Is Elderson Echiéjilé At Risk Of Losing Super Eagles Spot?

Re: Is Elderson Echiéjilé At Risk Of Losing Super Eagles Spo

papilo wrote:Should he be our first choice left back at the world cup? Definitely NOT!! Should he be in the squad of 23? Definitely. His experience is needed as a squad member but not as a starter. He is also a good back up to have at a world cup due to his experience and being the only natural left back we have at the moment but I don't think he should be a starter anymore.

Please tell us the experience he has, aside from being rejected from one club to another! Is he even a starter in his backyard club now?

Cito wrote:The best at each position gets the nod irrespective of past performances. If he feels he should be there , then his level of play should Mirror that. No sentiments.
Why??? We are not interested in the best, my friend! Experience counts! :clap: :clap:
Feelings and sentiments trumps facts and performances to some on here.
solo

Post by solo »

papilo wrote:Should he be our first choice left back at the world cup? Definitely NOT!! Should he be in the squad of 23? Definitely. His experience is needed as a squad member but not as a starter. He is also a good back up to have at a world cup due to his experience and being the only natural left back we have at the moment but I don't think he should be a starter anymore.

Please tell us the
experience
he has, aside from being rejected from one club to another! Is he even a starter in his backyard club now?

That was how they carry Experienced, injured Keshi (blessed memory) to 1994 WC

bret- hart wrote:
Lolly wrote:I still believe he gets a lot of unfair criticism from our armchair analysts. The guy still deserves a place in the WC squad ahead of Aina and Idowu. He is still a good player with bags of experience.

Spoken like a true B uhari sycophant. No wonder Nigeria is heading to the abyss.
Another pained IPOBian following me around. I will soon deal with you when I have your time. Go and ask the others.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Time to weed out all the old guard. Nigeria has moved on from them: http://owngoalnigeria.com/2017/11/20/ah ... oach-puel/

mcal wrote:...23 man squad means 2 per position with 3 goalies.
If the current 2 left backs falters he will be called in.
Their season is still far out, they will play tough to earn their pay at club, and even tougher to earn a place to play for country, the world cup starts in earnest.
The coach will be watching.
How does the coach observe Echiejile at his club when he rarely sees action there?
...sitting on the bench does not mean 'not-match-fit'. In fact it can be a plus as the player carry no injury. He is tested, and have played for SE before, so it's not like he is newbie.
papilo

Post by papilo »

ogasir wrote:Would Elderson have made that overlapping run Idowu made before scoring against Argentina? Anyway the decision is Rohr's to make
Probably not but if we are being honest, age has a lot to do with it. I know this is a topic we don't like to talk about but it is the truth.
yes o

We appear to be in a conundrum regarding our full backs. We currently have Shehu Abdullahi, Uwa Echejilie, Ola Aina, Tyronne Ebuehi and Bryan Idowu. And we also have Stanley Amuzie who starred in the 2016 Olympics and started the two games against Egypt in 2016. Aina, Ebuehi and Idowu can play both right and left back. Shehu can play defensive midfield, and in fact plays there regularly for his club. Echiejilie is the most experienced. We can only take a maximum of four of them. Who drops?

Obong wrote:We appear to be in a conundrum regarding our full backs. We currently have Shehu Abdullahi, Uwa Echejilie, Ola Aina, Tyronne Ebuehi and Bryan Idowu. And we also have Stanley Amuzie who starred in the 2016 Olympics and started the two games against Egypt in 2016. Aina, Ebuehi and Idowu can play both right and left back. Shehu can play defensive midfield, and in fact plays there regularly for his club. Echiejilie is the most experienced. We can only take a maximum of four of them. Who drops?

You are in a conondrum!

Rightback
Tyronne Ebuehi
Shehu Abdullahi

Leftback
Brian Idowu
Ola Aina

Central midfield
Mikel Obi
Wilfred Ndidi
Ogenyi Onazi
Joel Obi

I do not know what more there is to discuss!

Obong wrote:We appear to be in a conundrum regarding our full backs. We currently have Shehu Abdullahi, Uwa Echejilie, Ola Aina, Tyronne Ebuehi and Bryan Idowu. And we also have Stanley Amuzie who starred in the 2016 Olympics and started the two games against Egypt in 2016. Aina, Ebuehi and Idowu can play both right and left back. Shehu can play defensive midfield, and in fact plays there regularly for his club. Echiejilie is the most experienced. We can only take a maximum of four of them. Who drops?

You are in a conondrum!

Rightback
Tyronne Ebuehi
Shehu Abdullahi

Leftback
Brian Idowu
Ola Aina

Central midfield
Mikel Obi
Wilfred Ndidi
Ogenyi Onazi
Joel Obi

...and so shall it be because Ayo said so :D

You are in a conondrum!

Rightback
Tyronne Ebuehi
Shehu Abdullahi

Leftback
Brian Idowu
Ola Aina

Central midfield
Mikel Obi
Wilfred Ndidi
Ogenyi Onazi
Joel Obi

Watch this space!

This experience counts mantra is getting old already, I can understand if it's in the context of a goal keeping position where we might need Enyeama's return, but in the LB the young stalwarts in Idowu and Aina have pretty much sealed the deal... there is nothing exemplary Echejilie(with due respect to his service to Nigeria) brings at this point... experience this experience that, like that saved Italy from elimination with the likes of Buffon...

You are in a conondrum!

Rightback
Tyronne Ebuehi
Shehu Abdullahi

Leftback
Brian Idowu
Ola Aina

Central midfield
Mikel Obi
Wilfred Ndidi
Ogenyi Onazi
Joel Obi

Watch this space!
If you are wrong?

You are in a conondrum!

