Happy Retirement to Yakubu

And happy birthday to him.

Re: Happy Retirement to Yakubu

scored loads of goals

At the ripe old age of 35.

Only Drogba scored more goals in England (of the Africans).

He scored more than Adebayor (as he also scored outside of the EPL).
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
ogasir

Post by ogasir »

Mr. Piffington wrote:At the ripe old age of 35.
What it so strange about a footballer retiring at the age of 35?
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST

ogasir wrote:
He thinks Yak is a goalkeeper or every outfield player play until 40

ogasir wrote:

Yak must be 60....or 65, or whatever the official retirement age is from a regular job, not 35 as he is claiming. Those who are not age cheats are still early in their careers at age 35... see Ibrahimovic who is just beginning to blossom at 36.... Messi is expected to become a megastar when he clocks 35, rather than retire.

35 is actually a great time to retire.

If you are not financially struggling, and you play till 40....bad move.

Most of these athletes that play at the highest level AND retire late, suffer in retirement. Bad knees, pains in their backs, all sorts of ailments.

Even Shaq has reported pains through his body, all those times from continuously hitting the rim. When you are in a great financial position AND you feel you can make your peace with the game that you loved, you should probably leave. Yes there is also the psychological aspect which is more spoken of, what comes next etc. Oloye can tell us about that, but let us not forget about physical pain!
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

He contributed more to Nigeria that you’ll ever dream of. How about thanking him and wish him well in the future ?

I like Yakubu. He was a very good striker for Nigeria.

Happy birthday and happy retirement.

Na wa I people are even criticizing someone that retired at 35. Ask when did Zinfandel riteried
Zelex

Post by Zelex »

Happy Birthday to Yakubu. Wishing him the best of luck in his next chapter of life.
Zelex-CE World Cup 2010 prediction Winner
http://forum.cybereagles.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=177767

Happy Birthday to one of our greatest strikers.

Also one of the most unappreciated greats.

Cellular wrote:Happy Birthday to one of our greatest strikers.

KPOM. He was one of our best!!!
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

I wouldn’t call him one of our best. Happy birthday and retirement to yak

Cellular wrote:Happy Birthday to one of our greatest strikers.

Nigerians appreciated him. It's backstabber Onigbinde and supporters thay did not.

john12 wrote:I wouldn’t call him one of our best. Happy birthday and retirement to yak

Stats disagree with you.....I think he is our 3rd all-time highest scorer....and has an impressive goal/game ratio.

Oga Enugu, abeg provide stats

You people are too emotional.

Happy Birthday to Yak, I thank him for his service to the nation and I wish the young man good luck. :D

john12 wrote:I wouldn’t call him one of our best. Happy birthday and retirement to yak

Stats disagree with you.....I think he is our 3rd all-time highest scorer....and has an impressive goal/game ratio.

Oga Enugu, abeg provide stats
Only two players -- Yekini and Odegbami -- have scored more than his 21 goals for Nigeria. His final stats are 21 goals in 58 appearances i.e 0.362 clip (five of his goals came from the spot). Averaged 60.79 minutes a game receiving only three cautions with zero disqualifications. He also captained Nigeria in five games. Biggest scoring streak is 5 in three games from May 30, 2003 v Ghana to June 7, 2003 v Malawi. Debuted April 22, 2000 v Eritrea and closed on February 29, 2012 v Rwanda.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Useless striker

:lol: :lol: you mean 55?

Benedict Iroha wrote:
:lol: :lol: you mean 55?

If the Yak says he's 35, then he must be 35 dammit. :D

ogasir wrote:

Yak must be 60....or 65, or whatever the official retirement age is from a regular job, not 35 as he is claiming. Those who are not age cheats are still early in their careers at age 35... see Ibrahimovic who is just beginning to blossom at 36.... Messi is expected to become a megastar when he clocks 35, rather than retire.
Chief, I tire sha.

When Ronaldo Lima, Ruud van Nistelrooy, Zidane retires from active football it is okay. Or when Ronaldinho Gaucho does it is okay... No snide comment from natives about their age.

Only a lucky few can play as a paid professional to the age of 35.