Everton Hires Allardyce.

Re: Everton Hires Allardyce.

Guv007 wrote:
benteke wrote:I am actually a fan of Big Sam Allardyce and his football ever since the Bolton days with Okocha.
He even turned West Ham into a very trick team to play against, and once he left it went downhill.

I hope he stabilises Everton and then hands over to someone better.
A manager like Watford's Marco Silva is the kind that Everton needs in the long run.
:lol: :lol: :lol: Is this football standup comedy? what trick? and what of where he was bullying West Ham players to sign up to his son football agency?
I meant that West Ham under Big Sam was a tricky team to play against, it was a tricky fixture for the big teams, i remember Mourinho moaning after failing to beat West Ham at Stamford Bridge, big teams had to sweat to get 3 points there, and it was hanging around 6-8th place somewhere there, and if I'm not mistaken he got it to Europa.

But look at the state of West Ham now.
toyin133

Post by toyin133 »

toyin133 wrote:
Benedict Iroha wrote:The English do not try at all to give black coaches chances....
It won't happen until the neanderthal system of hiring coaches is abandoned for a more modern and logical system.
Oga, how is it neanderthal? Everton are in danger of relegation and Allardyce specialises in preventing relegation which makes him a perfect fit for the club. He only has an 18 month contract and that is a reflection of the role the Everton board envisages for him. I don't understand the opprobrium the appointment is attracting in this thread.
It is neanderthal because it is based on an old boys' network which essentially keeps out very good candidates. Hiring people in most places of work have long ditched such an archaic system. In fact, in the USA the advertising industry which uses that system has been charged by the civil rights commission because such practices have kept a racial situation in the industry that does not reflect the people the industry serves.
I am sorry but you are wrong.
The previous manager was sacked because the team was in danger of getting relegated and the owners obviously wanted someone who could prevent relegation. Allardyce has never been relegated as a manager and he performed a similar role (coming into the club in the middle of the season and preventing relegation against the odds) in his two previous jobs at Crystal Palace and Sunderland. It is actually very logical that a job which requires such a specific skill set will go to Allardyce. The length of the contract makes it clear that his role is to prevent relegation, stabilise the club and move on.
Are you able to point to other candidates who boast similar credentials and who were not considered for the position or is this just a generic attack on English clubs on the way they appoint managers?
"I hear Glenn Hoddle has found God. That must have been one hell of a pass." Jasper Carrott
"Mind you, football is not really about winning, or goals, or saves or supporters. It's about glory. It's about doing things in style, doing them with a flourish. It's
about going out to beat the other lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."
Danny Blanchflower

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:Great news for Onyekuru :!:

But he is not 6ft 2in plus and a wide body. Ask coach for the requirements...
Okocha was 6’ 2” :?: :?: :?:

toyin133 wrote:
Benedict Iroha wrote:The English do not try at all to give black coaches chances....
It won't happen until the neanderthal system of hiring coaches is abandoned for a more modern and logical system.
Oga, how is it neanderthal? Everton are in danger of relegation and Allardyce specialises in preventing relegation which makes him a perfect fit for the club. He only has an 18 month contract and that is a reflection of the role the Everton board envisages for him. I don't understand the opprobrium the appointment is attracting in this thread.
It is neanderthal because it is based on an old boys' network which essentially keeps out very good candidates. Hiring people in most places of work have long ditched such an archaic system. In fact, in the USA the advertising industry which uses that system has been charged by the civil rights commission because such practices have kept a racial situation in the industry that does not reflect the people the industry serves.
The previous manager was sacked because the team was in danger of getting relegated and the owners obviously wanted someone who could prevent relegation. Allardyce has never been relegated as a manager and he performed a similar role (coming into the club in the middle of the season and preventing relegation against the odds) in his two previous jobs at Crystal Palace and Sunderland. It is actually very logical that a job which requires such a specific skill set will go to Allardyce. The length of the contract makes it clear that his role is to prevent relegation, stabilise the club and move on.
Are you able to point to other candidates who boast similar credentials and who were not considered for the position or is this just a generic attack on English clubs on the way they appoint managers?
Posted this in another thread.

Pardew to West Brom.
Big Sam to Everton.

