JoachimLow-Morocco are the tough team in Africa, not Nigeria

Coach of the reigning World Cup champions Joachim Low has shared his expectations ahead of the defence of the crown they won three years ago in Brazil.

Germany will be in action in the World Cup 2018 in Russia and Joachim Low while speaking on their chances and options available to him ahead of the championship also shed lights on teams he expects to do well at the World Cup.

”We know some very good teams from all over the World are coming, like in Africa Morocco did well in the qualifying series and they will be the team most people would be expecting to pull surprises from Africa”, he said while discussing potential giant killers in Russia next year.

Although Nigeria was the first African nation to qualify for the World Cup, Morocco just like Nigeria stayed undefeated throughout the series but unlike Nigeria, they didn’t concede a single goal.

Under the guidance of respected Coach Herve Reinard, Morocco is viewed by many as the best team coming from Africa although Nigeria, Senegal and Egypt are usually mentioned in same breath.

Herve Reinard Renard has fulfilled his previous mandates as Atlas Lions boss by qualifying and reaching the 2017 Cup of Nations quarterfinals, as well as sealing a place at next year’s World Cup in Russia.

Renard led Ivory Coast to the Africa Cup of Nations title in 2015, three years after winning it with Zambia.

After his Nations Cup victory with the Elephants, he left to take over at French club Lille in May but was sacked just a few months later.

http://www.brila.net/morocco-top-team-a ... achim-low/
Re: JoachimLow-Morocco are the tough team in Africa, not Nig

TBH, he has a point even though I think we are better. I state this because I have watched Morocco grow from the AFCON to now. It is a team that is very strong. The win in Abidjan was no fluke. They were better than Ivory Coast!
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote:TBH, he has a point even though I think we are better. I state this because I have watched Morocco grow from the AFCON to now. It is a team that is very strong. The win in Abidjan was no fluke. They were better than Ivory Coast!

The headline has been sensationalised for effect but it is all well and good. What he actually said is that Morocco is good because they did not concede any goal in qualification.

Nowhere did he even mention Nigeria. However, it is all well and good as these things will make us sit up.

Enugu II, did you notice that all the goals we conceded were due to individual errors:

Ndola - Omeruo
Uyo - Etebo
Yaounde - Ezenwa
Constantine - Abdullahi

wow so Ivory Coast could not score one consolation goal home or away against Morocco ? With all their Zaha from the EPL!!!!

Enugu II wrote:TBH, he has a point even though I think we are better. I state this because I have watched Morocco grow from the AFCON to now. It is a team that is very strong. The win in Abidjan was no fluke. They were better than Ivory Coast!
Morocco is just like every other Renard NT. Disciplined and organized at the back and full of balance.

You should also consider the fact that CIV was piss poor and Renard had inside knowledge of them (CIV).

The World Cup is all about balanced teams, so Naija, which is top heavy will struggle to make it past the halfway point.
Rohr still has time to balance things out though.
No wonder he is traversing Germany for defenders.

He needs quality goalies to boot!
The current crop don't cut it.
goldenera94

Post by goldenera94 »

Fair assessment. But your Ivory Coast example was not a proper fit, the Ivorians were not smart footballers on that day.

Goldenera94
eyan

Post by eyan »

Flex Swift wrote:wow so Ivory Coast could not score one consolation goal home or away against Morocco ? With all their Zaha from the EPL!!!!

Well Ivory Coast had opportunities in the beginning except for that ex arsenal player to balloon the one on one with keeper couple of times before Morocco settled into the game.

Synopsis wrote:Image

Coach of the reigning World Cup champions Joachim Low has shared his expectations ahead of the defence of the crown they won three years ago in Brazil.

Germany will be in action in the World Cup 2018 in Russia and Joachim Low while speaking on their chances and options available to him ahead of the championship also shed lights on teams he expects to do well at the World Cup.

”We know some very good teams from all over the World are coming, like in Africa Morocco did well in the qualifying series and they will be the team most people would be expecting to pull surprises from Africa”, he said while discussing potential giant killers in Russia next year.

Although Nigeria was the first African nation to qualify for the World Cup, Morocco just like Nigeria stayed undefeated throughout the series but unlike Nigeria, they didn’t concede a single goal.

Under the guidance of respected Coach Herve Reinard, Morocco is viewed by many as the best team coming from Africa although Nigeria, Senegal and Egypt are usually mentioned in same breath.

Herve Reinard Renard has fulfilled his previous mandates as Atlas Lions boss by qualifying and reaching the 2017 Cup of Nations quarterfinals, as well as sealing a place at next year’s World Cup in Russia.

Renard led Ivory Coast to the Africa Cup of Nations title in 2015, three years after winning it with Zambia.

After his Nations Cup victory with the Elephants, he left to take over at French club Lille in May but was sacked just a few months later.

http://www.brila.net/morocco-top-team-a ... achim-low/
Hmm, going by coach Herve's record, he is way better than I thought :clap: :clap: :clap: . There was a time he wanted to be our coach and I forgot what happened which made the move to fail. Anyway, good for him and Morocco and good luck to all African teams in Russia.

The headline has been sensationalised for effect but it is all well and good. What he actually said is that Morocco is good because they did not concede any goal in qualification.

Nowhere did he even mention Nigeria. However, it is all well and good as these things will make us sit up.

Enugu II, did you notice that all the goals we conceded were due to individual errors:

Ndola - Omeruo
Uyo - Etebo
Yaounde - Ezenwa
Constantine - Abdullahi
Chief Ayo, I see your point and understand it in full; however, like in all team sports, it matters not who made us concede goal(s). By that, I mean why was there no such error(s) in the Morocco's team? From your record, the errors we made wasn't from one particular player

Kabalega wrote:
Morocco is just like every other Renard NT. Disciplined and organized at the back and full of balance.

