Croatia vs Iceland

Gooner1
Re: Croatia vs Iceland

Post by Gooner1 »

is this how you watch your football, through a keyhole door?

go and search youtube for a better angle....stop posting nonsense rubbish :roll:
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke
Do you know Iceland and Croatia were in the same group...

...of the European qualifiers?

In their most recent meeting on July 11, Iceland won 1-0 with a last minute header from a set piece. The goal came from a 90th minute corner kick:

In the first leg on November 16 2016, Croatia won in Zabreb 2-0:

Neither of these two teams scare me. As we know that Argentina are vulnerable at the back, this group is ours for the taking!
Re: Do you know Iceland and Croatia were in the same group..

Mods, merge this with BigPokey's earlier thread, thanks.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=284798

this is actually a very good thing

they also know each other well from the last WC playoff

I think it makes it more likely that Iceland and Croatia may end up drawing each other which would definitely help us.

yes I knew they were in the same group
chendosplastic

Post by chendosplastic »

vancity eagle wrote:this is actually a very good thing

they also know each other well from the last WC playoff

I think it makes it more likely that Iceland and Croatia may end up drawing each other which would definitely help us.
Very good sense.
"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.

This group does not scare me at all. None of the teams have been playing particularly well.

None of the three have performed like say Brazil, Germany, Spain or France. Nigeria has no excuse not to top this group.

I hope we do not take Iceland lightly.

vancity eagle wrote:I hope we do not take Iceland lightly.
If we do it will go something like Nga-Irn 2014 or Nga-SA 2017.

vancity eagle wrote:I hope we do not take Iceland lightly.

I am glad it is not our opening match. After the Croatia game, we will want to secure qualification with a win against Iceland so that the final match is just a formality.

Croatia are a talented side and have some good players other than Modric. Mandzukic (Juventus), Rakitic (Barcelona), and Perisic (Inter Milan) come to mind. I think they have underachieved in recent years and will be anxious to get out of the group stage this time around.

Iceland may not have too many recognizable names, but they are a very disciplined and organized side. Kind of like Denmark's 98 world cup team.
okidoki

Post by okidoki »

Icelands biggest advantage when playing fellow European teams, "Strength", will count for nothing against us. They are very organized, but so are we these days.
They are not the most technical team, my only worry is our Former coach, Lager beer. Dude will Marshall men against Mikel, like butter is to bread.
We have to learn how to thrive without Mikel.

okidoki wrote:Icelands biggest advantage when playing fellow European teams, "Strength", will count for nothing against us. They are very organized, but so are we these days.
They are not the most technical team, my only worry is our Former coach, Lager beer. Dude will Marshall men against Mikel, like butter is to bread.
Largerback now coaches Norway!

okidoki wrote:Icelands biggest advantage when playing fellow European teams, "Strength", will count for nothing against us. They are very organized, but so are we these days.
Lager has moved on
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Iceland are like greece in 2004, they dont give anything away, against argentina, they will frustrate argentina, it will take a moment of brilliance from messi to get a win

marko wrote:Iceland are like greece in 2004, they dont give anything away, against argentina, they will frustrate argentina, it will take a moment of brilliance from messi to get a win
Messi will find a way through at least once!

If we win or draw against Croatia we are through to the next round.

Sir V wrote:If we win or draw against Croatia we are through to the next round.
We want nine points abeg. If we top the group, we avoid France in the second round.

Sir V wrote:If we win or draw against Croatia we are through to the next round.
We want nine points abeg. If we top the group, we avoid France in the second round.
Except if France come second to Denmark in their group, which is very possible.

marko wrote:Iceland are like greece in 2004, they dont give anything away, against argentina, they will frustrate argentina, it will take a moment of brilliance from messi to get a win
Messi will find a way through at least once!
You need to go rewatch Iceland games again,very tactically team.
Messi will find it hard to break them,they are better than what you see in France last summer.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:This group does not scare me at all. None of the teams have been playing particularly well.

None of the three have performed like say Brazil, Germany, Spain or France. Nigeria has no excuse not to top this group.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Fake News