Look at how Mikel and Iwobi were playing with children

Re: Look at how Mikel and Iwobi were playing with children

wiseone wrote:Strange that. Since Mikel did an interview earlier this week stating that Keane was his mentor and "bodyguard" when he did his trials at Man Utd (while Scholes and the Neville Brothers were trying to kick lumps out of him). Would be strange if SAF had planned to sign a teenager to replace his inspirational veteran captain.

green4life wrote: This is a bunch of bull. Especially the part about ManU guaranteeing him success as an AM. ... Fergie's plan was for Mikel to replace Roy Keane who played ..... (one hint: Not AM) :lol:
The key word in your response is "veteran". Keane wasn't getting younger and Mikel at the time was 18yrs old. Given the pace of the league and how Fergie liked to set up his team, that is the main player that he would've replaced. The fact that Carrick for the Keane role susbsequently arrived further supports my angle - see the quote below from UK Guardian in 2006:
United will hope as much having missed out on Michael Essien, Mahamadou Diarra and John Obi Mikel as they sought a replacement for Keane. Strengthening remains a priority even after Carrick's arrival, however, with the void left by Ruud van Nistelrooy's £10.3m sale still to be plugged. https://www.theguardian.com/football/20 ... ory.sport2

In any event, Mikel still won every trophy possible domestically and in Europe so he didn't miss anything.

kajifu wrote:Can someone name me any team you g to the world cup that Mikel will not walk in and start?
I think Mikel is the few players going to world cup that will start in any team in Russsia.
Good think likes of Iwobi will also walk into almost any world cup team and start.So why will this team not think of going to win the dam world cup?
Who would Mikel bench in the German midfield?

kajifu wrote:Can someone name me any team you g to the world cup that Mikel will not walk in and start?
I think Mikel is the few players going to world cup that will start in any team in Russsia.
Good think likes of Iwobi will also walk into almost any world cup team and start.So why will this team not think of going to win the dam world cup?
CAN

jette1 wrote:it is safe to say Mikel is the greatest Nigerian to ever play the game
Another one? :roll:
Until you can disprove it then there is no one above him per accomplishment on world stage

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

jette1 wrote:it is safe to say Mikel is the greatest Nigerian to ever play the game
Until you can disprove it then there is no one above him per accomplishment on world stage
It's for you to prove, not for me to disprove.

CAN
So he would bench someone who starts from the bench...

Igugu

Post by Igugu »

ogasir wrote:Obi Mikel will be missed when he retires. The SE will miss him more than Okocha after he retired
Hopefully Nwakali can step up to the plate.

CAN
Hmmm, abeg let's stop this, no single top World Cup team is fielding anybody from China.

Argentina have suffered :taunt:

Mikel was in this one too

I don't rate that 4-1 victory, that Argentinian side was significantly under strength.

I rate the 4-2 win as our first real win against Argentina.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

A note of caution....At the last Confederations cup, I saw a lot of impressive play from our boys. (Remember the famous "Run my Race")

When we got to the WC, all the fancy play seemed to evaporate...like it was a different team. Beware of reading too much into displays in exhibition games....there were points during the Argentina game where the pace from both teams was pretty pedestrian. You won't see a lot of that at the WC

CAN
Hmmm, abeg let's stop this, no single top World Cup team is fielding anybody from China.
Brazil have a player in China, Augusto, I think that is his name.

CAN
Oscar might still be there too, not sure.... it's not a league I follow.

CAN
Oscar might still be there too, not sure.... it's not a league I follow.
But you see how much you guys are struggling to name them, and the current Brazil is not even that strong. Lets just appreciate what we have, we don't need other countries to validate what we got. But let Mikel go out there and show them how good he is. He didn't do it at the last WC, he needs to show his current form on the world stage as Onazi outplayed him at the last one.

He was playing like this while he was at Chelsea
At the 2013 confed cup he was unbelievable
bully12 wrote:
Robotnik wrote:
green4life wrote:There was a chest trap Mikel pull off while surrounded by 3 Argentines late in the second half, then dribbled 1 or 2 before being hacked down. I think around the 80+ min. Kai.
Right Here

Honestly I never knew that Mikel has such scintillating and exquisite skill . How did he suppress this kind of talent all these years . If he had displayed this kind of mesmerizing skill all these years he could have been in this same class with Messi and Ronaldo. I'm overwhelmingly flabbergasted .
His creative instincts were suppressed at Chelsea for so many years that he virtually 'forgot' how to express himself. He was mandated to 'keep it simple' and the disciplined player that he is, stuck to instructions even at the expense of relentless abuse from Chelsea and Nigeria fans.
Much respect earned for that.

Now Rohr has encouraged him to be himself and its all coming back...albeit slowly.
At first, I wasn't entirely convinced it was the right thing to do, but as his confidence has increased it is obvious he has those skills and never really lost them.

In addition, Mikel is known for his phenomenal physical strength and it has always been very hard to get the ball off him. See how he was casually holding off several Argentinian players as if they were children trying to snatch biscuit from dem Papa hand. :D
The only way you can get the ball off him is when he turns into unseen traffic - usually when he should have released the ball a little earlier. Hopefully, that will get better with time.

