SE v Congo DR Moved to PH........

World Cup-bound Super Eagles now host DR Congo in Port Harcourt
By admin - April 8, 2018, 2:54 pm128 0
http://scorenigeria.com.ng/2018/04/08/w ... -harcourt/
Share on Facebook Tweet on Twitter

SCORENigeria can exclusively reveal that the Super Eagles will now play a farewell match against DR Congo on their way to the World Cup in Port Harcourt on May 27.

Abuja and Uyo were the two venues previously considered to stage this match.

However, the Abuja National Stadium pitch is not playable with sports minister Solomon Dalung at a time requesting for 70 million Naira to fix the arena in time for this match.

“The match against DRC will now be played in Port Harcourt,” a top official informed only SCORENigeria

Interestingly, Port Harcourt first hosted the Eagles 2018 World Cup eliminator against Swaziland in 2015.

The Swazis held Nigeria to a goalless draw at home only to fall 2-0 to the Eagles in Port Harcourt.

Port Harcourt will also be remembered for staging the country’s qualifiers to the 2002 World Cup.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: SE v Congo DR Moved to PH........

Haba!!! How many times do they need to dump $$$ into fixing Abuja for one match? Dis one nah proper groundhog day.

metalalloy wrote:Haba!!! How many times do they need to dump $$$ into fixing Abuja for one match? Dis one nah proper groundhog day.
IDIIOT! Do you have common sense at all? You can't comprehend a simple sentence in an article? Where in the article did they mention Dollar ($$$), instead of Naira?

Neither Enugu II nor the main article mentioned Dollar and where you got Dollar in this article beats me - dummy :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

metalalloy wrote:Haba!!! How many times do they need to dump $$$ into fixing Abuja for one match? Dis one nah proper groundhog day.
IDIIOT! Do you have common sense at all? You can't comprehend a simple sentence in an article? Where in the article did they mention Dollar ($$$), instead of Naira?

Neither Enugu II nor the main article mentioned Dollar and where you got Dollar in this article beats me - dummy :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

They should move it to London.

This is the same country that want to bid for the World cup lol.

Uyo no go gree!

Basically, we do not need a "national stadium" any more. It is an unnecessary status symbol.

Our national teams do not play enough games a year to make investing in a national stadium worthwhile. Our Eagles should rotate their games around the 36 states where the governments can afford to maintain their stadia.

Like Surulere, the Abuja stadium will soon become derelict. Both need to be sold off as they serve no useful purpose.

Across Europe, only England and France have national stadia. In every other country, games are rotated around the country.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Basically, we do not need a "national stadium" any more. It is an unnecessary status symbol.

Our national teams do not play enough games a year to make investing in a national stadium worthwhile. Our Eagles should rotate their games around the 36 states where the governments can afford to maintain their stadia.

Like Surulere, the Abuja stadium will soon become derelict. Both need to be sold off as they serve no useful purpose.

Across Europe, only England and France have national stadia. In every other country, games are rotated around the country.
I agree no national stadium is needed but how can you rotate around 36 states when there are not enough quality playing surfaces in the country to play on,football at international level needs more than just a stadium the quality of the pitch must never be complimised.Nigerian football is full of AstroTurf pitches and dry grass in the North,how can you expect Victor Moses and Iwobi to perform under such conditions.
Last edited by Eaglezbeak on Mon Apr 09, 2018 4:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
This their multi-frontier feud is funny on too many levels. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Basically, we do not need a "national stadium" any more. It is an unnecessary status symbol.

They don't need to rotate around the 36 states.
Only those stadia befitting of the national team that can also provide logistical support and the crowds should host the SE.
Right now, only Uyo seems to tick all the boxes.
The Kaduna and PH stadiums are embarrassingly mediocre structures.
Abuja has no crowds.

Only those stadia befitting of the national team that can also provide logistical support and the crowds should host the SE.

Abuja has no crowds.

Kpom. Abuja's problems pass lack of crowds. The thing has turned out to be a white elephant that just keeps giving.

Abuja has no crowds.
Kpom. Abuja's problems pass lack of crowds. The thing has turned out to be a white elephant that just keeps giving.
Say whaaaaat? Is that English? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Na wah! Mr. Englsih, na wetin you write so? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Cmoke wrote:Uyo no go gree!
You're right, Cmoke. The government and people of Akwa Ibom positively hosted the team in virtually all the qualifiers, yet, the stadium and city is snubbed for the "Thank you" and farewell match. With the way the players were royally hosted, I'm sure even they would have kicked against it. Port-Harcourt (city of my in-laws) would be a good venue too. But, they should have been lined up for 2019 CAN qualifiers and other matches. Just not this Congo match. Talk of justice and equity.

For the reasons you articulated below, I think Uyo will fight to get it moved back to Uyo.

Cmoke :D :D :D :D :D

Obong wrote:
Cmoke wrote:Uyo no go gree!
You're right, Cmoke. The government and people of Akwa Ibom positively hosted the team in virtually all the qualifiers, yet, the stadium and city is snubbed for the "Thank you" and farewell match. With the way the players were royally hosted, I'm sure even they would have kicked against it. Port-Harcourt (city of my in-laws) would be a good venue too. But, they should have been lined up for 2019 CAN qualifiers and other matches. Just not this Congo match. Talk of justice and equity.

If the FG can't maintain it. Why don't they just lease it to a private owner. The private owner will agree to maintain it and use it as a multi functional venue.