You should also consider the fact that CIV was piss poor and Renard had inside knowledge of them (CIV).

The World Cup is all about balanced teams, so Naija, which is top heavy will struggle to make it past the halfway point.

Its funny how everyone always has their own agenda and tries to force facts to fit their agenda. Reading this, one would forget that over the last few months, one of the praise Rohr has gotten has been the defensive solidity of Nigeria.

By the way, how do you know ROhr is "traversing Germany for defenders?" He told you this during sex? or you read it on owngoal from the invisible Roland Mark? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Please, take a sit somewhere. :lol:

Who cares what that nasty man thinks. Watching him on tv makes me want to throw up.

What we need more than anything else at the moment is this playmaking ability:

With the recent introduction of Uzoho, Ebuehi, Idowu and the recovery of Joel Obi, I think everything else is in place. I hope Odion Ighalo also hits his 2016 form and everyone else stays injury-free.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:What we need more than anything else at the moment is this playmaking ability:

With the recent introduction of Uzoho, Ebuehi, Idowu and the recovery of Joel Obi, I think everything else is in place. I hope Odion Ighalo also hits his 2016 form and everyone else stays injury-free.
I think this was out biggest problem in the qualifiers -- lack of good and in form wing backs. Like I always said, your defense is as good as your wing backs. Having poor wing backs will just collapse your defense. Look at Man United yesterday and how the horrendous Blind and Darmian collapsed their defense.

May God never let us see the days of Ambrose or/and Echiejile again! amen!

Ayo Akinfe wrote:What we need more than anything else at the moment is this playmaking ability:

I think this was out biggest problem in the qualifiers -- lack of good and in form wing backs. Like I always said, your defense is as good as your wing backs. Having poor wing backs will just collapse your defense. Look at Man United yesterday and how the horrendous Blind and Darmian collapsed their defense.

Had Rohr not made those halftime changes in Russia, Argentina would have run away with that match. Anyway, I never react to personal attacks on CE. When you tell people what it going on, they attribute it to all sorts.

After a few good performances, everyone here was chanting Shehu Abdullahi saying he has the right back position locked down. When I urged caution, some people resorted to name calling. Anyway, we are not yet there. i would like to see Idowu in particular tested against a world class winger to see if he can reach the heights of Babayaro for instance.

Had Rohr not made those halftime changes in Russia, Argentina would have run away with that match. Anyway, I never react to personal attacks on CE. When you tell people what it going on, they attribute it to all sorts.
I have analyzed the match twice, and this is actually untrue.
After a few good performances, everyone here was chanting Shehu Abdullahi saying he has the right back position locked down. When I urged caution, some people resorted to name calling. Anyway, we are not yet there. i would like to see Idowu in particular tested against a world class winger to see if he can reach the heights of Babayaro for instance.
Shehu remains the starter for me. Ebuehis fantastic performance does not change that. I have watched football long enough not to be swayed by a little wind blowing in the opposite direction. You dont chop and change teams based on half a match! Like I said, i have never been a supporter of the childish and ill-informed Nigerian obsession with "elimination by substitution, which was made famous by Onigbinde.

So football powerhouse is no longer in West Africa.

Spot on. The GK (2 utter bobbins GKs and hanging hopes on untested 18yo rookie) and defensive (lack of pace) positions are Nigeria's weakest links. If they can get all their midfielders and attackers fit though, they could do well.
Kabalega wrote: The World Cup is all about balanced teams, so Naija, which is top heavy will struggle to make it past the halfway point.

aykwes8

Post by aykwes8 »

Was he high on the stench of his armpit when he said that

ANC wrote:So football powerhouse is no longer in West Africa.
lol. dude! A white man made a comment. jeeeezzzzzz!! This aint the 1800s bro. A white man making a comment doesnt create laws and policies. It simply the opinion of a white man.

Shehu remains the starter for me. Ebuehis fantastic performance does not change that. I have watched football long enough not to be swayed by a little wind blowing in the opposite direction. You dont chop and change teams based on half a match! Like I said, i have never been a supporter of the childish and ill-informed Nigerian obsession with "elimination by substitution, which was made famous by Onigbinde.

To be honest, Rohr showed extreme cowardice during the qualifiers. Many of these players who are being tried now should have had a few matches during qualification.

Did you not see how brave Switzerland's coach was, giving Denis Zakaria his debut in their play-off with Northern Ireland and handing Manuel Akanji his first competitive and third cap in a must-win game? Nothing stopped Rohr being as brave as this.

To be honest, Rohr showed extreme cowardice during the qualifiers. Many of these players who are being tried now should have had a few matches during qualification.

Did you not see how brave Switzerland's coach was, giving Denis Zakaria his debut in their play-off with Northern Ireland and handing Manuel Akanji his first competitive and third cap in a must-win game? Nothing stopped Rohr being as brave as this.
On one hand you have an organized Swiss Fa and on the other you have an FA that may fire him if he loses a game. Enough said.

But Ivory Coast is no longer a top side in Africa. No one fears them without Drogba, Yaya and Bony.

We beat the African champions Cameroon.

I disagree, Morocco is not better or tougher than Nigeria. Nigeria fluid counter attack football will dismantle Morocco. We just have to work on our defense and goalkeeping.

Nigeria is not at the world cup to compete with Morocco. He can praise Morocco all he wants, but all I know is that any so-called top team that draws Nigeria better pack lunch that day we'll meet....cause it'll be a long day!