This is all about jobs for the boys. A ridiculous merry-go-round. How about this from WhatsApp group I am a part of?
Last 12 yrs:

Palace: Pulis, Pardew, Allardyce, Hodgson
WBA: Hodgson, Pulis, Pardew
West Ham: Pardew, Allardyce, Moyes
Newcastle: Allardyce, Pardew
Everton: Moyes, Allardyce
Fulham: Hodgson, Hughes
Sunderland: Allardyce, Moyes
Stoke: Pulis, Hughes
Blackburn: Hughes, Allardyce.

Tony Pulis, Mark Hughes, Alan Pardew, Sam Allardyce, Roy Hodgson and David Moyes have basically been doing job swaps for the last decade in England.
This is remarkable. I knew it was bad, but this takes the cake. Hodgson, Moyes, Allardyce, Pardew and Allardyce have all been handed PL jobs this year, there will be 9 British managers in the Premier League including all of the bottom 7, none in the top 6. Average age: 53. Major trophies between them: 0. 19 PL stints between them.

It is not the foreigners holding young British coaches back. It is the old lags, their old lags network, called the League Managers Association and a safety first mentality.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:Great news for Onyekuru :!:

But he is not 6ft 2in plus and a wide body. Ask coach for the requirements...
Okocha was 6’ 2” :?: :?: :?:

If Okocha is 6' 2'' then i must be 8' measured with a faulty measuring device.

I am not even sure he 6, never mind the 2 inches.
My point is that inspite of Okocha’s vertical challenge, he captained a team coached by Sam Allardyce. So, the fact that Onyekuru is undersized will not matter to Big Sam :!:

toyin133

Post by toyin133 »

toyin133 wrote:

Pardew to West Brom.
Big Sam to Everton.

This is all about jobs for the boys. A ridiculous merry-go-round. How about this from WhatsApp group I am a part of?
Last 12 yrs:

Tony Pulis, Mark Hughes, Alan Pardew, Sam Allardyce, Roy Hodgson and David Moyes have basically been doing job swaps for the last decade in England.
This is remarkable. I knew it was bad, but this takes the cake. Hodgson, Moyes, Allardyce, Pardew and Allardyce have all been handed PL jobs this year, there will be 9 British managers in the Premier League including all of the bottom 7, none in the top 6. Average age: 53. Major trophies between them: 0. 19 PL stints between them.

It is not the foreigners holding young British coaches back. It is the old lags, their old lags network, called the League Managers Association and a safety first mentality.
Except that Everton's first choice for the job was Marco Silva at Watford which invalidates your argument
"I hear Glenn Hoddle has found God. That must have been one hell of a pass." Jasper Carrott
"Mind you, football is not really about winning, or goals, or saves or supporters. It's about glory. It's about doing things in style, doing them with a flourish. It's
Danny Blanchflower

toyin133 wrote:

Pardew to West Brom.
Big Sam to Everton.

Last 12 yrs:

Except that Everton's first choice for the job was Marco Silva at Watford which invalidates your argument
I have read things here in my time but this takes the biscuit. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Woulda, coulda, invalidates my argument. You see evidence going over 12 years and a rumoured appointment that never was, invalidates the last 12 years.

This must a bad joke. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

toyin133 wrote:

Pardew to West Brom.
Big Sam to Everton.

Last 12 yrs:

Dont be silly! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

If they cant get Silva, they can go to Dutch Div 2 and get Oliseh! There is also the portuguese guy at Donetsk. There are coaches everywhere.
toyin133

Post by toyin133 »

toyin133 wrote:

Pardew to West Brom.
Big Sam to Everton.

Last 12 yrs:

I have read things here in my time but this takes the biscuit. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Woulda, coulda, invalidates my argument. You see evidence going over 12 years and a rumoured appointment that never was, invalidates the last 12 years.

As usual, a lot of words which say absolutely nothing. It's well documented that Everton offered Watford substantial compensation for Silva but that doesn't fit with your silly whatsapp hypothesis which has no place in this conversation.
Danny Blanchflower
okuns

Post by okuns »

Why aren't you guys dishing out the same vitrol on NPFL coaches?

toyin133 wrote:
Enugu II wrote: Oga, how is it neanderthal? Everton are in danger of relegation and Allardyce specialises in preventing relegation which makes him a perfect fit for the club. He only has an 18 month contract and that is a reflection of the role the Everton board envisages for him. I don't understand the opprobrium the appointment is attracting in this thread.

