THAT ROONEY'S THIRD GOAL

That was just wow!

That's the :smile: definition of thinking out of the box...in fact out of your own half. I also believe it's not the first time Rooney has scored that sort of quick-witted and precision-weighted goal. I still think Rooney will gatecrash into the England WC team though I feel he's not likely to make a difference there as usual.

I zero in on Naija players especially as we head to the WC. Years back, I saw a very laughable Daniel Amokachi in a similar position that Rooney was, incidentally also in an Everton shirt but in an FA Cup final. Instead of Amokachi taking a shot towards an empty goal, as the opposing goalie had come to the other goal to lend height off a corner kick in the closing stages of the game while chasing the game, Amokachi actually tried to drbble and run his way through. Apart from the fact that he didn't succeed, I believe he picked up an hamstring from over exerting himself.

I'm still seetning that Osaze didn't tumble when pulled tenaciously by Evra in the penalty box and Mikel didn't fall and roll on the turf like he had been shot both against France in a match we should have won at the last WC.

Even in 1994, when Maldini was pulling Yekini down, the gangling striker was trying to stay up. Ikpeba's body language after his penalty goal in the shootout against Cameroun in the final of the 2000 afcon final was ruled not to have crossed the line contributed to the referree's decision against Nigeria. And who recalls that Argentina's lone goal against us in the 2002 WC should not have stood if only the player held by Heinze had fallen? Good boys incidents like these have cost us too much whereas, if it was a Sani Kaita, he gets a straight red card.

Our gamesmanship should be different and result oriented. These are things that Rohr should inclusively instill in our guys cos some of the consequences could determine our results and by extension how far we could go. Quick, positive thinking and eschewing charitable football should be in our DNA. Some players like Rooney may not be the most gifted player but he's got it for good decision making. You don't become Man Utd and England record goal scorer by being a slouch. Good decision making is crucial to our WC success.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Re: THAT ROONEY'S THIRD GOAL

anointed wrote:That was just wow!

That's the :smile: definition of thinking out of the box...in fact out of your own half. I also believe it's not the first time Rooney has scored that sort of quick-witted and precision-weighted goal. I still think Rooney will gatecrash into the England WC team though I feel he's not likely to make a difference there as usual.

I zero in on Naija players especially as we head to the WC. Years back, I saw a very laughable Daniel Amokachi in a similar position that Rooney was, incidentally also in an Everton shirt but in an FA Cup final. Instead of Amokachi taking a shot towards an empty goal, as the opposing goalie had come to the other goal to lend height off a corner kick in the closing stages of the game while chasing the game, Amokachi actually tried to drbble and run his way through. Apart from the fact that he didn't succeed, I believe he picked up an hamstring from over exerting himself.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: This is funny! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
I didn't even read the rest of the post. :lol: :lol: :lol:

BTW, have you ever seen the video clip of Sir Alex playing fetch with Wayne Rooney just to teach him that kicking the ball, moves the ball (and game) faster than he can ever ran with it?
Funny stuff! It too Rooney awhile to figure it out. :lol: :lol:

Impeccable technique. First time. Swerve. Elevation. Oga Wayne at his best. Inspired by? Designed by? Calling the shots from the stands...Brigadier General Samuel J Allardyce. Two words. Big.

No video?

Coach wrote:Impeccable technique. First time. Swerve. Elevation. Oga Wayne at his best. Inspired by? Designed by? Calling the shots from the stands...Brigadier General Samuel J Allardyce. Two words. Big.
The beauty of it was the low elevation.

I would have ballooned it up in the air exposing it to the elements and probably missed the target.
Rooney knew better than to balloon it!
Last edited by Kabalega on Thu Nov 30, 2017 3:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Spectacular!!!!

You also need to see his dash for his 2nd goal. I thought I was watching Rooney of 2008.

:clap: :clap:

While Wayne Rooney must not be denied his credit and glory, should Paul Hart, England's WC-bound GK, be clearing the ball into the central area of the field as opposed to the sidelines? If that was Ezenwa or Akpeyi, I swear, man no go hear word for CE today!

...if Wayne Rooney is Nigerian, down and out, and announced retirement few weeks back, many here will be calling for to be included for the world cup just for that tricky shot :biggrin:

Kabalega wrote:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: This is funny! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
I didn't even read the rest of the post. :lol: :lol: :lol:

BTW, have you ever seen the video clip of Sir Alex playing fetch with Wayne Rooney just to teach him that kicking the ball, moves the ball (and game) faster than he can ever ran with it?
Funny stuff! It too Rooney awhile to figure it out. :lol: :lol:
But CiC old boy maintains that Sir Alex only used to sit in the office all the time and never did such training stuff with his players.
chendosplastic

Post by chendosplastic »

I'm still seetning that Osaze didn't tumble when pulled tenaciously by Evra in the penalty box and Mikel didn't fall and roll on the turf like he had been shot both against France in a match we should have won at the last WC.

