Players that had no business in the SE

Re: Players that had no business in the SE

eyan wrote:
Goldleaf wrote:
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:We had some poor players...Mobi, Furo, the dude who kicked Shorunmu in the head, Afolabi, Kaita, Ajibade, etc
Pls remove Mobi Oparaku from that list. He was our right back in the victorious Atlanta Olympics 1996 team. Unfortunately by the 1998 WC, he was clubless but Bora Mulitinovic still preferred him to anybody else.
No, Bora removed him and coverted Mutiu to 2. Mutiu and Okocha were at their peak in that competition. Moving Mutiu to defense robbed us of an attacking option.

Thank you! Actually, more than anything else, moving Mutiu to right back left Oliseh vulnerable.

eyan wrote:
Spicyee wrote:Chikelue Iloenyosi

I though he was a good prospect until an injury wrecked him? Or was that someone else (with a shoulder injury or something like that)?
Jero

Thanks...

So una don forget the various "Hey Yous" who somehow got to wear the GWG?

@Chief..Mobi's main offense was his ...umm lack of height

How is Francis Kumbar doing these day?

Years Team Apps (Gls)
1997–1998 Plateau United
1998–2001 KAC Marrakech
2002 Yeovil Town 5 (3)
2002–2003 Haywards Heath Town
2003–2004 Gravesend & Northfleet
2006–2009 Plateau United
2010 Eastbourne Town
National team
2002 Nigeria 1

Sauce: Wikipedia

Talking about desecrating the GWG :boo:

Mr Shows wrote:How is Francis Kumbar doing these day?

Years Team Apps (Gls)
1997–1998 Plateau United
1998–2001 KAC Marrakech
2002 Yeovil Town 5 (3)
2006–2009 Plateau United
2010 Eastbourne Town
National team
2002 Nigeria 1

The Quintessential Hey You.

Years Team Apps (Gls)
1997–1998 Plateau United
1998–2001 KAC Marrakech
2002 Yeovil Town 5 (3)
2006–2009 Plateau United
2010 Eastbourne Town
National team
2002 Nigeria 1

The Quintessential Hey You.
Did the guy actually play? Kai...na Sir V "discover" am :lol: :lol: :lol:

nanijoe wrote:So una don forget the various "Hey Yous" who somehow got to wear the GWG?

@Chief..Mobi's main offense was his ...umm lack of height

Did you see how he followed Okocha dye hair for '98 WC, only to be chasing Raul's shadows in the first match? There was a classic picture of him with a diving/flight tackle in an "attempt" to stop Raul who was 2-3 steps away from him on goal.

goldenera94

Post by goldenera94 »

Pls take Ajibade a.k.a Kunde away that list. Constant injuries rob him of good Eagles career

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:We had some poor players...Mobi, Furo, the dude who kicked Shorunmu in the head, Afolabi, Kaita, Ajibade, etc
Goldenera94

Years Team Apps (Gls)
1997–1998 Plateau United
1998–2001 KAC Marrakech
2002 Yeovil Town 5 (3)
2006–2009 Plateau United
2010 Eastbourne Town
National team
2002 Nigeria 1

Francis Kumbur

Molue Conductor wrote:

Years Team Apps (Gls)
1997–1998 Plateau United
1998–2001 KAC Marrakech
2002 Yeovil Town 5 (3)
2006–2009 Plateau United
2010 Eastbourne Town
National team
2002 Nigeria 1

Francis Kumbur
Only played a friendly though, the ones that played legit FIFA matches are really aggregious...

Furo, Okunowo, Sodje, Ameobi, Opabunmi, Oparaku, Ogbeche (at the time he was called up).

wiseone wrote:Furo, Okunowo, Sodje, Ameobi, Opabunmi, Oparaku, Ogbeche (at the time he was called up).
Kai Okunowo fooled us by getting PT at Barca, dude was huseless. I dunno what it is with Barca and Nigerian RB's becoming useless under their watch, from Okunowo to Ekpollo.

Okunowo also got to play for Barcelona (alongside Rivaldo!) :shock:
LVG put him in the Barca team after a defensive crisis (in the same way he put Tyler Blackett, Donald Love, and Paddy McNair in the Man Utd team for similar reasons).

