Croatia vs Iceland

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:10 pm

Re: Croatia vs Iceland

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:12 pm
by Gooner1
is this how you watch your football, through a keyhole door?

go and search youtube for a better angle....stop posting nonsense rubbish :roll:

Do you know Iceland and Croatia were in the same group...

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:08 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
...of the European qualifiers?

In their most recent meeting on July 11, Iceland won 1-0 with a last minute header from a set piece. The goal came from a 90th minute corner kick:

In the first leg on November 16 2016, Croatia won in Zabreb 2-0:

Neither of these two teams scare me. As we know that Argentina are vulnerable at the back, this group is ours for the taking!

Re: Do you know Iceland and Croatia were in the same group..

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:10 pm
by The YeyeMan
Mods, merge this with BigPokey's earlier thread, thanks.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=284798

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:14 pm
by vancity eagle
this is actually a very good thing

they also know each other well from the last WC playoff

I think it makes it more likely that Iceland and Croatia may end up drawing each other which would definitely help us.

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:17 pm
by ANC
yes I knew they were in the same group

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:18 pm
by chendosplastic
vancity eagle wrote:this is actually a very good thing

they also know each other well from the last WC playoff

I think it makes it more likely that Iceland and Croatia may end up drawing each other which would definitely help us.
Very good sense.

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:20 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
This group does not scare me at all. None of the teams have been playing particularly well.

None of the three have performed like say Brazil, Germany, Spain or France. Nigeria has no excuse not to top this group.

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:24 pm
by vancity eagle
I hope we do not take Iceland lightly.

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:28 pm
by Synopsis
vancity eagle wrote:I hope we do not take Iceland lightly.
If we do it will go something like Nga-Irn 2014 or Nga-SA 2017.

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:31 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
vancity eagle wrote:I hope we do not take Iceland lightly.

I am glad it is not our opening match. After the Croatia game, we will want to secure qualification with a win against Iceland so that the final match is just a formality.

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:39 pm
by olu
Croatia are a talented side and have some good players other than Modric. Mandzukic (Juventus), Rakitic (Barcelona), and Perisic (Inter Milan) come to mind. I think they have underachieved in recent years and will be anxious to get out of the group stage this time around.

Iceland may not have too many recognizable names, but they are a very disciplined and organized side. Kind of like Denmark's 98 world cup team.

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:44 pm
by okidoki
Icelands biggest advantage when playing fellow European teams, "Strength", will count for nothing against us. They are very organized, but so are we these days.
They are not the most technical team, my only worry is our Former coach, Lager beer. Dude will Marshall men against Mikel, like butter is to bread.
We have to learn how to thrive without Mikel.

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:46 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
okidoki wrote:Icelands biggest advantage when playing fellow European teams, "Strength", will count for nothing against us. They are very organized, but so are we these days.
They are not the most technical team, my only worry is our Former coach, Lager beer. Dude will Marshall men against Mikel, like butter is to bread.
Largerback now coaches Norway!

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:48 pm
by anointed
okidoki wrote:Icelands biggest advantage when playing fellow European teams, "Strength", will count for nothing against us. They are very organized, but so are we these days.
Lager has moved on

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:57 pm
by marko
Iceland are like greece in 2004, they dont give anything away, against argentina, they will frustrate argentina, it will take a moment of brilliance from messi to get a win

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 9:24 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
marko wrote:Iceland are like greece in 2004, they dont give anything away, against argentina, they will frustrate argentina, it will take a moment of brilliance from messi to get a win
Messi will find a way through at least once!

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 9:34 pm
by Sir V
If we win or draw against Croatia we are through to the next round.

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 9:38 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
Sir V wrote:If we win or draw against Croatia we are through to the next round.
We want nine points abeg. If we top the group, we avoid France in the second round.

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:11 pm
by Scipio Africanus
Sir V wrote:If we win or draw against Croatia we are through to the next round.
We want nine points abeg. If we top the group, we avoid France in the second round.
Except if France come second to Denmark in their group, which is very possible.

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:23 pm
by kajifu
marko wrote:Iceland are like greece in 2004, they dont give anything away, against argentina, they will frustrate argentina, it will take a moment of brilliance from messi to get a win
Messi will find a way through at least once!
You need to go rewatch Iceland games again,very tactically team.
Messi will find it hard to break them,they are better than what you see in France last summer.

Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 8:03 am
by wale1974
Ayo Akinfe wrote:This group does not scare me at all. None of the teams have been playing particularly well.

None of the three have performed like say Brazil, Germany, Spain or France. Nigeria has no excuse not to top this group.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Fake News