Even in 1994, when Maldini was pulling Yekini down, the gangling striker was trying to stay up. Ikpeba's body language after his penalty goal in the shootout against Cameroun in the final of the 2000 afcon final was ruled not to have crossed the line contributed to the referree's decision against Nigeria. And who recalls that Argentina's lone goal against us in the 2002 WC should not have stood if only the player held by Heinze had fallen? Good boys incidents like these have cost us too much whereas, if it was a Sani Kaita, he gets a straight red card.

Our gamesmanship should be different and result oriented. These are things that Rohr should inclusively instill in our guys cos some of the consequences could determine our results and by extension how far we could go. Quick, positive thinking and eschewing charitable football should be in our DNA. Some players like Rooney may not be the most gifted player but he's got it for good decision making. You don't become Man Utd and England record goal scorer by being a slouch. Good decision making is crucial to our WC success.
You must badmouth Nigerians to make a point, eh? Kontinu.
Last edited by chendosplastic on Thu Nov 30, 2017 5:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.
chendosplastic

Post by chendosplastic »

Goldleaf wrote:While Wayne Rooney must not be denied his credit and glory, should Paul Hart, England's WC-bound GK, be clearing the ball into the central area of the field as opposed to the sidelines? If that was Ezenwa or Akpeyi, I swear, man no go hear word for CE today!
Gbam!
"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.

chendosplastic wrote:

You must badmouth Nigerians to make a point, eh? Kontinu.
Go back to pry school and read all editions of New Oxford English Course revolving around Mr & Mrs Bako, maybe you can overcome your comprehension deficit.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

#JoeHart. Wasn't Paul Hart part of the Hart Foundation? Summer Slam 96.

As for Joey not Essex, he'll be benched by the time the Mundial kicks off. The season is exposing him terribly.

The technique he hit the ball with was outstanding. He hit it with his laces. It was not even a lob of gentle push into the net with the side of his foot. That is the second time he has scored a goal from his inside his own half.

When Wazza retires, his greatest goals DVD will be incredible.
Coach wrote:Impeccable technique. First time. Swerve. Elevation. Oga Wayne at his best. Inspired by? Designed by? Calling the shots from the stands...Brigadier General Samuel J Allardyce. Two words. Big.

^the volley vs Newcastle pips the lot. Man City was classic, yesterday's splendid, but crikey that volley was the second coming of Oga Tony Yeboah.

Rooney is a legend.

Rooney top 5 would be:

1) Newcastle volley
2) Man City bicycle kick
3) Lob from inside his own half against WHU - 2013/14 season.
4) Lob from inside his own half against WHU (second one yesterday).
5) Chip against Middlesbrough

Seeing him now as a 32yo veteran, it is easy to forget how utterly terrifying and forceful he was between 16-25. The incredible thing about the volley against Newcastle was that he scored out of anger because he was arguing with the ref and was annoyed that he was about to be subbed off: :shock:

Unfortunately the peak of his career coincided with CR7's presence at Man Utd. When CR7 is around, we know who will get all the attention.

I always remember something that Zlatan said when interviewed in the BBC's "Wayne Rooney: The Man Behind the Goals" documentary. The most telling quote for me in that Rooney documentary was when Zlatan said that when Ronaldo and Rooney played together:
"Rooney did all the work but Ronaldo got all the credit because he was scoring goals."
Zlatan said that many years before he joined Man Utd.

I recall Ferguson playing Rooney as a LM and RM in order to accommodate Ronaldo and his lack of desire to defend. Rooney really used to put in a shift those days: giving Ronaldo lots of assists and doing the water carrying work to give Ronaldo the freedom to do his stuff.
Coach wrote:^the volley vs Newcastle pips the lot. Man City was classic, yesterday's splendid, but crikey that volley was the second coming of Oga Tony Yeboah.

Rooney should have gone to Europe.
Then he would have been a legend in his own right.
Unfortunately, he settled when he got paid and ManU was already going downhill.

^Europe is never a guaranteed success, the language barrier is oft insummountable. In settling at United, he filled his car boot with trophies and in returning to Everton, which will hopefully be his last stop, he's given his story the Roy of the Rovers finish. As far as English football is concerned, he's legend is without question.

What was so special about that goal? Seen better goals at CHAN

I guess Englishman always does it best ;-)

At the peak of his powers, the only "up" moves for Wazza were Madrid and Barca. He was playing for the European champs at Man Utd, earning 300K a week, playing alongside legends like Giggs, Scholes, Van der Sar, CR7. He was champion of his country, continent, and planet, and captain of his national team. What did he gain by going abroad to another country his wife may not like, dragging his kids out of school, learning a new language, and having to adapt to a new culture? No need.

Kabalega wrote:Rooney should have gone to Europe.

...English players are too insecure to fight outside England except a handful, like McManaman who left Liverpool for Madrid.

I think you should mention that going abroad usually means a pay-cut for an English footballer, since the EPL is the highest paying league in the world.
...English players are too insecure to fight outside England except a handful, like McManaman who left Liverpool for Madrid.