Nigeria Expected to Fall in FIFA Ranking....

Believe it or not, Nigeria's ranking will fall in spite of its recent result. Guess what? Cameroon expected to move ahead of Nigeria!! Is this not hilarious? This is why people :roll: :roll: at FIFA Ranking. Nigeria's ranking falls to #50 by early next week. Nigeria is expected to lose points. To follow ranking predictions you can always check out the link below (Too long to post the story here):

http://www.football-rankings.info/2017/ ... eview.html
Last edited by Enugu II on Mon Nov 20, 2017 12:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Nigeria Expected to Fall in FIFA Ranking....

We remain in pot 4 no matter what.. We should move up in the Dec ranking, although that will not be be relevant for the draw...

FIFA ranking always favoring South America and Europe.....or North Africa teams.....Peru ranking is prime example.

There are easy ways to improve your rankings , just follow the model of Poland, Wales etc... these countries hired mathematicians to beat the rankings systems..play weaker teams, avoid playing top nations and also avoid playing games..however it will expose some nations come major tournaments. .

Bigpokey24 wrote:There are easy ways to improve your rankings , just follow the model of Poland, Wales etc... these countries hired mathematicians to beat the rankings systems..play weaker teams, avoid playing top nations and also avoid playing games..however it will expose some nations come major tournaments. .
KPOM. The only thing I would change is that you will play more games than you will avoid because more games provide more points.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

All countries have the same number of FIFA windows to play with. In between are the continental tournaments, not qualifying for the last ANC had far reaching consequences..

Mr Shows wrote:All countries have the same number of FIFA windows to play with. In between are the continental tournaments, not qualifying for the last ANC had far reaching consequences..
Yeah. It helped Naija go up in rankings.

Kabalega wrote:
Mr Shows wrote:All countries have the same number of FIFA windows to play with. In between are the continental tournaments, not qualifying for the last ANC had far reaching consequences..
We definitely would have climbed a few more places...

Mr Shows wrote:
Kabalega wrote:
You realize that most teams ranked ahead of Naija dropped in rankings while a dormant Naija climbed.

Kabalega wrote:
Mr Shows wrote:
Kabalega wrote:
You realize that most teams ranked ahead of Naija dropped in rankings while a dormant Naija climbed.
Because they performed terribly at the afcon. Cameroon won and rose.

It is skewed towards UEFA and South America. They even get more points for their games. They play more games than CAF. Even if Nigeria wins the world cup. We won't be ranked first in the world. Lets say England is a finalist. England after a couple of UEFA games will be ahead of Nigeria in the rankings. CAF people are mugus to agree to such nonsense.

Synopsis wrote:
Kabalega wrote:
Mr Shows wrote:
Kabalega wrote:
Because they performed terribly at the afcon. Cameroon won and rose.
What makes you think that a Naija that couldn't even qualify would have performed well enough to rise in rankings?

You guys don't understand these rankings. Naija rose in rankings by not risking the points they had while others lost points.

Wales ranked 13th, did the same thing by not playing games.
See the article below.

TOP RANKING Fifa to tighten up World Cup ranking system after Russia 2018 as rules allow countries such as Wales to boost seedings by playing fewer friendlies
Playing non-competitive games can jeopardise a nation's standing so Fifa intends to bring in more competitive games for every country
By Warren Haughton
17th November 2017, 3:09 pmUpdated: 17th November 2017, 3:41 pm

FIFA are set to tighten up seeding rules which have allowed countries such as Wales to boost their World Cup rankings by limiting the amount of friendlies they play.

Inside World Football report new rules could be implemented after the Russia World Cup.

Wales are ranked 13th by Fifa
The current system has allowed some countries to gain an unfair advantage over busier national sides.

World Cup seedings are based on the FIFA world rankings, using a points system which calculates average points for each game, and that has included friendly matches.

Wales are one of the nations to benefit from the current system, having played fewer friendlies and had less risk of losing ranking points.