Pardew to West Brom.
Big Sam to Everton.

Last 12 yrs:

As usual, a lot of words which say absolutely nothing. It's well documented that Everton offered Watford substantial compensation for Silva but that doesn't fit with your silly whatsapp hypothesis which has no place in this conversation.
Once again, you are so full of BS it is hilarious. :lol: :lol:

Who is the new Everton Manager? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

I am not dealing in ifs, buts and maybes. I am dealing with facts going back 12 yrs.

Your stories are irrelevant. Deal with reality.
toyin133

Post by toyin133 »

Once again, you are so full of BS it is hilarious. :lol: :lol:

Who is the new Everton Manager? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

I am not dealing in ifs, buts and maybes. I am dealing with facts going back 12 yrs.

Your stories are irrelevant. Deal with reality.
Your excessive use of emoticons does not change the fact that Everton's first choice was Marco Silva and this blows your trite whatsapp hypothesis out of the water.
By the way, saying I am full of BS reminds me of the Joseph Goebbels quote "accuse the other side of that which you are guilty" It's not original and it's not clever
Danny Blanchflower

For those who do not comprehend what is happening:
Ethnic minority coaches still face 'barriers' in English football
https://search.yahoo.com/search?ei=utf- ... ty+coaches
From the sectionFootball

Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink was named Northampton Town boss in September
Coaches from black and ethnic minority backgrounds still face "institutionally embedded barriers" in English football, according to a sports think tank.

The Sports People's Think Tank's (SPTT) annual report says progress since 2014 has been "minimal" for BAME candidates.

Just 22 of the 482 senior coaching roles in English football's top four divisions are held by BAME coaches, according to SPTT's research.

It now wants English football to adopt the 'Rooney Rule'.

Named after the former American Football club owner Dan Rooney, the rule was introduced by the NFL in 2003 and states that at least one ethnic minority candidate must be interviewed for each senior coaching position.

The research by SPTT, working with Loughborough University and the anti-discrimination group Fare (Football Against Racism in Football), looked at six positions in football, from first-team manager to lead coach of the under-18s.

The numbers are based on the situation at the start of September, which was before the appointments of Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink at Northampton and Jack Lester at Chesterfield.

They bring the number of black or ethnic minority managers in the 92 clubs to five - along with Carlisle's Keith Curle, Nuno Espirito Santo at Wolves and Brighton's Chris Hughton.

The research, published on Thursday, said any improvements made come from "a small number of more progressive clubs...with a track record of hiring BAME coaches".

The vast majority of coaches are former players and BAME players make up nearly a third of all squads, so the report concluded that "institutionally embedded barriers which have restricted opportunities for BAME coaches in the past, remain firmly in place".

The English Football League introduced a version of the Rooney rule in 2016, making it mandatory for clubs to interview a BAME candidate for academy jobs but not first-team roles.

After a pilot last season all clubs in the Championship, League One and League Two have now signed up to extend the trial to cover first-team vacancies.

The executive director of Fare, Piara Powar, says the government and the Premier League have been too slow to implement changes though.

"Without facing up to the fundamental and positive benefits it can bring, the industry will remain caught up in a cycle of expressing the desire to see change but not having the bravery to introduce the mechanism that will bring it about," he added.

EFL figures from last season's 'Rooney Rule' pilot

123 academy jobs were advertised on the EFL website.
The EFL received data relating to 76 of those jobs.
1,497 applications were received for those 76 jobs.
In 170 of the applications, the candidate defined their ethnicity as BAME (11%).
18% of the 1,497 applications led to an interview, increasing to 31% for all BAME applicants, and 52% for the 99 applications made by BAME candidates who were suitably qualified for the role.
11 BAME candidates were appointed to the 76 jobs (14%).
The SPTT is made up of current and former athletes, including ex-footballer Jason Roberts.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

toyin133 wrote:Your excessive use of emoticons does not change the fact that Everton's first choice was Marco Silva and this blows your trite whatsapp hypothesis out of the water.
By the way, saying I am full of BS reminds me of the Joseph Goebbels quote "accuse the other side of that which you are guilty" It's not original and it's not clever
Pot calling kettle..... :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Over the years here, your posts have reeked of propaganda from the school of Goebbels. You trying to twist, turn and obfuscate, is classic you and your ways. Your Spuds delusions and in the face of facts is once again made manifest. Some things never change. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

You can claim they tried to hire Silva, but trying to hire someone is not the same as who you hired.