Rightback
Tyronne Ebuehi
Shehu Abdullahi

Leftback
Brian Idowu
Ola Aina

Central midfield
Mikel Obi
Wilfred Ndidi
Ogenyi Onazi
Joel Obi

Watch this space!
If you are wrong?

Until then. March will soon be upon us. Those two friendlies will reveal all.

Please what has Ola Aina done in the GWG to seal the LB spot? Did we watch the same first half of the game against Argentina?? Where he was caught out of position numerous times with the Argies using his wing to get behind our defence. Ola Aina hasn't been scrutinized, perhaps because we thrashed Argentina. He is not confirmed yet.
The only guy that really impressed me was Ebuehi, hardly put a foot wrong in that game. Idowu needs more time in the SE, nothing is guaranteed yet. If Echiejile's time has come, it's not a bad thing. But this great eagle must be respected and thanked for his service not hounded out of the team. His bad performance against Zambia is overstated, surely we haven't seen the last of him. Competition is a good thing and so is having options.

jdizzy

Post by jdizzy »

The difference in Man City from last season to this year is replacing 4 old fullbacks (Sagna, Kolarov, Clichy & Zabaleta) with younger guns that can fly up and down the pitch. Echejile has served Naija well...will always have my respect but we have better options for Russia
Niente Ÿ impossibile!
Chxta

Post by Chxta »

How many games has Echiejile played for Sivaspoor this season? Is he a starter?
Onye kwe, Chi ya ekwe

felarey wrote:Please what has Ola Aina done in the GWG to seal the LB spot? Did we watch the same first half of the game against Argentina?? Where he was caught out of position numerous times with the Argies using his wing to get behind our defence. Ola Aina hasn't been scrutinized, perhaps because we thrashed Argentina. He is not confirmed yet.
The only guy that really impressed me was Ebuehi, hardly put a foot wrong in that game. Idowu needs more time in the SE, nothing is guaranteed yet. If Echiejile's time has come, it's not a bad thing. But this great eagle must be respected and thanked for his service not hounded out of the team. His bad performance against Zambia is overstated, surely we haven't seen the last of him. Competition is a good thing and so is having options.
Gernot Rohr wants the team to play one match in Abuja before leaving for Russia. Maybe that could be used as a fond farewell for Echiejile, Musa and Akpeyi.

Watching that last radio interview that Rohr gave on youtube, he was praising Elderson for the way he handled the "best player at the Afcon" during the Cameroon matches. It surely won't be easy for Elderson to be cut from the team. He's been observed the longest in competitive situations. So he's the devil that Rohr knows very well.

greg wrote:Watching that last radio interview that Rohr gave on youtube, he was praising Elderson for the way he handled the "best player at the Afcon" during the Cameroon matches. It surely won't be easy for Elderson to be cut from the team. He's been observed the longest in competitive situations. So he's the devil that Rohr knows very well.
If we let the likes of Chukwu, Odegbami, Yekini, Okocha, Kanu, Yobo, Taribo, etc go, we can find a diplomatic way to do likewise for Echiejile. Maybe a match in his honour with his state governor giving him an award in appreciation of his service.

felarey wrote:Please what has Ola Aina done in the GWG to seal the LB spot? Did we watch the same first half of the game against Argentina?? Where he was caught out of position numerous times with the Argies using his wing to get behind our defence. Ola Aina hasn't been scrutinized, perhaps because we thrashed Argentina. He is not confirmed yet.
Gernot Rohr wants the team to play one match in Abuja before leaving for Russia. Maybe that could be used as a fond farewell for Echiejile, Musa and Akpeyi.
Farewell to wantonly discard a player that played through the qualifiers for a potential with some second half mins against Zambia and a bad day at the office against top class opposition. If SE had lost that game, CE would be saying Echiejile is still needed. Ola Aina is yet to prove he's international class material that can perform against top players and needs to earn the spot not crowned with it. The jury is still out on Brian Idowu, competent performance, nothing more. Unlike Ebuehi that put up a world class show.

We are not out of the woods yet at left back, lets not over promote players only to dump them when we find out they're not ready. Those March friendlies will come in handy.

I also don't get the constant disrespect of Musa on this forum. He's out of favour at his club at the moment but will likely move soon to another club that will play him. Where was Iwobi earlier this year? What about Iheanacho? Yet they were wonderful against Argentina. Even Musa did well and gave an assist but the ovations seem to have passed him by. Musa is definitely still part of this team. Akpeyi brought his own upon himself, he needs to dig deep and get rid of those nightmare moments.

felarey wrote:
Farewell to wantonly discard a player that played through the qualifiers for a potential with some second half mins against Zambia and a bad day at the office against top class opposition. If SE had lost that game, CE would be saying Echiejile is still needed. Ola Aina is yet to prove he's international class material that can perform against top players and needs to earn the spot not crowned with it. The jury is still out on Brian Idowu, competent performance, nothing more. Unlike Ebuehi that put up a world class show.

We are not out of the woods yet at left back, lets not over promote players only to dump them when we find out they're not ready. Those March friendlies will come in handy.

I also don't get the constant disrespect of Musa on this forum. He's out of favour at his club at the moment but will likely move soon to another club that will play him. Where was Iwobi earlier this year? What about Iheanacho? Yet they were wonderful against Argentina. Even Musa did well and gave an assist but the ovations seem to have passed him by. Musa is definitely still part of this team. Akpeyi brought his own upon himself, he needs to dig deep and get rid of those nightmare moments.

The fans know what is needed if we are to do well at the World Cup. we cannot afford to be sentimental if we want to excel.

It will be bad of Nigeria to drop Elderson!! Yes give him someone to challenge him but to drop him!! That is plain wrong...