I still cringe when I see that video of Yorke and Cole scoring against Barcelona after multiple one-twos that had Okunowo pirouetting all over the place, trying to turn around and find Yorke or Cole after he lost them.

18 years later I think Gbenga is still trying to track down Yorkie and Cole after losing them. He must be dizzy:

Kai Okunowo fooled us by getting PT at Barca, dude was huseless. I dunno what it is with Barca and Nigerian RB's becoming useless under their watch, from Okunowo to Ekpollo.

Taribo didn’t perform exceptionally well enough in 2002 to call his teammates “junks” that was very unprofessional by west

Ogbeche and Baruwa were decent players. Baruwa in my opinion deserved his call to the SE. He was the best keeper in the local league at one point and would probably have been a better option than Rufai in France 98. He had a poor showing in a friendly against Yugoslavia and don't think he got another shot with the SE after that. However, he performed well in most of the games he played for the SE prior to that game.

Although, I have no evidence I am of the opinion that Baruwa and Furo were well past their stated ages when they played for our junior teams which is partly why they looked so good playing against younger players. In Baruwa's defense though, he actually looked good in most of the games he played for the SE.

Ogbeche was rushed into our world cup squad and should definitely not have started. He was deserving of an invite for friendly games, but was exposed at the world cup. However, with Agali and Aiyegbeni not in the squad, not sure if we had that many options.
imehjunior wrote:Part of an interview panel and the last person that came in bares the name Furo ...... , immediately he left one of the guys on the panel went for baring a name that belongs to one the worst players he has ever watched play for the SE he wouldn't pick him ( he is joking though as the guy made the grade).

That sparked a debate over who is the worst waste pipe to ever put on the green white green jersey.

I remember the 2000 ANC but cant remember much about Furo Iyenemi. Any recollections my elders and was he that bad.

Some of the names that came up Abiodun Baruwa, Ogbeche,Efe Sodje, Prince Ikpe Ekong

Molue Conductor wrote:

Years Team Apps (Gls)
1997–1998 Plateau United
1998–2001 KAC Marrakech
2002 Yeovil Town 5 (3)
2006–2009 Plateau United
2010 Eastbourne Town
National team
2002 Nigeria 1

Francis Kumbur
Only played a friendly though, the ones that played legit FIFA matches are really aggregious...
was that the one against Jamo?

Blessing Kaku!

Blessing Kaku! I don’t even know why I remember him,I just knew he shouldn’t have been there!

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blessing_Kaku

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Why must we always look to the past to find someone to hate or blame with so much to look forward to ? Pls, Furo did his part for Nigeria, leave him alone. His will at least be able to say that he played for Nigeria. What have you done for your village?
So that you learn from it,ask yourself why Nigeria hardly changes much for the better or why they never seem to learn.
We need to stop doing the same thing whilst looking for a different result,standards must be raised!

We should actually do a thread on good players that did not get (enough of) a chance with the SE.

olu wrote:Ogbeche and Baruwa were decent players. Baruwa in my opinion deserved his call to the SE. He was the best keeper in the local league at one point and would probably have been a better option than Rufai in France 98. He had a poor showing in a friendly against Yugoslavia and don't think he got another shot with the SE after that. However, he performed well in most of the games he played for the SE prior to that game.

Although, I have no evidence I am of the opinion that Baruwa and Furo were well past their stated ages when they played for our junior teams which is partly why they looked so good playing against younger players. In Baruwa's defense though, he actually looked good in most of the games he played for the SE.

Ogbeche was rushed into our world cup squad and should definitely not have started. He was deserving of an invite for friendly games, but was exposed at the world cup. However, with Agali and Aiyegbeni not in the squad, not sure if we had that many options.
Abiodun Baruwa NEVER played for any of our junior teams...

Oruma was completely overshadowed by Okocha.

Sam Okwaraji would have captained the SE at some point if not for his early demise.

olu wrote:Ogbeche and Baruwa were decent players. Baruwa in my opinion deserved his call to the SE. He was the best keeper in the local league at one point and would probably have been a better option than Rufai in France 98. He had a poor showing in a friendly against Yugoslavia and don't think he got another shot with the SE after that. However, he performed well in most of the games he played for the SE prior to that game.

Abiodun Baruwa NEVER played for any of our junior teams...
I think he played for the U-23 Olympics qualifier....