Apart from the fact that there are thousands of good coaches apart from Allardyce out there out of work, your claim of Silva being approached, does not negate the reality that Allardyce has the job and this shows a pattern of Managerial appointments which favour a certain group or type of people.

Here are the facts not hypothesis like you have tried to twist it in the style of your racist master, Goebbels who you quoted. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Here is my original post again. Read it and twist it again, but it will not change cos it is fact. It is what has happened. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Waffiman wrote:[This is all about jobs for the boys. A ridiculous merry-go-round. How about this from WhatsApp group I am a part of?
Last 12 yrs:

I repeat again. Most importantly, in your hubris you missed the point.

The clubs above have hired other coaches, Everton just hired and fired Koeman FFS. The issue is not that the clubs do not hire outside of the Coaches listed, it is that they do it rarely when compared to the undeserved opportunities given to the Coaches listed above. Consequently, your claim of Sliva being approached does not negate the stat of the numbers of times the same people above are hired.

The problem is, you are so pompous and full of hubris, it makes you proudly ignorant. :oops: :oops:

Finally, you mention my post not addressing the point of the thread. Once again, it is the same thing, it does.

These people are too busy giving themselves jobs, so Black coaches suffer.

Enugu II wrote:For those who do not comprehend what is happening:
Ethnic minority coaches still face 'barriers' in English football
https://search.yahoo.com/search?ei=utf- ... ty+coaches
From the sectionFootball

Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink was named Northampton Town boss in September
Coaches from black and ethnic minority backgrounds still face "institutionally embedded barriers" in English football, according to a sports think tank.

The Sports People's Think Tank's (SPTT) annual report says progress since 2014 has been "minimal" for BAME candidates.

Just 22 of the 482 senior coaching roles in English football's top four divisions are held by BAME coaches, according to SPTT's research.

It now wants English football to adopt the 'Rooney Rule'.

Named after the former American Football club owner Dan Rooney, the rule was introduced by the NFL in 2003 and states that at least one ethnic minority candidate must be interviewed for each senior coaching position.

The research by SPTT, working with Loughborough University and the anti-discrimination group Fare (Football Against Racism in Football), looked at six positions in football, from first-team manager to lead coach of the under-18s.

The numbers are based on the situation at the start of September, which was before the appointments of Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink at Northampton and Jack Lester at Chesterfield.

They bring the number of black or ethnic minority managers in the 92 clubs to five - along with Carlisle's Keith Curle, Nuno Espirito Santo at Wolves and Brighton's Chris Hughton.

The research, published on Thursday, said any improvements made come from "a small number of more progressive clubs...with a track record of hiring BAME coaches".

The vast majority of coaches are former players and BAME players make up nearly a third of all squads, so the report concluded that "institutionally embedded barriers which have restricted opportunities for BAME coaches in the past, remain firmly in place".

The English Football League introduced a version of the Rooney rule in 2016, making it mandatory for clubs to interview a BAME candidate for academy jobs but not first-team roles.

After a pilot last season all clubs in the Championship, League One and League Two have now signed up to extend the trial to cover first-team vacancies.

The executive director of Fare, Piara Powar, says the government and the Premier League have been too slow to implement changes though.

"Without facing up to the fundamental and positive benefits it can bring, the industry will remain caught up in a cycle of expressing the desire to see change but not having the bravery to introduce the mechanism that will bring it about," he added.