Chris Coleman’s side, who failed to qualify for next summer’s World Cup, have moved up to 13th in the rankings.
After a friendly against Holland in 2014 the Welsh did not play another non-competitive game for 17 months.

Source

Kabalega wrote: What makes you think that a Naija that couldn't even qualify would have performed well enough to rise in rankings?

You guys don't understand these rankings. Naija rose in rankings by not risking the points they had while others lost points.

See the article below.

----------------

TOP RANKING Fifa to tighten up World Cup ranking system after Russia 2018 as rules allow countries such as Wales to boost seedings by playing fewer friendlies

Playing non-competitive games can jeopardise a nation's standing so Fifa intends to bring in more competitive games for every
From the article you posted, you could cheat the points system by avoiding non-competitive games but The AFCON is all competitive games. So it seems you don't even understand what you're saying.

We had A LOT of off-field political/admin issues for the last two AFCONs. In-fighting in the NFF, court cases, coaching problems etc. Nigeria failed to qualify for the 2017 AFCON not because they were not good enough, but because the coach (Oliseh), that had spent the last 2 years with the team, resigned, and at short notice we had to bring in the U23 coach as a CARETAKER for the last 2 games. Well, it didn't work and it wasn't such a surprise.

So, get this straight, Nigeria failed to qualify for those AFCONS because of something you've constantly acknowledged for other teams that performed poorly against us - OFF-FIELD admin issues.

We've always been able to get our act together just enough to do well at the AFCON tournament itself. You'll be hard-pressed to find an AFCON that Nigeria participated in and failed to get to the last 4. I can only remember 1982 in the 40 yrs or so.

Its OBVIOUS Nigeria lost points by not qualifying for those 2 AFCONs. Had we qualified (and yes, from history we would have at least made the last 4) we would be #1 or #2 in Africa right now.

Kabalega wrote:
Synopsis wrote:Because they performed terribly at the afcon. Cameroon won and rose.
What makes you think that a Naija that couldn't even qualify would have performed well enough to rise in rankings?
History that's what. Nigeria historically have had a harder time qualifying for the AFCON tourney than progressing in the main tournament. If they qualify for the AFCON they usually make the semis at the very least.

I think since 1976 of all the maybe approximately sixteen AFCONs Nigeria has qualified for, they've failed to make the semi finals maybe only twice. 1982 and one other time. Can't remember. Will have to look it up.

Just looked it up...2008. Quarter final. That's the worst performance since as far back as I can remember, which is at the very least 1976.

Bigpokey24 wrote:There are easy ways to improve your rankings , just follow the model of Poland, Wales etc... these countries hired mathematicians to beat the rankings systems..play weaker teams, avoid playing top nations and also avoid playing games..however it will expose some nations come major tournaments. .
I've long been an advocate for gaming the system but that's not how you do it.

You do it by playing very few friendlies but playing and defeating teams who are higher in the rankings. You don't get much for defeating teams lower in the rankings.

Orion wrote:
Kabalega wrote: What makes you think that a Naija that couldn't even qualify would have performed well enough to rise in rankings?

See the article below.

----------------

Playing non-competitive games can jeopardise a nation's standing so Fifa intends to bring in more competitive games for every
From the article you posted, you could cheat the points system by avoiding non-competitive games but The AFCON is all competitive games. So it seems you don't even understand what you're saying.

We had A LOT of off-field political/admin issues for the last two AFCONs. In-fighting in the NFF, court cases, coaching problems etc. Nigeria failed to qualify for the 2017 AFCON not because they were not good enough, but because the coach (Oliseh), that had spent the last 2 years with the team, resigned, and at short notice we had to bring in the U23 coach as a CARETAKER for the last 2 games. Well, it didn't work and it wasn't such a surprise.

So, get this straight, Nigeria failed to qualify for those AFCONS because of something you've constantly acknowledged for other teams that performed poorly against us - OFF-FIELD admin issues.

