World Cup Teams & Reported Age Averages

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: World Cup Teams & Reported Age Averages

Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"

bamenda boy wrote::rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Plantainian, you should be prostrating every time you want to post on SE related matters.

Do you want to collect another 4 goals?

We invite a couple of the right keepers to camp, and the youngest team will be the best in Russia.

For the 1st time in a long time, I can say the Super Eagles are adequate in all positions.

The coaching crew have done well in bringing in good players to fortify weak spots. We need to do that with the good keepers who have not had the opportunity.

The other good players (especially forwards) are just coming to compete with other good players, which is fine.

Umm..seeing as WC squads have not been announced, how did they get the ages?

We've always been about the youngest except 1994& 1998 set. Where did that take us too? Nevertheless, this present team looks promising

nanijoe wrote:Umm..seeing as WC squads have not been announced, how did they get the ages?

Uncle, don't do oversabi. They said average age of qualified teams meaning average age now, not average age at the WC.

nanijoe wrote:Umm..seeing as WC squads have not been announced, how did they get the ages?

Uncle, don't do oversabi. They said average age of qualified teams meaning average age now, not average age at the WC.

if everybody, including ordinary Redskins, the Spuds of the NFL, are beating your team like you stole something, you sef go come CE come do oversabi.

Obi Mikel
Ogu
Balogun
Ezenwa
Kayode
Akpeyi
Musa
Ighalo
Echiejile

All close to 30yrs. How's the average 24yrs :shock:
Last edited by Robotnik on Tue Nov 28, 2017 5:43 am, edited 2 times in total.

Robotnik wrote:Obi Mikel
Ogu
Balogun
Ezenwa
Kayode
Akpeyi
Musa

Do you know what average means? Were Ogu, Kayode and Musa regular starters during the qualifiers?
Last edited by 1naija on Tue Nov 28, 2017 5:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Robotnik wrote:Obi Mikel. 30
Ogu. 29
Balogun. 29
Ezenwa. 29
Kayode. 24
Akpeyi. 31
Musa. 25
Ighalo. 28
Echiejile. 29

Of these only Mikel , Balogun Echiejile and Ighalo are starters. But for every Mikel at 30, there are 2 Kelechis at 20 and that's why the average age is 24.5 years.
Last edited by Cito on Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Ogu
Balogun
Ezenwa
Kayode
Akpeyi
Musa

Do you know what average meanss? Were Ogu, Kayode and Musa regular starters during the qualifiers?
Akpeyi 31
Shehu 24
Balogun 29
Ekong 24
Echiejile 30
Mikel 30
Onazi 28
Ndidi 21
V. Moses 26
Simon 23
ighalo 28

Ages can be verified but the average has got to be higher than 24/25

Robotnik wrote:
Ogu
Balogun
Ezenwa
Kayode
Akpeyi
Musa

Do you know what average meanss? Were Ogu, Kayode and Musa regular starters during the qualifiers?
Akpeyi 31
Shehu 24
Balogun 29
Ekong 24
Echiejile 30
Mikel 30
Onazi 28
Ndidi 21Liust
V. Moses 26
Simon 23
ighalo 28

Dude stop doing gra gra and making a fool of yourself. List the average age of the 23 players we used to qualify for the WC. The list says average age of qualified TEAMS. Even the average of the 11 players you listed above is 26. And you haven't even added Iwobi, Iheanacho, Ebuehi, etc. Na over sabi go do una in one of these days!

Come the World Cup proper, our average age will fall further as some of the older players like Echiejile and Akpeyi get dropped.

I CAN'T VOUCH FOR THE ACCURACY OF THIS AVERAGE, BUT...

...the inclusion of the foreign born players makes this closer to the truth.

Robotnik wrote:
Ogu
Balogun
Ezenwa
Kayode
Akpeyi
Musa

Akpeyi 31
Shehu 24
Balogun 29
Ekong 24
Echiejile 30
Mikel 30
Onazi 28
Ndidi 21Liust
V. Moses 26
Simon 23
ighalo 28

Dude stop doing gra gra and making a fool of yourself. List the average age of the 23 players we used to qualify for the WC. The list says average age of qualified TEAMS. Even the average of the 11 players you listed above is 26. And you haven't even added Iwobi, Iheanacho, Ebuehi, etc. Na over sabi go do una in one of these days!
:rotf: So now you remember the other players in the squad.

Meanwhile some of these players are not using their real ages.

Robotnik wrote:
Ogu
Balogun
Ezenwa
Kayode
Akpeyi
Musa

Akpeyi 31
Shehu 24
Balogun 29
Ekong 24
Echiejile 30
Mikel 30
Onazi 28
Ndidi 21Liust
V. Moses 26
Simon 23
ighalo 28

:rotf: So now you remember the other players in the squad.

Meanwhile some of these players are not using their real ages.
Now you shifting goal posts na wa o lol.

Guys this is not age related tourney and no prices for fielding the youngest squad. Why the ..arguments?

pajimoh wrote:Guys this is not age related tourney and no prices for fielding the youngest squad. Why the ..arguments?
because this is CE and it will be an unproductive day when there is no meaningful argument over nothing.....

Enyi wrote:
pajimoh wrote:Guys this is not age related tourney and no prices for fielding the youngest squad. Why the ..arguments?
because this is CE and it will be an unproductive day when there is no meaningful argument over nothing.....
:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

Enyi wrote:
Then let the nothing discussion lead to productivity :thumb: :thumb: :thumbs:

What happens if we add Plus Four to the ages of the Nigerian squad?

bamenda boy wrote::rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Oga, I wonder why you are laughing like that. Can you please say what you mean, or what is on your mind? Be BOLD!