Page 1 of 9

LIVE @ KREMLIN 2018 WC DRAWS: Grp D: ARG, ICE, CRO, NGR

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 1:03 pm
by anointed
Read somewhere that NFF has a 9-man team heading for Moscow. What on earth are they going to do there? Is there a requirement for each country to form a 3x3 matrix at the Draws?

Seriously, I know FIFA would have communicated its requirements regarding how long each nation's wedding gown and bridal train at the Draws should be, and I guess even at 10 per each of the visiting 31 nations, the 6,000 capacity Kremlin arena should suffice but for the sake of judicious expenditure and war against jamborees, we don't need more than Pinick, Rohr & a marketing executive to be in Moscow. For crying out loud, they are just gonna be looking at just 8 pots and a screen all through...maybe do selfie ops. The more important thing will be to broker deals for friendlies and hospitality for Super Eagles.

That the likes of Seyi Akinwumi and Shehu Dikko will be on the plane is just Pinick preparing for a battle royal election against a more popular and APC-backed Maigari next year.

Re: THE 2018 WORLD CUP DRAWS @THE KREMLIN

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 1:12 pm
by ohenhen1
Maigiri shouldn't contest. We need some one better. The current VP that runs the NPFl is a good candidate.

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 1:12 pm
by Enugu II
anointed wrote:Read somewhere that NFF has a 9-man team heading for Moscow. What on earth are they going to do there? Is there a requirement for each country to form a 3x3 matrix at the Draws?

Seriously, I know FIFA would have communicated its requirements regarding how long each nation's wedding gown and bridal train at the Draws should be, and I guess even at 10 per each of the visiting 31 nations, the 6,000 capacity Kremlin arena should suffice but for the sake of judicious expenditure and war against jamborees, we don't need more than Pinick, Rohr & a marketing executive to be in Moscow. For crying out loud, they are just gonna be looking at just 8 pots and a screen all through...maybe do selfie ops. The more important thing will be to broker deals for friendlies and hospitality for Super Eagles.

That the likes of Seyi Akinwumi and Shehu Dikko will be on the plane is just Pinick preparing for a battle royal election against a more popular and APC-backed Maigari next year.
Anointed

Is Dikko not head of marketing committee?

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 1:22 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
There is a lot to do at the draws:

[1] Negotiate friendlies with other federations who will be at the draw
[2] See if any new marketing deals can be picked up on the sidelines
[3] View the Russian facilities in details
[4] Check out the locations where your team will be based
[5] Agree on a main camp site
[6] Reach agreement with any local vendors or temporary staff you want to hire
[7] Go over every logistical detail with a fine toothcomb, dotting ever I and crossing every T
[8] If you want to do as Germany did in 2014, shipping over their entire camp, this is the opportunity to look for a good location for it
[9] Use this as an opportunity to address the issue of racism among Russian fans. All nine members should go out and listen to what the fans are saying to get a feel for their prejudice
[10] Work on security arrangements. if Nigeria is drawn in the same group as say England or Russia for instance, our fans will need police protection. This is not a laughing matter

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 1:22 pm
by anointed

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 1:23 pm
by anointed
anointed wrote:Read somewhere that NFF has a 9-man team heading for Moscow. What on earth are they going to do there? Is there a requirement for each country to form a 3x3 matrix at the Draws?

Anointed

Is Dikko not head of marketing committee?
Dikko is head of LMC.

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 1:35 pm
by anointed
Ayo Akinfe wrote:There is a lot to do at the draws:

[7] Go over every logistical detail with a fine toothcomb, dotting ever I and crossing every T
[8] If you want to do as Germany did in 2014, shipping over their entire camp, this is the opportunity to look for a good location for it
[9] Use this as an opportunity to address the issue of racism among Russian fans. All nine members should go out and listen to what the fans are saying to get a feel for their prejudice
[10] Work on security arrangements. if Nigeria is drawn in the same group as say England or Russia for instance, our fans will need police protection. This is not a laughing matter
These are mostly the jobs of consultants, not NFF staff who neither have knowledge of the Russian terrain nor speak Russian.

Per visiting stadia, you can only know the stadia you will play after the Draws and what's the point in assessing the stadia when league matches are still gonna be played and over 6 months ahead of schedule?

NFF needs to engage a consultant to help look for hotel options and possibly make reservations. The options, based on our first round locations, can be checked out in later alongside the pitches. Rohr's co currence should matter not lackeys.

If we are sending 9 people to the draws, we'd be preparing 90 officials for the WC.

Posted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 5:29 pm
by anointed
Less than 24 hours to go

Posted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 9:46 pm
by Bell
anointed wrote:Less than 24 hours to go

IF YOU DON'T MIND...

...could you post the time? Thanks.

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 12:48 am
by anointed
Bell wrote:
anointed wrote:Less than 24 hours to go

IF YOU DON'T MIND...

...could you post the time? Thanks.
3pm Naija time

Re: LIVE @ KREMLIN 2018 WC DRAWS: Grp *: ---, ---, ---, Nige

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 1:39 am
by Robotnik
Russia
Spain
Costa Rica
Nigeria

Done deal!

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 4:05 am
by Undertaker
Argentina
Croatia
Iran
Nigeria

I MISSED IT BY ONE TEAM! :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse:

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 4:15 am
by goldenera94
Brazil
Croatia
Costa Ricca
Nigeria

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 4:23 am
by Robotnik
Based on FIFA mock draw simulation, I see Iran in Nigerias group more than anything else

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:45 am
by Coach
Would have a flutter on 2 of the following.

Russia
Sweden
Uruguay

(Though Belgium and Colombia, keeping coming to mind).

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:09 am
by Synopsis
Poland
Colombia
Denmark
Nigeria

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:40 am
by Coach
^who is the seeded team here? Poland?

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:53 am
by Benedict Iroha
Coach wrote:^who is the seeded team here? Poland?
yup

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 11:32 am
by balo

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 11:42 am
by peron33uk
According to the Daily Mirror:
What's the worst possible draw for England?

Based on the October FIFA rankings it would be Germany, Costa Rica and Nigeria. There are other nightmare scenarios too though - Brazil, Sweden and Nigeria would also be pretty unpalatable.
I'm glad they are at least acknowledging that Nigeria has potential to lambast them.

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 12:50 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
Four groups the World Cup could do with:

Italy
USA
Cameroon
Paraguay

Holland
Ireland
Ivory Coast
Bolivia

Chile
Ghana
Romania
New Zealand

Austria
Greece
Algeria
Ecuador

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 1:00 pm
by Robbynice
Ayo Akinfe wrote:There is a lot to do at the draws:

I concur with you on this Ayo.

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 1:09 pm
by Robbynice
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Four groups the World Cup could do with:

Italy
USA
Cameroon
Paraguay

Holland
Ireland
Ivory Coast
Bolivia

Chile
Ghana
Romania
New Zealand

Austria
Greece
Algeria
Ecuador
Why do we keep dwelling on teams that didn't qualify? Haba...Lets move on and focus on teams that earned this stripes...