We've always been able to get our act together just enough to do well at the AFCON tournament itself. You'll be hard-pressed to find an AFCON that Nigeria participated in and failed to get to the last 4. I can only remember 1982 in the 40 yrs or so.

Its OBVIOUS Nigeria lost points by not qualifying for those 2 AFCONs. Had we qualified (and yes, from history we would have at least made the last 4) we would be #1 or #2 in Africa right now.
What kind of reasoning is this?

How sure are you that all the excuses you gave for not qualifying would not affect you in AFCON if you luckily qualified?

Kabalega wrote:
Orion wrote:

See the article below.

----------------

How sure are you that all the excuses you gave for not qualifying would not affect you in AFCON if you luckily qualified?
History. We've always had issues with qualifying but done well at the AFCON itself (after our players have spent a few weeks in camp together). In over 40 yrs when we've qualified we've failed to reach the last 4 only twice - 1982 and 2008.

Anyway, back to your original assertion which was proven false by the very article you posted. You can only cheat the system by avoiding non-competitive games. The AFCON is made up of competitive games that are actually highly rated, so you GAIN points from the AFCON. Had Nigeria qualified for both competitions we would be ranked at least in the top 3 in Africa now.

Not sure why you keep repeating this nonsense about rankings. If missing the AFCON makes you rank higher in Africa then why are the likes of Swaziland, Mauritius, Tanzania, Lesotho etc. not the highest ranked teams in Africa? It's so silly it's not even worth addressing.

AFCON is fine. The problem is CHAN - it does us no favours even if we were to beat every team silly.

Kabalega wrote:
Kai chief, na wah for you! Not playing the recent AFCON (2017) helped Nigeria in the ranking?

You do it by playing very few friendlies but playing and defeating teams who are higher in the rankings. You don't get much for defeating teams lower in the rankings.
I haven't done the math, but I think their angle was the coefficient of weaker European sides weighs more than that of equally weaker sides. Furthermore some average European sides do have reasonable ranking.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Romania (who have qualified for a grand total of 2 WCs in the last 22 years) gamed the system to reach number 8 in the world. That is an utter joke.
Tbite wrote:

I haven't done the math, but I think their angle was the coefficient of weaker European sides weighs more than that of equally weaker sides. Furthermore some average European sides do have reasonable ranking.

Orion wrote:
Kabalega wrote:
Orion wrote:

See the article below.

----------------

History. We've always had issues with qualifying but done well at the AFCON itself (after our players have spent a few weeks in camp together). In over 40 yrs when we've qualified we've failed to reach the last 4 only twice - 1982 and 2008.

Anyway, back to your original assertion which was proven false by the very article you posted. You can only cheat the system by avoiding non-competitive games. The AFCON is made up of competitive games that are actually highly rated, so you GAIN points from the AFCON. Had Nigeria qualified for both competitions we would be ranked at least in the top 3 in Africa now.

Not sure why you keep repeating this nonsense about rankings. If missing the AFCON makes you rank higher in Africa then why are the likes of Swaziland, Mauritius, Tanzania, Lesotho etc. not the highest ranked teams in Africa? It's so silly it's not even worth addressing.
Even with evidence right in front of you. Playing games not just friendlies exposes you to losing points.

The only AFCON teams that saw massive gains in rankings were Cameroon (which was initially ranked rather low) and Egypt, which hired experts to game the system about two years earlier.
During that time. Naija rose up in rankings.

How do you explain that jump?

Some guys only come out once every four years and start yearning opaks. :)
Where were you when we were yabbing FIFA for gifting a dormant Naija points? :D

Kabalega wrote:
Kai chief, na wah for you! Not playing the recent AFCON (2017) helped Nigeria in the ranking?
Well, look up the trend history.

In case you missed it, Naija's playing in WC and friendlies and AFCON qualifiers has led to a drop in ranking.
Care to explain that? :D
Last edited by Kabalega on Mon Nov 20, 2017 11:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.