Mikel is our greatest asset and a worthy captain. We are blessed to have him lead a bunch of equally gifted emerging talents like Iwobi, Iheanacho, Uzoho and yes, Onyekuru.

bully12 wrote:
Robotnik wrote:
green4life wrote:There was a chest trap Mikel pull off while surrounded by 3 Argentines late in the second half, then dribbled 1 or 2 before being hacked down. I think around the 80+ min. Kai.
Right Here

Honestly I never knew that Mikel has such scintillating and exquisite skill . How did he suppress this kind of talent all these years . If he had displayed this kind of mesmerizing skill all these years he could have been in this same class with Messi and Ronaldo. I'm overwhelmingly flabbergasted .
His creative instincts were suppressed at Chelsea for so many years that he virtually 'forgot' how to express himself. He was mandated to 'keep it simple' and the disciplined player that he is, stuck to instructions even at the expense of relentless abuse from Chelsea and Nigeria fans.

Now Rohr has encouraged him to be himself and its all coming back...albeit slowly.
At first, I wasn't entirely convinced it was the right thing to do, but as his confidence has increased it is obvious he has those skills and never really lost them.

In addition, Mikel is known for his phenomenal physical strength and it has always been very hard to get the ball off him. See how he was casually holding off several Argentinian players as if they were children trying to snatch biscuit from dem Papa hand. :D
The only way you can get the ball off him is when he turns into unseen traffic - usually when he should have released the ball a little earlier. Hopefully, that will get better with time.

Mikel is our greatest asset and a worthy captain. We are blessed to have him lead a bunch of equally gifted emerging talents like Iwobi, Iheanacho, Uzoho and yes, Onyekuru.
Na brah... Naijarian coaches recognized him as being a 10... Siasia, Amodu, Eguavoen, Keshi... the role he played for Chelsea just shows you about his adaptability. That is why fans of Chelsea can't begin to understand how come he plays the 10 role for Naijaria... as if we are using him wrongly.

Chelsea used him wrongly. Not us!
Keshi did not play him as a numbers 10 stop rewriting history!!
Under keshi He was played as DM in a double pivot midfield alongside onazi
Ironically that was a period in which we desperately lacked a number 10
I, vancity eagle and many others could not fathom why keshi refused to play him further forward
Instead he played the likes of mba, osaze and uchebo there before finally settling on babatunde in the number 10 role
The first coach to trust mikel with the number 10 role was siasia at rio
Rohr just followed on from there

smartbrother wrote:
Cellular wrote:Na brah... Naijarian coaches recognized him as being a 10... Siasia, Amodu, Eguavoen, Keshi... the role he played for Chelsea just shows you about his adaptability. That is why fans of Chelsea can't begin to understand how come he plays the 10 role for Naijaria... as if we are using him wrongly.

I, vancity eagle and many others could not fathom why keshi refused to play him further forward
Instead he played the likes of mba, osaze and uchebo there before finally settling on babatunde in the number 10 role
Correct! How soon people forget.

smartbrother wrote:
bully12 wrote:
Robotnik wrote:
Right Here

Na brah... Naijarian coaches recognized him as being a 10... Siasia, Amodu, Eguavoen, Keshi... the role he played for Chelsea just shows you about his adaptability. That is why fans of Chelsea can't begin to understand how come he plays the 10 role for Naijaria... as if we are using him wrongly.

I believe Keshi played him in the number 10 role during the 2013 Confederations Cup.

smartbrother wrote:
bully12 wrote:
Robotnik wrote:
Right Here

I believe Keshi played him in the number 10 role during the 2013 Confederations Cup.
He played number 10 in one game against Uruaguy
Mba started as 10 v Spain and Tahiti
WHat about the Nations cup? Or the World Cup?
Where did he play Mikel?

You disagreed with an evidence based facts(European championships, several EPL championships, 2 Olympic medals, Cup of nations, U21 world championship, millions of dollars in Bank, 3 world cups appearances, SE captainship, active on professional soccer scene since 2003, more recognizable by world soccer fans than any other Nigerian player ever) so the burden of disproof falls on you.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

You disagreed with an evidence based facts(European championships, several EPL championships, 2 Olympic medals, Cup of nations, U21 world championship, millions of dollars in Bank, 3 world cups appearances, SE captainship, active on professional soccer scene since 2003, more recognizable by world soccer fans than any other Nigerian player ever) so the burden of disproof falls on you.
Hmm... let's unpack this quickly using a quick head to head with Kanu

"European championships"- presumably Champions League
Mikel - 1
Kanu - 1

"EPL championships"
Mikel - 2
Kanu - 2

"Olympic medals"
Mikel - 2 (1 silver, 1 bronze)
Kanu - 1 (Gold)

"World Cup appearances"
Mikel - 1 (4 appearances)
Kanu - 3 ( 6 appearances)

Longevity
Mikel - 13 years (2004-Present)
Kanu - 20 years (1992-2012)

"Most recognisable by world soccer fans"
I don't know how you've measured that.

Plus Kanu has won African Player of the Year twice - an award which Mikel has never won.

So no, your case for Mikel has not been made.

Ozil :sneaky: