. That was a CLEAR red card....
It was not clear. John Stones was technically between the foul spot and the goal line.

You blame the goal post too for denying Leicester a goal just before City scored?

Anyway, fortune favors the brave. :D
Last edited by Kabalega on Tue Nov 21, 2017 7:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Not "blaming" the post! Just stating that City's position is not as unassailable as people make out. The Leicester result was not a routine win and actually turned on two hairline moments that would have made it a very different game with a different decision by the ref or if Maguire had placed his shot 4 inches further to the left.
Kabalega wrote: It was not clear. John Stones was technically between the foul spot and the goal line.

You blame the goal post too for denying Leicester a goal just before City scored too?

wiseone wrote:Not "blaming" the post! Just stating that City's position is not as unassailable as people make out. The Leicester result was not a routine win and actually turned on two hairline moments that would have made it a very different game with a different decision by the ref or if Maguire had placed his shot 4 inches further to the left.
Kabalega wrote: It was not clear. John Stones was technically between the foul spot and the goal line.

You blame the goal post too for denying Leicester a goal just before City scored too?

Champions grind out results regardless.

City will face tougher opposition than LCFC, but going by events on the green grass so far, their biggest opponents will be themselves.
Last edited by Kabalega on Wed Nov 22, 2017 2:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Runaway champions in the EPL are quite rare. Newcastle were 12 points clear of Man Utd in 1996 and Man Utd ran them down and caught them. Man Utd were also 8 points clear in 1998 and Arsenal clawed back the lead. There are simply too many banana skins in English football for a team to walk the title.
Kabalega wrote: Champions grind out results regardless.

City will face tougher opposition that LCFC, but going by events on the green grass so far, their biggest opponents will be themselves.

A team with Otamendi and Stones can never be the best in Prem history. As for most entertaining...it's arguable whether they are more entertaining than the current Liverpool team never-mind the invinsibles.