EFL figures from last season's 'Rooney Rule' pilot

123 academy jobs were advertised on the EFL website.
The EFL received data relating to 76 of those jobs.
1,497 applications were received for those 76 jobs.
In 170 of the applications, the candidate defined their ethnicity as BAME (11%).
18% of the 1,497 applications led to an interview, increasing to 31% for all BAME applicants, and 52% for the 99 applications made by BAME candidates who were suitably qualified for the role.
11 BAME candidates were appointed to the 76 jobs (14%).
The SPTT is made up of current and former athletes, including ex-footballer Jason Roberts.
Sorry E11, before my attention was diverted, I was going to use the stat I posted to suggest a pattern. A pattern of White priviledge which if I am correct use to be the norm, or is still the norm in the NFL.

I noted the White guys in that Arsenal WhatsApp group pointed out how the hiring pattern of the same Coaches in that sample affected young coaches. I made the point of addressing how it affected Black Coaches. To be fair, the vast majority of the White guys agreed cos they are mainly progressives in their outlook.

But what many also miss but it is perhaps more important, cos the focus is on the head coaches, is the backroom staff. Being a back room staff in whatever capacity, including being a coach gives you the vital training and experience you need on your way to being the top man in football.

We have done our homework and found, none of the Coaches mentioned above hire Black people as part of their team.

Until a system like the Rooney rule is imposed here in the EPL, I'm afraid this pattern of Blacks being deprived of opportunities is set to continue.
toyin133

Post by toyin133 »

toyin133 wrote:Your excessive use of emoticons does not change the fact that Everton's first choice was Marco Silva and this blows your trite whatsapp hypothesis out of the water.
Pot calling kettle..... :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Over the years here, your posts have reeked of propaganda from the school of Goebbels. You trying to twist, turn and obfuscate, is classic you and your ways. Your Spuds delusions and in the face of facts is once again made manifest. Some things never change. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

You can claim they tried to hire Silva, but trying to hire someone is not the same as who you hired.

Apart from the fact that there are thousands of good coaches apart from Allardyce out there out of work, your claim of Silva being approached, does not negate the reality that Allardyce has the job and this shows a pattern of Managerial appointments which favour a certain group or type of people.

Here are the facts not hypothesis like you have tried to twist it in the style of your racist master, Goebbels who you quoted. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Here is my original post again. Read it and twist it again, but it will not change cos it is fact. It is what has happened. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Waffiman wrote:[This is all about jobs for the boys. A ridiculous merry-go-round. How about this from WhatsApp group I am a part of?
Last 12 yrs:

I repeat again. Most importantly, in your hubris you missed the point.

The clubs above have hired other coaches, Everton just hired and fired Koeman FFS. The issue is not that the clubs do not hire outside of the Coaches listed, it is that they do it rarely when compared to the undeserved opportunities given to the Coaches listed above. Consequently, your claim of Sliva being approached does not negate the stat of the numbers of times the same people above are hired.

The problem is, you are so pompous and full of hubris, it makes you proudly ignorant. :oops: :oops:

Finally, you mention my post not addressing the point of the thread. Once again, it is the same thing, it does.

These people are too busy giving themselves jobs, so Black coaches suffer.
Once again, you are accusing the other side of that which you are guilty.
The arsenal thread is filled with examples of your fellow gooners calling you out for your pomposity, delusions of grandeur, obfuscation and cheap propaganda. The evidence is there for anyone who cares to look so calling attention to those traits does not do you any favours.

Back to the matter at hand, the issue is not that "the clubs do not hire outside of the Coaches listed". It is whether Everton were justified in hiring Allardyce in this particular instance giving the set of circumstances faced by the club. I contend that they were justified for reasons I have explained above.
Your argument and it seems Enugu 11's appears to be that since black managers do not get a fair crack of the whip any appointment not made to a black manager is an example of the old boys network and based on neanderthal considerations. This argument is trite and simplistic.

Clubs are looking for different characteristics when they hire managers. Some clubs want a manager who is able to develop young talent, others want one who can play an attractive style of football and there are others who simply want a manager who keeps them in the Premier League.

My point is that there are no black managers (that I know of) who bring the same set of skills and proven record of success in what he does as Allardyce to the table. It is therefore wrong to call the decision to hire Allardyce wrong as the length of the contract shows that it is clearly a short term appointment. If you are able to dispute this point I will be interested, if not then please stop wasting my time with whatsapp messages which do not address the central point of the argument.
Danny Blanchflower